(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Gar
My gf staying with her PILs at the PILs' home. M sure they have issues too. Actually I think be it ILs or parents, also will have issues. For me personally, I have not stayed with my parents for more than a decade, to tell me to stay with them now also will have probs.

any one have any ideas how our tots can entertain themselves while we're at home? so i can get some work done? i think E is watching far too much cartoons but sometimes no choice leh..

PILs
I've been staying with PILs for the last 5 years, before having kids it wasn't as bad, but after kids I'm at home a lot more. it's definitely v convenient that there's someone around to look after, but I don't even feel comfortable to go and do my own thing in the kitchen. And of cos, most of the time I don't really agree w their style of parenting. But definitely convenient!! heh.

bkk, iso,
agree that regardless of parents or PIL also will have issues. the only diff is that with parents can FBB and speak more freely hehe.... with PIL got to swallow a lot more. when i was staying in PIL's place before we got our own home, every day confined to hb's room machum bird in a cage. very chum.

gar
very true.. and own parents no need to wear bra at home. LOL!! but also every family has their own style, so i think it's easier when it's your own family. another family is always more different..

bx - ya lo, i go out now and then (my mum is quite relax with me..haha..that's the thing the Inlaws will never agree), cos haven't settle the bb's baby bonus and CDA (got to let bank endorse the form). For now i do pumping mostly, latch only occasionally if the bb had just fed but still hungry..cos Hayden tends to fall asleep at the breast, so most of the times the breast not fully cleared and then i still need to pump..very troublesome, so i just concentrate on full pumping and fed with bottle, also easier to monitor baby's intake.

Iso - i also need some ideas on this, but other than cartoon which can keep them self entertain for at least 45 mins, i can't seem to find other toys which interest them as much. toys mostly 10-15 mins time span. Playdough is something she can engage for quite some time, but because it will create a mess if i dun play along with her (my floor, cupboards,her clothes will kena the dough)

Gar, it's ok. I wanted to say I dun need burp cloth anymore cos she burps on her own though she still drools a lot. :p

Bx I see. Can understand but I guess it is a good thing too cos at least they willing to stay with u. Mine prefers their own house so I have to bring the kids over if I want any respite. :p

hi there,
i am back. too bored here without participating the chat. :p

re: staying with parents/pil
I would say that i will die with stay with any of them.
of course it's very very convenient as i don't have to worry about food, support for the kids.
basically i can have the freedom to just go and sleep without worrying no one taking care of C. this is what i did when we go back Malaysia. :D

there are a few things need to sacrifice for the freedom.
own parent side:
(1) persistent nagging from my mum - cannot do this/that. must keep clean otherwise not good...
(2) overprotective care from my parents - makes me very guilty and can't really rest for long
pil side:
(1) the parenting style of my fil - i totally cannot agree
(2) 'advice' from my fil - i cannot agree too
(3) the mess created by my fil - i cannot tahan
(4) the loud tv sound created by my fil - i get headache after a while
(5) the friends my pil invited for MJ session
(6) the 'super relax' lifestyle that i think will have a bad influence on my gal - worry that she will be too lazy (ooppss..)

i guess no one can tahan my 'ba dao'ness either. :p
now you know why i decided to do my confinement at my own place this time round. *haha*

o dear, i passed on my sniffles to Hayden..sigh...i been having the cough n running nose since my ML started

bx,
i think your pil very good to agree staying with you.
imagine, they have to give up the convenience of staying in the masterbedroom and 'downgrade' to a common room.

Gar
What is FBB ar?

XY
haha! I like that you list out pros/cons on both side. Let me see, for me:

Stay with parents
(1) Can't stand my mother's grandparenting style - kids will become so spoilt rotten and we will have no more "position" in their hearts
(2) Can't tahan my father that everything has to suit his way, his timing, his arrangement - sure conflict between me and him
(3) But then my parents are such housework chore freaks that I won't need a maid. Save $$$, save headaches

With ILs
(1) no freedom to cook what we want and must be more "secretive" about our activities e.g. shopping :p
(2) ESPN/golf channel will be on all day
(3) FIL will be asking abt #3
(4) Have to mediate conflict btw maid and MIL

Yeah BX, agree wif XY - your PILs are very nice to come to your hse. At the end of the day, it's yr house, yr rules.

