(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

iso, i will order right after x'mas.. hoping for boxing day sale.. haha..
Korea shopping is shiok!! always end up buying a lot of things..

gar, i think the US online supplies are cheaper than the online one.. besides they dont have dinosaurs too..

C's still sleeping now.. he got a viral fever.. it comes on & off..

Iso, my boy is a Thomas fan too. He enjoyed himself in thomas land when we went Tokyo in may. Any such playground in Korea?

Eliaw, I'm interested in the spree too. I tot of having a piñata. Maybe Mexican theme to go along with the piñata or recycle the Thomas deco stuff. Heh.

eliaw,

me also keen... oops, i still have my puzzles with you yeah - this weekend are you at home, will msg you later. so sorry for the delay!

Hi, Mummies,

Like to ask mummies who bake. Is it true that microwave oven cannot used for baking? Must be convention oven?

I ask HN salestaff, the lady told me microwave oni for heating?! Cannot 4 baking..

Pls enlighten me, as i wan 2 get an oven 2 try my hands on baking...

MICROWAVE-BAKING:
i dun bake much..but i know SOME microwave ovens have a special convection mode that can be used for baking. Not all microwaves have that mode.

LESSON LEARNT FROM TRIPS WITH CHILD:
Stick to one location, one hotel.

My trip to port dickson-KL-genting was a horror...having to check in-n-out of 3 hotels/apartments in 5 days and packing for beach+city+coldwear.

Plus have to drive up n down n all around.

Plus have 4 oldies to look after (lucky also had cousin + wife to share the load).

TOTALLY drained out.

*zoned out*

eliaw,
thanks, i'll take a look and let you know.

phil & teds double stroller,
it's official - hubby has decided to let go! anyone interested pls let me know. will be posting in WTS thread

baby bjorn synergy,
also letting this go

lezy,
OMG - that sounds like a very challenging trip! Was ruth ok? Err...the oldies need to be looked after? Thought usually travel with grandparents more relaxed cos they can help look after the kiddo?

i think my ideal trip with kids is a relac stay in one corner beach resort type. in fact, i have only brought A overseas once. now contemplating if i should bring her or not. i am getting used to couple trips without kids....

esther,

microwave w/ baking function - one of the sales person told me before that it gets spoiled faster rather than geting 2 separate ones.

clover
Tokyo got thomas land?? where??? I didn't come across such thing in Korea, maybe i should research, heh.

Esther
some microwaves can bake, but if you're a keen baker, i think you won't really be satisfied with the microwave.

gar
ooh how much are you selling the P&T for? you're lucky A doesn't mind walking. Once before we had the buggy board I had to carry E and push A. wah liao, almost died.

I just saw that Bjorn has a Comfort Carrier which is meant for bigger infants, I'm so tempted to get it because I love how compact and simple the Bjorns are as compared to other carriers.

holidays
i think 1 kid is more manageable, but with 2, i definitely REALLY enjoyed not having them along on the holiday :p

i can't carry ruth for long. She's easily 15kg now i think. doesn't look like much but weighs A LOT. She seems to know so she doesn't demand I carry - but her daddy will kana. Lucky he is strong enough to tahan carrying her for long distances.

eliaw:
Which www are you going to order from? Can lompang? O dear... is C feeling better now?

Apple:
You ordering desitin? Where you order from? Think I better order before I pop too. How are you feeling recently? I feel like ah ma... here ache, there ache. Haa~

Cooking question:making jelly
My jelly is NOT setting....WHY??
I'm using the jelly brand "tropical"-those box type about 80cents a box. I followed the instructions to the dot and added some chopped fruits to make it look better. problem is sometimes it sets but sometimes it doesn't! I made batch 1 yesterday and it was ok. I made batch 2 this morning and it doesn't look like it's going to.

This is not the first time already... why hah??

Thanks for your advice on the microwave oven thingy.

Yes, i try 2 goggle search, read tat cakes tend 2 be dryer...

So maybe i need 2 get the one with convention. Thanks alot!

Hope everyone and our darlings are well and healthy!

Merry Xmas & a Happy New Year!

Re: Partycity Spree
Interested: Garfield, Tute, Clover, Jass, Dorothy
I'm going to order on 26 December during boxing day sale.. (I'm hoping there's one) Pls let me know what you want to order by email.. my email is [email protected]
I'll keep all of you in the email loop..

Clover, i read from one of the sprees that the shipping for the pinata is ex due to size.. u might want to consider buying locally..
Spree Cap = US$220 (I'm ordering US$50, so balance US$170)
www.partycity.com

Spree closing date = 23 December 2010

Eliaw, yah u hv a point. Piñata is bulky n fragile. I will source locally. I looked at the site n found nothing suitable for me, so I'll skip the spree. Thanks!

