(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hello all,
i am finally back because hb took 1-2 weeks leave and was hogging the pc.
not many chance for me to online. >.<

qingling,
regarding the poo problem, i further check with the PD recently. cos i am afraid #2 will be like #1 that never poo for 10 days..
PD assured me that it's fine as long as the baby is TBF. according to him, bm has no added fibre such that it's normal not to poo as frequent as formula fed baby. he advised to give fruit juice when bb hits 4 month old.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">anyone wants to lelong away the carseat that can fit infants and up?</font></font>

Maid:
Yeah really can puke blood sometimes...the stories never end. i had a fesh maid (#1, for 7 months) and a experienced now (#2, for 3 months). both make me puke blood in different ways...
agree experienced maids are very 'jing' and mine really give me 'face colour' when i ask her to do things. initially i feel really angry but i calmed down and told myself as long as she does as told i don't care, which she does.
#1 was really slow (in learning and motion wise), i was so pek chek during her time with us.
Upon personal assessment i would chose the experienced maid as the 'lesser of 2 evils' for me. but must be prepared to play politics with them lor.

XY, QL,
my #1 and #2 all don't poo often! currently #2 has not poo for more than a week. aiyo! previous times it's always v soft, and he gained like 1kg in 3 weeks, so i guess he's "using" up all the milk.

the only time i called up the PD clinic was when #1 fell off the bed, so i asked what kind of signs to look out for (she said, vomiting, anything out of his ordinary character, fever, etc.).

i wish there was someone who would be more available for questions and answers when we need though! I'm lucky one of my friends is a PD, so he entertains my "silly" questions, lol.

clover
i'm also trying to decide whether i want one w experience or not. one of the agents that was recommended to me, strongly believes that fresh one is better, otherwise stale one got too much baggage. i will talk to this fresh one and see how i feel. guess at the end of the day must also click well.

bkk
bjorn, haha :D

I'm on leave today so here am I!!
Good to check out on this thread again

re: Maid:
Mine is starting to be fishy too. V secretive. Use hp while looking after my son (She is not suppose to have one). Stay up late till 12-1am to make calls secretly. Since I keep all her money (things that she wants to buy, I will pay 1st then deduct from her pay), no idea where she got money to buy hp or calling card. Last week even ask me when is her medical check up which she had never done so before in her 2.25 years with us. Aiyoh.. super headache.

iso, i have shortlisted 2 experienced maids and both have completed their contract. cross my fingers, if not, i'll look again. so far one met my criteria, but her reason for not continuing with her current employer is that they don't give her off days. now i hv to think about the interview questions. haha.

Finally I'm back here. The whole family were sick, taking turn one after another, esp the 2 children.
They had been sick for more than a month. Frequent KK AnE for the past few weeks. Feel like dropping Channet from her cc, as she tends to fall sick easier than she was staying at home. =(

TOngtong,
nobody from myGym call me so far.

June

Your boy's complaint of elbow pain is known as "pulled elbow". It happens when the child's hand is jerked hard in an upwards motion by someone taller, usually an adult or older child. You can roughly imaginwhat happened..probably thd child is sitting on floor, refuses to get up so the adult struggles and tries to pull him up. His pain may be at the wrist or elbow area. If pain persists or he suddenly refuses to use his arm, bring him to the doctor.

Only way is to install a spy cam or install a dud one in a prominent place to keep the maid on her toes. What will you do with the evidence besides firing her? Bring her to court? Police? Embassy? Just thinking out loud wat can be done...first is to confirm suspicions, second assess extent of injury and third decide course of action. But if it's just minor incidences, I think my preference is to warn the maid and make sure she knows u are watching her.

Bluegin
Did channet just enroll in school recently?

Xiaoyun
Photos? Hope u are resting well.

Xiao Yun, I have the car seat from infant and up. i cannot use it for my girl because she is into PINK and this is dark blue.

u want to see teh condition?

jass,
ur maid very secretive leh. she got off day?

re: maid
mine so far still ok lah. just a couple of things we a little bu shun yen.
1) mil still doing the cooking now. maid likes to see my mil cook which is fine with us. but she sits down to watch. like my mil is maid instead. then again, she has finished her chores so we did not say anything.

2) when me and hb go out without her, she will ask mil where ma'am and sir go. ytd i went dentist and fil went to fetch ashlynn, she ask where yeye go, where ma'am go. mil told her off. tell her she is not suppose to ask as we dun need to report to her.