Iso
It's easier to keep my 3mo entertained for 10 mins without me than to keep the 2yo entertained! It's either the tv or the iphone lor. Both are cartoons or sesame st podcasts which I also think she's getting too much of!

bkk,
FBB = Face Black Black

actually, staying with parents is a very asian practice. my ang moh friends are "appalled" at the idea. the parents can't wait to "kick" their kids out once they start work and the kids similarly can't wait to enjoy their independence.

very different mentality

how to keep 2yo entertained WITHOUT any interaction with me - depends on how long.

15mins - colouring / drawing / jigsaw puzzles / books
Up to 30mins - playing water / bubbles / running around downstairs
>30mins - television / iphone

Would like to comment on Staying with Parents or IL.

Parent:
Pro
1. Piece of mind as u know ur kids r in gd hand.
2. No worry of meals n household chore
3. have support all the times.
4. save money
Cons:
1. Nagging from mother
2. different parenting style
3. their generation they let us cried until no voice, their grandchildren cannot cry at all.
4. Father likes to feed bb junk food, such as sweets, potatoes chip, etc.
5. no privacy
IL
Pros:
As above except hv to prepare for MIL last min back up, such as gng cruise, MJ, massage, pedicure, etc.

Cons:
1. Pampering kids.
2. Smoking
3. Pretending to take care of bb when HB is ard.
4. no privacy

How to keep 2yo entertained for more than 30mins: 1. Let them play with children next door. Neighbor will look after ur kids.
2. television, phone
3. Eat their favourite food.
4. dun let them know u r at home.

xy.. thanks.. she is quite consistent in not going to sch everyday. I dunno whats wrong with her, she seems to be quite timid ( insecure) nowades, even at hm, she will follow me everywhere.. she is scared to be alone. Sometimes i wonder did she "see" something...

Re: 2nd time parents
Do u all still put #1 to bed then after they have slept go and sleep with #2? How is the arrangement like now? I think i have asked this before but just wanna ask again since there are more second time mummies now. Recently , i take 1 hr to put G to sleep and my dear hubby already snoring beside us.. i really wonder how things will be like when there is #2 somemore i dun have CL and my inlaws are not staying with us.. they will prob come in the day time and leave after dinner.

Re: Staying with inlaws
i did move in to stay with them for a while prob abt 1 month, and i decided to move back cause i really cannot take it.. like what gar says.. i am alwasy cooped up in my room ( somemore my 1st trimester and i was feeling super uncomfy and lousy)

Cons;
1) no freedom, ur space is confined to room
2) switch on radio/tv loud
3) kitchen belongs to MIL
4) dunno where to put my things since its not really my hse
5) laundry we will bring back to our hm and wash.

Pros
As what others have mentioned, extra help and can even save/earn $ if we rent out 1 hse.

But for my case, even monetary gains cannot tempt me to ignore the cons of staying with them so i told my hubby to shift back else i will go crazy.. i am definitely much happier in my own hse.

bx.. there are bound to be more expenses and problems but ur in laws are pretty nice to shift in, my in laws will NEVER shift in with us although i dun mind.. haha.. at least still my own hse lor. If they are gonna stay for long, they can rent out their exisiting hse.. can get extra $.

