(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi Xiaoyun,
The difference between #2 and #3 is due to the blood test. Test for different things. Dunno exactly why but will try to find out and then post again. My gynae didn't ask me to test for HIV.

Hi Babyhope,
You're not alone!! I have also put on 2kg and was so worried that I posted here to ask for advice. The MTBs here tell me it's normal to put on 15-20kg so I feel more comforted. Maybe it's all the Ma Ling Luncheon Meat I've been eating haha...(even with the China food scare)

Hi Cheryl,
Same here, a lot more discharge than normal. I googled abit about this and found more information here

http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/prenatalhealth/270.html

mimi, so sorry to hear about your loss .. stay strong yah for your baby's sake and remember that you always have the ladies here to lend you a listening ear ..

i put on 18kgs for my first pregnancy .. initially didn't put on weight cos of morning sickness and then slowly but surely started piling on the kgs after gaining back appetite .. there was a time when i actually put on 5kgs in three weeks and the gynae was like, can slow down? hahahah .. i hope for this pregnancy, i have gained some weight in the last few weeks cos initially also lost weight ..

garfield, i am worried cos I am not thin to start with. So I should not put on so much weight for my pregnancy. Its not healthy for me. Gynae says first trim wun limit my weight increase but will watch me when I pass 1st trim. I am hoping to put on no more than 10kg for the pregnancy, dunno if possible or not.

Cheryl, my discharge more of yellowish and browish. Thats why doc still put me on hormone pills for stabilising.

Mimi, sorry to hear abt the news. Be strong for your family and your bb.

I also did not do HIV test leh. Must do meh?
I will check with my gynae in my next visit. Got to wait till 1 month later, its a long wait.... Cannot wait to see my bb again.

mini, pls take care of yrself... if u need any help, let us know....

i should be doing my blood test tomorrow.... but happy to see bbscare scare...

babyhope, HIV test must do.. this is by law...

huh? den y gynae nvr ask us to do huh??? zzz...

my boob got the tingling feeling, pain.... den tummy just nw got sudden pull felling when i sit down...

PJ, based on my LMP, I was supposed to be week 7 liao. But gynae said only can see sac but no baby. So told me to come back 1 wk later. Was quite worrying the whole week. But thank God, the following wk, could see the baby's heart beat liao. Based on size, baby seems to be 5 weeks only. But based on the conception date, which hb & I managed to narrow down to, baby should be 7 weeks by then. So hope that baby's growth can catch up soon.

Welcome new mummies! I will update you all to the list later when I get my laptop back, cos I had some problem with the motherboard & had to send it back to the shop. Now using my backup laptop, but the list is in my problem laptop. I'll add in the predicted gender when it is back. Any other column requests??

Hi JD,

I dun actually vommit, but I experience severe nausea coupled with gastric pains. It used to be quite bad and affected me every 2 hours throughout the day.

So for me, I ate 7 small meals throughout the day. Breakfast, mng tea, lunch, early PM tea, late PM tea, dinner, supper. Try to take nutritious and not junk food....so stuff like milo, cereal, fruits, muesli bar are ok. The important thing is to eat before the gastric pains hit. So I will eat even though I don't feel hungry cos by the time I do...too late liao the gastric pains will have attacked.

Hi Garfield9,

Seem like i'm having the same prob with you. Must eat every 2 hours else gastric but sometimes its too late esp after 8pm.. Normally will stuff myself with some bread and headed for bed around 9+. Do you have this dizzy spell and burping too?

Too much canned food no good, esp processed meat like Luncheon Meat and Sausage.

Hi pj, yah...me fairsian too..no wonder we ask the same question lah....i graduated in 1992...how about you?

babyhope, i realised i also got yellowish discharge at times...not alot...already on hormone pills becos of my staining last week...but this week came back to work after mc last week and keep forgetting to bring to work to eat...ok put hp reminder liao...

today rainy day..so sleepy....i tend to wake up at least once at night nowadays, for pee'ng......i am the kind that used to sleep through the night...now had disrupted sleep becos of the waking up...so sleepy now...u ladies wake up often at night?

Tong tong- Thanks for the info provided

blufairy- is quite common ,i also keep waking up in the night to pee. Maybe before an hour of slp drink less water. By right the symptoms of peeing in the night should subside ard week 10. take care

Take care all mothers!

i din really alway wake up to pee. but it is common to keep wake up a few time in a nite.. i used to sleep thru the nite.. plus alot of dram nowadays..

