(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Congrats Dorothy!!! Perfect now one boy and one girl can close shop already =P

when you go spring maternity the cotton pants is the one that model is wearing (black). Matched with a white cotton talk and a greyish hip length cardigan. go touch the material...wooooo.......

i oso have not satisfied my tom yum urge yet. maybe ask hubby to bring me to first thai tonight hee hee

CL so ex my hubby and i contemplating doing without....so may use part time help plus MIL cook and hubby/MIL/FIL will all help chip in to look after bb.

Patsy take care!!

Anyone knows which is the exact period that will have CNY surcharge for confinemt lady?

My EDD is 24 Feb but I am likely to go for c-section cos i have got a fibroid. I am not sure but think C-section may actually be performed before EDD (not sure how long before), right? No pt suffer contraction pains then go C-section. Anyone knows rhoughly when I will have c-section?

btw - mothercare at suntec is having closing down sales... so do go bargain hunting

AND anyone thinking of enrolling for stem cord banking? Maybe we can all pull together and ask for bulk discount - I read fr another old thread that someone did that... We are still considering at this moment. Hubby is for it as he thinks it is like insurance.

beautyseek, I'm thinking of cord blood banking too. Hubby believes in it. Which company? Cordlife?

Btw, when exactly is CNY next year? Anyone knows?

Hi bkkgal,
CNY next year is 7th or 8th Feb.

What's cord blood banking about? Haven't been following these developments in the past (cos at that time it seemed nothing to do with me haha)

Oh, wanted to share that John Little's having this Triumph sale till 02Sep07. Bras on offer from 2 for $22.90. I bought a few more yesterday.

So MTBs who want to change underwear may want to take a look.

morning ladies,

Patsy, take good care

CNY 2008 is 7th (1st day) and 8th (2nd day) Feb according to my records. i think if there are changes should be within these 1-2 day range too.

my bra like cannot fit in liao leh... all like went out of shape.... might as well buy nursing bra loh. but duno how big will it increase still?

hi dorothy,

am still thinking about my tom yum soup today..hahaha *greedy look*

anyhow, incase i gave the wrong address of first thai. im very bad with road names so it's either purvis street or liang seah street. it's a corner shop, directly opposite the ChinChin kopitiam.

hi everyone, now me also craving for tom yum soup.... aiya... me not well again!!! stupid heachache again....

garfield, i only read yr mail now... anyway, i got 2 pants from spring....one of which is cotton one.. $39.90.. also veri comfortable....dun know whether we taking abt the same ting... btw, u become member of spring already? cos i spent 100plus... so we might wan to combine to become member....i got bras extension from spring too...

i went jap buffet at suntec yest... yum yum....

wow, cheryl, bought so much.
i am down with flu.
was lying on bed for the past 3 days.
don't even have energy to go out.

my EDD is on 2nd Feb 2008. That means on the 2nd day of CNY.... oh no!! I m not feeling well this few days, alittle flu. Any idea on what to eat, drink to prevent from flu ;(

patsy
take care!

xiao yun
i am also down with flu. already feeling breathless, now with the flu, it's worse!!!

dorothy
so good, i envy those ppl who have good appetite during preggy.... i am hoping my turn to come soon. having been losing weight.

re: CNY
i thought it's on 7 and 8 feb?

re: CL
luckily, i confirm my CL earlier... the CL said got one neighbour whose daughter is due few wks earlier than me, giving her $3k!!! but, since she cfm with me liao, she doesn't take that one. phew.

piglettail - first thai is at purvis street. i agree the tom yum there is super good!! the food there is quite authentic and reasonably priced. only down side is no air con *hee hee*

dorothy - i think maybe the same. is it the 3/4 one? i love the fabric...may invest in another pair. i spent about $130, ya maybe can combine to be member. everyday i get tempted by what you eat leh (i only eat boring stuff like teochew porridge, cos come meal time always no appetite feel like eating something light)

xiao yun, take care and rest well!!

garfield/dor,
how much do we need to spend to become member ? me also went to spring plaza sing and have been tempted to buy some of their clothes...they really have nice modern maternity clothes

though some a bit too casual for office wear...

