(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Genice,
Fantastic!! Come come!! Thanks thanks!!

You bringing the kids? I so wanna pinch K's cheeks lor

Bkk and I will coordinate to meet you earlier. Still at Starbucks cityhall or elsewhere?

Gar.. possible to meet at city hall station itself ? so i dun need to come out? i taking mrt to NEX. can we meet like 11.30pm?

U have my no.? Any change in timing can sms me, i will pm u my no. K.

Maid
My maid is actually quite good. Honest, not scheming and hardworking... Until the issue of her straying husband cropped up. In the past mth, she washed my master bedroom toilet like at most twice. How can? Told her my part time helper does a better job than her then she "wake up". Since yesterday, she resumed her hardworking attitude. See can sustain for how long.

Iso, prefer pinoy coz they know English n not so sua ku.

gar, bkk
ooh i just realised that robinsons is having a sale tmm! i have to make extra effort to piah down now. will SMS when i'm there, hopefully the place won't be painfully crowded.

maid
thanks for the views on maids.

lezy, yours does make sense. and i think i'm a bit anal about laundry and was thinking that i might want to put the clothes in and let her just hang, etc. so it's nice to know that we think alike! lol.

REally, there's a sale at Robinsons?? Ok, I also need to piah with you Iso. You got Robinsons card? Can I "borrow" your privilege? hehe. until now, Robinsons still doesn't me as a customer. Everytime shop during sales, must beg other customers to pay for me and I pay them cash. haiz.

MAID
erm...i'm equivocal abt both pinoy and indo. Main observation is pinoys are damn emo human beings. I can't take the drama and emotions. I've switched to Indo. So far ok, can take scolding, not lazy, follows instructions ok. Her spelling and writing beats my other filipino maids. And her lingua franca is not english, therefore to me, quite good already. She can write down what groceries I need to buy.

Woah Lezy, you mean teaching them to use washing machine is too much....>.< then I've been frightening all my maids off with my coffee machine. No wonder lah. Hb will even teach them how to foam milk, make espresso, difference between latte and cappucino. Stress right?

bkk
yes! the sale is 22-24 dec. you mean you apply but they never approve?!

gar
whoops sorry, the go-karting was at Kartright Speedway, it's somewhere in Jurong, next to Arena Country Club where there's a Tung Lok and a Pat's Schoolhouse. It was $50 for 10mins. We went this morning at slightly past 11am, and they had the entire track to themselves, but by about noon it was getting quite packed! think got lunch crowd also.

Lezy, you are lucky to have a good maid. if I remember correctly, she was an old maid that your family used right?

bkkgal, my maid has mastered the washing machine can master but microwave oven with microwave/convection functions until now she is still blur. Even with step by step instructions that she wrote down herself, she still has no confidence. Everytime, I ask her to use the microwave oven to warm up her own food, she will rather eat it cold cos she doesn't know how to do it. I teach so many times liao till I give up.

So er, I do think the coffee machine that can do expresso, latte, cappucino etc is very cheem. If they are really so good at operating the coffee machine, then they will be a barista, not maid liao. Tell your hubby, different calibre lor. Unless your maid is genuinely a gourmet coffee lover, then maybe she will be motivated to learn and remember. :p

Gar, sorry, not going for the tasting session. Going to gate crash RaeAnne's party. She has been whining that she wants to go back to the old school. since got xmas party tom, I want to show support a bit plus we need to bring food over.

Pauline,
Yes mine is 'oldmaid'. Reason why we 'took her back' was cuz of what i stated lor.

Bkk,
yeah...coffee machine is really cheem liao. Even microwave she dun dare to use. She rather handwash my bedsheets in my absence, than wait for me to come back and put in the washing machine - that's how 'adverse' to technology/machines she is lor. Partly also she VERY scared she spoil our things so she rather not touch. I find it hard to fault her from that point of view.

