(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tute, how's cayleb? if he has taken MMR shot, will still catch measle?

blueginger, just my personal preference, flu jab is a no for the kids.

iso, sop for throwing tantrum kids- 1. you yourself keep cool. 2. explain to them/try to pacify, if fails 2. ignore them, if still fail, 3. time -out method. i read this somewhere. i think for ur case, he is looking for attention leh, hope this phase will pass fast.

tong,
he's almost 100% better now - thanks! it's just a fake measle (pd confirmed) - which i sort of thought it is... but my mom keeps nagging asked me to check... she say her experience last time this kinda thing is measle (though i told her cayleb got a jab already) so just bring to see doctor to ease her thoughts... :p

talking about vaccination, is there any other vaccination our kids need to take at this age?

ISO,
Channet used to be like E when we welcome no. 2 to our family. Yes I gave her a big huge and reassure her that Mummy loves both she and meimei. Now she will say "Mummy loves Channet and Shenon. Channet loves Mummy and Shenon and Daddy, etc..." BUt after she settles down, have to explain what she done is wrong.

tongtong,
really... Errrr....

Toot,
Not that I know of.

iso, bx, tute, tubao, tongtong, leila, blueginger:
Thanks. Haha rarely log in how to announce? LOL yup its 90% going to be a girl. Finally.. get to have more selection for clothes! Anyway EDD is 24 Jan 11, same as apple

Leila:
When is your EDD?
Anyway, sometimes its not that tough to deal with kids when we throw away their toys. If the toys are bought by parents / in-laws...and we wanna throw them away yet they feel that the toys 'look safe', then will have prob leh.

clover:
Yup, agree with xy. A lot of toys, clothes and other kids & adults items are made in china.. a bit difficult to tell which are unsafe. Prob can only take precaution like what bkkgal suggested.

Tubao:
Haha train your E to put her feet on her daddy's tummy?
My boy likes to touch us when he is asleep to make sure that we are around. He will stick his foot / hand / head out so that he can touch either me or my hubby. Need a sense of security.

Tute:
Glad to know that C is feeling better.
I don't think there is any compulsory vaccination at this age. However, there should be some developmental assessment at about 3 yr old or so.

Iso:
Hmm.. its seems like a difficult decision to make. How about ignore this tantrum in the middle of the night and shower him with more attention in the day? If your mum is able to attend to him and you are out of sight during these tantrums, he might stop fussing so much. At the same time, he will know that you have time for him in the day? Well... prob gotta try and error ba.

unsafe toys
true true. We can only hope the relevant authority will impose a strict rule n tests on the toys.

Iso, b4 he sleeps, can u spend some time with him n tell him to sleep well. Daddy n mummy r tired n need to sleep too.

hihi, have finally decided to take a partial free n easy holiday (2d of sightseeing included) to Taipei with hubby only. Think both of us need a break away from the kids. But I am only going for 5d4n instead of full 8d package tour to Taiwan cos I don't want to wean off Raelynn unless she self weans by Dec. So got to pump during holiday and hope my blocked duct problem doesn't recur again like Shanghai in Dec08. :p

XY, unfortunately, the agent that I went to SA tours doesn't have See You Hotel. :p

Anyone stayed at cosmos hotel or gala hotel or Santos or Riverview hotel in Taipei? Can share comments? I checked online but prefer to hear from someone who has been there.

Pauline:
Cosmos Hotel is located just above the MRT (sorry can't rem which mrt). Quite easy to move ard Taipei. About 1-2 mrt stops from xi men ding. Anyway, there are some shops at the MRT station too - Di4 Xia4 Shang1 Chang3. Service @ the hotel is pretty good too. I was there for work for 1 week in jun. Only used the function room as we confirmed our booking late and they were fully booked by tour group. Lunch @ the Chinese restaurant and level 1 cafe is good. Btw, there is this confectionery selling yummy taiyang bing and yam pastry @ the di xia shang chang at the mrt. Near the shop that sells smelly beancurd. O ya... I made some name stickers / labels @ a small store near the confectionery. These are cute and cheaper than those you get in Sg. Can make some for your kids.

