(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Artemis, lezy, raeanne's pg is also cheap, $130 per month. I am still contemplating whether I should switch her to the pcf pre nursery from July, $160 per month just to try out the curriculum. If it is good maybe I can save $ n no need to put her in cc. That one is 3hrs per day from 830am - 1130am. But I really dread getting her used all over again to the new environment, teacher etc. :p

lezy,
ME TOO!! No mood to work now.
since i've worked hard till 3 pm. i shall just rest now..

re: incontinence
gals,
let's work hard on kegel excercise together!!! :p

iso,
poise panty liner useful? i am now wearing the normal sanitary pad and got to change every ~ 6 hrs.
leak terribly whenever i cough.

bkk,
i've got the AIA Women Wisdom. not sure if it will exclude preexisting incontinence problem.
at least my agent never ask about it when i purchase.
but, the cover is very very little only and cover only 1 surgery of that kind in your lifetime.

re: book recommendation
wa..
you gals bought so many books for the little ones.
i don't know where can i find so much time to read/play with C leh.
back from in-law place ~ 8pm. quickly shower C then make milk for her. then she knock out at 830 pm.

i am actually very interested to get some cheap activity books too. anything out there is very cheap? :p
she now plays simple simple puzzle only. still not good at it.
teacher feedback that she likes drawing.

clover,
i've finished the 4 books of bubu. a very patient and determined mother.
just get some inspiration from her.

i got a stupid question.

DO ALL OF YOU KNOW YOUR CHILD"S BLOOD TYPE?

cuz i don't....not in health booklet...not in bc...didn't ask at hospital....how else to find out!?

*blush*

i also no mood to work, back is painful from sitting so much!

XY
it's marketed as the liner for women with leaks! try it! a bit thicker than usual liners

lezy
mine has a little slip pasted into the health booklet with the information on blood type and a few other things i think

all the PG so much cheaper! now i feel so sian, haha..

lezy,
normal playgroup from RC/CC will follow the school holiday schedule.
this is one of the reason we chose childcare centre over the 2/3 hr playgroup.

XY, I got lots of time to read to S cuz he only zz at 11.30pm. at better times 1045 or 11. bad times like yesterday, 11.40 I think. Cuz he keeps wanting me to read story books to him, till my nearly lose voice leh. I’m running pelangi spree if you are interested.

XY, share with us what you have learned from bubu!

Lezy , I tot at the hos when u deliver u will noe the blood type? Btw, 8pm tonight is fine, bring ruth leh.

me and Hubby blood type same so he very anxious to know my g 's one . Better be e same lor.

iso,
i tried some sample of it too. but i used it as panty liner cos that time no incontinence problem yet.
can it last long? still smelly?

RC/CC playgroup are normally cheaper. got to cater for ppl staying at HDB mah.

tong,
difficult to share things that learn from bubu cos she's sharing the experience but not a method.
from what i digested, she uses the mixture methods i read from 'positive discipline', 'parental effectiveness training'.
most importantly what she does is to live life to the fullest and setting a positive role model for her daughters. she takes good care of the emotional development of her daughters, trying to create a sense of stability/security for them while they are always on the move. ...
that's my point of view.

you want to read the books? i can lend them to you.

Hi lezy, tongtong,

Yes, you still have to pay, just like primary and secondary school fees.

RE: blood type

Danica is a B+ just like my HB. Maybe that's why she sticks to him :p

RE: book reading

Danica also enjoys me reading to her. But we limit her to 2 per night but she gets to make the choices from her "library". My HB gets to be the "bad guy" if she winces for another. :p

genice,
what blood type you all have?
B & B?
A & A?
O & O?

possible to have O baby when parents are B&B, A&A. not necessarily to be B/A baby.

We also sent N to RC PG 2 blocks from our hse. Paying $175/mth, daily 2 hrs 9.30-11.30am. Time-table quite similar to Artemis' one.

Its Edufarm. But 2 teachers to 14 kids. When we were there for the 1st 3 days for orientation, it was chaos ah... hahaha ;p All the kids crying, wonder how the teachers handle them.

But now seemed to be better.

And they also follow sch hols, June n Dec hol. But we still got to pay for these 2 mths even no sch cos the teachers' payroll is running...

XY, not sure whether I got time to read that books, if we ever meet up I will borrow from u ! thanks!