LANGUAGE:
We survive with the language barrier. A lot of hand gestures and simplifying words as much as possible to talk to her. She speaks very basic english and understands what we say mostly...but she can be VERY forgetful...and also need prompting on what to do. You have to keep reminding and not get angry cuz she doesn't forget on purpose-she's just rather blur and simple-minded. The household we live in is way too complex for her. (i think she see the number of computers we have also scared liao)

When all else fails, I'll resort to asking my parents to tell her in malay. And one fine day, if really need to, no choice lor, have to engage my indo friends to communicate with her if relaly too cheem. hah.

Re: 2011 B'dae Bash for our 3 Year Olds
Options are
1) Fidgets
2) Macdonald's
3) Playhouse @ Rochestor

Tentative dates:
16 or 23 January 2011

BD bash on 16 or 23 January 2011
1) Garfield (ok wid both dates, prefers PM)
2) Leila (ok on both dates, prefers fidgets or playhouse)
3) Genice ( fine with both dates, MAC at Ridout garden
4) Bkkgal (fine with both but prefers 16 Jan, MAC at Ridout Garden)
5) Iso (both dates, any venue!)
6) Tute (16 Jan)
7) Eliaw

I'll go check out the cost for Macs and Rochester and get back to you all before we decide.. Stay tuned for more updates!

re: Partycity Spree
Now there's 20% off till friday.. thinking if we should just place our order asap.. Anyway, pls email me asap with ur order..

gar,
sorry not able to support the goodies tasting session. clashes with my bb's meal time. hope u get good sales!

Re: 2011 B'dae Bash for our 3 Year Olds
Options are
1) Fidgets
2) Macdonald's
3) Playhouse @ Rochestor

Tentative dates:
16 or 23 January 2011

BD bash on 16 or 23 January 2011
1) Garfield (ok wid both dates, prefers PM)
2) Leila (ok on both dates, prefers fidgets or playhouse)
3) Genice ( fine with both dates, MAC at Ridout garden
4) Bkkgal (fine with both but prefers 16 Jan, MAC at Ridout Garden)
5) Iso (both dates, any venue!)
6) Tute (16 Jan)
7) Eliaw
8) bx (both dates, any venue)

Reporting live from City Hall Starbucks

There's the Robinsons Sale going on!!

Plus two yummy mummies offering free tins of love letters plus tasting!!!

There's no better time to come down here

Thanks to everyone for your support in person and in spirit !

Updates on B'dae Bash

Just called up Macs Ridout branch, they're fully booked on 15, 16, 22 &amp; 23 Jan!! I cannot believe it!!

Will post shortly on Rochestor..

Updates on B'dae Bash

<font color="119911">Cost for Playhouse @ Rochestor
Venue - $450 for 15 children (Additional Children cost $15)
Duration - 2 hours
includes 1/2 hr programme and free play
(The coordinator there happens to be the same guy Imran who hosted our 1st B'dae bash)
Food - $15 per child (Includes 3 mains + Dessert + Free flow drinks)
Food for Adults - Buffet $30 per head or Ala-carte
B'dae cake and goody bags are separate..

Cost per child could easily work out to be $30 (venue) + $15 (food) + $5 (cake) excluding food for adults..

Rochestor is also fully booked on 16 &amp; 23 but available on 15 &amp; 22..
<font color="ff0000">Cost for Fidgets - $575
Includes 5 types of party food, but excludes cake..

Cost per child works out to be $38.33 (venue) + $5 (cake), excluding food for adults..
<font color="0000ff">Cost for Macdonalds'
$9 per child
The cheapest!! but Ridout is fully booked.. any other venues to suggest?</font>

Kpo a bit. Not joining u guys for e bash but can I suggest mac at amk ave 6. They have a small playground, nice outdoor area with lush flora. A section enough for 20-30ppl. Abt 5mins walk away is an outdoor playground with sand pit. IYKWIM.

Eliaw, I like Mac too. Any chance of changing dates (not Sundays?) then I can make it. ;)

Gar/bkkgal, thanks for the love letters.
I still bu she de to open. Hoping to be invited to some Xmas party then I can bring there to open so that more people can try. kekeke.

