(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

wow, the thread is going too fast for me to catch up - was on 3 days MC, slept lots at home - i miss my bed.i just went to the gynae on mon, bb was 5cm at 11w4d, says its growing well. and due to the MS i lost 3 kg - sigh, almost week 12 le, still not much improvement..argg..been feeling dizzy easily, though love to meet up but i tink i have to wait till i dun feel so dizzy when i am outside..sigh..even shopping is a turn off now.

I finished my dose of hormone pills last weeek. Notice that my pregnancy symptoms like sore breasts and nausea are subsiding. Dunno whether good or not.

hweiz- How much do you pay for the first born incentive card. How long they took to process the card. Can this card be used at other gyn clinic in tmc as well. Thanks

I finished my dose of hormone pills last weeek. Notice that my pregnancy symptoms like sore breasts and nausea are subsiding. Dunno whether good or not.

Ya, must pay $148, valid for 2 years. And must fill up lots of freebies forms, ask whether can skip that but is told complusory to fill up every single form.

The card will be send to you within 2 weeks.
You dont need to bring the card to TMC, their system will have your record once you signed up.

This card can be use for some discount for tests, delivery at TMC, gynae package charges and the maternity store.

today didn't feel well and went to see gynae. Having bad cough and throat and think flu is on the way. Burnt another hole in pocket, only consolation is that get to see bb again. In just one week, bb has grown almost double again. EDD is moved forward again, now is 13 Feb. BB is 4.11cm at 11 weeks/1 day which means one more week to go before 1st trim is up (though I still think it should be 14 weeks). Anyone on medication now for flu or cough etc? I am a bit worried abt taking all these medication. Not sure if bb will be affected or not.

i'm down with cough also. seems everyone around me is sick.
told my family doctor that i am preggy, she prescribe me cough syrup. i think should be safe.
however, i don't take much though.

xiaoyun, do u cough till stomach cramp? Everytime I cough, I so scared bb will be doing a turn in the stomach cos I cough so hard. Gynae didnt give my cough syrup leh, he scared too strong on me. Only give me a mouth gurgle and lozenges. Think this cough will take me very long to heal.

i don't get stomach cramp.
but i cough till vomit last night

today seems better now..
will take lozenges.

does anyone feel that your little bump shifted higher? from lower part of abdomen to higher a bit? mine seems to be like that.

funny thing is my friend commented that i am slimmer nowadays.. (haven't tell them about the little one in my tummy yet... ) haha...

Hi, ladies. I'm from the Jan thread though my EDD is 1 Feb 08 and my gynae is Dr Judy Wong from KK's TPS. Just to share my experience, I just went for my OSCAR test on Thurs cos I'm turning 32 in Aug. I will say go for it. The dr used the ultrasound machine that was very high res, I could see baby's nasal bone, head, and even the brain. Then, the nurse took 1 test tube of blood for my triple blood test. My odds of DS is 1 in 8630. The nurse called me the next day for the results. Very fast so at least I don't need to worry about the results for too long. My test costs $321 (used to be $315 but went up because of gst)I have a blog so feel free to read more about my experiences so far, www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com.

just back from my gynae appt... now edd changed to 26 FEB... doc say eveything ok, but i din manage to see bb heartbeat leh...
doc took my blood to test.. den 2 week later go tmc for the Nuchal Translucency test. is it to check the bb neck?? next gynae appt 3 week later...

Hi Every1!

Have been reading this thread for quite a while, decided to join in 2day! My EDD is 11 Feb, gynae is Lawrence Ang & juz did my OSCAR test yesterday, but results will only be out in a week cos i did my test in the clinic & they gotta send to lap. =(
Heard from some MTBs tt they were being drawn 6 tubes of blood for OSCAR test, but mine oni 1 tube, gynae will divide them into few tubes.. mayb tts y some MTBs thought its 6 tubes..
so MTBs who have not done their test, dun wori so much ok? =)

cheryl,
yeah nuchal translucency test is to measure the thickness of baby's neck. I just did mine yesterday.

hi krisci, welcome!

Hi !

Was wonder'g, can anyone shed some light on whether there is any harm in eating tau kwa, toufu or beancurd on a regular basis during pregnancy. A friend told me this when she saw me munch g away on fried tau kwas... ...Thks!!!

Hi Cheryl,

jus found out fm another friend that it may be due to uric acid. So, did a quick chk and apparently, "high uric acid levels in the blood in women with pregnancy-induced high blood pressure may increase the risk of complications for mother and baby, according to a study in Hypertension: Journal of the American Heart Association."

*sigh* jus when i found something i cld snack on when i m hungry... ...can't wait for 1st trim to end!!!! Arrgh!

i believe toufu, tau kwa all belongs to the soya family. why only tau kwa cannot be eaten? for the uric acid thing, i believe moderation is the key. don't take too much at one go. also, those people that are prone to gout problems, cannot take soya bean products.