Artemis, so if I’m still paying the 100+ for holiday, then the PG I visited at 800 per term is not very ex. And the class is small too, and don’t need to pay for holidays.

artemis,
still got to pay?
then CC seems more worth it. it doesn't close during school holidays.

kids normally sticks to the opposite gender. C and I same blood type but she also sticks to daddy.

xiaoyun: i also hv same prob esp now coughing. day time i will use kotex fresh longer & wider (the purple color packaging ones). It is longer and wider.

But for nights, sometimes if my coughing is bad, i will use those slim pad we used for our period for normal days. if not i will need to run toilet to change a few times.

tongtong
ooh let me know when u run pelangi spree!

XY
hmm doesn't seem smelly, and usu it can last me the whole day, unless i'm out really late. Also some days are better than others, haha.
I also stay HDB mah.. but the closest PCF i think i need to walk like 15mins at least. And I think that one no PG, so got to walk even further. shack!

Hi tongtong,

If I am not wrong, 1 year has 4 terms = $3,200 then divided out by 12 months is ~$266 per month. But they also have the March/September 1 week school holiday and June/December 1 month holiday. So per month you still paying quite a lot.

dianA,
hai.. everyone having the same problem.

hope condition will get better after the bb is out of our body. then start the kegel excercise again!!

iso,
get it. i need to change a total of 2 panty liners in the 24 hrs when no coughing.
so i guess poise does work.

15 minutes to me is considered very near liao. my area has more PG available, from my blk to my PIL blk, have 3 at least.

TalentPlus is expanding, probably you will get to see one near your place soon.

Hi tongtong,

I also interested in the pelangi book spree. Want to get some Mandarin books for Danica. :p If not her Mandarin will like my HB and I, cannot make it type.

Xy, we are a donor family. Haha ,both O lor, so a bit impossible to get babies of other blood grp but I ever heard, can't remember which thread got 2 O parents end up baby A or B.

I can't remember how this blood grp thingy works, threw away my bio Liao , got to do w antigens har or some dominant O thingy.

Re: eating food at cc
I realised that g does not eat well at cc, even 18 mth kids eat better than her. She like only eat 2 spoonful of rice n does touch snack ESP when the snack is bread which is usually e case. She is growing fine but then it's still frustrating, end up she needs to drink extra milk like those 18 mth at 4 plus.

Any of ur kids also din eat well? What do u all feed them outside other than rice n soupy mee? Got give western food as a meal? I have stopped giving porridge since dunno when n I think she doesn't like porridge now. U all introduce sauces like ketchup or Mayo for them to dip or even slighlty spicy food?

hello mummies - me been silent reader, nothing much interesting to contribute...haha..but i share the agonies of backaches n no mood to work!
counting down to 2 more weeks and then long rest!! yippee.

blood type - mine is o+,hub is B+, H is O+ same as me. She's closer to me..keke.

i feel my tummy weighing down down le, sometime i feel so heavy i got to lift up the tummy with my hands to lighten the burden on my back.

genice - what does gwen eat for meals now? rice? i give mee sua, mee hoon kway, rice, alternatives to prorridge. she dun like pasta..hmm

XY, yea about that rate for 10 weeks. So if holiday then ther’s a break, we don’t pay la. Only pay starting from the start of the term. They follow MOE’s sch holiday schedule. It’s a 3 hour daily programme. Class is also smaller. Another option is to go 1.5 hour playgroup, but the class is big, I think >12 kids. Now still thinking whether to go playgroup or the 3 hr one.

Artemis, I’m comparing this rate with the talentplus playgroup. Talentplus at my place is only 1.5 hrs. the expensive one is 3 hours. And the curriculum seems to focus on right brand training, that’s why they are called mind research centre? anyway I’m still undecided..

genice,
no way for O O parents to get A/B/AB baby.
haha.. so definitely O baby for you.

outside, we ever tried rice+veg+meat at yoshinoya (not bad), wanton noodles (too salty), mashed potato w/o sauce, french fries...
not yet intro dipping sauce. :p

qingling,
will it be bb engaged liao?

Blood type.

Ok i go home and scour through the health booklet more closely. i also dunno why it never occur to us to find out until recently. poor thing kana poke so many times for the jaundice testing somemore.

reading books vs....
my ruth no patience to go through a book. she is obsessed with masak-masak toys (cooking stuff) and building toys. We bought this junior engineer set. Got many parts + tools (hammer/pliers etc). She can sit there and tok-tok-tok and try to fix the parts together.