Thanks, Jass. I read online that Cosmos Hotel is really near the main Taipei train station but I didn't know it was MRT station. And there I was thinking since I am not going out of Taipei City, no need to pay premium for the location. LOL. Thanks for the tips, will make sure I try out the food you recommended. So which hotel did you stay in the end? Was it good?

Pauline:
Cosmos is just besides Taipei Railway station and above the Taipei Main Station MRT. I stayed @ Caesar Park Hotel which is diagonally across Cosmos. Quite good (looks more ataz than cosmo) but more expensive. Cosmos looks more chin chong.

pauline,
the See You hotel is not tied up with any agency in Singapore.
We DIY the Taipei trip last time. Bought air ticket and book hotel separately, that's why able to choose See You.

XY, I see. Hubby prefers partial F&E cos he doesn't like to plan trips. Budget airlines eg jetstar charging $600+ for return air ticket in Dec so also no cheap. :p I remember you said See You is near to night market right? Is it the shilin one?

Oh yes, I think I can make it next Monday cos this Fri is Natas fair if you still wanna meet but where are you going?

hello mummies...

congrats to the preggie mummies! (jass and another i re-call...but can't remember rite now)

sorry don't mean to turn this into a maid complain forum instead of a mummy forum... but just when i tot i can have 'peaceful days', my 4 month old maid comes up with her nonsense. arrgh.
pek chek....

i'm gonna be joining the maid-mums soon.

But hopefully, i should have little/less to complain since she used to work for us when my granny used to stay with us. We let her go in the past cuz she had to go back to settle things at home. Since then she's been back and worked for other employers - during which she always visited my mum when she was let off (eg hari raya etc).

Abit slow, not very bright and can't speak much English (though I hope she's improved over the years). But she's very down-to-earth, honest and simple. Unlike other maids who were very vain, scheming and even skived on the job a lot, she's pretty good liao. Still, will be frustrating that she's slow and all, but well, at least not act blur and deceptive. Can't tahan mind games at home!

I'm looking forward to less housework = less frustration with stuff that's undone/uncleaned/messed up etc and more time for myself and Ruth.

*crosses fingers*

Piglettail:
Oh dear, what happen?

Lezy:
Frustrating definitely. On the bright side, there will be me-time, bonding time and RESTING time. Give and take lor. As long as not too overboard then close 1 eye ba. Sigh... at least you works with you before, not that bad.

maids
lezy
how come u decided to get one now leh?

piglettail
it's ok, we're here to share everything, maids included, haha.

i've actually shortlisted 2 maids already, 1 with abt 5 yrs experience, 1 who will be brand new, but then now hubby and I are thinking of maybe not having a maid and staying back with ILs because they seem to be most able to help out with the 2 boys.

I think even w a FTDW in my house i still won't be able to leave them even for like an hour if i need to go do something! Recently I've been feeling so confined to the house even though my mum and helper are staying here, cos they're looking after my (quite demanding) niece, so there isn't really much bandwidth to help with my boys. Even go out to cut hair I have to bring E so that it's less taxing on them.

sigh!!

maid
made an offer to an experienced filipino maid n was turned down coz she wanted more salary. With the so-called new ruling, i'm opened to indo maid now.

the new ruling is filipino maid must pass a test to obtain work permit, then will draw a salary of $540/mth with 1 off day.

the maid was experienced n previously draw a salary of $550 with american expat family. guess she wants to wait for a better offer.

Thanks, Xiaoyun. My hubby loves bookshops. Decided to stay at cosmos which is also near Taipei main station in the end cos SA tours don't have see you. Anyway, cannot pick and choose anymore, must chop chop decide cos airtickets to Taipei are running out for Dec. China airlines already no more, now left with SQ morning flight on certain dates but must pay more. :p

Clover,

So now Filipino maid draws at least $540/month?

