(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

I hv a massage lady to recommend.

Her name is liu li. She's from china ( cannot remember if it's Hunan or Hubei. )

her charges are 50 per session and her oil isn't very smelly. She is trained in tcm. She doesn't use cloth binder but those clingwrap (like those slimming centre lidat). Per session is one hour. Longer options available : 70 for 90min and 90 for 120min.

Pm me if you want her number. ;)

happy CNY! super holiday mood today

wah... the PV closes so early! wow... there are no branded school @ bukit panjang leh. else it might be good to do PV, can understand the school and culture better!

Is everyone on leave today?

Me still in office.. sianz.

Anyway, wishing everyone a very healthy and prosperous year!

sunny, wah long time no see leh.

me also in office!

tute
thanks for the recommendations! too bad the nice cake places don't do nice cartoon characters... another place for chocolate cakes which i love is www.decadencecakes.sg/ really rich!! good stuff

airshow - i read on your blog, hee. i guess we didn't miss that much then. next year then!

me q bored at work..

pple keep asking me if i was hoping for a girl for #2. why are singaporeans so obsessed with 1 boy 1 girl??
i don't mind a girl so i can dress her up, lol. but i'm a little scared to have 2 super active boys - feel tired just thinking about it! haha.

happy cny everyone !

me still at work too...

iso,
thanks for the link! that baker looks pretty good... yeah, lots of good fudge cake baker doesn't have cute designs... i guess you can't have the best of both worlds or maybe you can but it comes with a price :p

for airshow, yeah... go for the next one 2012 ! and don't forget these few essential things : cotton ball, sunblock, sunglasses, hat and umbrella

tute
yah, i even went to see La Pattisier's website, their cartoon characters don't look v nice. Maybe the next best option is to buy those inedible cake toppers, and put it onto a decent cake? heh.

what's cotton ball for??

iso,
to cover the ears !! the sound of the jet engines are really loud... scared that it would damage the kid's eardrums (dunno if i'm too paranoid or not but my mom has had hearing problem throughout her life due to a flyby by fighter jets that broke her eardrum when she was little - she even had to go for surgery at such a young age). anyway to be safe i use my hands to cover his ears, should have brought cotton ball and stuffed his ears with that instead... easier :p though at the end C will follow my lead and cover his ears immediately himself... haha...

btw, i think it's not only singaporeans who are obsessed with 1 boy and 1 girl... indonesians are like that too... i think these days ppl only want 2 kids hence the ideal scenario for most ppl is 1 boy and 1 girl

tute
or maybe those like headphone type that they also have at the F1 might be good for the kids? anyone wear that there?

ya seems like a lot of pple will say 1 boy 1 girl, can close shop. so if got 2 boys or 2 girls means can't close?? unless they r v traditional and so far have girls but really want a boy - although i still don't really see the logic in that

happy new year mummies!!

back at work today, feel a bit disoriented

reena: wow, looks yumms!! do they not stick to the mould? it's almond is it?

Hi Good Morning Mummies,

I know this is really werid, writing this..
But my hubby's business has been slow and we're expecting a second bb this sept.

So I'm hoping that by posting this could help him to bring in abit more income just before the 2nd bb comes in.

My hubby is working as a Real Estate Agent.
If you girls have a place that wants to be sold or rented out or know anybody that is looking for a real estate agent. Please do contact me at 98449684. I'm not posting this as an advertisment but really hope that this could help us to bring in more for the extra mouth to feed.

Thanks alot.

Hello Mummies
Happy New Year! Thought I will miss out many posts over the new year but seems like everyone has been enjoying their new year celebrations over the holidays.

Regarding schnool - Wonder if people borrow the addresses of other relatives/friends to enrol thier children into schools within the 1-2km range? Thought I read n some newspaper report, that these 2 kids, totally unrelated, had the same address!

sweetpea
yes, i heard about such cases and that the school is able to detect. in the end, the child needs to be transferred to another school.

wanna check with you ladies, have u brought ur kids for chicken pox vaccination? is it common to take it with the flu vaccine?

bx
yes, shawn took when he's 12mths plus. have not given him flu vaccine though. perhaps can check with doc if can take both at the same visit.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
I am back to work already! Anybody here?

bkk,
your stretchmark experience alarm me that I haven't buy any stretch mark cream!
I also dun have stretch mark last time and hope that I will be stretch mark free too.
think I should not try my luck.

which brand is good to use? Clarins or what?
lost track already.

tute,
i've colleague coming from US in March too.
but not very close to him, paiseh to tumpang him things.
anyway, now drugstore got storewide 20% discount - expiring today.
I am intending to order the colostrum and enchinacea from there. it's cheaper than vitaglo after discount.
still interested?

bx,
C took the chicken pox vaccination but not together with flu.

XY
is there a 20% off drugstore.com? Am thinking of buying some stuff cos my hubby is getting stuff from the states.. you want to tompang?