Hi hweiz,

I also experience dizzy spells and burping. Luckily my gynae gave me MC to work from home since I was 6 weeks (due to bleeding)....so can rest in bed whenever I feel unwell. If it really affects you, I think maybe you should ask your gynae for MC too.

I read that MTBs tend to suffer from flatulence, so try to avoid foods most likely to cause gas eg. beans, cabbage, cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, broccoli, and asparagus.

Ok - will heed your advice and resolve to cut down on processed foods. But it tastes soooooo yummy hee hee!

Btw, anyone knows when is a good window to do rebonding of hair?! I'm thinking of chopping off my long hair to a low maintenance hairstyle. Feeling lousy so no mood to do up my hair every morning.....look like auntie =P

Mimi,
Sorry to hear about your lost, please stay strong and time will heal your wound while the good memories will remain in our hearts forever.

I am also in my 11th week and next week, I will be doing this chromosomes abnormality test, whereby the gynae will scan baby's neck and take blood test and I was told will cost $300+. Actually Dr said below 35 can choose not to do but since its a simple test that will not cause any harm to mother and baby, so I thought, just test to feel more at ease. So, so far other than HIV test and this coming test, thats all.

hweiz,
I burp a lot too, sometimes I even feel so 'pai say' especially if I am with friends. In fact, burping helps me not to vomit so much, so to me its not a bad thing.

blurfairy,
I wake up very often too and also dream a lot. Sometimes sweet dreams, even dream about babies but sometimes nightmare and woke up with sort of panic attack. Sigh! Homonal changes to our body can really do a lot of funny things to us. I also have a tough time falling sleep at night and once asleep will also wake up twice or so to pee.

Cheryl,
I think your discharge should be ok, don't worry too much about it, since it does not itch and no blood discharge.

Garfield,
Thanks for your advice and suggestions. Yeah its too late when I start eating once the gastric sets in, in fact will throw up even more if I eat after the gastric sets in. I will follow your suggestion and hopefully my condition will improve. The thing is I also no appetite so also don't feel like eating but will try.

Also, do cut down on your luncheon meat intake. I read from some websites that suggest avoiding food like sausages and luncheon meat. I will try to find the sites again and post it here asap.

Well, I not sure why some gynaes did not do HIV test, I just know that my gynae told me its mandatory so its a must. Could it be that private hospital not so 'kan cheong' so its ok to wait longer then do the test but govern/semi govern hospital stricter so test to be done earlier? Its just a pure guess as my Gynae is from NUH.

Wishing all mummies a nice day.

Thanks, JD! Didn't realize that even deli meats, like ham, are not safe for the baby. Timely reminder - better to steer clear from now on.

I usually cook luncheon meat in hot water or fry it, but tend to eat deli meats raw.

Bad news....my MS is now back again in full force.. i eat v v v little... yesterday, practically no food at all.. Feel so weak and very wrecked...

Yesterday didn't get to c gynae cos got some last min urgent work. I thot I am abt to faint and die away liao...

Want to go see gynae but she is full for apptmt today...

This is so unbearable

Hi Cheryl,
Tat is the exact kind of pants i liked!Gd taste!Saw an ang moh super pregnany lady who wore a similar but longer black tights and a black tight tank top,she looks super sexy!!!Her arms n legs were all super slim and only her stomach is round....hee hee i also wan! Hee hee
Abt hairiness & discharge,yes definitely.Be4 pregnancy already hairy monster,now hairy hairy monster!As for discharge,more too.But if itis not itchy then no worries,i just had an infection n put on medication,but cleared.QUite common,my gf also kana the same thing.

Hi Garfield,
I was drinkin yakult like anything too cos bloated mah..then i read it is not recommended for preggies in motherhood mag so i stopped.As for flatulence,yes lor...sometimes i fart (can't hold rite?),i pity the ones walkin behind me! LOL

Mimi,
Sorry to hear abt the news..be strong oki?

Snowbelle,
I was also dreading walkin into a maternity shop cos alot of the clothes are like still "sailor moon!" went to one shop at great world yest,nearly fainted when i saw the fashion!I think even my mumin her times also will not wear!