Genice, u not getting cl? Will be quite tIring for u at night then, unless your hubby can take leave then he can do night duty with u? Best to get hubby to put Gwen to sleep 1 month before so that she is used to it before baby arrives.

staying with parents / in laws,
there are some things money cannot buy. so i think if the reason to stay together is save $$, then better not lah. actually my r/ship with inlaws deteriorated with the kids, cos a lot of friction due different handling styles and i'm quite anal about how my kids are handled lor. so it's not a good idea to stay together while the kids are young. maybe later on when they are older can consider.

how hb and i enjoy private time - we take half day leave on weekdays now and then to go for our movies, dates etc. once a month, we try to meet for lunch on a friday. weekends are spent entirely with the kids cos it's just hb and i. we try not to disturb our parents (unless one of us is sick or travelling) cos they've already looked after the kids from mon to fri.

genice,
i agree with pauline, with no CL and no parental help - your hb really needs to do night duty together with you. else will be very siong. for bedtime routine -

7pm - wipe down time for J (Hb)
7.15pm - latch J before bed (Me)
7.45pm - wipe down time for A and read books (Hb)
8pm - put A to bed and read books (Me or Hb) and put J to bed (Me or Hb)....We long chum pass to see who gets to sleep on nice nice king size posturepaedic bed

during confinement, hb put A to bed while i slept with J cos hv to wake up a few times at night to BF. nowadays, it's the reverse cos of my backache hb pity me let me take the master bed.

A has always been sleeping thru, but with the arrival of #2, she has been waking up in the middle of the nite - wanna go and see mei mei *FAINT* then she will scream in excitement MEI MEI very loudly when she sees J, then J will wake up and cry *ROLL EYES*

Morning everyone!!!

It s really been a super long time since i can post, always no chance.

CONGRATS QL, BX n diana on ur delivery!!!!

stay g wid MIL/parents
my MIL "resigned" aftr stay g wid me for abt 2 mths plus (only tues to fri hor...) cos she cannot agree to how i want things to be done in the home n the way L is handled. Also gd that she moved out cos our relationship really deterioated cos she s been doing things behind my back that i ask her not to do, way different parenting styles and i also found out she spoke ill of me to my ONCE A WK pt helper!!! can t imagine if i have a live in maid man!!! anyway, though it is tiring for me to manage L n home chores now but i certaintly feel less stress n happy compared to having her ard. A big sigh of relief!!!

manage to get my mom to come in like 2 wks once for a couple of days stay n like what gar said, i can speak my mind n FBB also can lor....so much better. Now m actually happy to have a gal for a 2nd kid else nxt time no one to hear me nag...heh!

PG
Yestr was L 6th day at PG. It s really been such a task try g to adjust him. First few days, everynight B4 he sleeps he wld say he doesn't wanna go sch. ask him why, he says he loves mommy n starts cry g. this has somewhat ended, then, now whenever he rem he has to go playgp in the morn, he wld start sob g that he doesn't wanna go cos he loves mommy, want "bao bao", want wipe tears, want hugs. Aiyo!!! by the time i get him to PG, we r late, both of us tired n sweat g like mad!! jus recently, he said he didn't wanna go sch bcos he was tired n he really lazed on the bed, refusing to budge!!! Mummies, how long do such "battles" usu last????

Pauline and gar, yar not getting CL.. hubby will be taking 10 days of leave to help me out then after that erm.. i also dunno hope things will be better.

I also very scared actually but i guess i have to do the night shifts and pils will come in the day time ( from lunch onwards) to do the afternoon. Actually what i am most worried is coping with G and #2 when my hubby goes to work, if really cannot, have to send her to sch early at abt 7 plus when hubby goes to work. But recently she is having big meltdowns!!!

Since 2 wks ago, she already dun want to go sch as mentioned . and anyway she was sick so i kept her away for sch for a while. Today, wanted to just put her there for a while to get used, she saw me taking the uniform started to cry and even throw the uniform away..really dunno what to do with her.

Any advice?

1) Should i continue to send her to sch? From what i c, dun think anything happened in school but will she get nitemares and stress or even hate us if we inisit to put her there despite her protests??

2) Or shld i take her out and just leave her at hm with me/in laws ?I really dunno when is a gd time to take her out also.

Help Help!!

Re: sleeping with hubby

Pauline, G refused to sleep with hubby even in the middle of the night when she woke up half way, she will cry for me..sigh.. raeanne no prob?

