(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

ql
aiyo i hate them throwing things on the floor, or pouring the toys all over the floor. these days when i want him to pick up the toys i will threaten to throw them away. the other day MIL and I even put some toys into a plastic bag and put it away to "throw". i also tell E that if he throws his toys i will throw it away, but now still throwing :S

Iso - yes, i spanked her little feet n scold her, but to no avail. i try negotiating also no use, i tried coaxing also no use.

apple - Heidi ying de bu chi, ruan de ye bu chi!!! qi si wo le!!

apple,
i realised when i was preggie, A also woke up several times to drink milk. now give birth already, she sometimes wake up once for milk.

ql,
busy with #1 that's y many days neber post in forum izit? was even thinking u went overseas coz din see u ard.

re: potty training
thanks gals for ur encouragement. i'll start my rigourous training from TODAY! mai tu liao!

bx - was bz over weekends plus heidi was at home past few days due to hfmd cases in school..so no time to post..only read..haha

Qingling: the tods really test our patience!

BX: I am so glad someone same as me! She started waking up for milk when I preggy too! I hope she will sleep through again soon....... make me so tired now hhaa

toilet training - sigh, Heidi is still so comfy in her diapers
, dun even "informed" me when she poo poo..and she dun even want to change out of it!! But i let her go diaperless for a few hours in the day and prompt her to go wee wee, she will do so.

decided to sleep train #2, i gave him the pacifier instead of milk during his ngek ngek at 3am..haha..it works for day 1, dun work for day 2..today is day 3, wish me luck

---throw toys to floor
My girl seems improving much from CC, she sometimes imitates her teacher to distribute toys, then collect toys.

----tantrums
Don't know whether she's older or time out method works, now she seldom has half an hour no-reason meltdown as 2 month ago.

There's one week when almost every day we put her time out at corners, normally for her asking things immediately. We asked her to read clock for time-out. Now she seems more patient and looks for clock about waiting time---simple one, minute hand reach some num.

And for beating people, we had a hard rule---10mins for beating; 20mins for biting. And we ban her to play with a neighbor boy whom she is prone to fight with.

Her time out is much like we entertaining her; keep talking with her why we let her stand there and pulling her back whenever she tries to run away.

So far we didn't beat her, my hubby lost control and scolded her maybe twice---which made me very mad. My hubby blamed me too soft-hearted due to pregnancy hormone; but I felt heartpain to see E frightened and then try to please my hubby afterwards.

bx/ql,
You're not alone.. my C is also still on diapers. He's a super stubborn boy - refuses to take off his diapers and pee... but these days when he has to pee he will squat, same goes for poo2... and sometimes he will tell us. And he seems to be comfortable sitting around with a wet diapers and even a wet training pants !

my mil not very keen to train A. told her that after A's shower, we let her wear training pants. she say scared accident and wet her pants. partly becoz i am bringing A to send hb off at the airport later so she dun wan A to wet herself.

apple,
hopefully the waking up for milk is just a short passing phase for A.

Bkk,
It's made from some natural rubber. Non toxic. The shape makes it easy for small babies to hold and bite. The spots on the body also dunno got some use. I see so many ppl buy I also buy. BP selling at 32. I bought at 37+ from mums n babes.

bkk
sorry by weird i meant unusual, not like freaky
what has she been stuffing up her nose? i know if not stopped E might attempt to put some things into his ears. Kids!

hi there!!
i am back.
a crazy week for me. went hospital every other day because of baby's jaudice.
i discharged on Friday, baby stay for 1 more day for phototherapy.
bb discharged on Saturday.
Monday went for jaundice review and readmitted for phototherapy again.
bb discharged on Tuesday.
Thursday went for jaundice review again and luckily she passed the test this time.. *phew*

there goes my 1 week...

i've got a problem here...
baby is not an efficient latcher for milk. she fall asleep on my breast and doesn't wake up no matter how i 'kacau' her.
half an hour later, she wakes up again for milk, then fall asleep AGAIN...
this can go on many many times till i fed up and feed her by bottle.

what can I do?

