(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

pauline, bintan much more expensive. i dun think i will go back there unless no where to go..

hi artermis, i just got a helper and she's coming this weekend. wonder if i cld get the list from you, the one which pauline mentioned. TIA.

good morning!!!

re: colicky baby
#2 is sleeping now..
she seems to be a colicky baby. cries a lot in the evening from 4 pm till 10 pm. seems lots of gas in her tummy yet she still keep turning to the breast when i am carrying her.

i've tried to burp her as much as possible, but she still seems very uncomfortable. can i feed her gripe water? and how to feed? dilute in water or what?

other than carrying, burping, what else have you tried to settle a colicky baby?

re: fussy eater
I slowly figure out the eating pattern of #1.
she goes by the look of the food, color, texture. she likes food with 1 color and 1 texture. so my multi-grain porridge doesn't appeal to her. she doesn't like mushy stuff too.
i tried 'sneak in' some vegetable/meat/fish in her noodle, she will filter it out with her tongue and return it to me. >.<

it's such a headache. it's not like i never introduce lots of texture to her before, but she just suddenly 'decided' that she doesn't like those although she can happily eat all kinds of food in the past.

Sweetpea, never mind he doesn't want to latch then just pump. To me, pumping takes a lot of effort so I got to force myself to pump twice a day. Rather sleep than to do that. Luckily Raelynn still willing to latch but sometimes she gets distracted and keep struggling off my lap. :p

Clover, yes, I checked out the prices and was shocked that it is so exp. $200+ a night for hotel, might as well go for stayacation cos there is nothing to do there if you are not in watersports. Not much shopping too. :p

clover,
i use ru yi oil twice in a day too...

it's now the 'honeymoon hour' for me... :p

Like 2 ask if any mummy bot a magic cooker? i cant rem who did.. like 2 ask if it is gd 2 use, hw is the food cooked by the cooker?

esther,
i had the magic cooker, food taste so so.
not for picky eater. but i find it's useful for porridge. to bring out the best of the taste of the ingredients, you've got to cook over the stove for longer period of time.

re fussy eater,
xy... my C is also similar like your C
but he takes porridge well - irregardless color but for rice, he will no take anything with his rice
and will only eat a bit! so he's still on porridge most of the time...

re : toilet training,
i am pleased to say that C has agreed to pee/poo on the toilet bowl... can't say how glad he can do this now! but first time very funny, he will face backward of the bowl as though hugging the toilet bowl, only last night he agreed to face forward... next step would be to pee standing up... :p

btw, for mummies who likes to go pasir ris park pls beware :
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1079616/1/.html

i just went there last weekend and was thinking how the water looks clearer than changi beach but alas ! turns out it is not as clean

C is crazy about sand play recently so every other weekend we'll usually go to a beach for sand play
must say changi beach is great for sand play (a lot of area is covered with tree so not too hot) plus a great place to spot planes... can easily entertain the kids for 2 hours..

Clover, my hubby usually cannot go off peak leh. He finds it too tiring/stressful to travel when he cannot take leave on Fri or Mon. So, always stuck to school holidays. :p

I have the Tiger Magic cooker too but ever since I bought the pressure cooker. Seldom use the Tiger one cos the pork ribs soup cooked using the pressure cooker is still the softest.

A question. If your child's CC had HMFD cases, will you keep child at home?

E's school got 3 cases, and when we sent her to school this morning, the girl queued before her for morning routine check was sent back after spotting mouth ulcer. I am quite anxious waiting at home ever since.

QL: trying to train Matt for sometime but he just refuse to say. He is diaper-less @ home. Will pee on demand. He will touch his groin area when he wants to pee so we need to watch out for his signals.

re fussy eater:
Matt has reverted to puree food. Sigh... only wanna mushy stuff else he will spit everything out. Very sian. Hates fibers, meat unless they are blended till really fine. Apart from that, he likes noodles (w/o any meat or veg). Terrible.

xy:
How old is your #2? Perhaps can try diluted Gripe water?

Tubao, yes I will. Cos HFMD is a miserable virus for kids to get, cannot eat, cannot drink milk and they will lose a lot of weight after that. RaeAnne got it when she was 11 months plus old, so heart pain. If I can avoid, I will definitely avoid so will not send the kid if got confirmed HFMD cases in school.

