(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

ql,
i been putting on weight leh. coz i keep snacking to keep myself awake. if i dun munch, i'll b very sleepy.

lucky u managed to restore ss. mine these 2 days also dipped. but i think i will let it be. coz prior to that slightly over ss. since i intend to stop bf gradually. so slowly let it dwindle off.

Genice, Piglettail:
Actually its quite easy to go F&E in Beijing and Shanghai... erm... its like machiam BKK and TW. Cab also quite cheap
Don't really like guided tour for China as they will bring you to those 'tourist shops' where they will try to get you to buy their products (which is not much cheaper from other places). & you will realised that most of the itinerary will be spent at such places. Haha ok I have only been to China on 1 guided trip and I hate it. F&E in the evening when I'm there for biz trip is good enough for me. Thou I do not have time to go to many place of interest.

Genice:
Realised that CCK area has a lof of young families. 2 neighbourhood Pri Sch w/n 1km of my place also need to ballot. Sian~

re: Maid issue
QL, can get her to write home?

Iso,
The 4D show is quite scary:
1) the theater is dark
2) the seats move
3) the characters really seemed to be right before ur eyes
4) water sprayed on our faces
5) cold air on our necks
Hb and I put our hands on A's lap to assure her that we were with her. She was scared at first. After awhile she found it exciting.

RaeAnne suddenly wanted MIL to fetch her from school today so I'm free to check forum now. Heavy downpour now.... Hope the rain stops before 11am. :p

XY, wanted to date you for lunch today but see the heavy downpour sian liao.

Morning to all...

Jass,
Thanks for the tip! Yes I have more or less decided on F&E althou it'll be more expensive than package tour... BUT, i just realised it will be very cold in BJ in Dec!

Now I have changed the holiday destination to Taiwan (yeah, just dying to go somewhere, haha). I think this should be managable for F&E? Does anyone have ny recomendations for the air fare, hotel to book and places to visit?

XY, don't think tom can go out liao cos cannot tax MIL 2 days in a row. :p Wa, 1.5hrs of carrying to sleep? Cannot latch to sleep, I think that way faster. Was Carrie like this too? :p

piggletail, I am taking SA tours Taipei 5d4n shopping craze 'F&E' package. Fly by SQ morning flight, staying at Cosmos hotel, transfers included. $1300 cos booked slightly before Natas. Dec is peak period. Prices not cheap. XY tried See You Hotel, also good and near Taipei railway station.

piglet,
you want to check out budget airline? last time the airfare is 200-300 pax.
hotel is the See You hotel, was quite new in year 2005/6.

you want to go taipei only or more destinations within taiwan?

pauline,
she doesn't want to latch to sleep - kept fighting with me. so different from carrie.

bx
ok thanks for the feedback! today i brought E on the Sentosa Express (the monorail). we just took one round and came back to vivo, haha. cheap thrills, but at least i get him out of the house so that he has some activity and can sleep as early as possible since school starts at 3pm.

school
any mummies got any tips on how to ease them into school so that they cry as little as possible?

XY, nice meeting up with you and Cammie just now. We should do it more often before you go back to work. But I can only 'take leave' last minute. :p

Iso, Elliot's school starts so late at only 3pm?

Kitsune
Ethan
I quite liked the name Elliot for #2, but alas!

Ya his sch from 3-5pm. Either that or 8am (confirm cannot make it!) or 1-3pm.

Iso, sorry, confused about the initials. Wa, RaeAnne confirmed can't make it for 3-5pm cos that is her afternoon nap time. My MIL will nag non stop. But ya, I agree, 8am is too early! :p

pauline,
sure. meet more often - at least i have more nutritious food to eat if I go out.

let me know few hours before, should be able to make it.

Apologies but am searching for a Babysafe Mattress for baby.. Do pm me if you've any to let go, with the condition, dimensions, pictures etc.

Appreciate it lots and thanks! =)

mummies - any1 already working reduced hours for the sake of your kids? i am looking into it, and wonder how i should go about to ask for it. Also whether to go for 4 days work week or shorter working hours - any comments?

qingling
i worked part time before i.e. 2.5 days per week. my boss was nice to approve my application. however, the expectation on the turnaround time for the assignments given didn't change. After few rounds of discussions with my boss to set the expectation and work schedule, I realised that the part time arrangement didn't work out for my case. In the end, after much consideration over many other factors, I decided to quit my job and currently i am SAHM.

Meanwhile, I am doing freelance a/c, and hope to get more a/c back home to do so that we are not so tight on financial. I want to get a real part time job i.e. the working hours = jobs assigned as well. I have another plan to increase our household income, too i.e. to refresh my piano skills to teach.

