(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

XY
from your experience, how much cheaper are the items if including shipping? or is it that because you want those particular items and can't get them here?
for myself i was wondering if i should just get some other brands of echincea and multivites here, cos also q hard for me to meet up to collect stuff from you, u live in east right?

stephie
my #1 boy is v active and hardly likes to sleep, that's the only reason why i was hoping for #2 to be a girl! lol..
but now both boys, also good, can all play together with daddy..

gar
welcome back!!! glad to hear you're coping well. so your hubs is at home during the day too?

xy,
welcome to the jie3 mei4 club!! so far there's pauline, bluegin, bkkgal and me. Have i missed out anyone?

iso,
re stretchmark creams - i have excess earth mama angel baby oil / lotion to let go. i used it for #2 and my tummy was much bigger this time round, but thankfully remains stretchmark free after 2 pregnancies. in fact, i have quite a few prenatal items to lelong (including baby plus if you have are still keen

penumococcal,
not sure about side effects, but PD says it's the most painful jab of all so advised me to spare baby multiple jabs and administer only when bb reaches 2 so that only one dose is required.

boy vs girl activity level,
for those of you who have witnessed A ini action will realize girls can be as active as boys!!

iso,
for some of the items like orajel toothpaste, i dun know how much it's selling at the store.
at least, on the ebay, it's still cheaper by SGD 1-2 to get from spree (after add in the shipping). since i now dun have time to go hunt for toothpaste, might as well get all in one shot.
for the colostrum, i remember GNC was selling like $60-70 while getting from spree will be half price of it only.

understand your concern about the collection. i am fine to do postage or maybe we can organise a playdate again? can be arrange since we've known each other already.
that's why i dun organise spree to other ppl as it's sometimes lehcheh to meet up with the stranger too.

iso
thanks!! some sanity has been restored to my chaotic life hehe

hb is on two to three weeks leave / working from home. if not i will go mad muahahaha

garfield
i had wanted to give the pneu jab after 2 years old for shawn. just that i was paranoid. hence decided to give him after 1 yo. so he took total of 2 jabs.

XY
ok! i dun mind postage or playdate also.. just that recently we've been super busy, even hard for me to find time to pick up stuff from genice's house which is q close to mine! lol.

my order:
(1) ChildLife Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavored Powder, Orange/Mango Flavor - 1.7 oz, $17.49 x 0.8 = $14
(2) ChildLife Echinacea, Orange Flavor, Orange Flavor - 1 fl oz, $6.99 x 0.80 = $5.60
(3) L'il Critters Gummy Vites Kids Multivitamin
70 ea, $5.99 x 0.80 - $4.80
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=67653&catid=157125&trx=CRT-PLST&trxp1=17008&trxp2=67653

gar
nice!! yah i think hard to handle 2, especially with the emotional changes for #1. what's your feedback on the baby plus?

stretch mark cream
I think XY is the one interested in stretch mark creams, luckily no stretch marks from #1! but i did and do use the clarins one, and i got some samples from due maternity, very nice!! but i won't pay for it :p
http://www.duematernity.com/babybump.html

painful jabs
my PD explained that it's because some jabs contain bacteria/viruses (i forgot the exact word she used) in order to activate the immunity, that's why they're more painful than others..

garfield,
so good that you've got a supportive husband.

stephie,
for the pneumo jab, i also scare. pray hard that nothing will happen before 2.

iso/qingling,
noted your items.
placed order liao.

iso,
hehe.. i got the oil from garfield liao.

xy,

sorry - just got back from applying my us visa, it took almost half a day... :S

i wanna order orajel too and the gummy, just drop my order from another spree...

(1) ChildLife Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavored Powder, Orange/Mango Flavor - 1.7 oz, $17.49 x 0.8 = $14
(2) ChildLife Echinacea, Orange Flavor, Orange Flavor - 1 fl oz, $6.99 x 0.80 = $5.60
(3) L'il Critters Gummy Vites Kids Multivitamin
70 ea, $5.99 x 0.80 - $4.80
(4) Orajel Toddler Training Toothpaste, Tooty Fruity Flavor - 1.5 oz (2 pieces), $4.29 x 0.80 x 2 = $6.88
(5) Orajel Toddler Training Toothpaste, Fruit Splash - 1.5 oz (2 pieces), $3.69 x 0.80 x 2 = $5.92

Thanks so much !

re stretch mark cream,
last time i used galenic elancyl (the one gar advocates last time).. and no stretch marks but maybe because my skin is used to the stretching due to my yo-yo weight :p

tute,
i am sorry that i already placed the order.
I ordered extra (1), (2), (5) which can fulfill your required quantity.
But no (3), (4). ok or not?

xy,

*sob sob*, okay no problem... i'll take those first
will get the roajel tooty fruity from another spree.