besides that would like to check with you all about the vaccination charge.
Raffles hospital has got the 6 months package that includes 2 jabs of pneumococa that is $860 (exclude GST). very very expensive.
basically it's like this:
- 6-in-1
- 5-in-1 + pneumo
- 6-in-1 + pneumo

may I know any place offering the vaccination cheaper? don't think I want to go back RH this time because it's so expensive.

re: toilet training
C is also very comfy in her diaper.
she tell me 'i got shee shee already' yet refuse to go potty. and never inform me when she wants to poo also..
but sometimes her diaper is dry in the morning. i guess she's physically ready but not mentally.

now has got another problem, she refuse to squat down and pee.
either do it by standing up or just doesn't want to pee on command. probably this has got to do with her classmates. there are 4 boys and 1 gal (that's her) in her playgroup.
feel that she has becoming more and more boyish. *headache*

C started to put things in her mouth again - starts from 1-2 weeks ago. i was wondering what happen to her too. isn't it teething period is already over?

and she likes to throw things also. then my hb will ask her for the hand that she throw the thing and beat her hand.
she doesn't seem to be afraid. and now pick up the habit of beating ppl.

probably i should use time out corner method too...

Xy, the putting things inside mouth, throwing things n beating pp sounds so much like raeanne. I also can't help u. :p as for Cammie, try n wipe her with a small wet towel, rotate her hands n legs until she is fully awake before u latch her. She may cry but at least she will suckle. ;p jaundiced baby tend to be more sleepy, maybe she will be more alert n 'wake up' soon. Jia you!

Hi ladies...

XY,
Congrats on your 2nd bb girl! sorry i know it's been a week...just managed to log on and read all the posts properly last night.

bkkgal,
ya lor, i dun expect anything in return for paying for the maid's medical bills. can't be helped- if she's sick/unhealthy it'll affect us too. u should have seen my reaction when the dentist informed me on her oral condition - i actually said " please do all that is necessary, cost is secondary!"yikes lor...

agree maids will be maids no matter how nice we are to them. i'm adopting a 'corporate culture' approach with her: i will be civil and professional but i expect the work to be done as told too. Got to do this becos of the profile of this maid (she's very seasoned, smart thus can be up to no good if things turn sour)
i may still give her a bonus at end of year 1 as a carrot for her to work for me well in year 2. i dun intend to keep her beyond the 2 year contract hence i dun see the point of giving her her bonus at end of year 2. what u u ladies think of this 'renumeration strategy/structure'?

today i went to the gynae for my pap smear. he keep talking about how the third child in the family affects family dynamics, and the nurses kept saying, so next time we see you means good news? see you in 1 year or earlier!

wah piang. A is not even 2 months old leh! LOL.

iso/bkk,
mine likes to dig his nose ! hahaha... which one is worse huh? :p

btw iso - thought i read in your blog that you wanted 3 kids?

xy,
beating pp - C also do it... he can't measure his strength and he's quite strong... very worried that he'll do it to other kids though it seems that he only does it to family members...

bx,
last time i drink once a day - that's about it. but after i went back to work.

tute
i dun mind more, but i just gave birth 2 months ago! and everyone talking about #3. i'm not a machine lo. hahah.

btw where did you bring C for his haircut? E desperately needs one!

iso,
hahaha... yeah understand... my gynae also always says that she'll see me in a years time unless there's good news... and my reply to her was always "i don't think so... not yet at least" :p

I brought C to Junior's league at United Square. A bit expensive for kid's haircut but in the past he always struggle like mad... so we brought him here - at least there's entertainment for him and the stylist are used to dealing with fussy kids so they won't give a black face.

Hair Cut

Iso,
i go to junior's league too...actually i 'follow' this particular stylist, Jimmy. from my observation he seems to be the most 'pro' with fussy tods... think he's now stationed at the Suntec outlet, can call to check.

it takes 3 adults to cut G's hair - i'm the human chair, daddy feeds him raisins/titbits non-stop while the stylist cuts his hair. oh yes, not forgetting the dvd that's playing to entertain him.

at the end of the session i would be covered all with his hair too and need a shower...;P

Iso - #2 is 13 weeks

Heidi also digs her nose..aw...wat a gal...kakaka....

maid - she pour out cooking oil, realised she pour too much and she pour it back into the bottle!! faintz..the wok wasn't clean to begin with (as in she fried things earlier in it, so she merely rinse it to cook the next dish..)..sian..i see my cooking oil so "dirty" (with particles floating) so i asked her...sigh..their concept of thrift...