Talking bout shopping, went taka last weekend, saw there's a baby fair at taka square. too bad pregnancy still very early stage, else could've bought some stuff coz think got discounts...i'm targetting for december sale to buy all baby needs...hopefully have good discounts... :p

cheryl,
got sooo many preg women there right ? hb said nvr had he seen sooo many preg women gathering at one place..hahaha..

for spring member, it's $250 in one receipt or $350 for combined receipts (within two months). their maternity clothes very comfy....reminds me of the material that my grandma used to use for my bolster when i was a kid =P

tute
yes... my hb din comment abt it. but really alot of preg women at there loh... haha....

i see my tummy even bigger... zzz

cheryl,

me too hahaha...i dunno why, but i think my tummy expanded over the weekend !

think soon really gotta start wearing maternity clothes...

my hubby oso dun allow me to buy baby stuff he say too early and confirm year end christmas / new year sales will give equally good discounts

garfield, hehe, for a moment i tot i was confused about first thai's address!

do any of u experience increase hair loss/hair drop now? i have long hair (ending at shoulder blades) and noticed greater hair loss recently. i tot hair loss only occur after child birth? MIL also commented and i think i need a hair cut--feel quite bad cos she's doing the housework on week days and now got to sweep the floor more often becos of me.

but have had long hair for like 15 years liao, dunno if i can handle my new 'look' in short hair or not. wait too shocked cannot sleep...

today my preggy-sickness is back, like when during week 6onwards. haiz... feel lots bloat/gas which in turn makes me nauseous. back to eating food piece by piece and drinking sip by sip. so sianz.

read at a website about a method for maternity wear:use a rubber band to create more space for our button-up pants/skirts. just loop the rubber band thru the button hole and hook the button to the rubber band instead of the original button hole. sounds like a good idea hor, will try it out

ya that's what i do....wear my pants and skirts below tummy. unless it's maternity pants where the elastic band is super soft (or loose) then i wear over tummy.

hi everyone, me just woke up from my sleep... when back as not feeling well... does any one of u have migrane? i do n it got worse during my pregnancy..

patsy, meet better?thanks for the offer... will let u know if i need it....

piglettail, hair drop should be after child birth... i had mine when my gal was 4 months old... scary...heehee... u might wan to chop yr hair cos during confinement u can wash leh....

patsy, garfield,babyhope,
anyway, i am very happy now...MOH called me!!! told me that they approved my claims from medisave!!!!now got to wait for RH to process n refund....

cheryl, we can wear our pant/skirt either covering our tummy or below tummy.... depend on the design of the m wear...

my tummy oso....super huge....it will grow bigger after lunch and even bigger after dinner. like now, tummy so big i need to rest on sofa =P

even my colleagues commented that my tummy big. so i dun belong to those first time MTBs who dun show till 6 months *hee hee*

cheryl, remember to apply your stretchmark cream hor

Anyone knows where I can get black spaghetti top for maternity one? I'm looking for those simple one... without design... but can't seem to find it anywhere... any idea?

alamak cheryl...what happened to your fingers??? not too late to start using the cream. start soon!!

hi snowbelle, i saw those tops at spring maternity when i was shopping there. think thyme maternity also carries but more expensive.

me also very lazy to use teh stretch mark cream/oil..where to apply?so far i've only applied less than 5 times (thou i bought the oil 2 months ago) on my bum,tighs,tummy (below belly buttom area). not sure if i should apply on the breasts and arms as well?

i mean, we wouldn't know where we will 'stretch' until we see the marks right?

hb 'complain' that the smell is too strong, a bit unbearable. i tell him he must chose between a nice smelling wife now or a zebra for wife in future, haha. he's been trying to tahan the smell but i know it's a struggle for him lah.

cheryl, take care...remeber to apply those ointment for scalding, hor.

dorothy, hope u feel better this eveining

Hi ppl,

Feeling so blue now. Is on cold war with my hb since Sunday. Need advice.

My hubby is a soccer freak! He insisted on playing soccer every Sunday between 2.30 - 6pm. After soccer he will sleep till 8pm. Sounds alright yah? But the problems is that he works till late night every Monday - Friday and I work till late night every Saturday and Sunday morning ,which means the only time we have together is Sunday afternoon.

