(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

everyone bz eh?

been a while since everyone meet up
, planning a gathering with our tods ma?

mummies, i'm v angry now. I live in a point blk n my opp neighbour's family owned loan shark $. 2 rounds of paint splashing by loan sharks since last nite n 2nd time was done in broad day light wif my door opened. I think i hv to move out soon for safety's sake.

sweetpea
hmm what do they "do" w playdough? so far i only let E try once, seems like he's only interested in using the rolling pin, lol!

living together
bkk, the thai story sounds so ideal!! anytime you want some me time can dump the kids in the common area, heh.

clover,did ur door kena the paint too? we had a neighbour also owe loanshark money,they stayed on the 13th and we on the 14th,and the loanshark pour the paint on my 14th floor neighbour which is above the 13th floor family who owe the loanshark.poor thing

Iso-Heidi will roll and cut with knife,or use the shapes cutters..but overall the floor will be a mess of playdough..so I try to put beneath a big pc of paper..but her clothes will also kena some..

oh no Clover! can you report to the police? or tell your neighbour to settle his prob? it's not fair on the rest of you.

Iso
hehe, yeah so nice hor to get "me" time whenever. sharing of resources is always great. in fact, the kids will wanna hang out with the other kids than spend time with parents! keke.

bkk
yah can entertain each other, esp when they're older! hopefully when we have more than 1 kid, it'll be the same too..

these days at home, E is sooo clingy to me, and my nephew is so clingy to E. So in the end I have 2 monkeys crawling all over me or following me everywhere. if the TV is not on, i can't even go to the toilet without E trying to look for me and nephew coming after him too!

clover
my ex boss's house also kena and he's an ang moh who lived in landed property in upper bukit timah! think u can report to police and they might even request to put up CCTVs...

my fren's hb is a police n said q frankly that there's nothing much they can do. Now we r looking into cctv.

so far we havent kena yet, but hard to say coz many loansharks r involved. My neighbour told me the sum is too great for them to repay.

clover,
the loanshark now always will tekan the neighbors to add pressure to the person who owe the $ for repayment.
my PIL's neighbor kenna many times already. so far no safety issue except the frustration to clean/repain the house when the loanshark come and kacau.

since they put up CCTV at the lift, the frequency is less. but still there. i guess it will be useful/faster you put a CCTV in front of your house. (even a mock one will help. :p)

good morning,
i am on MC today. sore throat.
it has been dragged for many days and try to cure it with manuka honey and lemon. but last night didn't sleep well, it came back with slight headache.

long weekend for me liao...

I have ABBOTT discount voucher to give away:
(1) $3 Off when you purchase a 900g can of Isomil 2 Advance Follow-on Soy Protein Formula
(2) $1 Off when you purchase Pedialyte (Replace fluids and electrolytes lost during diarrhoea and vomiting)

all voucher valid before 30 June 2010

good morning. first thing i came in and saw Xiaoyun's promotion alerts hee hee.

Thanks they are super cheap! I have something to ship back from USA, so can add on.Anyone want to join in?

apple, yea probably need to get some and tumpang you hehe. Shaun is recently very engrossed in books. when do i need to get back to you?

pauline, my cousin went for the surgery. She has infection on the outer skin leh, kinda strange how she could get that.

bookscloseout - i also ordered some previously, but not arrived yet...the books r really cheap..if good i will also order again...but after shipping dunno still worth or not..

tongtong,
I also wonder how ur cousin's condition becomes so serious.

Recently I was suffering in pain cos of Shenon latch on habit. She will drink and pull my nipples repeatedly. For the past few days, there were abrasion and it bleeds. But so far no infection. I wonder where she learn it from. She is not teething even though she is already 6 months.

Meetup:
I'm in but subjected to the day availability.

bkkgal,
I like the thai's way of living. but it is a wishful thinking. Family members dun think this way.

apple/qingling, what books are good from bookscloseout? cant see the content so dunno whether to get or not. Now i read story books till scared every night, at least 10 books, read until my voice sore)

XY, take care! i also fell sick in KL , caught it from my brother. This round i felt terrible, so to not aggravate my bad condition i decided to take medicine.

hello, for those of you whose kids are taking pediasure, you may want to stock up since the big packaging is going to cost more....

apple - i still duno my shipping yet cos haven't reach v post ( i ordered since the 10th May)

tong - 10 bks is a lot, hmm..i chose mosly activities books (99 cents really worth it), hee..colors, numbers, abc..

ql, yalor, he likes to fliop the singing book while watching the singing dvd ( it comes together one), then next, story telling time. at least 10 books leh, very siong.

apple, i will check out tonight ( hopefully got time,), if not then you go ahead to order first.

clover, which books r u referring to? btw, you DIY your tokyo trip right? how much do you spend for each person? I'm thinking to diy too as tour package is so ex, plus not working liao

Sally, are you the one looking for participants for ur focus group? if you ask me, as a vegetarian, oatmilk/millet/quinoa milk is good for kids.

