(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Apple79,
What a coincidence! All our impt dates are the same. I am wondering how come the EDD can change though. Eventhough some says it's more accurate when the scan is done during the first trimester. Watever, as long as bb is healthy and our pregancy and delivery is smooth.

Expenses
Kellie, I paid $300plus for the triple test. Understand the pinch. Expenses all on the rise, only up no downs. haiz.
But then, I am still spending. Hee. Got a new digi cam at Comex over the weekend so that I can take photos of my growing tummy for bb to see. =)
And, I am planning for a short trip to Taiwan. Any experienced mum here has flown in their 19 weeks? I am in quite a dilema. On one hand, hope to get the best moments of couplehood in these few months before bb comes out. On the other hand, I am slightly worried that the flight might have not so gd effect on th BB. Shldn't have any side effects right???

hana
I went to taiwan for holiday during my last pregnancy. I was at 23rd-24th weeks then. Don't worry, taking the flight won't have any side effect on babies. You planning to go free & easy? If so, can relax and enjoy the trip at your own pace.

which digicam did you get? i regret not getting one with image stabilizer. will be so useful when taking babies' photos since we should not be using flash. my current one only one year old, so if buy a new digicam like so wasteful :p

Pardon for my ignorance. Din really noe only the detailed scan can tell us all the organs function. thought the 3D/4D scan can do the same too...in this case, i will definately not skip the detail scan.

I was planning a resort type of trip during the Hari Raya weekend too. Any good suggestion? So far, we only think of Bali, Redang?

Stephie,
I am going on free & easy. to join my hubby who will be on biz trip there actually. So I will be taking the flight there alone...

Digicam
I got the casio exlim 75 in pink. Hmm..image stabiliser function? Not too sure. I only know that there is a function to not use flash. =)

Kellie,
No Redang, OK. Resorts are usually closed in Oct for Redang. Nearby like Camera Highland, Phuket, Koh Samui, Bali can be a nice short escape.

Hana,
which plane are you flying on? Just be more cautious. You need to make known to the flight attendant or the counterstaff of your condition. Best is with a medical letter from your gynae taht you are safe to travel. My HR told me that it is safe to travel abt 4-5 mths onwards. Avoid travelling in third trimester. But if baby born on plane, he can have free plane all his life leh! Good leh...

Stephie,
Good idea... I might wanna invest on a diverted flash. Good for taking photo. =)

casa, you from muar har, very near my parents hometown at tangkak! yea we always go muar buy satay and otak otak at the roadside one, hehe. hey take care and drink more water k!

vietnam is also quite nice, or if you want to venture slightly further - perth is a relaxing destination as well.

depends on what you want to see / do and budget etc.

hana
image stabiliser helps to prevent blurry photos resulting from handshake, etc (which usually happens when photos are taken without flash).

blueginger
diverted flash means those external flash that is attached to a camera? mine is those compact type of digicam, cannot add on diverted flash.

Stephie,
Yalor. Some of the compact digital cam have the horseshoe mounting, like panasonic, canon.
Mine is NIKON DSLR. So can loh!!!
Otherwise you can use flash +/- something like +/-AV I think. Need to check mine compact digi. It will increase/reduce the power of the flash.

good evening all...

stephie, keke becos all my current bras are those push-up and squeeze-until-no-breath-type, that's y i need to change bras. i just bought in my usual cup size but w/o push up or lots of padding.

my breasts have not increased much but my nipples feel quite somewhat painful and sore and is sensitive to touch. does anybody have this experience?

regarding the clarins tonic oil, does anyone rinse off after applying, as stated in the instruction pamphlet? up til now i just apply before bedtime and go to sleep (like applying moisturiser as per normal).

Hi snowbelle,

My detail test will be done at end of this mth...

btw, i having stomach upset throughout the day and been gg toilet 3times cox diaherro..is it true that i cant take any mediciation?

piglettail, i follow the instructions for clarins. Use in the morning, apply after shower and then rinse off in cold water. It's not so oily after that. If apply without washing, will stain clothes.

ah envy!!!!!!! I wanted to go on a trip too... intially plan was to go for tryout for baby in the year end trip... but guess now it wont be this way hehee.

The prob is that this period is typhoon period in taipei and HK. so cannot go... if go in Dec, it will be pretty close to Feb... my hubby is not supportive cos we been to these 2 places quite a few times.