3) stand around to eat snack which we gave her. i'm fine with that. but mil thinks that she should sit down to eat and not as and when she likes. maybe just once in the afternoon. but i think she ate when she has nothing to do.

other than that, she still not too bad. i gave her a schedule so she auto mode. know when to do what. even make sir coffee. *roll eyes*

iso,
wa.. 1 kg in 3 weeks is a lot. I thought mine 0.5 kg in 2 weeks already quite a bit.

is it normal for their poo no longer 'seedy' in texture?

bkk,
wanted to post more photos on facebook. but the PC that i put all the photos spoilt before i manage to post anything.

winnie,
can send me the photos of the carseat. brand? price?

<font color="0000ff">Jane is no longer a size 6-mth babe</font>

Am clearing out the baby clothes. Any one wants? Or knows anyone who wants?

Xy, good to see Cammie last Sunday. She is so sweet, love her thick black slightly wavy hair.

Gar, I wanna see Jane's photo too. She should be 6 months now right? How come clothes can't fit anymore. Chubby chubby is it?

re: bb's clothes
i also wanna give away ashlynn's clothes and shoes. newborn to 12 months. all pretty new. mostly wear a few times only. anyone don't mind taking over the preloved clothes? you can collect from me and look through. if not suitable, feel free to pass it on to others.

morning...

Bx,
i just can't help but smile when i read abt your maid making coffee for sir.. yeah mine also, know sir is the pay master and really suck up to him! i do feel that i get the 'worst treatment' frm maid among hb,mil, fil and myself. becos i'm quite soft spoken among them all.
everyday when hb come back, she will rush to heat up the soup and pour chilli, etc, etc. for me, i will have to ask her to do (e.g. take a glass of water, take tissue paper) Not that i want her to do these for me i'm perfectly fine to do it myself but sometimes just feel bit angry at her double standards so occasionally will 'tekan' her. also remind her i'm still her boss leh. haha.

XY, can you post the link of the Taipei hotel that you stayed again? I'm checking to see more worth it to go Taiwan F&amp;E or buy F&amp;E package from travel agency? Thanks.

piggletail, Bx, haha, I always remind my maid that my name is on her work permit card so I decide whether she stays or goes. But she never make coffee or milo for us automatically one. Must ask then will do. :p

piglettail,
they are smart in sucking up to sirs... in fact, my maid was transfered out by her previous ma'am as the ma'am was jealous of her. haha...

pauline,
mine will pour water for us automatically if she sees that there is no soup for dinner. when i boil water in a metal container, she knows that i am making the mother's milk tea. she will help me pour into the cup with tea bag and bring into the room for me. keke...

bx,
oh your maid is an experienced one? no wonder she knows what to do...mine also, in fact, mine us super experienced (ex Sin 2 years and ex HK for a few months)
for maid #1 it was my mil who was 'jealous' of her and once they even argued abt it. mil felt fil was more concerned abt maid than herself. i also find that fil like #1 better, maybe becos he was the one who choose her, so 'felt obligated' to 'defend' his choice esp when she was not performing up to standard. and she had this 'bambi/damsel in distress' look with tears welling up in her big eyes whenever mil/i scold her for doing wrong things. good actress.

my hb is mindful of this issue and makes it a point to be more fierce to maids. on my part, i will never choose one which i think will be prettier/better figure than me also. hahahaha..

Toys found to contain excessive lead/phlates in spore

what should we do about this? i think it's almost impossible to only buy toys that are 'safe' since this is not regulated.. i am wondering if washing hands after playing with toys or in the absence of this, get our tods to eat with utensils (as opposed to with bare hands), would help?

what do mummies think?

piglettail,
she has 2 months experience before she was transferred out by her employer. prior to that, she is a fresh maid.

re: preloved clothes
taken up by a mummy already.

maid - mine has been breaking a lot of things for the past 4 months here...almost evry wk..zzz...is it mean to make them pay? cos she broke a sovenir which my freb brought back from nz..duh

piglettail: I also think its impossible to only let our child be in contact with *safe* toys. can only minimize. Maybe practising washing hands after play helps. My girl is really dirty sometimes, cannot stand it.

Blueginger: Amanda has been with CC for 8 mths, still falling sick

bluegin,
the GP i went told me it takes 1 year for them to get used to the environment of CCC. so, expect them to fall sick more often during the first year...

C just recovered from cough over the weekend. and she started coughing again last night due to the cold weather... hai... i am sweating like siao and she can't take the cold.

bought the original flavor of scotts cod liver oil for C. as expected, she rejected it...
so, now it's me got to finish the bottle. luckily i bought a small bottle... :p

bkk,
posted 1 pic of #2 in my FB.

bx:
My maid no off days and she is not allowed to go out without us. Thats the scary part. Sigh

Your maid knows who to por hor. Haa~ for us, we only need her to serve dinner/lunch for us no need to make breakfast lah. Anyway the food she serve is either too hot (heat up too much) or cold (didn't bother to heat up). Thus, we are reduced to having soup (cooked using thermal pot) w rice for dinner. Her cooking is terrible too.