Patience
Ruth has little patience. Eg those shape sorters, sometimes u need to put it quite precisely. FOr her can get the shape right, but usually it cannot go through with her haphazrd 'aiming'. Instead of trying to adjust until it goes in, she'll get terribly upset.

Talking
Ruth not really talking yet. Can hear words forming, like cup, duck, ship/sheep, bah-um (for mum), da (for dad), ki (keys/keep), sit, there, no.

Yes is a firm nod of the head. Sometimes i will get her to go YAY! by acting like a mad woman going YAY! myself.

But she understands most things we say. Ask her where is bear, she will pick up book and point to it. But when she wants to 'talk' to us, it's the dodo-dada language. So frustrating sometimes.

Gymastics
BTW, I'm bringing RUth for trial gymnastics class at ALPHA GYM this weekend. ANyone been there? It's at the old BIG SPLASH at ECP. $35 for an hour. Parent-child class.

Ruth been doing forward rolls all over the bed. She's very physical child la. So i think good to let her have means to erm, express herself perhaps.

XY
got talentplus, but not any closer, about 20-25 mins walk. haha. my estate is pretty small, so i guess not worth the trouble for most schools to open there.

main problem is if i got to walk to pick him up and it rains, then will be troublesome. ILs won't be able to go as they pick up my nephew from his CC at about noon time.

maybe i just enroll him into the expensive one for a few months and take it as enrichment class :p then hopefully eventually can put him in PCF when we move and when one opens in our estate..

Genice, maybe g is teething? Yea I do give western meal like abc pasta/shell pasta/spaghetti. I give him spicy food like curry or dhal when we eat out, cuz I don’t cook spicy meals. I don’t intro ketchup or mayo to him yet. But I already got one organic ketchup which I think the ingredient is better so I can intro to him liao . but I think not necessary now yet cuz he is still eating very well. Maybe that’s a backup.

S has the same blood group as me, no wonder he is so close to me. Uhm..

tong,
calculating from the number of hours,
$145/month, 2 hrs daily. ~ 40 hrs monthly.
$3.7/hr (school holiday need to pay)

$800/term, 3 hrs daily. ~ 150 hrs per term.
$5.4/hr (school holiday no need to pay)

which one more worth it?

for me, i would prefer a 3 hr program cos journey to/fro already 15 minutes x 2 + time get ready to school. if they play for 1.5 hrs only. you can't do anything within this short hours. very lecheh.. :p

Hi genice,

Once Danica passed 2 years of age, I pretty much let go liao. If we eat MacDonald's she eats MacDonald's (she LOVES french fries and tomato ketchup), if we eat beef kway teow, she eats beef kway teow. :p The only thing is she cannot take spicy food so no fish head curry for her.

I think Danica is the "I feel like eating then I eat" sometimes she wolves down a bowl of rice, a bowl of soup with meat/fish and vegetables and 2 hours later tell me to "make make 2" her shorthand for making 2 ounces of milk. Then other days, she will eat like 1 or 2 mouths and declare proudly to me that she is "bao bao".

I gave up forcing her to eat and find that when she is more relaxed about eating, she eats more. Perhaps you should communicate with the teachers at the CC? Sometimes, they stare at the child eating, to make sure that they consume food and it can get pretty uncomfortable for the child.

Otherwise, instead of milk at 4 perhaps a tea break of cookies, biscuits, bread, cake, kwey or other stuff to encourage eating instead of drinking?

FOOD
ruth still loves my mum's poridge. we cook it until it's very very lumpy, not watery. if watery she dun like.

i discover she like lumpy food. like jap rice, lumpy porridge.

haven't really intro her to western food like nuggets. burgers she ate once - mcdonald's cheese burger. but after that dun like liao. also dunno why. but she like french fries....there was once i let her have french fries + ice cream for dinner! horrible mother ah. :p

SHe dun like mash potato leh. maybe if more lumpy type she will like...not the "watery" type.

Xy, no way? That is so stressful. Haha.

Ql and xy ,she eat chicken rice, whatever rice , ban mian , mee Hoon KUAH too big leh must cut more I lazy. KUAH tiao, mee tai bak all must be soupy lor. I find that I very limited choice either we order 1 soupy stuff or 1 rice. Sigh. She likes cheer kueh though so sometimes we give her that for bf or dinner if we eat spicy stuff like stingrays. Her fav dish is beancurd, dun like vege will spit out.

Dunno what else to give her, she not taking much vege so I will give her fruits to compensate.