Thanks for sharing the sleeping arrangement.

Gar.. J and A really sleep very early and A is so easy.. if only G is like her.

Bkkgal.. K and Sm also sleep early..

OOps i think have to tweet my schedule. Now G sleeps at abt 10 pm -11pm.. very late. And when i ask her to sleep, she says she doesnt want and she doesnt even want me to close my eyes.. sigh..

QL and Bx, very gd to have someone to help u jagar the older ones and sleep with them at night. Heidi and Ashlynn will not look for u all?

Ql, so when u go back on weekends, ur hubby will wake up to warm up milk for Hayden?

Pauline.. i think i will end up as pai mia as you..

Re: clingy
bkkgal.. i think G is like what u have described. These 2 weeks have been so difficult for me plus she hasnt recover from her cough for abt 1 mth already. And so she practically vomit/ regurgitate milk after her feed, we have been washing the ,matteress cover plus bolster cover and blah for 3 days consecut.. so tired.

Din bear to send her to sch cause she is not feeling well but she is driving me up the wall.. like ethan following me to the toilet and everywhere. NAd now her new trick is lazing on bed dun wanna wake up evne till 10 plus.. kick and cry in bed , i kena kick at tummy so many times.

Tried ur mthd, din tok abt sch and just bring her there, seems to work but i also feel bad for not telling her the truth.
really scared she become "rebellious" and blame me or hate me for doing that to her.

clover.. my neighbour also kena spill paint once but luckily its a 1 time off thingy . u monitor and c how, hopefully they will not disturb ur family.

apple.. how are u, haven got back to u abt the inserts, u c when is a convenient time and place to meet up k.. can bring the tot along but G a bit cranky now.. can jio other mumies too ,will u be free in the next 2 wks? i will be due soon, 36 plus wks already.

I also want to order books! will email u tonight if manage to find something.

Can i check any mummies here have used nebuliser for their tots before. G has a persistent cough and when she sleeps she has those "heaving" ( i dunno how to describe) sound. So what does that mean?? Is it bronchitis? She was on one round of antibiotics and almost recovered when she kena again from my inlaws...

Anyone got any experience to share?

tongtong : ok

genice: i also dun dare meet up cos A is also coughing on and off since CNY. Spent a bomb on medical fees. yah next 2 weeks is fine. maybe somewhere convenient for u ba since u are heavily pregnant.

sure email me by 10.30 can? haha

genice, yeah right, i think you are referring to the wheezing sound. yeap, could be bronchiolities. is she on nebuliser now? if yes, shd recover soon la.

Confinement tonics / pills lelong

any febMTBs interested in the following before i lelong in the WTS thread? pls PM me okie? offering 40% off retail price

1) Eu Yan Sang So hup pills (for removing wind) - RP $18.20 per box
2) Eu Yan Sang chicken essence - RP $18.00 per box
3) Obimin (good for breastfeeding) - not sure what RP is but will offer 40% discount also

tong,
sorry forgot to inform you about how to collect. likely to be tampines from your hb. but not sure when i can collect. i check and let you know again okie?

jeannie
sigh! wonder if it's because they know #2 is on the way? or it's just a stage they're going through?

have you tried keeping containers around when she's having the milk feed so in case she vomit then can quickly "contain" everything? we saved a lot of trouble that way, haha. for her cough has she tried ventolin already? you mean she was almost well but caught the bug from your ILs? yikes :S

Hi genice,

Danica was also having cough for about 1 month plus until I cannot take it, bring her to see Chinese sinseh, 1 week plus she okay liao. If you are interested can pass you the contact.

Genice,
she will look for me. My in laws and hb will try to distract her and lure her into their room. Today she threw a super huge tantrum. Cry non stop and demanded me to carry her. Cry until so pitifully that I cried with her. Then she started popping eclipse sweets into her mouth. I think she is seeking attention. In the end my mil gotta get her away from me and bring her for a walk.

genice-my mum has to distract her with something else to bring her into room,once in my mum's rm close door she wun look for me,unless I let her see me accidentally.. in the night we feed fm,haha...cos hayden's appetite is too good..the lack of sleep is causing distress..so we decided to feed fm,faster..even when I latch,he falls asleep half way..so no gd,i still have to pump..so I focus on exclusive pump with occasional latch..only daytime we feed bm..i super kan kai..got bm.. better than none...