Iso
When meimei had a cold, (and mei mei hates the tissue paper at her nose), my mil will twist the corners of the tissue paper and put up meimei's nostril to get the mucus out, i think kate saw that and decided to do the same for herself and it sort of graduated to putting other small things in her nose. It freaks out the grandparents who are certain that something small will get stuck in her nose and they'll have to rush her to A&E! but yar, i think germs can't get ingested lah.

BX
after i mentioned u and pauline getting Sophie to hb, he insisted straightaway i go and order from the BP! this daddy can never find enuff things to buy for his kids lor.

Piglet
i think you can tell her, X mth bonus is for you when you finish contract. Then you give her half at end of year 1 for "encouragement" and the remaining at end of year 2. how abt that? then at least, she knows if she sticks out with you for 2 years, she can recover all her bonus. what do u think?

QL
mine did that too! had to teach her to put back in a small container, cannot "contaminate" the clean oil. Also had to teach her that before refilling anything e.g. rice, need to take out the older rice before refilling with new rice. Yeah they dun wash the pan/pot before cooking next dish..they just wipe and cook. must teach also.

QL,

Ur maid very "cute" as u mentioned a few incidents. ;p But can get up to ur nerves isnt it?

My new maid came last sat. 2 my horror, her understanding of instructions seem 2 b poor. No wonder she failed her oral once when about 2 come 2 SG. So i printed out the work schedule, reading seems 2 b ok. So far tis new one not 2 bad, I cant say 4 future. Normally, starting they tend 2 b gd, then later might "chu pattern". I'm keeping my fingers crossed!

piglettail,

yes yes! drained our energy! so 4 tis one, i control, afterall she is new. but upfront i told her, i will let her hv some time 2 adapt and observe in our family. i will not scold, raise voice etc. But i will be firm in my tone. I reali tired of "noise pollution" tat i caused in the family. ;p

iso,

"runny nose meds
anyone have any oinion on what works best?
Zrytec, Clomine, Dimetapp"

Cayenne oni tried Zrytec and Dimetapp. Zrytec is gd 4 allergy, sensitive nose. Dimetapp is gd 2 stop runny nose. Cayenne 2 wks ago got runny nose and cough, Doc prescribed Dimetapp and cough syrup 4 her. Jz 1 or 2 doses, her runny nose stopped. But then her cough still there. Till now!

I tink cough quite difficult 2 get rid hor... brought her 2 c doc again on Wed, got at least 5 medicine 2 take now!

FYI, u can get dimetapp from guardian pharmacy. but must get via the pharmacist.

piglettail, tute
ok thanks!! will check it out..

esther
thanks! actually i have all, given at different times, now a bit confused as to which one to give. E's runny nose has been running on and off for q long now, almost 2 weeks. sigh.

wow 5 medicines!! that's a lot! what's she taking?

iso,

Cayenne nw on flu, cough, airway, phelgm and antibiotic lor... she hates the antibotics. say not nice, ask me to tell doc not to give the white medi (antibiotics). haha...

when i hear phelgmy sound when she sleeps and coughs... brought her again 2 c doc 4 the 2nd time, tis time doc say she got slight brons..

usually when she or cayden has cough wif phelgm, hw i wish they could jz vomit out! hee... cos usually phelgm will come out 2gether! ;p

Bkk/Esther- ya got to keep teaching the maid..even how to
hold a box with cake!!she never failed to hold it lop sided..even box of chicken rice she can hold upside down!!! Duno to laugh or cry :p

bkk-me too told mu hub ant sophie the giraffe, he also say buy! Haha! How nice to have such supportive hub, it's just that I find it a bit steep for a teether!

qingling
i look at SM chewing her $3 Pureen donut teether and wonder whether $32 is worth anot.