I thought toufu and soya bean milk is supposed to be good? Anyway i agree eat in moderation loh for any kind of food. By the way what is gout problems? I find my stomach uneasy after taking milk and soya bean milk.

Taken this from Wikipedia:
Gout (also called metabolic arthritis) is a disease due to a congenital disorder of uric acid metabolism. In this condition, monosodium urate or uric acid crystals are deposited on the articular cartilage of joints, tendons and surrounding tissues due to elevated concentrations of uric acid in the blood stream. This provokes an inflammatory reaction of these tissues. These deposits often increase in size and burst through the skin to form sinuses discharging a chalky white material.

yep, agree that shd be taken in moderation... ... jus that i was munch g on at least 1 piece of tau kwa every other day cos' it not only curbs my hunger pangs but also something that doesn't give that awful nauseous feel'g... ...

So, besides crackers, toasts, nuts, fruits, hard boil eggs, bland torilla chips, wld u ladies have any other suggestions that i cld try out? thks!

for me, i store breakfast cereals in my office drawer. there are so many choices, strawberry, banana, etc. i like the Post brand one especially. i believe they are also healthy choices..
talk about tau kwa, i am now drooling on the vegetarian preserved taw kwa.. oh no.. doesn't sounds healthy.. :p

Hi Heavenly,
My grandma used to tell me that there is a certain chemical added to "set" tau kwa (to achieve that firm texture) and that it is not good in excessive amounts. So it's ok to eat, just not so often. I know how yummy it is...especially the tau kwa pau with lots of delicious fillings!

Sounds like you've been very healthy in your choices of muchies. Here are some (not so healthy?) ideas for you = )
1. A slice of bread with a thick layer of nutella on top (my all time favourite!)
2. A can of milo sipped slowly
3. Muffins (esp those with citrus flavours like orange)

finally feeling better today, xiaoyun, cheryl, hope u two are better too. I am now craving for duck noodles and hubby is picking me up for lunch for it. Yummy....

kitsune_sg, welcome and congrats to your test results. I am doing mine next week, praying hard that all will be good.

yah, xiao yun, that's very fun a calendar, feel like print g it out... ...
and will definitely try our the various flavoured cereals... ...

hey garfield, i also luv cakes and pastries esp chocolate ones for some...sinfully fatten g!

wow, babyhope, so envious, duck noodles!!! For me, i don't have any cravings at all! Lunch and dinner s always a challenge cos' i ll have to figure out wat i can eat without feel g nauseous. So, lunch today is toasted cheese on bread plus milk...too lazy to figure out.

btw, has anyone tried Bella band or something like this before to hold up ur pre-pregnancy pants/skirts? http://www.pregnancystore.com/bella_band.htm

babyhope,
i am still having cough. not getting better. have already finished a bottle of cough syrup..
don't know how long i will take to recover.
cooked some porridge for lunch just now. ate some sinful luncheon meat too.

in my 11th week now. no nauseous feeling for me. feel my tummy is even bigger now. have a funny feeling of my tummy as it shifts depends on which side that I sleep. already started packing my very tighting fitting pants/jeans/skirts into luggage bag. won't need it for 1 year from now...

going to see gynae this thursday. hope everything is fine. how are you MTBs?

yah, xiao yun, that's very fun a calendar, feel like print g it out... ... and will definitely try our the various flavoured cereals... ...

hey garfield, i also luv cakes and pastries esp chocolate ones for some...sinfully fatten g!

wow, babyhope, so envious, duck noodles!!! For me, i don't have any cravings at all! Lunch and dinner s always a challenge cos' i ll have to figure out wat i can eat without feel g nauseous. So, lunch today is toasted cheese on bread plus milk...too lazy to figure out.

btw, has anyone tried Bella band or something like this before to hold up ur pre-pregnancy pants/skirts? http://www.pregnancystore.com/bella_band.htm

Heavenly,

I am also thinking to try out the Bella band. do you know how much is cost? Think it can be bought at Maternity Exchange.

with regards to the bella band - actually my fren's suggestion is to crop off one of the top of ur old t-shirts (those tight fit one) and you can pass off as the bella band..juz a suggestion

by the way, i jus went to Beauty world to take a look at the maternity wear (level 3 Carrano), bought a couple of working pants, and its cheap! like less than 30 bucks for each. Design wise quite ok, although the sizes are like quite big, i am of medium size build, but the S pants is also slightly loose for me, but manageable. can try if you don't mind the brand

hello mummies...hee hee...i think i'm a bit blur....how does this bella band work for my pre preggie pants that are too tight? you mean i dont button up and just use the band to hold it up. secure meh???

yep, u got it rite, it's suppose to be snug enuf to hold up ur pre-pregnancy pants/skirts without having to button or zip up. Jus use the band to cover up the unzipped/unbottoned portion so that it looks like an elastic belt. At least u cld wear ur pre-pregnancy clothes a little while longer ...