Though financially, we are very tight, the best thing is I can spend more time with my kids.

Think carefully before you ask to reduce working hours. The boss might approve, but it doesn't mean that he/she likes/accepts the idea that when he/she needs the staff to be around, the staff is not there. This happens to me.

sunny,
sorry to hear that parttime arrangement doesn't really work well for you. lucky you've got piano skills.

qingling,
ur job requires travel, can work reduced hour meh?

XY, few hours notice sounds good. Usually around 9am, I will know if MIL is free to bring RaeAnne home at 11am. Today, RaeAnne actually requested to go Nai Nai house again in the morning but I told her Ye Ye Nai Nai tired. Don't want them to think I 'buay zi dong', everyday dump my gal there. Wait if I genuinely got errands to run and need them to babysit, they won't be happy.

But maybe later bring her to the CC NTUC then pop by their place to raid their fridge for fresh produce cos got nothing to cook for Mei Mei porridge after tonight. ;)

xy - well, i think have to agree on something ba. for those days i m in sg at least?

sunny - sigh..i think same situation for me..because not the work is not confined to working hours only..so i know reduced hrs, reduced pay does not mean reduced responsibilities. but at least i am home with the kids more?

Kitsune and Xiao Yun,
Thanks for the tip on Taiwan
would you know what the weather is like at the end of the year - is it going to be very cold? if yes, does it mean it gets colder progressively towards end Dec hence it's best to travel in Nov/early Dec if possible? cos it's not possible for me to travel before that... but i'm also scared of cold lah.

piggletail, I'm travelling on 7 Dec. I was reading my travel guidebook, Taiwan is situated in Tropic of Capricorn so their winters will be mild. Don't ask me why, I return all my Geography to my Secondary teacher liao. ;P. Jan is coldest so I think Nov/early Dec will be better.

Hi all, super long time din come online.

Congrats jass!

Xy, u can give 1/4 tsp gripewater to bb. That's what I did for rykel too. And the gas situation she get better by the time she is 8 wks old. Oh and she look like she wants to suck cos of the gas, not that hungry. Can put her on tummy so she feels better.

pigletail,

Depend on where you wanna go. How many of you and how many kids going?
If taipei, can stay at Ximending or Main Train Station. Taipei can go 小人国,陽明山, 淡水,龙山寺
end dec will be more like air-cond temp. But can have a lot of raining days, if go up mountain will be cold. Feb close to CNY will be colder.
other parts of taiwan is 九份, 十份,阿俚山,美农,etc.
Since u scare of cold, better to go in Nov. F&E will be better pace with kids along. If u are gng with a group of 10 or so. I can recommend a minibus that can bring u ard taiwan. His service is good.

Piglettail

3 yrs ago, we stayed at Ximending at Neijang hotel. Think a lot of Singaporeans like to stay at Won Star. the Feigo (Freego) bus shuttle from the airport - most ppl alight there.

Taipei was one of the stops to begin with, We travelled the western part of Taiwan via rail, all the way to kenting then took bullet train back from Gaoxiong.

Kenting is nice!

QL:
Let your maid send registered mail? Mine too... when she 1st arrive, she waited like 5 months also got no reply from her family. We almost got her to send registered mail back. But heng... before mail out, her letter mail. For her case, her family simply bochup to reply to her. Now that she is getting full pay they will write to her every month or 2. To ask for $$. So practical hor. Sigh...

re: Holiday
Feels like a short getaway from home and kid. Thinking of Batam but any idea what we can do in Batam apart from shopping and spa? Wondering if 3D2N will be too long.

Blueginger, hey, forget we have a Taiwan native guide on this thread hor. How's life with the 2 gals? My no. 1 always bully no. 2 esp when mei mei takes her toy. :p

fairfield,
yes, going to try the gripewater this evening.

bluegin,
how are you now?
want to meet if me and pauline go out? you also at tampines right?

raining again. wanted to go Parkway Parade buy mooncake and now cannot go liao..

XY, me too, RaeAnne wanted to go Nai Nai house again so I ask MIL to pick her up after school. Thought can go out but raining again.... Sianz...

XY & Pauline,
I'm the silent reading in this thread. Some topics don't know what to comment so just watch.

Pauline,
Ya. Always said don't want mei mei when she took no.1 toys or mummy. Will say give mei mei to 婆婆, cannot give to next door auntie (otherwise cannot see meimei again)
This morning just sumo meimei upsized down with her powerful legs. Grab meimei like using chopsticks. In the end, meimei crying for help.
Actually, native also no use. I din stay in hotel, so cannot recommend. Other parts of taiwan, mostly also stay in relatives' place, unless we go out on holiday as a whole family. But for play and eat can recommend la.