Iso
i take up to 3 cups of coffee :p damn jialat rite? i blame it on the nespresso machine in my office!

Question: where to buy citric acid to descale the steriliser?

just realised that i've sterilised SM's bottles for 6 months without descaling!! horrors! poor 2nd kid. standards damn slack.

bkk - i tink can use white vinegar in replacement.

Citric Acid Method
Step 1
Combine a 10g packet of citric acid and 200 ml of water. Remove the sterilizer's cover and transfer the mixture to the empty machine. Citric acid is available at pharmacies.

Step 2
Turn on Mode 1. Allow the sterilizer to run uncovered for one to two minutes.

Step 3
Disconnect the unit and set it aside for half an hour.

Step 4
Pour out the citric acid mixture and run clean water through the sterilizer.

Step 5
Replace the cover and activate a complete sterilizing cycle using precisely 90 ml of water. Do not attempt to sterilize any bottles or other equipment at this time.

White Vinegar Method
Step 1
Combine 200 ml of cool water with 100 ml of white vinegar and add the mixture to the machine.

Step 2
Leave the mixture in the machine until the lime scale disappears. Avoid turning on the power during this process.

Step 3
Empty the machine and clean it well.

Step 4
Replace the cover and activate a complete sterilizing cycle using 90 ml of water. Do not sterilize any bottles or other equipment at this time.

Read more: How to Descale the Avent Steam Sterilizer | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/how_5656835_descale-avent-steam-sterilizer.html#ixzz0vyaoBE8B

Reporting live from genting. Thanks for the birthday wishes at facebook.

Bkkgal, haha, I feel so guilty towards raelynn that's why bought her such an exp teether. At least raeanne not interested to 'steal' that from Mei Mei. For the pigeon teether, she will chew on it for a few seconds while complaining loudly. For the giraffe, she will chew on it for a few minutes and be very focused to devour it while drooling all over. Haha.

clover, iso,
thks for the suggestion.i also think daddy demostrate is a gd idea but don't knw why L s still not v receptive to the idea leh. i am hoping that his PG teacher can help by bring g him to the toilet when the older boys fm other classes go to the toilet but so far kena rejected.

pauline,
ur BD ah? Happy happy BD! romantic getaway wid ur hubs this time??

may i knw if anyone bought kotex maternity pads recently? the adhesive ones cos i searched high and low for it but can't find leh.

qingling,
The pic of hayden is so cute!

xiaoyun,
congrats! Regarding bb falling asleep at the breast, i am in the same boat too. R is 1 mth old today, and he still falls asleep at breast at nite. Sian.

how much shd a 1 mth old be drinking? R takes abt 100ml every 3 hrs. Sometimes he cant even last 3 hrs. But he also spits up quite often, not sure if he is over-eating, but then less than 90ml is not enough for him leh..

BX
hehe. glad I could help

My resolution this week is to keep to 2 cups a day. Better if I can cut to one. help to remind me ok? haha.

Pauline
happy belated! hope your genting trip was good. actually travelling with relatives got alot of perks. keke, like sneaking off with hb for own time?

Fairfield
yup, 100 ml per 3 hrs is about right. SM is taking 150-160 ml now and she is 6 months old.

bkk,
2 cups lah. keep me company. anyway the older the babies get, the higher their tolerance for caffeine. read from the kellymom website.

re: TCM
anyone got recommendation for TCM good for toddlers? stephie and genice u have contacts right?

fairfield,
agree with bkk about the milk intake. Ashton was taking abt 90ml at 2.5hrs interval.

bkkgal, haha, no leh, hubby didn't feel good asking my relative to look after our kiddos. But MIl and I got a few hours away from the gals to go to the casino. haha. ;) Lost $ though. -_-

Bx, me never control caffeine (tea or coffee) when BF Raelynn. And hubby just gave me some Nescafe Intense cos we were so zonked from our coach ride, stuck at customs for almost 3 hrs. Reached home almost 2am, and Raelynn was wide awake (slept too much during the coach ride) so she only slept at 3+am last night. Yawn! Double standards for 2nd kid. :p