<font color="ff0000">Hi mommies,

i m letting go my brand new with tag , polliwalk elmo design in size 8 at $39.

pls pm if keen. </font>

4905462.jpg

Re: 2011 B'dae Bash for our 3 Year Olds

Anyone keen to do a combined B'dae Bash? Options are
1) Fidgets
2) Macdonald's
3) Playhouse @ Rochestor

Tentative dates:
16 or 23 January 2011

erm, playhouse has no aircon sitting for the parents leh...the playground is indoor for the kids with ac but cafe is outside in the garden. we'll melt.

eliaw
think boxing day will be too soon for me to plan the birthday party items, thanks!

but i'm keen for birthday thing!! i haven't been to playhouse yet. does McD's have a max number of kids? or depends on location?

I have 2 x 900g Karrihome goat milk 3-7 yrs old.
Letting go at $35 each, own collection or meet at Somerset.
Expiry 2012 Oct.
Interested PM me

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">CNY GOODIES TASTING
HANDMADE CHARCOAL ROLLED LOVE LETTERS AND MORE
</font></font>

As you know, my FIL has been producing CNY GOODIES for 20 years and distributes to many famous outlets and bakeries. His signature product is the handmade charcoal rolled love letters that comes in a very nice red tin.

Some of the mummies here have sampled his products and have given good feedback

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Save up to 45% off retail prices
Retail price: $18 per tin
SMH price: $12 per tin / Buy 5 get 1 Free (only $10 per tin!!)

Special feb mom price pls check with me!</font></font>

<font size="+1">SPECIAL TASTING SESSION</font>
<font size="+1">23 December, 12pm to 1pm
City Hall
Starbucks entrance
(Look for a bright red tin!)</font>

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Please come support me and spread the word to your family, friends and other threads!

So far, Bkkgal is coming to keep me company!</font></font>

harlow mommies, I"m going to support Gar on Wed. Those who are doing christmas shopping or taking leave from work, come join us ok? We can do lunch after that and shop shop around!

<font color="ff0000">sorry mummies, made a mistake in the date.</font>

<font size="+1">SPECIAL TASTING SESSION (CORRECTED DATE)
22 December, Wed, 12 to 1pm
City Hall, Starbucks entrance
(Look for a bright red tin!)</font>

<font color="ff0000">Please come please come!!</font>

Garfield, think I have more business this round, can give me more more perks for pushing the sales for u?hehe. If u have a tin ready, I might get one from u first cuz my friends need tasting too. Possible?

tong,
of course can chum siong lah
I PM you k? sure can give you one tin. you wanna meet us lim kopi on wed and i pass to you? my FIL also selling hey bee hiam, almond cookie and kueh bangkit. i can pass you samples of all these for your friends / colleagues too.

piglettail,
glad you like it! ya taking orders starting now, but you can also order nearer in Jan. please help support me and spread the word among your friends, colleagues, hubby's friends, hubby's colleagues...you get the idea =) the more the merrier!

Garfield, ok I get one tin from u first. This we'd I got to bring s along loh, hope he behaves, hehe. Ok, I veg, so will try to sell almond n bang kit only k!

tong,
aiyo.....haven't seen S in soooooo long! of course bring him! bkk and i will help "entertain" him hehe.

okie! thanks in advance

Iso,
Take leave! Have a long lunch! Whatever it takes to join us!

Tong,
Can help share with the jan08 mums also? Ask Hubby to jio his office? Kum sia Kum sia!!

Iso
You are working?

Smalland
I sent k in last sat. There were many bigger kids and one of them deliberatey blocked her way but she edged past him. But the playground is really quite sparse...not much, no slides or swings, so she lost interest and looked for us. She was in and out like 5 mins. Doubt she could stay in there for 30 mins.

Maid
Angry with mine today. Caught her only give fruit to my no 1 n no cereal. I scolded her how can like that? He is not on a diet and u cannot not give a growing child food. Last week caught her being unhygienic washing my no 1 stuff. I am in the house all day and she still does these sort of things. Then she cried n said wanted to go home. I calmed down n counseled her (geez) that if that's what she really want. She wants to stay and work to earn money for her children or go back to her lousy life of a lousy husband with a pregnant lousy mistress. Told her never to threaten us again. Sheesh. Just brought her for a buffet on Sunday to celebrate her birthday somemore. This is how she repays gratitude?' sheesh!

