(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

iso,
C has not try it yet. am just trying to get it because of pauline's recommendation.
it's orange flavor. should be not that bad.

re: shipping from US
can someone recommend what's the cheapest method now?
my sis told me VPOST start charging fuel charge for the parcels, in the end the shipping cost surge quite a bit.

xy,
yeah not there... i'm just thinking of something... might be going NY for a week so thought rather than shipping here, can actually order and ship to my hotel, save cost :p but i think they don't offer such service

xiaoyun
ya, going to send her to nanyang primary so no long hair for her then. sec/jc hairstyle - think it depends on the school.

Xy I dun think ur tummy looks that big lah.Bkkgal , not bad leh, 7 kg already. I only lost 6 kg previously after 1 mth . U started ur massage?

Xy, Tongtong, RaeAnne only napped 1 hr today and I was too busy to post. My friend requested for soup with rice cos her gal is still taking soft foods. In the end, I (the maid) cooked 4 dishes. Steamed tofu with meat patty (chopped carrots and mushrooms), steamed cod fish (marinated with teriyaki sauce), tofu seafood soup (prawns, pork slices, fishball, crabstick, egg tofu, sio bai chye cooked in chicken stock) and stir fry sweet potato leaves (with hay bee hiam for the adults). Her daughter was quite shang lian and took quite a lot. But RaeAnne refused to eat.
Maybe because she is teething (saw her last molar emerging this morning) or because she ate biscuits, bread and prune before dinner. :p

cut hair:
So far Ruth's hair all trimmed by my mum. I'm lucky that my mum takes up so much of such stuff on her own. Actually when I was young, my mum would cut my hair too. Only when I reached upper Primary onwards, she sent me to hairdressers - cuz I was too fidgety and would keep asking her if she was done. I have a lot of hair and it got thicker and coarser as I grew up...so she gave up.

Ruth used to have her haircut during bath. While playing with her toys, my mum will try to snip bit by bit. That of course means sometimes she will resist and well, will have to put up with crooked fringe or hair length for a day or two until my mum gets the next chance to get a go again. Nowadays it seems, she will sit still if my mum tells her she wants to cut her hair.

I think she vain lah...thinking cut hair will be pretty. *faint*

genice
me not affiliated. hubby was from nanyang so joined the alumni. if not, won't send there liao.

lezy
actually i prefer my kids' hair to be cut by me. cos i think my mum has tendency to 'overcut' (by my standard). last time she cut my girl's fringe and i always think it's too short and she looks kuku. for me i usually cut till just above the eyebrow (which means i need to cut more frequently). :p think i more im cheam when it comes to hair cutting.

morning mummies - every1 finish spring cleaning for CNY
, tmr is my last day of work b4 i break for CNY, SO HAPPY!!, gona rest until next thursday!

stephie
if alumni is that guarantee entry? or must still do volunteer work?

lezy
hmm idea.. maybe i'll try to cut his hair during bath and see how that turns out.

Pauline, that was a great dinner that you had prepared for your guests! Don’t worry about Raeanne since she is teething. I think it’s still better than my shaun who needs to wake up and cry in the middle of the night lor.

iso
based on past trends (which my sil told me), it's 'guaranteed' to be in if join alumni. no need do PV. i dun hv time n energy if need to do PV :p. price to pay: $1000 to join the lifetime alumni.

stephie
that's "worth it" compared to the other donations that pple have to make to get their kids in, and the time that you'd have to spend to do PV? haha..

Stephie/iso, wow still must pay to join alumni ? I thot u are automatic alumni since u were from that sch. Erm, I think I will c how it goes in e future, Hubby not keen in our kids going ny. My in laws n ourselves stay quite near but still have to do pv lor. Steph, ur ger going in which yr? Next time then ask u how it goes.

iso
agree, it's worth it since time = $. If need to do PV, i won't consider ny liao. probably just send to a school nearby my mum's place (after all i'm from a neighbourhood school too).

genice
ya, must pay to join the alumni club. like what iso said, worth it since it's hassle free this way. divide by two, $500 per kid. not that i die die want my kids to go ny, hubby said "since can, why not?". based on my sil's experience, only need to register when it's time. prior to that, there's briefing for parents. my girl going in 2 yrs' time.

Tried to post so many times today but cannot. Tongtong, thanks. Actually it's a simple dinner cos mostly steamed items. First of all, no need to watch fire, secondly can keep the food warm cos kids take so long to eat their dinner, thirdly healthy lor cos no need any oil.