XY
thanks!!
i think between the mummies on this thread we dun really need to join other sprees liao, haha..

tute

i bought some extra oraljel last time! u looking for the one with the bear? or thomas? i got extra thomas but not sure about the bear one, can go home and check.

thanks for the recommendation, E was more interested to brush his teeth AND with toothpaste! maybe next time i just cut and paste a Thomas photo onto any toothpaste?? heh. but last few days he's been sick so v uncooperative about anything..

XY, congrats on the jie mei club. The great thing is that we save $, can recycle many items. I already ordered mummy & daughter Minnie mouse t shirts so that the gals and me can wear the same clothes and go out together.

Oh ya, lil critters gummy is for 4 years and above. you still buying? Pneumo jab, I definitely won't go poly cos no time to queue and it's weekdays office hrs only. Difficult for me to bring RaeAnne. :p

pauline,
yes. can save a lot for jie mei.
even save 1 room too.

i'm not buying the gummy. but iso order it.
u goinng PD or GP for pneu jab?
wonder if the price difference is big.

XY, I checked with my regular PD and the GP before. PD is $5 cheaper but cash terms only. GP is $145 but can use medisave. Actually I prefer PD cos they will also do the child's assessment/free consult. Not sure if GP will do that or just jab only. :p

iso,
yeah tooty fruity is the thomas one.. glad to hear that E now is more into brushing teeth! that was the turning point for C's brushing teeth episodes as well

don't mind getting one from you... you working around rp side right? me at rp too now so can take from you anytime
but i'm not in a hurry, just that i got no more stocks now as C is on the last tube of orajel... btw, i think the fruit splash one is sweeter than tooty fruity...coz when C tried it this week, he commented that it's sweet (though i'm not too sure if he understand the difference between sour and sweet enough, but seems like he roughly knows :p)

Once u get stretchmarks, no amt of time or $$ will help you get rid of them
so invest in the best stretchmark creams u can afford now! I was complacent and cheapo (used the Boots brand cream for this pregnancy whereas for 1st pregnancy I used clarins). This is the result lor. But my massage lady said part of the reason is also because after 1st pregnancy, I didn't tiao2 yang3 properly, that's why the skin elasticity deteriorated. Whatever it is, do what you can now or regret later.

Congrats XY - a 2nd princess!
Princesses are lovely. Save $$ in theory oni (for me). The hubs has been feeling a tremendous amt of guilt towards No. 2 = he went to Mothercare like 3 times to spend a bomb already!!! And everytime I complain, he says but SM so poor thing, everything 2nd hand, everything look so kiam chye. hiya.

iso,
i always thought muz wait till detailed scan to really cfm, be it gal or boy.

i have the room shortage problem now coz A will have to share room with didi as pils are shifting over. having 2 of the same gender wun have this problem.

pauline
ya, your PD's charges for the pneu jab is cheap. i went GP alr cost $165.

bx
i shared room with my bro till i was in uni. hence, to me, it's not a big issue for different gender to share room, esp when they are young.

you PILs shifting over temporarily only right?

tute
ok we can meet at RP one of these days! are you using iphone also?

bx
i think it all depends on whether they are cooperative, for E we knew at 3.5 months, #2 at 4 months. guess my boys not shy, wahaha.

XY, Stephie, I think it's because the hospital PDs charge separately for consultation. That's why I prefer to go to my Tampines Round market PD. Neighbourhood PDs are cheaper. Everytime I bring her for jab, get free consult/review, I only need to pay for creams etc.

Haha, just realised I'm a SMH Advanced Member liao. Shows that I spend too much time here... ;)

iso,
it says it's for 4 years and above. Not sure about the reason.
but RaeAnne has no problem taking it.

bkk,
stretchmark related to whether you tiao2 yang3 properly or not?
haha.. your hb is funny, why feel guilty? SM is more fortunate as she's born with a playmate - lil K.

bx,
pil shifting over for good?
i did share room with my bro (who's 8 years older) till he went overseas to study too.
who knows you will be shifting to a bigger house with more rooms a few years later?

pauline,
didn't know neighborhood PD do not charge consultation for vaccination.
you advanced member cos you participated in multiple threads + online shopping mah.. :p

xy, mine doesn't. Not sure if the rest do. Bedok kidslink did so I have boycott the place liao. Yup, I think the multiple threads (Jan08, Feb08, Dec09, Jan10) is the reason. The online shopping not that much lar. hehehe. ;)

Hi mummies! happy CNY!