XY
oh btw i use clarins oil! also used it for last pregnancy, and didn't get any stretch marks, but i think also depends on individual?

bx
E also got the chicken pox vaccine but not taken the flu one yet. maybe now regret cos he's having such a bad flu! i'm going to work from home this afternoon and take leave tomm afternoon..

iso, xy, stephie,
any side effects for the chicken pox jab?

iso,
same question, any side effects for the flu jab?

xy,
u managed to know ur bb gender already?

iso,
it's an email offer. not sure if can extend to you. I can't forward you the email right now as company doesn't allow me to send email from public mailboxes.
i dun mind tumpang your hb.
do you think it's convenient to let me have your hb's comgateway/vpost/borderlinx address so i can send the parcel there?
i am getting the colostrum, echinacea and desitin. probably some gummy and calendula cream.

i used the dun know what coconut butter brand. no stretch mark also. last night applied baby oil, dun know will it help or not.
clarins oil get from where?

bx,
not sure if there's any side effect on the jab.
but she doesn't have fever after it.

not sure about the gender yet. gynae check on 13 weeks still can't be sure.
tonight will have another scan to confirm.

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

XY
really! i just bought from them recently and they didn't give me any code.. ok i PM u the details plus the orders that i want to make? was thinking of trying the echinacea and the gummies that you recommended.

bx
he din take the flu shot, but now having a bad bad flu. am going to go home in afternoon to look after him.
for other vaccinations he hardly gets fever, at the most only get a bit warm and need 1 - 2 doses of panadol.

happy new year everyone!!! finally can find time to post

thanks to all mums for your well wishes! my delivery was v uneventful almost to the point of being boring *yawn* total time spent in the delivery suite was 3 hours, with only 6 pushes required to get baby out.

because i reached 5cm dilation with no pain (and hence not in the delivery suite, but doing things like enjoying my roti prata breakfast) - the thought of having this delivery virtually painfree was too tempting to resist. so i signed up for epi and through out the entire delivery, only experienced 15mins of labour pains.

but i always believe in the "great equalizer" - one can never have it good in all respects haha...it was major payback time for too easy a delivery after i discharged from hospital. first A had viral fever, followed by hubby, and finally i succumbed too. the grand plan to have A in playschool in the AM so that we only needed to deal with one kid for half a day didn't materialize since she was sick. so we had a newborn plus a super active 2-year old toddler 24x7 with us.

for those who are not hiring a confinement nanny and with no domestic help at home - my experience so far is that it is manageable (with supportive hb, family) for me, i sleep with baby while hb sleeps with A.....so i handle all the night feeds and changings alone. and do accept all help that you can get!! especially when it comes to taking care of your #1.

xy,
drugstore discount code expiring today? hmm... too bad only till today, drugstore has a 2 day shipping ($16.99) so if the 20% savings is not as big as that then I think I can help to order and ship to my hotel while i'm there and bring it back with me. Any idea how much is the overseas shipping? I'm just thinking if it's worth giving up 20% discount in return of not paying international shipping because I heard that vpost these days charge very high for fuel charge... already kena once for ON spree

Iso,
It's not almond, after adding the glutinious rice flour to water, the batter becomes white. I oiled the mould fairly well but unfortunately not the tails so the tail got stucked but luckily not too obvious :p

jass,

Chicken pox jab
All my 3 kids took the vaccine but DD1 still contracted chicken pox at the age of 3 (she took at around 12 months). However, her blisters were only a handful, probably less than 20 whole body and face and she wasn't feeling uncomfortable. So for chicken pox vaccine now, you need to have a booster. Accordingly to doc, side effects are rare but it could include fever, soreness and sometimes mild rash.

tute,
let's say if the order we have is about $100, the 20% discount will be $20.
The 2-day shipping is USD 16.99.
The extra cost will be about USD 37 (SGD 52) when shipping it to your hotel.

From previous experience, the overseas shipping @ 2008 is about SGD $30-40 for an order of $100.
If the price hike is 20% more, it will then be max SGD 45.

Not sure if my estimation is correct as i not sure about the magnitue of the VPOST price increase.
How much you kena for ON spree? a lot?

xy,
for 5 items i had to pay $30. vpost charge $1 per kg fuel, depending on the actual/volumetric weight whichever is higher (acc to the organiser). at that time, ON sends in 3 big boxes... overall shipping charge was more than $350, the organiser said that fuel charge alone was $40. so i guess we got the worse case scenario, i dunno either? :S

but anyway, based on your calc then not much difference, and shipping to sg seems to be cheaper? if that's the case then i'll order from you as well. oh, how do you calculate SGD37 additional charges, is it based on the additional charge per pound?

tute,
i couldn't find the info on the weight of my previous spree.
just found that it's about SGD 30-40 of shippping per USD 100 of orders.
The assumption that the fuel charge/increase in price is 20% more, it will then be SGD 45 per USD 100.

The USD 37 additional charge is 20% of USD 100 order if we are not using the discount + USD 16.99 of 2-day shipping. Does it sound right?