Just tot some of you might be interested in a Family Day Care course. It's held by my school (remember i'm taking the dip in early childhood). I sent my maid for the 6 hour course and she said it's useful and enjoyed it. This one is a slightly longer one with a community visit. This course can give more insight to parents and caregivers.

Do confirm with the school by tomorrow if you are keen.

Course Fee: S$300 per participant (before MCYS subsidy*) (After MCYS subsidy - S$150)

Registration Fee: S$10 per participant (waived for 2010 Care and Learn participants)

Intake: September 20 , 2010

Venue: Advent Links-SAUC Education Centre, 299 Thomson Road

Deadline for application: 9 September, 2010

Please see attached document Family Day Care - Sep 2010 Intake for more information. The workshop/course will commence when enrolment quota is met.

APPLICATION

Please send/fax the application form and payment (together with a copy of your NRIC/Passport/Work permit) to

Advent Links-SAUC Education Centre Pte Ltd
299 Thomson Road Singapore 307652
Fax: 6254-9247

tubao, like pauline, i will keep emma at home.. its no joke to get hfmd leh, kids feel really uncomfortable, gwen got it in march/april.. got fever, poor appetite. Somemore u are preggie better take care cause it can spread to adults too.

Jass.. sometimes gwen will rather eat plain rice w/o anything too.. weird.. She got a very bad habit of keeping her food in her mouth for the longest time, it can take 1 hr to feed her now.. super irritating.. food all turned cold liao.

Wanted to upload the brochure, but the size was too big.. so i just provide more info here..

Here are the topics covered
1. The role of the Caregiver
2. Importance of Safety, Health and Nutrition
3. Planning the Day for the Child
4. How to Manage Children
5. Appropriate Guidance and Discipline
6. Caregiver and Child Relations

Dates: Sep 20, 21, 22, 23, 27, 29, 30
TIme: 630pm to 930pm
Classroom sessions

Date: Sep 24
Time: 9am - 6pm
Community Visits

those interested pls email or PM me so that i can forward the brochure and forms to you..

kids eating
thot L was the only one wid odd eating habits. recently he also refuse his usual meals(eg he has been on a meat n fish strike recently). If i do try n force him to eat, he wld go into a crying mode. And his dinner today.... an apple n a banana....so odd, it has never happen before n m wonder g how long shd i let him be???!!!

tubao,
yes!!! pls let emma stay at home esp now that u r preggy.

mummies using freestyle
can advise which r the parts that i can sterilise? was look g at the manual n it says all use warm soapy water (wid the exception of first time clean'g.) v puzzled!!!

eliaw,
long time no "c". the course sounds interest g!!! but m due anytime liao, let me knw if there is another one coming up much later can??

jass, ql,
re: toilet training
A also refuse to say. she has been diaperless in cc for the past few days. 1st day - perfect. no accident. 2nd day - 1 accident. 3rd day - 2 accidents. she will pee in the toilet bowl upon our signal. but definitely not by her own initiative.

re: eating habits
A is an unhealthy eater. she likes food with a lot of flavour. so we offer the same food to her as what we are eating, including all the seasoning. she like tasty sauce to be on her rice. but she also "gam" her food.

Hmm I am still sending Amanda to CC though recently out of 7 toddlers in her class, 4 or 5 toddlers got it! The reason is the cases appear over a staggered period and I won't know how long to keep her at home? But there have been a break for a couple of days where there is no news of new cases *fingers crossed*

so far the centre have 9 cases liao.

re: HFMD
tubao,
I would probably keep her at home if the # of cases are increasing.

re: fussy eater
jass,
i think big C is like Matt or worse than him. she doesn't like mushy/sticky stuff. now i am exploring the books on blender food and see if can incorporate into her rice or porridge without her rejecting it.

leila,
i find no point to force them to eat. it spoilt her mood and spoilt my mood too..
in the end just let her be or give her other snacks that i think healthy.

bx,
at least she's interested in your food. mine not interested with our food. very funny..

re: colicky baby
jass,
she's 6 weeks old now. how to dilute the Gripe water?
i didn't use it on big C, so totally clueless about it. :p

piglettail,
good morning to you too..