Gar.. ur parents stayed over during ur Confinement?A is not that choosy leh.. thats gd and she is so cute.. excited over J, hope G will be like that too.And u all sleep so early!!! J doesnt wake up??

gar
some of your activities still need adult supervision leh..

so the conclusion seems to be, nothing can distract them for long except for cartoons. jiat lat :D

sounds like all our tots are having meltdowns these days. Hubby can leave the house and say he's going to work and E will tell him "Bye Daddy!" but the minute I'm out of sight he'll look for me. I can't go anywhere without him having a cry! aiyo.

genice
she was quite ok before right? maybe something happened? or is it all along she's not happy to go to sch?

gar
some of your activities still need adult supervision leh..

so the conclusion seems to be, nothing can distract them for long except for cartoons. jiat lat :D

sounds like all our tots are having meltdowns these days. Hubby can leave the house and say he's going to work and E will tell him "Bye Daddy!" but the minute I'm out of sight he'll look for me. I can't go anywhere without him having a cry! aiyo.

genice
she was quite ok before right? maybe something happened? or is it all along she's not happy to go to sch?

Genice,
possible to leave Gwen at ur ILs overnight from now till u give birth. I did tat so Ashlynn can sleep wif nai nai. Now during confinement, Ashlynn sleeps with them in their room and Ashton with me as I need to bf. Of coz at times she is cranky and and wants me to carry. I will sit down and cuddle her. But on the whole, I spend very little time with her. Feel very guilty.

Genice, during my confinement and 1 month after that, hubby was the one putting RaeAnne to bed so she is ok with him putting her back to sleep. But in Feb, I put a stop to that cos she will sleep very late around 11pm when hubby puts her to bed (always wants to play with daddy). Also feel very guilty that hubby got not enough rest and no time to mark his scripts until past midnight. So now I very 'pai mia'. Got to sacrifice my 'me time' to put her to bed from 9+ up to 11pm when she falls asleep. Then she wake up in the middle of the night, she will come to room and look for me. :p

Hi Genice/Leila

What you are experiencing with G and L is similar to what K went thru. I put her to school 5 weeks before I was due. First 2 weeks very happy to go to school. Every morning tell me, "mama let's go!". Suddenly when I was 37 weeks, she wake up cry pitifully and tell me dun want school. We kept trying to find out what happened in school. Did something unhappy occur? Then she said dun like Tr Nicole. I thot Tr Nicole hit her or something or something unpleasant happened. Every day for nearly 3 weeks we will struggle to get her to school. We did positive associations with school, singing,dancing songs that she learnt etc. I even bought a book about going to school and she read the book with me happily but the minute I tell her time to change for school, she will start crying and protesting! I wanted to give up and take her out liao but the teachers kept encouraging us, told us that perhaps she can sense mei mei coming.

Finally, what we did was WAKE UP, quickly change, brush teeth, wash face, dun talk abt going to school or anything and rush her out of the door. In the car, she will guess that we are gg to school and start to cry but we will distract and talk abt other things until reach school. At the gate, she will cry somemore and protest but we just walk in quickly, take temp, and pass her to the teacher and walk away. After 3, 4 days like that, she accepted that gg to school is everyday affair and stopped crying.

I dunno if this strategy will work for you or not but you can try. Maybe the point is NOT TO TALK abt school at all because the more we talked and educated her, the more we encouraged, the more we did positive associations, the more she will cry and tantrum. It was also a way to get my attention probably knowing that there is change on the way

Sleeping arrangements
For sleeping, I also asked hb to put K to sleep and let her settle like that. We started 2 months before EDD. During confinement, she slept with either my mom or mil while hb helped me with the nights. (Sleeping with grandmothers raised another set of probs which I won't go into but suffice to say, i wld prefer that she does not sleep with grandmothers at all.)

The first 3 mths is really really shitty man esp after confinement cos the 2 moms will go back home and it was btw me and hb to put both to bed. The schedule is like this:
5.00 pm Wipe down SM (me)
6.30pm Feed K (hb)
7.00 pm Feed and put SM to bed (me)
7.30 pm Feed ourselves and Bathe K (usu me)
8.30 pm Put K to bed (both but if SM wakes up, I will attend to her)

Thru the night, hb will sleep with K while I sleep with SM. I'm just thankful that SM can usually sleep until 10/11pm before waking for feeds. That's the time when me and hb KO together with K in her rm.