From your ON spree, it seems that fuel charge makes up to about 12% of the shipping. So I hope my estimation of 20% is a good number.
Btw, I ordered ON before too. they were really came in BIG boxes. the shipping alone also make me heart pain.
that's why no longer getting things from ON.

pneumoccocal jab
Anyone brought their kiddo for pneumoccal jab recently? RaeAnne is already 2 so am thinking of bringing her for jab. But not sure if it will definitely cause fever. If yes, then better to plan it on weekend when hubby is around so that I got extra pair of hands bah. :p

hi pauline, pneumoccocal has been made mandatory recently. can check with polyclinic whether its free or subsidised?

my boy took it with rotavirus vaccinations, and he has mild fever, lesser than 37.5c. hth.

pauline/clover,
i am bringing C for the pneumo jab next week too.
although it's compulsory, it's not free at polyclinic. but can use medishield to pay.
not sure how much polyclinic charge though. can help me find out before i bring her to Raffles next Sat? if it's cheaper, i might just bring her to polyclinic.

thanks in advance.

bx,
i am around.

tute/iso,
didn't get your message about the drugstore order.
i will proceed with the order today and send to my comgateway address.

i've added 3 extra echinacea for tong, tute and genice.

a few more things i am considering to buy:
(1) Orajel Toddler Training Toothpaste, Tooty Fruity Flavor - 1.5 oz, $4.29 x 0.80 = $3.44
(2) Orajel Toddler Training Toothpaste, Fruit Splash - 1.5 oz, $3.69 x 0.80 = $2.96
(3) Orajel Baby Tooth/Gum Cleanser, Berry - 1 set, $4.99 x 0.80 = $4
(4) Orajel Baby Tooth/Gum Cleanser, Apple Banana - 1 set, $4.99 x 0.80 = $4
(5) ChildLife Colostrum with Probiotics, Orange/Pineapple Flavored Powder, Orange/Mango Flavor - 1.7 oz, $17.49 x 0.8 = $14
(6) ChildLife Echinacea, Orange Flavor, Orange Flavor - 1 fl oz, $6.99 x 0.80 = $5.60
(7) Earth Mama Angel Baby Third Trimester Tea - 16 ea, $5.99 x 0.80 = $4.80
(8) Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment (Original) - 4 oz, $5.49 x 0.80 = $4.40
(9) California Baby Non-Burning & Calming Diaper Area Wash - 6.5 fl oz, $11.09 x 0.80 = $8.88
(10) Nature's Way Sambucus for Kids, Berry Flavored - 4 fl oz, $10.49 x 0.80 = $8.40

anyone interested? shall place order by noon today for the 20% discount.
let me know ya?

bx,
to answer your question. i am now 16 weeks going to 17.
#2 is also a girl.
on one hand, i am a bit disappointed as the previous scan shows that it can possibly be a boy.
on another hand, feel very relieved because i really dun know how to take care of a boy.

xy,
congrats on the bb gal! before detailed scan cannot really cfm gender right?

whether gal or boy also good. i'm sure she will be as pretty and guai as C

pneumoccocal jab
DS2 took this jab and his leg was too sore to walk for days. His pain threshold is considered high but I had to carry him those few days when he couldn't walk.

bx,
i didn't go for detailed scan last time too.
i wonder gynae will ask me to go for this one as well.
as i can see, his machine is quite powerful and he can even check whether the baby has any cleft lips in last night's scan.
he's very confident that the baby is a girl, and he marked a 'GIRL' in the ultrasound photo already. so, 100% sure.

now i can imagine the 2 girls holding hands going to the park already. LOL.

reena,

why is the jab will sore?

good morning mummies - me here too!! back at work after 5 days of leave (SHIOK).

XY - Congrats on knowing bb gender
. Initially me also tot boy is good (cos all the grandparents are wishing for a boy), but now i think think i seem to have like a girl better.hmm..but i think we love them all the same ya. i just hope my boy wun be too active - argh, i cannot stand playful boy (who jumps up and down on sofas and bed..haha)

me want to order the tooth paste too.
(1) Orajel Toddler Training Toothpaste, Tooty Fruity Flavor - 1.5 oz, $4.29 x 0.80 = $3.44
(2) Orajel Toddler Training Toothpaste, Fruit Splash - 1.5 oz, $3.69 x 0.80 = $2.96
(3) Orajel Baby Tooth/Gum Cleanser, Berry - 1 set, $4.99 x 0.80 = $4
(4) Orajel Baby Tooth/Gum Cleanser, Apple Banana - 1 set, $4.99 x 0.80 = $4

Thanks! Let me know how much to transfer to you.

qingling
girl can be active too. at least for my girl. she's the one jumping up and down sofa/bed. whereas comparatively, my boy is milder. probably when he is his jie jie's age, will be as active bah.

xiaoyun
my girl said to me a few times "mummy, why didn't you give birth to a girl? i like two girls, don't like 1 boy 1 girl."

re jabs: in general jabs will result in side effects such as fever. depending on the kid, some don't have any side effects at all.