Stephie, Nanyang Pri is a good school. Worth it lar to pay for alumni feeds.
Wonder how much is my hubby's alma mater (Ngee Ann Pri) alumni fees. :p

bkk,
after the massage oily oily can still breastfeed? i remember during A's time, I felt so dirty and smelly coz cannot shower after the massage. plus i had the binding on.

that's y still contemplating if u i wanna book the massage lady.

tute,
going NY for a week for work?
dun know possible to get help from colleague, send to their place first then collect from them when you reach?
i also hoping that i've the chance to go US this coming Apr for work so that can stock up something there.
but dun know boss want to send me or not since i am going on long leave after Aug.

genice,
you long time never see me wo...
tummy bigger already. hb also surprised that why tummy so fast can see only at 3+ months.
weighted myself yesterday, only gain 1 kg.
yet my colleagues can already say that i put on LOTS of weight.

pauline,
C's molar is coming out soon too.
keep drooling...

re: hair cut
i tried to cut her hair during bath too. but the hair stick on her body and difficult to wash off.
i guess it's easier when they are dry, put on some baby powder before cutting.

lezy,
but it's true that ruth's hair cut is nice.

re: primary school entry
iso/genice,
alumni (with the report card) is in 2A2 phase.
alumni + pay $ to join alumni club is in 2A1 phase (VIP).
they all no need to do volunteer work.
those ppl doing the volunteer work are mostly from the phase 3 whereby they are not associated with the school. besides volunteer work, they can also buy a house within 1 km from the school.
hai.. primary school entry in singapore is so complicated.

XY, RaeAnne never drools but she keeps putting her finger inside to feel the gum/tooth. That's why I started suspecting.

Which school are you eyeing for Carrie? Maha Bodhi is good right? How about Telok Kurau Pri?

Wa, taonan. A+++ school leh. Very competitive and a bit elitist though. Sometimes, if the school is too good, also worry, cos don't know if the classmates will compare this and that. :p

pauline,
ya.. heard some bad things about taonan actually.
e.g., teacher will ask the parents to send the students to enrichment classes. or teachers will show favorism towards 'better' students.
with C's character of being non-competitive, quiet, easy-going, she would probably be biased by the classmates/teachers.
however, competition is hard to avoid. what we can help her is to build up her self-esteem.
as i said previously, i myself prefer to be a small fish in a big pond because i am that kind who will be too complacent when there's no competition. knowing that C's character is so much different from me, i need to learn to help her overcome the difficulties too.

at least sending her there save me the work of doing volunteer and heart attack of the 'lucky draw' by maha bodhi. :p

XY
maha bodhi got lucky draw?? as in balloting ah?
i put powder on his body when cutting but i think still very itchy..

stephie
yah! esp since i recently heard someone with no affiliation paid $50k!!! my friend did a video project for them, and estimated the value at $20k, but he got a lot of contacts so i think the actual cost to him was much less (maybe $6k?) but still! and this friend apparently went to the school, and asked if $10k ok, and the principal said something like "mr. x, you're a businessman too, you should know that $10k is not a lot".
wah piang!

iso
wow, the principal so frank ah. no wonder there's a lot of rich man son in those 'highly sort after' school. cos only they have that kind of $ to buy a place for their kids.

xiaoyun
think taonao not the only school to say such things about enrichment classes. probably all others are doing the same. is st. nicholas a good school too? (or st. xxx?) my tour mate told me the same comment when she sent her daughter to the school. then she told me must start sending my kids for enrichment classes now, else too late. for this tour mate, she did lots of stuff just to get her daughter into the school, remembered it included shifting house.

iso,
yup yup yup. it's the balloting. :p

the donation to school is ridiculous!
my friend told me that the father of her friend in rosyth paid to build their carpark!
no wonder the school building here all look so nice!

even for the volunteering work, it's not like you can just do whatever volunteer as you like.
they will also screen through what you can contribute to the school.

stephie,
then your tour mate must be in the phase 3.
do you know that some parent need to register for the PV even before the kid turns 3? there's another friend of my recently bought her house near rosyth so that can send their daughter there. after which, they went for the registration and found out that it's already closed while their kid is only 3 yo!!!

the thought of enrichment class is really putting me off. my first tuition class is only when i was in P6!!