Gar
hahaha, A is so cute!

K makes mei mei play ring-a-round the rosies with her. We have to carry mei mei and make her stand on the floor, then K will hold her hands and sing the song. When they all fall down, we have to make mei mei sit down on the floor! Poor mei mei kena treated like a doll. She will cry pitifully to me for help when she sees me.

STAYING WITH PARENTS:

Acrtually...i think EVERYWHERE In the world, regardless of race/religion etc....PARENTS shouldn't stay with KIDS after kids grow up.

Simple fact is we just have very different lifestyles and agendas. THe angmohs face it. WE escape it and try to work round it.

We all know there can't be TWO mistresses in a house..no other way to go about it.

IN FACT, if your hubby is overbearing about certain things in the household, your 'mistress' position is already compromised and there will be a lot of differences to live with.

So...having parents/in-laws add to this set of problems complicates marriages a lot!

Sometimes, like this morning, I feel very claustrophobic emotionally. AS convenient as it is - my mum looking after RUth really well, and always willing to 'take extra shifts" cuz she's their one-and-only grandchild and they'd do ANYTHING for her....i feel very stressed.

Cuz a lot of tension between their GRANDparenting style and our notions of where boundaries lie. Plus hubby cannot see eye-to-eye wiht both my parents on certain issues and he is very adamant about it (but doesn't voice out to them but just to me.)

Not just that, *I* also sometimes cannot see eye-to-eye with my mum. I wanna bring Ruth to do certain things but she will not be agreeable and etc....and even say things like 你怎么做人家妈妈的!

I feel that sometimes life will be simpler the LESS people there are crowding around. But of course, i'm being ungrateful here. I'm sure I'd die if I had to quit my job and be SAHM. Sigh. I sometimes wish I'm abit more....erm....homely and guai-guai, dun think about other things too much. Just concentrate of housekeeping and child-nurturing activities. But alas, that's not me leh. hee.

So...maybe....the angmohs got it right. Get outta the house, live your own life and meet just for occasions (birthdays, holidays etc).

But...but..but...hahahaha.

leila! long time no see! how's the pregnancy coming along?

genice,
A is a pretty easy toddler and not sticky to anyone in particular so very flexi as to who attends to her (only time is when my mom is going home at the end of the day, she will cry a bit). yeah, we put the kids to bed pretty early. usually both A and J are asleep by 8.30pm. if we're lucky and A doesn't wake J up, she can last thru the nite sometimes.

my mom / MIL didn't stay overnight with me during my confinement month. mom came in the day to help and would go home after 7pm. i slept with J alone, while hb slept with A. thinking back, it was quite siong cos i slept on a mattress on the floor so every time J woke up i had to struggle with my episotomy stitches *OUCH*

if G allows hb to put her to bed, then I think it should be manageable so long as PIL stay on a little bit later to wait for hb to return? so maybe both of you should put G to bed together from now till bb arrives, so that G can get used to hb. jia you okie?

iso,
for drawing / colouring / jigsaw / books A can do by herself but only for 15mins max

bkk,
cute? haha...thanks...will try to remember that when i'm groggy in the middle of the night and trying to prevent her from waking mei mei. wow K already having fun with SM...hehe...they will be able to entertain themselves in no time!

lezy,
LOL...your post is so farnee...

yeah, i think for angmohs - the motto is live your own life. maybe it's religion cos there's this passage in the bible about man and woman leaving their families to join in holy matrimony blah blah...but to be objective, for them - i think it's a bit extreme. cos they only get together few times a year, sometimes once in a few years. how to be filial like that?

my ideal situation is to have all 3 families (mine, parents, PIL) stay within 500m of each other. near enough to have frequent meetings (like hv dinner, help look after kids), but at the end of the day close door and go back to own homes. i agree fully with lezy - one house cannot have TWO mistresses!