jass,
how long has Matt been diaperless? During the first 2 weeks C was not able to tell us that he wants to go as well - so similarly we either take the initiative to bring him to toilet every 1-2 hours or if he shows the sign by pulling his pants then we will bring him. The last 1 week he has been telling us, even when we are outside. I think he is not used to pee-ing in diaper anymore so once he wet his diaper he will ask us to change.

bx,
A just started going diaperless right... give it a bit more time - soon she will tell you that she needs to go... just keep telling her to let you know if she wants to go toilet.

tubao:
I'll try to keep Emma @ home if possible. If can prevent then try to prevent ba

xy:
Mine will interested in our food when we eat. If I want to try and feed him the same food for his meals, he will reject. Just wanna try try for fun. Sigh, plus he has been vomiting his food due to either throat irritation or he stick his hands into his mouth after meals. Sigh...
Went to read the Gripewater instructions. Stated that 1-6 months can give 1tsp. Maybe can feed direct or add in drinking water?

Leila:
Same here. Just give whatever he wants lor. At least got eat can liao. He is so picky that sometimes he doesn't even want to snack.

re fussy eater,
C also still eating mushy2 stuff, porridge plus vegie/meat chopped till very small - sometimes he will ask for noodle, and rice (but just super plain). Snacks wise, the only thing he will always accept is pudding or jelly or honey sticks. If he is really hungry - then he will take koko krunch with milk. He is not big with biscuits and absolutely don't like waffer. What's more is that nowadays he will say that he doesn't like it. So i do not force him... I learn to not offer him - rather wait for him to ask for snacks.. Still waiting for him to come out of this phase...

jass
he is bulimic? ;) just kidding, E also pukes easily. Esp when he has a cough. sigh.

btw how is your pregnancy so far? everything going ok?

Hello everyone-it's been the crazy work week,so glad tmr is ph!!!very tired..

Already training Heidi to be diaperless as well in the day but at home only, have to keep prompting her to pee, otherwise she insists she has no pee, but afterwhich accident happen.

Foodwise she's still taking ages to finish 1 rice meal, taking forever to chew,but I think eating in front of the tv is the culprit but that's the only thing that can make her sit down n eat.however she snacks a lot! The only thing I can't convince her to eat is vegetable with exception of brocoli.

Hfmd-tubao better keep E away from
school for precaution

ql,
hi five! i keep prompting A to pee. i think the only words i speak to her now is " do u want to wee?" or "cannot wee wee in your panty" or "wee wee must say ok?"

i asked her if her teacher got scold her when she wee wee in her panty. she said yes. i asked her what teacher scold. she said teacher ask her to "get out". aiyoh, i hear already so sim tia.

XY: Have u tried those counter anti-colic drops? Or get from the pd also can.

Anyone had a staycation at Sentosa recently or at RWS? Was thinking of a staycation with the 2 kiddos. No 2 still so young to go overseas

sweetpea,
i was there last week. din bring the little one. ashlynn had lotsa fun at the hotel and universal studio. we stayed in festive hotel which is kids friendly. we even got a kid's toiletries set for her.

morning morning!
Monday blues...bleah.

Anyone has been to Beijing? Suddenly have thoughts of going for a holiday but no clue where to start.... seldom go on holidays-the last one was honeymoon donkey years ago...
Tour package or F&amp;E would be recomended for Beijing?

bx.. can i check with u how much did u pay for ur package at RWS? does it includee USS tics?? Hunny's birthdae is coming, thinking of going there to celebrate. and saw ur pics seem so much fun!

piglettail.. i also want to go beijing.. never been there before.. wanna go there and shanghai wanna c how cosmopolitan they are but i will be stuck in sin for a long time now with 2 kids... Anyway.. u going with ur tot or w/o?? If with tot probably package will be better, i am not so sure but i feel that pp over there are very smart.. i am scared..