I haven't been posting much these days cos long story, down with food poisoning (diarrhea plus vomitting) since Sat morning lor. Anyway, I finally brought the gals to Polliwogs today around 4pm, they had a good time. So no regrets, though me and hubby still not completely well yet. But Polliwogs also got big kids running about, 1 gal (about 6-7 years old) knocked into RaeAnne, still dare to 'confront' her loudly. Had to dig really deep to find my 'inner social grace' to avoid shouting back at her. -_-

Gar, aiyah, supposed to go to the zoo on 23 Dec, if in the end cancel then let you know.

Clover, maid is like that one lar. Sometimes, maybe cos of her birthday and she got no family to celebrate with her so she feel so sorry for herself and start behaving out of sorts. Mine ah, everytime got major event eg. letter from home, phone call to home, xmas, son's birthday etc, work always drop in standards cos distracted lor. :/

Oh dear Pauline, hope you are all ok now. Cannot be hang over from Taiwan feasting right?

I know what you mean re older kids. It's can get really rough especially for older kids playing in a group. I recall one incident where the group ganged up on A and prevented her from coming down the slide. She was stranded until I approached and the group stopped harressing her. So yes must keep a watchful eye.

Thanks for your support in advance
I made a mistake in the date it's 22dec, wed, 12 to 1pm city hall starbucks entrance. Hope you can make it. Pls help me share with jan08 thread also
Kum sia Kum sia!!

Gar,
i wanna order some CNY goodies leh...but how is collection gonna be like huh? cos i m stay g soooooo far away n now tied down wid #2 most of the time. Unless birthday bash for our tods can happen then can collect fm u.

clover,
ya lor...maid like dat one. every now n then need to raise ur voice, give them black face, counsel them etc etc else they get too complacent n comfy (at times also gotto praise them for good job done lah...) That day, i jus highlighted to my 23 yr old maid that if she ever gets pregnant, i can't help her and she wld have to be sent back. Also told her that she is not dumb n shd think for herself. Hiaz!! it's as if i have a "teenage daughter" to look aftr as well!!! Mayb i shd jus take this opp to practice talking to my helper on all the teenager issues so that "practice makes perfect" And by then, my now 3 mth+ daughter turns to a teenager, i wld have been a pro at counselling teenagers liao....hahaha!!!

eliaw,

Celebration at Macs, is there still an indoor playground at serene centre branch cos i rem last time (20 odd yrs ago...when i was a teenager lah....)there was one n it seems cool then for kids to celebrate it there....

Options are
1) Fidgets
2) Macdonald's
3) Playhouse @ Rochestor

Tentative dates:
16 or 23 January 2011

BD bash on 16 or 23 January 2011
1) Garfield (ok wid both dates, prefers PM)
2) Leila (ok on both dates, prefers fidgets or playhouse)

Options are
1) Fidgets
2) Macdonald's
3) Playhouse @ Rochestor

Tentative dates:
16 or 23 January 2011

3) Genice ( fine with both dates, MAC at Ridout garden

Re: Mac

Just a suggestion, u all might want to consider Mac ridout garden, got pond to feed tortoise and fishes ( think our tots will love it), got small playground beside the celebration area too. Its alfresco, but not hot because plenty of fans..ilove to go there.

Genice, MAC@ridout is also my fav branch! haha, I like it cos got excuse to go to FarEast Flora and beo the plants and flowers. I always look and kena tempted to buy but I know plants won't survive in my house.

Options are
1) Fidgets
2) Macdonald's
3) Playhouse @ Rochestor

Tentative dates:
16 or 23 January 2011

4) Bkkgal (fine with both but prefers 16 Jan, MAC at Ridout Garden)

Leila
Hi, how are you? Two is a different ball game huh. What's your lil girl's name?

I know what you mean re: teenager maid. I had one like that too. Macham my 3rd daughter lidat. Cross the road also need to look out for her. Everytime no work, she is hiding in her room SMSing away. And sleeps like a teenager too! likes to sleep alot and sleep late.

Anyway, maid stories will never end lah! The guys got NS stories, we got maid stories.

Pauline
Hope you are better. The weather is really nice these days. Going to the zoo will be cooler too. There's a good deal on offer now. $31.90 (C) and $39.90 (A) for 3-in-1 tickets for Hippo bus, Duckw tour, Christmas light up and a premium ticket either to the zoo, flyer or sentosa magix, MINT museum. I think quite worth it. Must use by 2 Jan 2011.

http://www.takemetogreatdeals.com/singapore-city-pass.html

leila,
i know what you mean. it's really not easy dealing with two. but when you see the siblings in their sweet moments with each other, trust me - it's all worth it =)

re CNY goodies. thanks for the support! i will find a way to deliver to you (be it passing to you at the bday bash or otherwise). this time round not carrying a big belly, so more mobile hehe....

zoo,
so sad to say that i have not brought A to the zoo before! cos mummy is soooo afraid of the heat! so actually now is a good time to go.

bkk,
thanks for highlighting the deal. how wanna go together? hehe...i can take leave. any other moms wanna join us?

gar, Bkkgal, thanks. Gar, no lor, Kenna food poisoning from eating the partially cooked hand burger original burger at raffles city. We r sure cos that was the only thing that both of us ate which the kids n maid didn't eat. -_-

Gar, 22 dec is Raeanne's CC's Xmas party, not sure if I can go cos school may end early, will play by ear.