I cant take ferry, so island is out.

Ok Sentosa, here I come hehee

If anyone of you like the kind of baggy baby doll blouse, can try far east plaza. I got 3 pieces there. Can easily go with maternity 3/4 or full length pants.

bluewind, I think you better see doc if your stomach still give you problem. Go toilet too many times also not good. Better check with doc before taking any medication...

bluewind, cheryl,
i just came back from seeing doc for diarrhea/cramps. initially went to KKH 24 hr women's clinic, but they refuse to do a scan for me to make sure baby is ok. so i requested to see my gynae at KKH instead.

luckily i did, cos my gynae said that diarrhea / cramps can affect stability of the womb, so better to scan to make sure all is well. apart from diarrhea medication, he also gave me hormone medicine to stabilize the womb.

the side benefit is that i got to know that mine is a baby GIRL =P

hi dorothy,
how did the knitting session go? fun?

hi bkkgal,

Thanks! so do u apply at night as well? hence i guess the purpose of showering/rinsing after applying the oil is to reduce the oily feeling, not so much as to maximise the 'full effect' of what the stretch mark oil promises to do (reduce/prevent stretch marks)?

sometimes i don't shower in the morning as it is too cold for me, i usually bathe late at night and go to bed straight away.

ladies, how was the knitting session?

congrats Garfield! how exciting..can start shopping for baby stuff already
i also hoping for a gal.

so mummies what kind of things have you started to buy for baby? Any recommendation where to look for cots/playpens?

garfield, congrats on a girl! i'm hoping for a girl too. So many cute things to buy

piglettail, i think the cold shower is to seal the oil in your pores. When u shower with warm water, our skin's pores will open. This is optimum time to massage in the stretch mark oil. The cold shower helps to contract the pores. I also heard that alternating between hot and cold showers are good for blood circulation.

thank you all!! hee hee...ya i think having baby gal means lots of dressing up. haven't gone on shopping spree cos hubby wants to wait till 3rd trimester. now can only see till eyes big big

err cheryl...i dunno what are the symptoms of having baby girl leh =P do you know?

I went for my gynae check up last night. My gynae told me my BB is a BOY! BB is 4 mths + 1 week now, is this scan accurate? Cause cant wait to do shopping for my bb...

congrats casa on having a bb boy!! yea i think quite accurate ba? can you see your bb's little birdie in the scan?

cheryl, not sure about the symptom, i got the feeling that i am getting a gal too but turned out from the scan that bb is a boyboy! erm, i dont have much cravings for certain food, and i like sweet and spicy food... so if you got opposite symptom dunno whether is gal? hehe.

casa, what's your symptom then?

long time din visit liao, this thread is really moving fast...

congrats casa for carrying a baby boy... the doc should be quite sure before he confirms.

cheryl, is it bcos u counted the no. of rice and it turns out even, thus u got a feeling its a girl? me also counted even no, and also have a feeling of a bb girl... we shall see if the counting of rice method accruate or not. kekeke. my next appt is next week, hopefully by then will have some clue...hehe.
when is ur next appt? should know by then?

i don't have much cravings too, but like sourish and sweet stuff.

Congrats Casa!!

What i hear is that they seldom that they get a boy wrong cos need positive sighting of the "little brother". For girl, depending on the position, sometimes they may not be 100% sure no "little brother".

So you can safely shop away!! =)

Thks tongtong,

Yes, me & hb can see the little birdie very clearly..

My symptom? My eating habit on foods changed alot. Now, i dun like to eat meats & fish like last time. I only take those mee hoon/ mee soup, fried rice, spicy foods & those foods with 'super' black source (frog porridge, kueh tiaw...) Which i hate most last time b4 pregnant.

garfield

i duno. my guts feeling tell me... ppl see say girl.... i count rice say girl, i try ring oso girl... haha.. den tummy grow so fast ppl say is girl.

but got 2 woman see my tummy say boy.. making me so curious. haha

tpx

my next appt oso next week... so hope can see loh. when see gynae shd be almost 17weeks

haha me too i got strong gut feel is a girl + all hubby's canoing mates all have girls (back to my reservoir water theory...similar to radiation exposure). my ring test also girl.