Re: pri sch
call me KS but i have been thinking abt what schs to send Gwen too cause we are also thinking of moving to a bigger place ( but now with the new rules.. sigh headache).. have u all ever thot of what schs to send ur kids too??

genice,
haha.. me on the same boat too! was thinking about relocating or getting a place nearer to school but after the news... haiz, it will limit our options

Genice,
My friend book the package. It's $468 for 2d 1n stay at festive hotel plus 2 adults tis to USS. Ashlynn foc. We had lotsa fun. Ashlynn enjoyed the hotel stay very much. The buffet breakfast also no bad. Quite a variety of food suitable for our toddlers.

genice,

No lah, i'm not bringing kiddo there, think i cannot cope. i also have the same perception as you, afraid of being 'conned/chop carrot' if we try to do it F&amp;E... but i checked out a few tour package, it's packed so tightly i feel stressed even looking at it! start to tour immediately landing in beijing...tired man!
Does anyone know which tour agency is best for China tours?

bx
wow RWS sounds fun! is there much that our tots can do a USS at their age?

i'm thinking of getting the sentosa islander membership cos all the attractions start charging from 3 yrs old onwards. so better bring now, lol!

pri sch
theyre now building a pri sch across from my place, apparently Cantonment Pri Sch.. it woukd be super convenient but its not even open yet, so hard to know the standards so soon right? :/

Morning mummies..any1 awake? Got woken by my boy for feed n i tot he decided to sleep through since 3 days ago..last 3 nights he manage to zz from 1030 till 530..zzz...any mummies still wake up mid of night(day??) to pump? Heh

RWS-me too interested in the festive hotel..I like the vibrant colors of the decor..the loft bed seems like a fun thing even for me.. Haha..shall go check it out too..anyway I tink for the time being out of sg is a little tough to manage

Maid-little problem.. She hasn't successfully call
Home yet..I think her village line is simply very lousy..never can we get through..I also dunno how to help her.. Quite poor thing to not b able up call home for 2 yrs??

Lately she is very forgetful..sigh..n my patience simply runs out ESP when I m so tired from work n still have to remind her this remind her that...argg..I hope 2 yrs come soon so I can send her packing home n hopefully just rely on part time maid for housework.. I think I cannot than pp who has no sense of little eq.. These few days apart from giving instructions I have little to say to her..too frustrating!

iso,
in my opinion, definitely much more rides they can enjoy if they are older. but since i din stay there for long, we were sufficiently entertained. we saw a rock band musical in the theatre, Shrek 4D show, madagascar live performance, kiddo rides.

ql,
i have stopped pumping in the middle of the night for some time already. because i report to work early, i will latch A at 5am then follwed by pumping to clear the breasts. then the next pump is at 10+am.

ql.. i got pump in the middle of the night at abt 3/4 plus cause K's timing changed. Now he sleeps at abt 9 plusto 10 and then i will put G to sleep, so my last pump at 9 plus. So have to wake up to pump. Actually e only motivating factor to wake up is cause he does not have enuff milk to drink if i dun pump!! Like this morn i intend to send him to in laws place at 7 am and i have only half bottle left in frisge as of 10 plus last night so 3 plus pump, 6 plus i also pump , normallyu i pump every 6 hrs one.. so at least now he has 2.5 bottles plus frozen milk to last him till evening for 12 hrs.. Sigh.. stress..hope can still bf for 8 mths

bx.. s0 468 is for the 3 of u for 1 room har? quite ok leh if include tickets. did u sign up as member of RWS?

Re:maid
Ql, i think very sian when u still have to come home and nag and nag... blood boiling...

re: colic
thanks for the advice.

jass, i think i will hold on to the gripewater first. cos not giving her water yet and also i latch most of the time, no chance to put in drinking water for her.

sweetpea, brought her to PD for her jab and PD said no need to take any medicine for that. what i can do is to burp more...

genice - me also afraid ss will drop, so still wake up to pump middle of night..by right should be 10pm last pump, then at least 3am, then 6am 1 more (seems like i can't drag too long, else my ss dipped quite drastically..from 150ml to 50ml!) also hope to bf longer this time round...

Genice,
I aim to bf 6 mths. Thereafter if still got milk then do partial bf.

Yup 468 for 3 of us, inclusive of 2 USS tiks, buffet breakfast for 2, and a $25 voucher that can be used in certain RWS outlets.

qingling,
i am afraid my ss will drop too..
but really too tired to wake up and pump in the middle of night.
#2 is just draining too much of my energy in the evening...

Xy-ya very tired with 2 n the need to wake up n pump. I realized my weight this time is even lighter than b4 o gave birth to no 1.haha..dunno to be happy or sad

my most dreaded nightmare arrive
...going to travel in Nov for work again. argh..i really have no motivation for travelling with the bf still going on :=(