Eliaw,
Thanks for the positive feedback on the goodies!

Bx,
I totally understand. Nowadays our schedules are driven by our kids' timetables!

Pauline,
LOL! Thanks for coming by. Pls go ahead and munch cos if you close it back tightly will still stay crispy. In fact I was asking why can't these be given as Xmas gifts? Just tie a nice green ribbon and it will be christmassy

hello!!
pop in to say hi while very busy with work, kids (concert, parent-meet session, childcare centre closure, gift exchange.. etc)
today took leave to prepare snacks for her potluck @ school tomorrow.

let me know about the birthday bash.
i try to squeeze in the time if hb is not too tired. (he has been attending evening class 3x per week + some weekends too)

Hi mummies, I have also checked e Mac thingy, Jan 29th and 30 th available for RIDOUT but e timing is abit off at 2.30 which is most tots nap time.just wanna hear some feedback from u all, e celebration is 1.5 hr long. So unless u can make ur tot sleep b4 hand or drag e sleeping time till abt 3 plus-4 else we have to drop that timing n checkout other macs. I am outside now, can someone help to call amk Mac?

To be honest , I prefer Mac then others cause the rest are so EX!! :p another suggestion is post celebration on 27th feb, any babies borned on that day? ESP those above who are interested... That day is still available . Suggestions.. Feedbacks..

Gar/Bkkgal thanks for e tin very nice! I shared w my other mummy frens, they like them too b can't confirm w me yet.

Was talking to Gar...how about Marina Barrage?

We can let the kids do waterplay from 10+ and go for lunch at one of the restaurants e.g. Gallery Cafe or the seafood restaurant. We can bring a cake and balloons for the kids and do a present exchange. HOw? does this sound doable? Only prob may be accessibility for some parents who don't drive but the place is free
we only need to share cake and other accessories and pay for adults lunch.

Genice
I prefer morning. Afternoons - the kids get grumpy and tired.

Hope your mommy friends order! :>

Gar/bkkgal, ya the love letters are nice, I have orders Liao! Hee.

I think it's great to have the bash at marina barrage! Ya I prefer morning too then we can go back after lunch for the kids to nap.

re: b'dae bash

Yio Chu Kang Grassroots club.. $100 for 4 hours.. Quite a large indoor playground.. not open to public during party time.. so it's very private!!

Eliaw, yes, I have been there before, not too bad! But food must cater from the restaurant there . Actually food Aldo quite gd .. Can consider.

<font color="0000ff">Yio Chu Kang Grassroots Club

Only available for 16 Jan PM from 5-9pm

Venue Cost = $214
Cake &amp; Catering = Not included

Caterers
2.1 Imperial Court Shark’s Fin Restaurant No Chinese Cuisine ORDER THRU CLUB
2.2 The Naked Fish Shoppe Pte Ltd Yes Local &amp; International ORDER THRU CLUB
2.3 Tim Delight Pte Ltd Yes Local &amp; International ORDER THRU CLUB
2.4 KM Wedding Services - Wedding Planner 62951624
2.5 Gayathri Restaurant - Indian Cuisine 6291 1011
2.6 Mayura Catering Yes Indian Cuisine 6258 5336
2.7 Muthu’s Curry - Indian Cuisine 6392 1722
2.8 Sakunthala’s Food Palace Yes Indian Cuisine 6293 6649

Actually this is also not feasible because we need to cater for 30 pax.. n i don't think we have enough pp..</font>

ok time for revote after compiling all options.. i think we will only choose between either

<font color="119911">1) Macdonald's Ridout 27 Feb 2011, 11am, 230pm or 430pm
Estimated Cost = $9 per child, Food for Adult excluded
Activities = 1.5 hour party hosted by Mac's staff</font>

<font color="ff0000">2) Marina Barrage / Gallery Cafe 16 Jan 2011 1030am
Estimated Cost = $3~5 per child (Cake &amp; Balloons), $15~20 for Adult
Activities = Water play, lunch &amp; cake cutting at Gallery Cafe</font>

1) Garfield
2) Leila
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw
8) bx

Pls also indicate if want to do gift exchange (Y/N)

Eliaw, Sunday, my hubby got tuition leh. Even for Raelynn's 1st birthday party and our Taipei trip, he told me to avoid Sundays lor. Bo bian mah, got to respect him cos he's foregoing his off day to work for extra pocket $ for the gals' milk powder. :p If he doesn't go, no car, 2 young kids and a blur maid, I really don't want to venture far lor. haha.