currently, H sleeps with my mother during this period of confinement. I am at my mum's place doing my confinement, so hub stays over at night and we sleep with Hayden, he can help feed while i express. We go home on the weekends to give my mum a break, then i will sleep with Heidi, while hub sleep with Hayden in another room. i suppose this arrangement will be for a while until Hayden wakes up less in the night and not disturb jiejie, then perhaps we can all sleep in 1 room. It's also time to sleep train Heidi i suppose, but i feel that she's not ready yet, cos even when taking afternoon naps, she needs someone besides her, otherwise she wakes up very easily. sigh

bkk
K is so cute! at least she found a way to entertain herself, hahah..

gar
wah where did u come up with the 500m calculation? actually my mum lives 600m from my ILs place, but it's still sometimes a bit of a trouble to get there (like if you're 38 weeks preggers and need to lug a tot), so i think the best is in the same block! or next door. that would be super convenient! i also like how some new condos and flats cater for multi-generation families.

you gals are lucky your hubbies are home so early! i think my plan when #2 arrives is, i'll have to ask ILs to look after #2 while i put #1 to bed. they can put #1 to bed but only when i'm not around...

Tots' selfentertainment
I guess that's the whole purpose of having 2 or more...the hope, and I say, HOPE, is that they play with each other (not fight all the time)and give us a break! muahahahaha!

But in the meantime, I have a very nice neighbour next door who plays with K and takes her off my hands for 30 mins at a time. That really helps when I'm alone with the girls.

ideal living arrangements
I like how the rich Thais do it. They buy an entire apartment block (like a walkup apt of about 6-8 units) and divvy it up. One floor for each family and reserve 1 floor as dining/recreation unit. Then their maids all cook together and jaga kids together. At dinner time, everyone gather on 1 floor to eat and then go home to their separate units after that. The kids have cousins to play with and grandma/aunties are always around to supervise. My hb's ex-employer even had a van to fetch all the kids from school and at any time of the day when you go to the compound, the drivers are sitting around chitchatting, washing cars.

I have a fren in Singapore who has similar arrangement. Over the yrs, the sisters managed to buy a unit each in a 6 unit walkup apartment. The kids just go over to each other's house to play and study together. When one is away, they rent out their unit and the others help to jaga tenant, collect rent.

My dream arrangement (which will prob never come true) is having everyone on a large compound with 1 large house in the middle, a pool, garden and 2 granny hses at the back - one for each parent. oh dreams! lucky they are free. haha.

Iso
oh, my schedule is for weekends only. Replace hb with mom/mil for weekdays
heh. Hb comes home at 7pm (on good days), on other days he might have late mtgs, even up to midnight at times. But I must say he was v good in trying to come back earlier during confinement.

blueginger,
ur pros and cons so funny, made me laugh.Esp the part abt them letting us cry, but cannot let grandchildren cry. heheh.

Staying with parents/ILs
do u gals have to cook for everyone when staying with parents or ILs? What abt household chores? Divide or u do all?

BX..you've popped! Congrats!
Ahaha the last time I mentioned the second one's labour was faster but more painful..seems like you experienced it too. Good job! It was also a pretty "traumatic" experience for me this time even though I had natural deliveries both times.

Good that you managed to latch on..my boy doesn't like to latch and if he does, he falls asleep. Now almost exclusively pumping
Hope he can relatch when a bit older.

And spending a lot of time pumping and sterilising and washing. No. 1 almost has 80% drop in attention from me..cos he is usually at my MIL's place now and I only see him in the morning and night, and even then, I dun get to interact very much with him. At times I cried when I think how little time I have with no, 1 now..feel very guity.

Add on to Garfields's list:

Playdough!! Managed to occupy J almost an hour with this magic.
think most activities still need supervision at this age...

---------------
How to keep 2yo entertained WITHOUT any interaction with me - depends on how long.