Hey can I get the pre-loved clothes from you please? Wanna save some money...

QL:
Think we are not allow to make them pay for the things they broke. Sigh... I used to nag at mine for the longest time till she don't dare to be so careless liao. She still chips bowls as and well but not like previously.. broke a total of 5 fridge magnet I bought during honeymoon and not to mention, the many chipped or broken glass tablespoons, plates &amp; bowls. Anyway, I'll get her to bring teaspoon out so that she can feed Matt when we are out on weekend. She lost 7 of these so far. Forget to bring back.

Sigh... not sure if I want to change maid a not leh. These 2 days she seems ok. though yesterday hide in her room for 15 min and today it took her 30min to fold clothes in a corner of the house which I can't see from where I sit in the study room.

Do you think I can ask her to zzz in the living room instead of the bedroom so that she can not stay up and make her secret calls at 12-1am? If so, I will be able to get Matt to zzz in that bedroom (there are only 3 bedrooms in my house, one is used by us, another study and the last one is meant for matt when he is older so she sleeps there now). I know we are suppose to let maid sleep in a bedroom.. but HDB built such small house w limited rooms. How to???

xy:
Maybe you can let C try the orange flavor Cod Liver Oil? Matt loves it. But then.. he is weird. He actually doesn't mind medicine esp when we keep the syrup cold in the fridge.

jass,
it's a gal?? congrats!!
sorry another mummy has told me that she wants the clothes already...

dun think can let maid in the living room. mine sleeps in the study room. but we told her beforehand at the agency that if hubby needs to work in the study room, then she will sleep in the living room. but that will be occasionally only. sh doesn't close door when she sleeps.

why dun u confront her abt the secret calls?

jass-I doubt I will really make her pay but she broke so many things till I sian Liao so I just say that to threaten her,else she thinks not her things she can afford to be so careless.I think u shld confront her secret calls or check her hp to see what time she made the calls n ask her where did she get money to buy hp?

Iso/lezy-usually it's not regarding medicines that I want to ask pd for advise..more like the non medicine questions like the poo issues or the bleeding occurs when the umbilical cord dropped off(like in doubt whether it's normal to expect or it warrants a visit to them? Or the kids have taken their medicines for 5 days n not getting better, should we still continue or bring down for another review..) far I seen 3 pds.. 2 of which will entertain these kind of calls or their nurses will
relay my questions n usually they will b kind enough to call
back n give u some directions

My maid sleeps in the study room too cos baby sleeps in another room with me

iso-so far my boy has a record of 13 days no poo n now mostly is 6 days or less so I will just monitor.. He usually us more uncomfy during the last few days( a lot of farts n do not sleep well) but so far he's gaining weight n poo still very soft so now I m less worried(already used to his poo pattern)

hfmd- heidi's schoolhse recently just got on the news for being the prominent centre for hfmd.. Duh..I am thinking if I shld switch to another pg..the reluctant part is having her to leave her ferns n teachers whom she has gotten used to n enjoyed..hmm..but this centre's hfmd cases is really too much..never has she attended a full month of school yet since she started in end Jan..duh

QL
Pat's in Jurong right? Named for sustained transmission of HFMD..does it have to be closed mandatory for 10 days? really sianz....K's school another case of HFMD again! again! how many many times already. I'm really unhappy with the situation but it seems there's nothing we can do.

Blugin, already 6 months...did u take the flu shot for Channet? I just got it for K, upon recommendation of the PD...let's see..But last few weeks she and bb were flu free, cough free, very happy. I think because I was consistent in giving cod liver and Vit C to K. as for bb, as long as cheh cheh is not sick, she's not sick. Try to boost immunity as much as you can.

QL
can't comment on PD cos ours is a friend so she doesn't mind when I ask stupid questions but i think she's sick of seeing us so often liao!!