Been so bz tat i dun hv the time 2 visit the forum as and when i like after being a SAHM. ;p

I rem some mummies or is it Bkkgal been to perth bringing little K 4 holidays?

May i ask if the place is child friendly?

Hi esty, gg to Perth for hols? Aust is generally family friendly place. The city is nothing exciting but outside is nice. We drove to margaret river for few nights, winery visits, farms, etc. We stayed in a service apt which is great for preparing meals, n the kids could just hang out in livibg rm.

Actually the person to ask is Andrea. She lived in Perth for 2 yrs. Not sure if she's still reading thread. Yoohoo Andrea u here?

hi bkkgal,

yeah! bringing my 2 darlings. very exciting & look 4ward! I've been there once in 2006 but tat time i no kids, so i dunno if perth is kids friendly anot. Hee...

I quite like perth, cos it is kinda of slow paced. Many dun like it though cos they feel kinda of boring. but i like leh. told hb i dun mind 2 stay in perth when we old! haha...

oh ya hor. Andrea! Andrea, helps pls!!!! ;p

My PD also charge consulation for vaccination leh. So each time very painful to bring for jabs. Still thinkin whether to bring #2 for jabs at GP instead.

Mummies--anyone used a mini washing machine (like those egg shaped type) before? I was passing by Kiddy Palace last week and saw them selling for about $109. Thinking of getting it to wash #2 clothes..I hate to handwash! Any comments or experiences using this type of washing machine?

Esther,
I love Australia! They are so child-friendly but of course makan is a problem cos mainly western food. For us, we rented a big house and the kids can play in the living room/back yard. We didn't venture future but stayed 7 nights in Perth so no need to check in and out so often.

Sleeping with siblings of diff gender
I come from a big family and I slept with my brothers in the same room till my eldest sister got married (I think around JC time).

bkkgal,
i have an indon maid - but then again i am an indon myself so i have no major problems whatsover except for the usual maid issues. i have heard about ppl saying that the major challenge is with communication (filipinos tend to have better english comm skills) - my suggestion is to have a quick conversation/interview with the maid (if your agent allows this). another feedback that i heard was that indon maids are more naive but personally i think this depends on how adventerous the individual is. this is true however in my case, my maid is scared to go out alone and she doesn't even dare to take money from ATM but maybe because i don't push her hard enough. these days she's better though, can go to market herself and supermarket across the house and knows how to take bus but not sure if she knows how to find the way home if she's not been to a place before and while teaching C words, she picks up english words herself albeit limited but i think there's improvement

EGG WASHING MACHINE
- My cousin has one. Pretty ok for light washing - but can't really spin dry one. U have to either put in the normal washer for a good spindry, or squeeze by hand.

INDON MAIDS
I find that for maids - whatever nationality u get - is very hard to stereotype lah. I find it all very heng sway. I have had 4 maids when my granny was around.

Y - first indon, first maid. Spoke mostly bahasa.
Very vain (not prettY) and always wondering how to look prettier/lose weight but yet also greedy.
Skivs whever possible. Even lied and sneaked out. Bought handphone without us knowing (it was a big deal 10 years ago) and had a boyfriend. needless to say - we sent her home after a few months (which was about the period required for all the bad habits to emerge). Always wants to know more maids and spends a lo tof time chatting and even bringing them home (to outside corridor) to chat.

S - my best indon maid. Still keep in touch now (with my parents) and actually considered hiring her cuz I was still contemplating about no. 2. Skivs abit by acting blur if you don't push her to do certain things - or line up work for her. Gets along with my cats and even helps us chase them home, olok after then, feed them etc. Can't speak much English - mostly Bahasa but who cares if she's good! Doesn't mix with other maids much - except for 1-2 friends downstairs even though she is down everyday wif my granny.

A - Indon. looks like very good. Can speak Bahasa, English, Chinese, Hokkien. Can cook very well. Can 'angkat' my granny and talk to her very patiently. BUt very money-minded and manipulative. Tells on each member of the family - eg if my dad do something my mum will not like (hang the clothes a certain way or etc - very petty stuff lah), she will go and gossip with my mum about it. I mean, marriage relations are tough enough sometimes - no need someone to come and make things worse right? After she left, we gave her a good 'severance pay' cuz my granny was going to a home. She still keep calling us, borrowing money and all.