Neubaliser-h used before,when she had coup that time..nose block,throat inflamed..wheezing sound when sleeping.. My fren lend me her Neubaliser..so if Any1..touch wood..happen to need it can borrow from me..cos my fren not using anymore..

Genice
Dun worry...G won't hate you..they will love us for letting them go to school, really. After some time, K also forgot...I recently showed her a picture I took during that time she cried every morn b4 gg to school, she said "kate kate cry." I asked her "why K cry?" Her reply: "Kate dun want go school." After that she just happily dressed up for school. Their memories are short at this stage.

Nebuliser
K used it when she had broncholitis too. It helped alot to ease the wheezing. But they will struggle against it. The first time she used in the clinic, me and the nurse had to hold her down and distract. After that, I allowed her to press the ventolin spray (not really press lah, just put her finger there while I press) and she breathed away.

Genice, if you wanna borrow it, I can pass to you. Still haven't returned the ballerina poms to you yet :p paiseh..

Antibiotics
Qn: Do your PDs prescribe anti-Bs everytime ur tots fall sick? How many courses have your tots had so far?

Tong
Just let you know, I succeeded in putting quinoa in the rice liao. No one could tell the diff! keke. Everyday I add in a leetle bit more. Tonight I'm gonna make a quinoa salad, see whether they like it or not.

bkk-i brought Heidi to GP (not PD) for a cough, she prescribed anti-Bs..afterwards the cough never got better brought her to PD, PD says may not necessary need anti-Bs..hmm..so H only on 1 course so far (during the time when she had coup)

How do u make a quinoa salad? i added it to bread and rice too

re: antibiotics
My boy took 1 course of antibiotics when he had strep throat.
Other than that, no. Most of the time, when they are sick, its viral, not bacterial, so antibiotics wun be useful anyway, so not prescribed that.

antibiotics
E just got some earlier this week (for the first time) but hubby wasn't too happy cos he feels it's too strong. so far E's runny nose is all gone and cough has improved, but still coughing, so not sure how effective the antiBs have been.

TCM
and since i'm coughing too and don't want to pass the cough on to a NB when i deliver, i decided to go to TCM today and brought E. he was surprisingly cooperative, letting the doctor massage his arms, tummy and scrape his back.
i think now is the hard part though, any mummies got advice on how to give them the powder medication?? even I don't find it v nice to take, yucks!

bkkgal, good start!! can start adding millet also hehe. step by step.

Iso, can add the powder into fruit juice or not ??

genice,
when C had coup in Mar, she got the 'wheezing' sound too.
then she was put on nebuliser once and was better. that was the time she was hospitallized because of the narrow airway and difficulty in breathing. the KKH doc didn't prescribe any antibiotics.
after she's discharged, she's still having her cough and GP prescibed her antibiotics because her throat is inflammed.

now her cough is back. fed her 2 days of western medicine and doesn't seem to make it better. She even vomited out her porridge in the midnight.
then we brought her to see TCM. had difficulty feeding her the powder medicine too. mixed into her milk but always worry that she can't finish the milk as well as the correct dosage of the medicine. it took 4 days and can see her cough is slightly better. however, everytime after milk she will cough quite seriously i think the milk makes her throat very 'sticky'
my impatient hb brought her to see GP again and now she's on western medicine. GP prescribed antibiotics yet we didn't give her any. 4 days already passed and her cough seems to be more and more serious.
wondering i should switch to TCM again.

Artemis,
may I know which chinese sinseh you went to?
The Tech Whye one? did he say something like can't eat fruits, can't have direct fan/aircon blowing?
the TCM i went suggested to avoid fruits or anything sour which is very difficult as my PIL there always have banana hanging in the kitchen. how to avoid that?

XY, TCM seems to be a better choice. I’m coughing now and I had western med for the first few days, which I tot I had recovered. Then I stopped drinking the cough mixture the following day, who knows cough again. It just seemed to me that the med is suppressing my cough, but not curing it. So now I switch to taking Chinese medicine, hopefully I can stop coughing else I would have hard time taking care of my boy cuz I scared to spread to him. Speedy recovery to Carrie too!

Xiaoyun,

Amanda also been coughing very long. I brought her to western, tcm and all. My GP told me some TCM medicine have very strong steriods, make me so worried that I stopped.
Recently, brought her to a recommended PD, he said its unavoidable esp for first born and somemore they just started school. They are building up their immunity... so he warn me to be prepared that this will go one sometime esp since Amanda has senstive airways....