We plan to get 2nd maid after twins are born for 1st 2 year, and we don't want Indonesian ones who may chat much with my present one. .....the cost goes up if we get Filipino.....

i was told that the salary of indon maids is comparable to filipino maids nowadays... maybe the $540 due to experience bah.

fresh maids should be more or less the same.

jass

re: maid
wow, didn't know maid cost so much nowadays.

pauline
Dec is peak season. Must quickly grab the tickets and preferred hotel. Do you keep thinking of your kid when you are holidaying with hubby? I finally have to travel without my kids. first time ever and I'm telling hubby/colleagues/friends that i most probably will cry when in airport, on the plane, at night when in hotel cos i will surely miss my kids alot. sigh.

oh yes, go buy travel insurance during natas. very good deal. i'll be doing so for my italy and japan trip.

Jass,

Thanks. Expecting twin girls in Nov.

I will be on leave from mid next week (28 week pregnancy as recommended by Gynae). Don't know how to spend idle time.

This year I worked for less than half year(3 month leave at 1st trimester, now on leave again from 1 Sep), though my boss is quite supportive all the while.

maid - PH is so expensive hur..

tubao - do take care. perhaps can consider myanmese maids? slow but still quite "innocent", not so corrupted, so work wise i consider ok. i think too much maid talks, last night i dreamt my maid decided to steal money, and was very fierce to us when we caught her red handed..duh..hahaha..weird dream.

SSO babies prom - wanted to get the tickets but only open to public booking on 1st sept as we r not friends of SSO. any1 going?

barney - the daddy decided to bring #1 to the barney show in sept..haha..so we have quite some programs lining up.

Qingling, we r bringing raeanne too. Sat 5pm show, which one is Heidi going?

Stephie, yup I think of raeanne a lot when I went to shanghai n Penang esp when i see gals of her age, so end up buy a lot of things for her.

clover
you can just offer her what you can afford and see if she will take it? cos i'm sure they will have their reasons to be looking for another employer other than expat, and they should know we can't pay as much as expats.

i think my mum's maid was getting $600+ but my mum said she could only offer $400+ (can't remember if it's 400 or 450). she didn't want expat anymore because she said every few years got to look for a new employer.

babies prom
anyone friend of SSO?? i also want to go!

re: maid
Called my maid agency about some queries and shun bian ask about the PH maid salary. They quoted 370 for new PH maid w no off day. 350 for new PH maid w 1 off day.

ok.. not that high a jump. hee~

maid
i offered $380. Even tho she indicated she is willing to accept $380-$400. I think she is waiting for better offer, so i wont offer any higher.

Filipino maids dun get $540 now still, coz it's too high cost for local employers. Dun forget we still hv to pay a levy.

Ql, wat r the babies prom date? I hv to c if i can make it coz giving birth in nov.

Hehe.... Last night I dreamed that I backpacked alone in canyon......missed traveling.

My colleague Caucasian paid her 4 year PH maid $450, and let her maid earn extra$250 at helping his friend's weekly cleaning. Now he asked to transfer to U.S next Apr.

We asked whether to transfer his maid to us. He told me that his friends all queue up !! He will let his maid choose, gosh, we are going to be interviewed instead.

Qingling, you are in front of us then. We are not willing to splurge cos don't know how much she will enjoy live shows. Maybe we can say hello on 11 Sept.

"Trial of live performances"

You can bring your tod to Esplanade @ Waterfront on weekend evenings to see if they are interested in live performances.

I brought Ruth there on a few occasion and she's usually quite happy to sit down (surprise surprise) and listen.

It's free - as in no need to pay, and also free to go off whenever and not bounded by a ticket or spacial restrictions.

Just a thought.

iso,
i think u can choose which ones u want to go? THere's a programme online at the esplanade website.

So far i've been to a few - i dunno the exact performances cuz I didn't plan. just brought her there and see what's happening:

1. finals of some vocal competition for children (l;oud but not that noisy. just singing)

2. Electronic music (mixed with a digital keyboard and computer) accompanied by exotic and somewhat percussive instruments. Not that noisy. quite ok.

3. Piano performance (definitely not noisy)

4. local Band performance - just normal semi-pop music. they usually perform a wide genre of music to cater to the big mix of audience.

So i think quite ok for me. hee.