Blurfairy,
Hi fellow alumni,i graduated one yr before you so senior (not older huh) la.Hee hee...actually we went back to Fairfield to take our wedding shoot..so fun!DO u knw Elaine Lim is the new principal?

Hi Dorothy,
Gathering sounds like a gd idea!Anyone keen?Pls indicate your interest in the following list..i'll volunteer to organise it!

Hot mama gathering :
- Dorothy
- PJ lam

PJ

u r so cute.. cannot drink yakult?? i just drink 1... so many drink i dun like. now fruit tree fresh apple n aloe vera juice taste so nice. hehe...

yes. i like the kind of pant i buy oso... i really like this kind... so comfy n nice... i oso burp alot.. fart not so much but poor hb alway smell it... cos i having constipation plus bloating, so cfm smelly... haha...

gathering can add me in too

PJ, your comments are so funny...like the part about sailor moon maternity..yah...some maternity clothes really quite durh...yah, i knew elaine lim is the new principal but i was nvr taught by her before so dun really know her lor...really misses my days in school...sec school is the most memorable...

yah, i also got bloating...esp after dinner...and nowadays my poo had this very dark tone...duno issit becos of the constipation..or becos of the vits that i am taking...

gathering can add me in too...

Me too... I also wake up 1 or 2 times at night to pee... but these few days I managed to sleep through the whole night without waking up... not sure is it because of rainy day, good sleep or now 10 weeks liao, so subside a bit...

JD, is this chromosomes abnormality test same as Oscar test? Coz Oscar test also cost about $300...

oh, yakult cant drink? i still consume as normal, just that i wait till it's not cold only drink.

i burped a lot too, especially after eating. quite irritating but starting to get used to it. MS still got, not out yet though i'm 11 wks liao.

Hi PJ,
Wah, I'll be very sad if I cannot drink Yakult cos it really helps with my flatulence and constipation. Both symptoms greatly reduced after I consume Yakult regularly. I did some net research and all the articles list Yakult as safe for us mummies leh...

Is Yakult suitable for pregnant and breast-feeding women?
Yes. Yakult is safe to drink during pregnancy. It contains one type of bacteria only - Lactobacillus casei Shirota strain, so there is no risk of listeriosis which is caused by the Listeria strain of bacteria. Constipation and indigestion (acid reflux) are common during pregnancy, and we have received a lot of positive feedback from people commenting on the relief that drinking Yakult has provided in maintaining a balanced intestinal microflora.

More info here
http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=1479476

Hi Tong Tong,
Yakult needs to be drunk cold cos it contains live good bacteria that can only survive below a certain temperature. If you drink it when it is no longer cold then all the good bacteria would have died already.

I think I'll ask my gynae next trip to be sure.

garfield, oh! thanks for the info! i tot we cnat drink cold drinks so let it settle down before drinking. but defnitely will jump happily if i can drink it cold hehe.

other than cutting down on veggies which can produce gas, what are the ways to reduce burp?

i dont eat those veggies but still burp leh..

Hi tongtong,
A few more tips ...
1. Drink plenty of water to avoid becoming constipated, which can aggravate gassiness.
2. Opt for smaller meals that don't overload your digestive system.
3. When you eat too quickly, you often swallow air, which can form gas pockets in your belly.
4. Try to relax. Tension can also cause you to swallow air, both during meals and during the day.
5. Avoid gassy foods such as cabbage, beans, fried foods, onions, or anything that affects your particular digestive tract in a painful or musical manner.
6. Avoid carbonated drinks
7. Moderate exercise

Hi Snowbelle,

Ive signed up for the FBI and got 10% discount for the oscar test today at TMC. They scanned and took 3 tubes of blood from me.. and the result was out by 5pm. Me 31 this year and result showed low risk 1:7200

garfield9,
so good can work from home, me have to apply for AL to go for monthly follow up.. too much mc boss wont be happy.. Thought rebonding is a no-no during pregnancy.

Hi hweiz,
Congrats on your OSCAR results!! Must be a big relief for you. I'm going for mine in 2 weeks' time.

Ya i work at ang moh company, boss is in New York, so luckily can work from home. My gynae gave me 6 weeks MC to work from home bcos not so stable. My coy MC limit is only 14 days so I have to take MC sparingly.