Lezy, mine is also very active, so I signed him up at mygym. He enjoyed the class very much and follows instruction well. He loves the trampoline the most that he could jump non stop for half an hour.

xy - the last checkup not yet engaged (last wk), prob going down, but i doubt its engaged yet, and my gynae is on leave until 12th! so better no happening until after..haha

FOOD
Some other stuff we eat when we are out...

- jap rice (oyako don)
- udon
- chicken rice
- chwee kway (without the oil and chye-por)
- fishball noodles (bee tai mak soup or dry wif ketchup)
- food court sets that comprise rice, chicken and soup.

Ruth quite LAZY to chew even though she has almost full set of teeth for so long liao. so usually we try to stick to fish dishes (usually end up fish soup/porridge) and chicken (white chicken rice - breast meat).

I'm not very particular about her food intake - as long as she eats. Of course we try to keep it bland cuz she'll have a lifetime of preservatives and etc in stored. But I don't kill myself over it. Even lazy to cook nowadays. usually just eat out.

(my mum makes up for my bo=chup-ness by being so super pampering on her. 5 days a week at my mum's, she eats like a queen.)

Oh ya, she LOVES PRINGLES!!! JIALAT MAN! My mum's fault!!!!

XY, yea I still see that going to the 800 one is better. They actually accept only 3 yo children. So I brought him to be assessed by the leader. She said he is ready and can join the class already, just that I don’t need to buy materials yet. I think it’s good exposure to him and the class is small and more focused.

Tt, wah s can take curry! Impressive! How I wish gwen will take spicy food plus durian . :p

Lezy I also give chwee kueh but she like the chai por leh. Nver try fishball mee w ketchup cause I dun like. Hehe. I nd chili!!!!

Fries! Who can resist? Evertime we go eat fast food for dinner, then I ask my Hubby so what do g eat? He say fries n drink lor , faint. Sigh guys are guys lor. Yester nite my Hubby fried mee at hm, I was outside. And I asked him what did u add for her fried mee. He told me mee only lor. I asked how much she ate , he told me less than 1/3 of a small bowl. Sigh. My Hubby quite BO chup, he say not enuff drink milk lor.

tong, mygym is grace kids?

Iso, mygym is the one we went to at great world?

QL, so exciting ah....

FOOD FOOD FOOD!
Ruth eats the Risotto at Olio Dome.
I find it's quite tasty too cuz they put pumpkin in it and also cheese shavings.

*salivate*

Genice, he only gets to eat curry when we eat prata lor. He dipped so much curry and told us “la la” , then drink his water. After that, dip the prata into curry again. Then water, then curry again. Very hilarious lor! At once the dhal is not so spicy, he evn want to drink all the dhal leh! Yea agree, guys is quite bo chup with kid’s nutrition one.

Lezy, the one I go to is MyGym, at tampines.

lezy
yah, but grace kids is the playgroup/enrichment, mygym is the er.. gym :p if i not wrong mygym is more like JWT kids? all housed under the same premises.

all this talk is making me HUNGRY! now having milo..

jeannie
i think men q bad at meal planning for tots hor??

iso.. u at hm already? Yar lah.. guys are guys.. super bo chup at least 85 % of them are like tat lor..

Urgent.. can anyone advise if u use the big or small barley to cook cooling barley drink. how much sugar to add and how long to cook.

Anyway, i am already boiling a mixture of big and small barley, dunno which is good for "cooling" added some rock honey sugar.. now super sweet but how come the colour not like those coffeeshop one.. not white enuff. My mother told me cannot boil too long.. is it true? sorry.. i 1st time do barley drink.. totally no clue..

lezy - H also like chips, ruffles, pringles..aiyo,,always point and tell me "eat eat eat"..meaning she wana eat. she cannot take spicy, will vomit, i tested once when i just dip a finger with tom yum onto her lips..hohooho...durian, she will lick once n not come back for second try.keke..not like mummy

my hub can look after ruth, but food wise will only tabao lor. but i've brainwashed him liao lor. he will only buy fish porridge or fish mui-fan.

Got once i told him to buy chicken rice just in case ruth dun eat the bee tai mak. HE went to buy the FRIED chicken chop type.

I was so mad lor....i asked him why buy chicken chop instead of the normal white chicken. he said white chicken not worth it. very little meat.

really nothing to say to him liao. in the end of course he finish the chicken rice. lucky ruth in the mood to eat bee tai mak that day...

i always instruct hub what to cook for H's lunch if i not ard. i make sure i prepare the ingredients for him in advance.so at least he does not headache what to prepare for H.