15mins - colouring / drawing / jigsaw puzzles / books
Up to 30mins - playing water / bubbles / running around downstairs
>30mins - television / iphone

iso,
wahaha...i anyhow pluck from sky one. but you are right - ideal will be same block!

bkk,
LOL! i have a similar "dream"...buy one big house and divi up into 4 levels
ground floor - common living / dining / entertainment area
Level 1 - PIL family
Level 2 - parents family
Level 3 - my family

Each level is a self contained "apartment" with a "main entrance" so unlike conventional houses where different levels are accessible via a staircase. So it's pretty much privacy for all. DREAM ON hehe...

mummies with newborn #2,
don't worry about neglecting #1. wanted to share that after the first few months, when #2 is more settled into a routine, you will be able to achieve a balance and spend time with both darlings. jia you okie?

<font size="+2">HELP!!</font>

My cousin sister's clog is very serious and she is running a fever now, 37.5. The doc advised to do operation?!! issit necessary???? I tot just ger lactation consultant to massage it out and be administered with oral antibiotic will do??
Anyone knows??

Why need to go for operation to remove the clog??

tong,
wa why so serious?

i SMS you my lactation consultant contact to get second opinion? she's damn good one. one of the first few to be certified in SG and has a very gentle and pain free approach to removing blockage.

Garfield, thanks! but my cousin is in KL. if i call her she will entertain me or not? eh, your sms still in transit leh, no network to transit to my inbox wor lol. btw, books are here, how u want to collect?

sweetpea,
take ur time to slowly latch agin. remember must not feel anxious when latching. must be relaxed. i will love to pump more but family members dun allow me to keep touching water and i dun feel good asking to them to wash and sterilise for me. so i stick to pumping only 3 times a day now.

let's jia you together!

bx-is ur ss better this time rd? my yield is ard 100ml per 3 hrs..i tink much better than before, but also not much excess to freeze yet since Hayden sometimes drinks 90-100ml.

hi everyone, i juz came bk fr tokyo last nite. Tiring but v gd trip. Interesting discussion here... Learnt a lot fr u gals. =)

my r/s with mil also deteoriates after having A3 (my boy) coz of diff parenting style n approaches. A few wks bk, she told hb tt she dun wan to do confinement for me anymore coz she's afraid of clashes. Huh?! She did mon-fri the last time n my mom on wkends. She cooks for me, bathes bb n wash bb clothes., that's all. I tot quite sian-lang?! If she dun wan to do, then i will find CL.

Tong, 37.5 not high fever. If there's abscess, then the doc will draw the pus out.

clover, ur mum cant do confinement for u? but honestly, it's good to engage a CL . So did alex enjoy the trip> i havent read ur blog yet will go later hehe.

Qingling,
I'm not sure coz I latch on. I pump 3x in the morn, aft and nite. After latching, only pump out 40 ml from both sides. For #1, i didn't pump after latching. So can't compare.
Tried to offer bottle to him today but Kenna rejected. Hayden can drink from bottle since which day?

bx, congrats on yr delivery. =)

tong, i hvnt update my trip yet. p(^_^)q muz do it soon. He loves it there. He sleeps extra better coz we r always with him n the weather was cooling. He also has expensive taste, somemore. Jap rice, wagyu beef, prawns... Etc lol.
My mom is working n taking care of my dad whereas mil is housewife. Both of them r really diff. My mom goes all the way to accomplish tasks n is outspoken while my mil is v.e.r.y s.l.o.w n keeps things to herself. I clash with my mom but knocking on wall with my mil.

Qingling, my supply is better for no 2 coz more experienced. I pump about 40ml per hour

But these few days a bit lazy, drag my pump to 4 hours, so less milk. Are u latching on?

SweetPea, 40ml is quite alot. I latch on occasionally only, cos the bb usually fall asleep at the breast, so if i latch he may need to ask for milk every 1 hr plus..while if i use bottle feed, he can drink 100ml and sustain 3 hrs of sleep.

I just ordered this sacredtea,http://sacredtea.blogspot.com/,am going to try it to increase ss, hope it helps.