(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Update from gar's hubby. She has delivered at 1.08pm. Baby gal is 3kg n 47cm long.
CONGRATS!!!

Xy, thanks I dun like the flip flops n I already have Mary Jane n sneaker design for raeanne before. Got any others that can go well with cheongsam set? Oic r u still using the pillow case? Or can I bring back to try for size? maybe u can bring Carrie to my mum's place for playdate on sun? Hehe.

raeanne has no problem chewing the gummy bears cos they r smaller than the hero ones.

pauline,
cheongsam is nice to match with heels - for adults. :p

how about this for the red one?
http://babyhub-online.com/products-page/apparels-and-hair-acc/sparkling-star-boots-anti-skid-socks/

frankly speaking, probably a silky looking bootie + bling bling anklet will then look nice.
very traditional chinese looking. this also means, the socks the she's selling are too fancy for cheongsam. what do you think?

let you bring the pillow case back for trying. easier right?

sunday playdate is a good idea!! hb is probably going for mj session and i am not following him.
what time you will be there?

hero gummy? you mean the previous multi-vit?

Ya lor I dun have silky looking booties for her lor. But ya u reminded me about the anklet.
I will be at my parents late afternoon to evening time cos we usually shower Mei Mei before going over so that only need to Feed n shower raeanne at my mum's place.

Yup, the hero multivit r bigger than the lil critters ones.

good morning mummies,

went market this morning and did some survey on the milk powders.
if you happen to pass by Bedok Reservoir Road and urgently need to get some milk powder, can get following milk powders at this shop. The price is cheaper than supermarts without promotion:
Top Plus Freshmart
Bedok Reservoir Road
Blk 632, #01-834/836
Singapore 470632

GainIQ 1.8kg $51.50
NAN Pro 3 900g $25.40
NAN Pro 3 3 x 650g $51.80
Friso 3 1.8kg $47.90
Mamil Gold Stage 3 1.5kg $35.40 (Currently OOS)

XY, thanks for the update.

By the way, for Friso 3, better to get from Sheng Shiong Bedok Res promotion cos for $51.50, you get 1 big tin and 1 small tin. I bought 6 tins recently when their stocks came. I learnt it the hard way cos stocked up Friso 3 from NTUC and Jin Tai Tong before I found out. :p Otherwise, Jin Tai Tong sells the 1.8kg tin for $45. Also not bad.

Hi Garfield,
Congratulations!!!

Mummies who bake,
which brand of eletric mixer/beater would you recomend based on performance and size (smaller is preferred)?

garfield, congrats!

Piglettail, i use moulinex electric beater. It's small n compact but it's a hand me down fr mil, so i dunno whether still available.

Congrats to BKKgal and Garfield!

Multivits - I give my boy the syrup type from the PD. Scared he can't chew those sweets type.

It's less than a week to new year and both of us have still not fully recovered from last week's fever..and now worse, feel like I am losing my "qi" and voice. My boy just saw the PD today after deliberating for a week whether to bring him to the PD..alamak..there goes $85.

Friso 3 - I am giving up on Friso. My boy had Friso since he was a baby. But I don't like Friso 3..the texture is not as fine as Friso 1 and 2..and I get a lot of ANTS going after the milk powder. Too much suger in the milk? The ants didn't go after Friso 1 and 2. Hence now trying Gain. Got can but haven't opened it yet.

sweetpea.. take care.. cny gonna eat more goodies, will fall sick even more.

I am super upset
yesterday went to weigh myself, i put on 8 kg liao.. jia lat.. b4 i left for tokyo only 6 kg and now 2 weeks later 2 more kg.. i think i will bust the 18 kg that i put on for #1.

My tummy is so big that i think i look more like 7 mths than 5.5 mths

Genice..I tell myself -- its ok to put on the weight, as long as I eat healthily. And I also tell myself..what's new year without the goodies and cookies? So think I will just whack. I shall lose the extras by breastfeeding! Hopefully I will get well before this Saturday.