Don't think I can go for the feb mummy celebration cos both dates r on Sunday. Sunday is out for us cos hubby has a regular tuition assignment so the kids r at ILs place whole day.

Bkkgal, thanks for highlighting the deal but I won't go for it cos already brought Raeanne to duck tours this year.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">FREE HANDMADE CHARCOAL FIRE LOVE LETTERS</font></font>

Good news!! I managed to convince FIL to give me some tins of love letters to give away free to reward mummies who take the trouble to come all the way to taste and support me.

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">WHAT?</font>
LOVE LETTER TASTING + ONE FREE TIN TO BRING HOME (RETAIL PRICE: $18!)

<font color="0000ff">WHEN?</font>
22 DEC, WED, 12 TO 1 PM

<font color="0000ff">WHERE?</font>
RAFFLES CITY STARBUCKS - COME UP THE CITY HALL MRT ESCALATOR

<font color="ff0000">Stocks are limited, so please PM me in advance to book your free tin!</font>

gar/bkk
i meant take leave from being SAHM, haha.

i'll try to come tomm but think u better not reserve any for me, cos i will probably have 1 boy, if not 2, and you know how predictable kids are.. NOT!

tomorrow morning i'm going to meet a transfer maid. wish me luck!

mummies, do you prefer indo or pinoy maids, or it all boils down to individual?

Options are
1) Fidgets
2) Macdonald's
3) Playhouse @ Rochestor

Tentative dates:
16 or 23 January 2011

5) Iso (both dates, any venue!)

McD's - i'm disappointed that the King Albert party room has turned into a Spinellis! Ridout is not bad, except it can get pretty hot sometimes..

Anyone need the McD's bday info? They just emailed me today!

iso,
LOL! so that was what WORK meant =) no worries, we keep one for you just in case! Bkk is on leave and I may take leave too. so timing wise flexi just SMS either one of us.

hey saw your FB post, you brought E go-karting...how fun!! hubby drove and he was passenger? can share details like where and how much? thinking my A will enjoy it too....

good luck with your maid!

i'm abit occupied with work now...so dunno if can make it to starbucks tomorrow! Dun save for me though..i think it's highly unlikely. How sucky that it's christmas but the workload is getting even crazier!

RIDOUT GARDEN:
Only problem I have with that place is mozzies! Must bring loads of repellent!

MAIDS:
I prefer maids that are a little dumb. Sorry to use such a term but I've had really bright ones who can do anything from cook like a hotel chef to speak mandarin/hokkien. But she can also double-cross you, play politics with family members, plot a lot of things u won't know till it's too late like putting MSG in the food she cooks.

I dun mind repeating myself, or letting her do the more mundane things while I take on the more complex stuff (eg I put in the clothes in the washing machine while she standby to hang the clothes - teaching her the settings would be demanding abit too much from her).

Important to me is her goals and her character. I like mine cuz she's honest, just wants to hold a proper job and be treated fairly. She doesn't go after pretty clothes or expensive things or demand to be fed fish and prawns and good food. Eats and lives very simply and knows her 'position' by keeping quiet unless we ask her things (and not be some big neighbourhood kaypoh).

She also doesn't go and gossip with other maids but prefers to spend her free time at home, out with us or visit her sis/cousin (only 1-2 times a year). She would also happily walk home to my place from my mum's place (about 20min walk) if the car is full or if we're going out. Even if I asked her to take a bus (i pay la), she'll reject cuz she feels it's extravagant.

Of course, in return, we reward her with little bonuses (money) every now and then or we buy things for her (necessities) etc. I hope she stays with me for a long time to come.

hello..

keen on joining the birthday bash...

Options are
1) Fidgets
2) Macdonald's
3) Playhouse @ Rochestor

Tentative dates:
16 or 23 January 2011

5) Iso (both dates, any venue!)
6) Tute (16 Jan)

gar.. i want to go down leh.. but i am meeting someone at 12 at NEX. will u reach earlier like 1130-1145?will there be other goodies like hey bee hiam to try?

o.. yar.. just tot of it.. i am actually meeting a grp of 6-7 mummies , maybe i can bring a tin and let them try? Hehe.. hopefully can bring more sales for ur FIL.