1) Macdonald's Ridout 27 Feb 2011, 11am, 230pm or 430pm
Activities = 1.5 hour party hosted by Mac's staff

2) Marina Barrage / Gallery Cafe 16 Jan 2011 1030am
Activities = Water play, lunch &amp; cake cutting at Gallery Cafe

1) Garfield ( Anything, Y)
2) Leila
3) Genice ( Mac 11 am, Y)
4) Bkkgal
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw
8) bx

1) Macdonald's Ridout 27 Feb 2011, 11am, 230pm or 430pm

2) Leila
4) Bkkgal
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw ( Anything, Y)
8) bx

Mummies, can we do 15 Jan or 26 Feb? I will check Mac's for availability..

Genice, tomorrow i will swing by your house.. SMS me yr address..

re: Partycity Spree

Any takers? Garfield reserved US$40.. n i have yet to receive any other orders from Tute, Jass &amp; Dorothy..

Let me know ASAP..

) Macdonald's Ridout 27 Feb 2011, 11am, 230pm or 430pm

2) Leila (Mac 2.30 pm or 4.30 pm, Y)(or if hit 30 pple ie plus daddies,grandparents,helpers etc etc prefer YCK)
4) Bkkgal
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw ( Anything, Y)
8) bx

eliaw,
sorry for being suaku, but what is being served at macs to the kids ah??? can we choose or??? cos my son's quite suaku too, only eaten hotcakes n fries fm mac :p ya lah, i eat other things when he is not aware or looking mah....hahaha!!!

gar,
i wanna place order for the goodies...but where ah?? n what s avail???

well, ya seeing the 2 kids being sweet to each other is really a nice thot for me now cos the kor kor at times still "disturbs" the mei mei until she protests!! i have this strange strange feeling that the mei mei will give it back to him when she is more mobile ....hahahaha!

bkk,
hello!!! m good jus becoming "crazy" wid the 2 kids :p u knw what, that day i went back to prof rauff's clinic for follow up n i was so "lucky", she had to deliver 2 babies consecutively on the same day, waiting time was like 4 hrs or so!!!!! Btw, do u knw what does prof like to eat? been wanting to get her something but m still scratch g my head.....

and my gal's name is Caitlin....sounds somewhat familiar hor???

iso,
the go kart thingy....u mean if an adult drives, the kid can sit in too??? sit where??? i wanna go too....it sounds soooooooo fun!!!!

Leila,
Order through me
I emailed you the price list already. Any other mummies who are keen pls let me know k? Kum sia kum sia!

For delivery or collection, a few options:
1. Are you staying near CCK? There's a mom who stays at CCK who is interested to order. So I can deliver at one go.
2. Does hubby work around central area? I can pass to him at some MRT
3. If the bday bash is in Jan I can pass to you then.

Gar
List, me please!

leila
there are double go-karts! i think might be more ex than single go-karts but i think the boys will like it.

actually hubby planned to go there with his friends, so we went a little earlier and he brought E along. after i posted the photos of the go-karting later in the afternoon, his friends all got in trouble cos their wives saw my fb and called them up and ask why never bring their kids?? LOL!!

i left baby at home though, cos it's pretty noisy. when we brought E a while ago (maybe earlier this year?) he was very scared by the noise.

gar, please email me the list too. But how to collect though cos I can't go to the gathering since it's on Sunday. :p

Btw, Merry Xmas to all the mummies!

Elias, ya my boy vegetarian so not taking anything from mcd , does he need to pay too? 15or16 is out for me cuz hubby sitting for exam. So can choose marina barrage only.