xiaoyun
i think so bah. actually i v blur abt the phases. didn't know about the diff of joining alumni and not joining. no wonder my sil was telling me actually no need to join alumni cos based on past trends, all those whose parents were from ny managed to get it without joining alumni.

abt the PV thing, heard pple/fren saying that some schools already closed their doors cos got too many PVs. scary, don't tell me must start registering once kid is borned? lagi scary than enrolling for infantcare/cc.

halor, me too very laid back when it comes to enrichment.

isobellies,

acs is very rich,u noe the parents are like directors of eu yan seng etc,my colleague's son is there,she said the yoyo they played cost hundreds of dollars,i dunno got such ex yoyo before

Bx
Yeah the malay massage oil is quite smelly and sticky. I also cannot tahan! I feel v yucky also ,and bb's face also become oily after I breastfeed. The binder oso v hot! This time I changed to another massage (not malay one) and the oil they use is v nice - not pungent, and not sticky. It's my 4th day of massage today and I can see my flabby tummy is smaller but my stretchmarks are so ugly (sob!). No hope liao for stretchmarks. I didn't have any stretchmarks with K, so complacent didn't apply cream religiously. it's payback time. sigh.

Aiyoh, PV reg close before kid is 3 yrs old. So scary... :p

bkkgal, u using RN home massage right? I like it too except the steam part, too hot for me. :p I'm using elancyl stretchmark reducing concentrate. Seems better if apply diligently.

Hair cutting,
I'm still cutting my 3 kids' hair, prefer to do it myself as I can control my own timing instead of finding time to bring them to the salon.

Diapers,
Anyone with good lobang for Huggies?

Avent Isis (manual),
My gf has 2 to let go, one brand new funnel and one used, selling without bottles. Let me know if anyone is interested. Thanks!

reena
any tips? i don't mind doing the cutting, but he minds his hair being cut! lol.

having said this, i just trimmed the left side of his hair a bit during his nap. the other side will have to wait to tonight or another day :D

Stephie,
Last time I used scissors to cut the fringe too but very straight so looks gong gong. Now I use the zigzag scissors for their fringe, at least got some "body".

Tute,
For my son, I invested in a hair trimmer, bought from Philips. Have used it for 3 years, so far so good. I won't say I do it professionally but I think it's fairly decent :p

3630846.jpg

Pauline
No I didn't use RN home massage in the end. I can't stand steam baths. Feel like in a sauna once I walk out of aircon room, no need steam baths lah. I used another massage service.

What do u mean PV reg close when kid reach 3 yrs?

Iso,
I started off cutting just the back only, then another session the sides, and another session the fringe. All these done in the toilet .

Now I cut his hair along the corridor. I will give him short intervals eg after one side, I will let him play for a while, then continue to cut the other side, etc...

Nursing bras
Sorry need to ask - which is the BP that u ladies were discussing abt pretty nursing bras before? I realised that my nursing bras from K's time is really raggedy looking.

reena
to make the cut not so straight, i'll lift the hair veritcal and cut. then in a way, there's layer. not sure if you know what i mean. it's similar to the way hairdresser lift the hair to cut.

iso,
airshow was really very hot! hmm... not sure if C really enjoys it, his concept of airplane is something he sees from a distance, so when he saw the big airplane up close he didn't know what it was and when he saw a smaller airplane, he suddenly yell airplane! The only thing i know he enjoys was the airshow but after 20 min he got bored and started walking around pushing his stroller :p so good experience but maybe better to wait till he's older then he'll enjoy it more

xy,
yeah gg ny for a week in march. remembered you wanted to order some stuff from vitaglo so thought of helping you order (if you're keen) and i can bring back. no colleagues close enough to ask for that leh... but if my friend's sis gonna ask to tompang some stuff back, i can prob order first and deliver it to her place. i'm planning to do some shopping while i'm there too

reena,
your son's hair looks neat! my problem is rather C refuse to sit still. so he will keep shaking his head and i'm scared that i'll give him a really bad hair cut because of that. I think using razor is safer than scissors coz you can set the length of the hair that you want to leave behind. See how, maybe i'll borrow from my friend first and try to cut his hair again after his bday... bday the hair must be neater :p

bkkgal, i see. Not many non malay massage service around. Good that you found a good one.

I was reading what XY said that her friend moved house to be near the primary school she wanted. Only to find out that they are already full for parent volunteers registration up to 3 years old. :p