M - Filipino. We sent her back within days. TOtally blur. Tel us the 'skin' of the bread (top and bottomost slices) are for dogs, which is why she threw the bread away. *rolls eyes*. Left granny downstairs, go make phone call, go home and cannto find grandma! GOod grief. Very bizarre.

bkk - so fast ur maid wans to go home liao? how abt philippino maids? I just went to a maid agency at Holiday inn, Roland agency, the boss seems quite sincere (but them i am quite trusting..haha)..so it really seems whatever nationality doesn't really matter, really heng suay, but the agent is important..so now i am a bit swayed to choose a philippino maid over a mymar maid because of communication.

Tubao
I will go back to Sheila. She's a good agent but now she said quality of filipina dropping, dun recommend, indons are better now becos they are trained in basic english before leaving for work.

Lezy
Your stories are farnee! ok funny now cos we are not in the situation but I agree with you, all heng suay.

Qingling
long story. her contract finished in jan. in dec she said dun wanna stay, so i said ok, then prepare to go. then she changed her mind, said she wanna stay until may, at least help me through confinement. now in the middle, say that her medical condition worsen, every where pain, ask to go back asap. I renewed her permit for another 2 years already and now she doesn't even want to stay til May. She even called up my agent to ask her to quickly find a good maid for me (!!). Well, it seems she just doesn't wanna stay lor, medical reasons or otherwise.

I've got experience with 2 different Indon maids for my grandma and 2 Filipino also. Must say they are all very different!

Filipino 1 - Very good, grandma like her a lot. And she quite attached to my grandma. Even after grandma passed away we are still in contact. Too bad she is too old to come back to Sgp after her health probs. She has a sister, Filipino 2 - Totally the opposite. Got bad attitude, no initiative. Sent her back after a short while. Sisters leh..but so different.

Indon 1 - Very hardworking, English no good, dun eat pork. But we sent her back as we didn't need her after a while. But she was very wierd on the day we told her her we had to send her away - she lay down at the back of the car, like small kid..and throw tantrum. She was about 40 years old!
Indon 2 was for my grandpa - Young and chatty, got initiative and more intelligent, but I think will step over our heads soon. She was not bad, but my grandpa passed away shortly after so we didn't keep her. But I think Indons do not talk on the handphone as much, for my cases.

If you eat a lot of pork, pls ensure that the Indon maid is willing to prepare pork, cos many are muslims and do not eat/handle pork.

bkkgal, I think for maids, it's better not to treat them so nice and show how much you need them esp in the beginning. For mine, I scolded her a lot in the first few months cos she keeps making stupid mistakes. But as she got better and trained by the CL (cooking n look after bb), I don't have to scold so much and will also buy little things as reward, give pay advances cos she needs $ for her mother and FIL's medical treatment.

When I scold her I also remind her that I don't need to keep her if she doesn't perform cos worse come to worse I still got my ILs to help and I'm a SAHM. She knows that cos for weekends, we can put both no. 1 and no. 2 with ILs and go out (for 3-4 hrs though) and they can handle.

Thanks for sharing mummies! Can I ask, what is the salary for indons new vs with experience? I'm told that salaries have gone up in general.

Pauline
I think u are v nice to your maid leh. I haven't given mine any rewards in the last 2 yrs that she worked for me. In fact, she only gets a birthday angpow, a Xmas pressie and a CNY angpow every year. And erm...I don't provide toiletries/sanitary towels too which apparently is the norm? :p

bkkgal,

My helper is indon. She's more like A in lezy' cases.

She went to suzy's home(sheila's assistant) last weekend, and talked to Sheila also, told me that suzy and sheila will fly to indo next month for interviewing new maids.

bkkgal,

her salary is $370 with one off day per month.
She has 6 years exp in HK + 2 years exp in Sin.

we just accepted her salary quotation by Sheila,
though we know it's higher than all of my colleagues' helpers. We thought that it's rare to find a chinese speaking helper---our ILs don't speak English.

We paid her $390, since she didn't want off day as she needs $. But every month, we gave free 1 half day off,seeing her very sian staying at home.

bkkgal, I don't provide toiletries/sanitary towels too. My little gifts are really small stuff like hair clips, papaya (she has constipation problem), occasional treats like Marks & spencer chocolate/biscuits (which we can't finish but not expired type). I gave her a small Xmas present and $10 AP for her son as Xmas present. For CNY, she's very happy cos her nett AP is $42 so far. :p

Tubao, my maid has no experience and already taking $350 (incl her $20 for off day in lieu). So yours considered cheap to me.