I have tried to persuade him to change his soccer schedule but till now with no success.

To make things worse, he had promised that he will dote on me and stop his soccer when I get pregnant.Up to date, he didn't manage to keep both his promises.

Not sure if it's the pregnancy but I am definitely feeling very depressed.

I only have a few good friends and since I resigned, my social circle had shrink almost next to none.

Can someone help me with my problem. What can I do to get him to spend quality time with the family?

Dorothy
I experience migraine and my gynae gave me tylenol to help with the pain.

Patsy,
My hair is dropping more too... but I think it is due to my oily scalp. Hormone changes thus caused my scalp to be more oily and more dandruff prone. so sad...

Cheryl
Do take care of your fingers.

Any signs of movements in the 4th mth? tummy not very big & didn't gain any weight i think? normal? quite worrying..

snowbelle, i saw it at thyme maternity too. I think if i recall correctly, the last time i saw one mth ago they are selling at 2 for $60. Alternatively, u can buy from OLD NAVY. I think its quite cheap there.

Moi dar, since u have resigned, u should be able to spend time with him on sat and sunday morning? Otherwise, sit down and talk to him what is bothering u and maybe if he can alternate his soccer session? maybe play one sat and stop one sat. I dunno. Its just my personal opinion.

Been expereincing cramppy pain more often in my tummy......... no movement yet i think. What i felt i believe is the gas movement?

hi piglettail, cheryl...i very kuai - apply the cream 2x a day. i find clarins oil very unmanageable when rushing for time (cos of the texture), cos need to massage very long for it to be absorbed. since switching to elancyl very dilligent....can apply clothes immediately after with no sticky/oily feeling. but i also have more motivation to use cos i have some stretchmarks on my thighs from younger days. so want to prevent more =P

hi moi dar, my 2 rupiah worth - i agree with apple. cos you are not working so time wise, more flexi for you. if you are feeling better, sometimes you can also "date" him for lunch or dinner on weekdays. somewhere nice, have a good meal, and not wait until weekends to spend time. or can hubby bring work home on weekdays? then at least you get to see him more often. i guess for hubby, now is also a stressful time cos have to work to support family and with baby coming along will have more responsibilities. so giving him some space to de-stress is also necessary. different men do it differently, some play computer games, some do sports, some go drinking. i think it's good your hubby's method is very healthy lor.

Hi Moi_dar,
Hope you are feeling better.
I suggest a short trip to relax where you can have a nice chat with your hubby. Communication should be the only way to work things out.

Loinky,
I also haven't gained much weight, maybe abt 1 kg. Guess, it's like that for first time mom...

hey ladies,

where can i get the elancyl strech mark cream ? i also haven't start applying, in fact...haven't bought any ! wondering if i should try the clarins one, but listening to all the feedback about how it's very oily...err...i think i'll not like it esp since morning always rushing...so thinking of getting either bodyshop or elancyl...

hi hana, loinky, you all so lucky!! i'm already +4kg into my 15th week =P dun worry, i know of friends who only put on 6kg throughout entire pregnancy and baby is healthy!!

hi toot, i haven't tried the bodyshop one, but really like the elancyl one. it retails for $47. can get at guardian, watsons, robinsons, john little (john little is having 20% discount now). alternatively the palmer's brand also quite good. i think $25. dorothy had some bottles to sell a while back...maybe you can check if she still has any left.

morning ladies,

garfield, thanks for your tip
yeah, part of the reason y i didnt apply the clarins oil regularly was becos of the oily texture. imagine staining the furniture/bedsheet/clothes = more cleaning(!!) then i very sianz already.

also, is there any direction or method i should use when it comes to applying? i just rub back and forth until the oil is spread evenly on my skin, like applying normal moisturiser, is this correct?

where can i get the elancyl cream, do they only have 1 kind or there are a few types--could you let me know what you have bought? yes, i also have stretch marks on my bum and a bit on my tighs from younger days, so i reckon these will be my 'problem areas' this time too.

moi_dar, hope u r feeling better after telling us.