Unsafe toys
I plan to go thru all the toys this weekend and:
a) throw those with paint peeling off - very unsafe to let bb put in mouth
b) throw those material that dust/dirt can stick to easily
c) clean all the toys with disinfectant
d) Check the plastic grading and see if it conforms to international standards, if not - THROW
e) any suspicious looking i.e. too small can choke, petroleum smell too strong etc - THROW

That's the best I can do. Any other ideas, pls share!

jass/clover,
i gave the orange flavor previosly and she likes it.
but the 'hiao' daddy wants her to try the original flavor cos ppl say it's 'better'. now ends up i need to finish for her.

as what's mentioned by bkk before, K likes the strawberry flavor cod liver oil compared to the scotts orange. since C is ok with the orange one, i'd better not to be 'hiao' and change her to strawberry. :p

qingling,
i read about the HFMD cases in the CCC too.
it's really difficult to withdraw them since they are familiar with the teacher and friends already.

bkk,
how to know the details of the 'international standards'?

bkk - ya, Pat at jurong..my choice wld be to drop her out n perhaps consider little skoolhse which is at safra jurong...but yea..the new environemtn means everything have to start all over..not so good for her huh..

QL
sounds just like A!! He just poo on Mon after dunno how long - i think almost 2 weeks. it's been so long i can't even really remember. haha.

jass
congrats!! how come so secretive leh, no announcement from you
funny, that day on our bday i was just thinking of you (and matt) and wondering whether he will get a playmate soon

clover,
the toys not limited to pasar malam and neighborhood shops ones. some at NTUC, giant, carrefour also found to be unsafe too.
it's really hard to avoid china made toys. everyhere 'Made in China'

bx/pigletail,
hmmmm, my maid don t really knw how to suck up yet (or mayb no chance) cos i make sure everything is done thru me. that is, i will instruct everything that is done for my hubs and minimise my hubs having to talk to her. This is learnt fm one of the agents cos then they wld knw that i have the final say in the maid's "fate".

actually, my mom says my maid is scared of me. i wonder if that s gd or bad leh???

gar,
can i have ur gal's bb clothes.

unsafe toys,
i am having a big big headache cos my mil tends to buy alot of odd toys fm the neighbourhood stores that looks v unsafe. i wonder how m i gg throw them away without my son fussing

toys,
We had animal sets in unsafe toys list. My girl also had collections of toys from neighbor stores, hehe.....I may throw some away secretly before 2nd one comes.

---English books for children,
Any one can recommend a book website to review what's inside. Amazon.com only provide one inside page of selected children books.

Jass,

blueginger, i have given your name to them leh, but you can walk in and said was referred by me - just tell them you are referred by shaun's mummy last month, and tell them that i have given your name to them but they din call u. Look for teacher hannah or teacher ted.

jass, congrats!!

me working from home since afternoon - though it is so hard to concentrate ! had to bring C to PD today coz my mom scared he got measles - told her that I suspect he got fake measles but because the fever lasted from sat night till today - i thought i just bring him for a check.

jass,
did i miss out an announcement here? i thought you were expecting coz in the pictures seems like you are wearing maternity wear but didn't want to ask scared that i will embarassed myself heheh... congrats !!!

re toys,
there's one there that Cayleb has - i just threw it away last night. I can remember pretty well the toys we buy for him... anyways, he's almost always into cars, trains etc :p

clover,
we bought the affected toy at 7-11 but i have seen the same item being displayed in kiddy palace so i guess not only pasar malam is selling those toys. these days very difficult to tell which ones are good and ones that are toxic. remember mattel case? :p

leila,
so second one is a gal? congrats

tubao,
i usually read the reviews in amazon i.e. user's feedback/review. they will hardly show you on what's inside a book on the web.

Thank you, XY and apple. At least I know that Channet is norm to fall sick after attending ccc. Just pity the kids.

XY,
I bought the orange flavour for Channet. SHe din want it either.

Bkk,
Ya. Went to KK today for Channet review. She is perfectly normal. Doc also advise on flu injection and comsume more vit C. Ya. will go for the jab.

Jass and Leila,
Congratulation.

QL,
I heard PAT schoolhouse incident too. Errrr... Little Skoolhouse also have HFMD? Not sure. Last month I went there, they have 11cases.

tongtong,
Oh. OK. Will see if can drop by there. After office hours ok for them cos Channet school is upstair?

would like to seek some advice here. E has been throwing tantrums at night or when he wakes up because he wants me. i can understand that it's part of him seeking attention now that we have #2, but these "tantrums" stop once i appear in the room, even though my mum (whom he is q close to) is now sleeping in the room with him.

i'm in 2 minds about whether i should shower him with affection when he throws the tantrum, or discipline him for it. i'm afraid that showing him affection might actually encourage more of such behaviour.

worse still is that sometimes he can act up a few times a night if i don't sleep in the room with him, and that with baby A's night feedings is going to kill me one of these days...

tute,

Thanks. Now trying to get some English books for my girl.

Lots of chinese books can be viewed full contents at dangdang.com or pelangi.com.

Iso,
My girl now likes to put her feet at my tummy while sleeping. Can't imagine when younger ones come.