hope you get to find out real soon!!

cheryl, heehee... so this even makes us believe more that we are having baby girl...

garfield, think girls 6th sense quite zun one...

congrats to all mummies who now know their baby's gender...too bad i still have to wait 2 more weeks ! me also hoping for a baby gal...think girls makes a better eldest child as they will take care of their younger siblings...=P but then again, if baby boy i'm ok as well...=P

my sis said sth like if eat a lot of seafood, ur baby will be a boy ? during her pregnancy she die2 wanted a baby boy so she ate a lot of shrimps eventhough she's allergic to it...and baby turns out to be a boy...but not sure if true or not... for me, ever since pregnant cannot eat seafood at all...the smell just doesn't suit me. anyway, there are a lotttt of theories about this baby boy vs. gal thing...dunno which one is correct.

i agree there's lots of myths. afterall, it's 50-50 chance, so bound to have some symtoms that coincide with having a girl and others that coincide with having a boy. but for the fun of it, just play along loh.

for me, gotta wait till month end to know the gender. :p

happy shopping to those who know the bb gender liao.

Hi Garfield,

COngrats on ur bb ger...

i just went to see a doctor and luckily everything is fine and probably i took too much spicy food as all the while i love spicy food..doctor advice me to reduce it to avoid discomfort of my tummy and diaherro..
this sat i having my appt with my gyane and hopefully can able to scan the gender of my bb...me and my huuby hope for a boy..

I share tute's thinking. my ideal selection (if I can choose) is to have girl first and then boy cos girl can take care of lil brother and tend to be more giving than boys.

congrats to all mtbs who know gender already

btw, my yoga teacher said that for first time mommies, usually we are not sure when baby is kicking but sometimes the feeling is like bubbles in your stomach or some describe as feeling of butterflies.

bkkgal, tute,
i never thought of it that way (why preference for girl first then boy) but what you say makes a lot of sense.

actually, i had wanted a boy cos i scared if girl will be manja-queen like her mummy =P then i will not be able to handle and i have a competitor for daddy's affection hahahahahaha

but knowing that i have a baby girl, also not disappointed. impt thing is healthy. cos seeing her during the scan just now feel very happy!

roughly when do we start feeling baby kicking? i'm only 16 weeks still early right?

i think anytime from week17.... but some only feel at 20 week onwards.... but i sometime feel tapping or butterflies in tummy...

Thks hana.

Hi bkkgal, so you are having yoga class now? May i know where is your yoga class & is the community club provided yoga for mother to be too?

piglettail,
i used to rinse off the clarins oil when i first started using it, but now didnt liao, got lazy.heheh.

i put on 2 kg in a month, but will only know baby gender on 28th sep when i do the detailed scan, since my appt last fri, no scan.

garfield,
i felt the first baby movement when i was in my 17th week. Just started 18 wks a couple of days ago, and the movement seems stronger already. Last night, felt the kicks quite a lot of times. I read that fetal kicks feel like butterflies in tummy, but how does butterfly in tummy really feel like?? Mine is more like a " slight ocean wave" in my tummy and sometimes i feel a push against the tummy. Also, i think u can differentiate it from gas cos the kicks are quite low, under the belly button.

for those experienced mummies, did ur belly button pop out last time? I think mine is going to pop out leh, cos when i touch the inside, i can feel a small little lump that was previously not there.

Hi casa, i'm staying in bangkok
sorry can't recommend any classes to you. i was very lucky to find a prenatal yoga class here. If you've been practising yoga already, you can ask your teacher to modify the postures for you.

Hi Garfield9,

Thanks for your concern! I'm doing fine. Been MIA for a while. Needed time to sort out things with hubby and to celebrate my dad's birthday over the weekend. Great to be a SAHMTB isn't it. Didn't know you live in Katong too.

Hi Casa, don't do much at home except to sleep, eat, watch tv, knit and check on my daughter's work.

Guess what ladies, I have picked up knitting as well!!! What a coincident? But didn't go to Golden Dragon, just went to Elsie in AMK and picked up the threads and circular needles. Currently knitting a sweater for hubby.

Hi Dorothy, could you add me to the list.

My EDD: 21st Feb
Doc: Dr Lee Wei Hong
No: #2
Hospital: Haven't decided yet
Add: Katong