Regarding rebonding, dunno leh, i hear some pple say can but only certain months of pregnancy, some say no. So wondering if all you mummies have heard anything.

cheryl,
cannot take aloe vera. heard from friend it is too cooling for now. Only can take in last trimester.

Garfield,
Think its not advisable to do rebond or colouring while pregnant due to the chemical used. Its best to check with your regular hair saloon.

Hweiz, thats a very good prob you recieve. I am doing my test in 3 weeks. Praying real hard that the test result will be good too.

Actually I heard rebonding and colouring are both no no for pregnancy leh. My Chinese sinseh told me not to do it when I told her I wan to colour my hair. I guess its a risk that some mummies take lor.

hi blurfairy,

if u're on prenat vits now, poo will change to a dark brown color lah. it's normal. and urine may become darker yellow too.

hi, everyone...

me went to gynae yest..saw my bb. measuring 7cm...me so happy.. to see bb moving.. also saw her limbs.. me now in week 13.

my gynae measured my bb neck skin( also known as NT scan- supposed to be used as one of the way to measure DS). her NT scan measures 0.13cm.. which is within the healthy range.also my gynae also analyse the risk of have DS... based on my age.. the risk is abt 1: 500...

i still have not take my blood tst. as we dun know whether to go for which one... will do on week 17...

also i asked gynae to scan for gender... can see already.. but will share on my next scan...

btw, gynae said i in my 2nd tri!!!

PJ, thanks for organise the gathering... me look forward !!

wow dorothy, you are in your 2nd tri already. Does 2nd trim starts from 14 weeks ( from LMP) or 12 weeks? Do we count from conceive date or LMP? I am always confused? I read books that says it should count 14 weeks from LMP or 12 weeks gestation (spelling?) which means from conceive date. Cannot wait for 1st trim to be over. Hope the gender is what you are wanting to have.

Hweiz, u signed up for the FBI on the same day as your Oscar test or u have signed up earlier on?

Nice pant u have got, cherly. I recently bought 2 bottoms at one go too. One short, one capri, one working pants and one jeans material kind of pants and they cost me only a total of only $105. All bought from City Plaza.

By the way, I have more discharge than last time too and I am experiencing itchiness this morning. What cream can I apply?

yes urine become more yellow. most of the time it is.

dor
i tot tri 2 start at week 14 oso... hee.. den good, it is nearer liao..

yes. i got itches oso. but not at v. it is at the fold between thigh n v... sometime very itchy

Hi apple,
Didn't know there are such good buys at City Plaza. Are they normal clothes or maternity clothes? I stay quite near so should make a trip there.

For those mummies who cannot bear the thought of maternity wear (yet) may want to get some wrap dresses. They are very versatile. Should fit our current frames very well and still accomodate growing tummy.

Looks like I have to make do without rebonding. Need to consult hair stylist on alternative low maintenance hairstyles.

The bottoms are all maternity bottoms which can stretch till very big. I bought from 2 seperate shop, one of them specialises in maternity wear. But u got to wear longer tops to cover the rubber part of the pants.

I also bought some long big tops in some of the shops. Think the trend now is long and roomy clothing, haha suit us just fine.

cheryl/babyhope, heehee... anything lah... so long can see bb can already...

jialat, yest forgetten to ask gynae can colour hair? cos mine in veri bad shape....

guess what, i still have not put on weight.... in fact, lost 0.8kg since last visit... shiok, can eat n eat...

apple, u refer to neuneu?

my colleague who is about 5 months pregnant just went for rebonding - she asked the hairdresser and was told it's ok. she mentioned that her friend also did it during her previous pregnancies and all babies turned out ok. i think she looks nice btw ..:D

i also didn't manage to see my gynae yesterday cos i took my daughter to the doctor for eye infection .. that was in the morning and my gynae appointment was in the evening. i didn't want to hang around at the hospital and once i got home, didn't want to go again .. lazy! hahaha ..

wah .. got gathering huh? would love to go if my MS is better

hi mummies..

cuclainne, babyhope, dorothy, pj and JD

Thank you for everything..im ok here..i just cant wait to see doc this sat..will keep ur posted

good day~

dorothy, I am waiting for 1st trim to be over cos work is requiring me to travel and I want to make sure I am out of the risk of 1st trim before I agree to it. So if its 12 weeks, will be good lar, I can rest my mind earlier.

apple, you got good buys leh. Now I lagi heart pain to spend so much.