XY,
Everything ok. I'm gng to work at kaki bukit next Tues. Can meet in the evening though. ya. will be at tampines.

Sweetpea,
Kenting not nice during winter (Dec to Feb). If going during summer, best.

Pauline, SweetPea,
Thanks for the tips and info!

Blueginer,
thanks! for this trip it will be hb and me only, i'm not confident of bringing the kiddo along out of SG yet.
I was just randomly researching and found the place Jiu Fen, was thinking of visiting there. is it far from Taipei? Do you think i can maake a whole trip out of Taipei and Jiu Fen for 6-7 days or will it be too boring?

Bx, I ate instant noodles. I let her eat the 2 big 'pow' that my ILs bought yesterday. She doesn't want. We had a lot of leftover veg so I asked her to make veg stock. So, I told her you don't want pow than you eat veg lar, sure slim down one. My maid is super vain so she chose to eat the boiled veg lor instead of meat pow. I bo chap her nowadays. Want to eat, eat, don't want to eat, leave it. You are not a kid, I worry about my 2 gals enough already. :p

Blueginger, mine also. But everytime she said she don't want Mei Mei then I'll tell her then I don't want you, I want Mei Mei. Otherwise, Mei Mei so poor thing, all alone. And she will say Mei Mei got Aunty (maid). Got to keep telling her that Aunty will fly back to Philippines to find her son. She don't want Mei Mei. Duh... -_-

Pauline:
Mine too... she can no longer fit into her old clothes. We even had to give her my hubby's old t-shirts and get her new pants.

Jass, I think they don't eat regularly in Philippines. Mine can tell me no need to eat dinner cos at night never do work. But if we go out to eat, then she wants to eat. Very cunning. -_-

Pauline:
ya lor ya lor. At home hor, she eats so little, I really don't understand how she can gain so much weight. When I look into the portion of dinner she portion out for herself, it consist of 3-4 tablespoon or rice with like 2-3 stalks of veg and little bit of meat. Haha~ when we are out in a restaurant, she can eats quite a bit. Sometimes when our meal time is quite close, my hubby and I will share 1 portion yet she can eat the entire portion by her own. Maybe, like us, she does not like her cooking LOL.

goodmorning!!

it's monday, anyone blue?

was reading the archive messages while big C is about 7-8 weeks old. trying to figure out her day routines and see if anything can be done on small C to ease her evening cries.

but seems that they are so so different.

i tried some gripe water for her but she didn't take too much.
and she wakes up more and more in the day. need to be carried.
is it really true that bb less than 6 months will not be spoilt rotten when we keep carrying her?

big C gave me problem over the weekend too.
she just refuse to take her breakfast and dinner. basically only take lunch. no snack either.
for milk, only once in the morning and once before sleep.
wonder what happens to her...

XY, for RaeAnne, she was carried very often at my ILs place. Raelynn gets carried only when she is sleepy and grouchy. Both prefers to be latched to sleep. Though, RL can sometimes KO on her own if she is very sleepy. Different kids, different routines needed bah. Are all Carrie's teeth out yet? Is she sick? If not, maybe she wants more attention from you? :p

Xy:
Small C sounds like Matt when he is young! Often vomit due to his colic (or whatever the prob is), difficult to burp him, constipated, attention seeking. He needed to be carried and rocked to sleep. Even has a motion detector in him... will cry even if I sit down to rock him. Needs to be carried and walk around. Rem him outgrowing most of these issues at about 4 months. I was so relief!

Hang in there ya girl!

that sounds like A now! sit down he will protest. aiyo. I am very tempted to let him cry it out so that it'll be easier to put him to bed, esp when I have to spend time putting E to bed.

kitsune, did u say u tried to sleep train raeanne to sleep on her own?
or any other mummies got any techniques so that i can just dump them in the room and say goodnight to them? i think i'm spending too much time just trying to get them to sleep..

Iso, I did sleep train RaeAnne with limited success (ie. leave her in her room on her bed after saying good night but she will come into my room 4-5 times after that until she finally KO). BUT after my Genting trip (where we slept on the same king size bed with her cos did not pay for extra bed), she refuse to sleep on her bed alone anymore and hubby is tired of her nocturnal visits so he will sleep with her on the tiny bumper mat beside her bed. End up, we are back to square one, where one of us got to sit/sleep with her until she falls asleep then we can leave the room. Moral of the story, never try to save $ on the extra bed. :p

But the good thing about staying with her until she falls asleep is that on average, she sleeps longer cos at least she does not take 1-1.5 hrs to fall asleep on her own unlike previously. So I comfort myself lor, after all if she does not get enough sleep every single day, her immune system will be lower, more prone to be sick, end up I will still suffer one way or another. :p