Xiaoyun - Ask you..Any idea of Child Life's Echinacea has a long shelf life? Or must it be consumed very quickly?

garfield,
congrats!!

genice,
i'm here. dun be sad abt the weight gain. eat healthily and moderately. opposite of u, my tummy is so small that my gynae was so worried when she saw me on sat. luckily baby's weight was still within the normal range.

sweetpea,
ur #2 girl or boy? get well soon or else cannot enjoy the new year goodies.

genice,
dun worry about weight gain, just as long as you and bb are healthy

iso,
i went to junior's league @ united square with the hope that the videos can distract him but alas, didn't help coz he kept wailing once hairs falls onto his arm and especially the face... then v difficult to clean face coz all wet with his tears and the hair just stuck on to his face... haiz... but i thought, birthday must cut hair mah... so die2 go lor... maybe next time i let the hair grow longer... hahaha.. :p

jeannie - i think u will slim down quite fast one, dun worry
. sleepless nights and bf sure bring down the weight after u deliver.

i think H is developing her second molars, she's been drooling a lot..hmm, and her appetite has gone down down..zz.feeding her is very terrible now. any of your tods display similar symptoms?

by the way, do ur todds eat the food at the cc? H dun really fancy eating..duno wat to do..lucky my mum always give her a second helping at home after she come back from school.

sweetpea,
congrats! seems like this time round most #2 are boys.

qingling,
I think once the molars r out, her appetite will resume. i foresee A will have problem eating at CC as she always have eating problems since young. sigh...

iso
i v cheapo, cut shawn's hair on my own. must get fierce to get him to guai guai sit down for me to cut.

genice
ya, will slim down with massage (tho i never tried before, lots of mummy slimmed down with help of massage), bfg, taking care of kids, etc. don't worry weight gain now. must stay happy so that ur boy know his mummy is a happy mum

stephie,
i cut C's hair a few times too! But then my mom say very untidy my cutting and asked me to go get proper haircut for him
Did you use scissors or electric razor? Tempted to buy electric razor coz only cost around $70 but can cut boys hair till at least when they go to school :p

tute
i use scissors. so far, my mum commented once that i cut the side too straight. so i trimmed a little to make it slanting.

stephie
i've been doing that too, to use scissors, before my mum would use razor but recently he will cry and cry like we're torturing him.

tute
they don't wear something to prevent the hair getting on their arms? i think the hair on the body/face is what E hates the most.. usually after

iso,
they did... and he was safe for the first 5 min.. then he struggled, took the cover off and gone case after that... just kept wailing
that's why i'm thinking wanna try cutting at home again... i cut his hair twice at home before...

garfield:

bkkgal:
wow... you are so steady in your birth story. Cool!
i enjoyed that.

iso:
i have been cutting matt's hair since young.. messy.. but hahah he will out grow the uneven hair soon (or so i hope).
coz i doubt he can sit still @ the hair dresser as I had to struggle w him even when i make him sit and watch his fave dvd while i trim his hair.

jeannie: no worries abt weight gain. having a strong and healthy bb is more impt now.
weight loss program can come after delivery wor.

Cut hair - my MIL used to cut my boy's hair, but nowadays he refuse to cut. He everything also "No need" and "Bu Yao". Hiyo.

So send him to the barber/hairdresser. If me and hubby bring him, he refuse to go, but my MIL seems to be able to coax him to sit down.

Thanks mummies, I noe should not think too much but still hope dun exceed 18 kg else a lot of work to do after deliver leh. :p Today do quiet again, where is everyone? Let's find some topic to talk. Btw, any meetups soon? Miss all the playfates ESP when they were younger.maybe we should have a picnic at botanic gardens so they can run around and play ball and bubbles.any suggestions. Mass birthday celebration in mar , a simple one.

Hi Qingling
k also doesn't eat lunch at cc - she will have 2nd lunch when she comes home. I checked the food, looks ok, but I don't know taste good or not lah. I saw the boys in her class whacking the food by big mouthfuls, so I conclude the food is ok. Just my girl is picky. Of cos, my mom/mil will say nothing beats homecooked food, that's why K doesn't wanna eat!

Genice
3 kg is baby, 3 kg placenta, that's 6 kg easily off your preggy weight once you deliver! I put on 19 kg for K, this time abt 13 kg. I just weighed myself yday night - lost abt 7 kg liao - mostly bb weight and placenta. I also gotta jia you to lose MORE! I'm sure with bf-ing we can lose more.

Yes yes playdate! I'm all for it - once I'm out of confinement :p

bkkgal
how did you know placenta is 3 kg? think mine probably 1 kg or so cos my weight difference from going to hospital to coming home is only 4kg (i.e. 2.8kg from baby, remaining 1.2kg from placenta and fluid in water bag).

re: formula
pauline,
that's why i say <font color="0000ff">pass by Bedok Reservoir Road and urgently need to get some milk powder</font>. I saw the Friso 3 from Sheong Siong Woodlands too. too bad C not taking Friso.
it's not cheapest but a cheaper alternative.

re: mixer/beater
piglettail,
for normal light usage, you can get the Philips brand. sufficient for occasional cookies/cake making.
quite a few of us are using the similar model.

re: tummy
genice,
mine look like #1 5th months although i am not even 4th month.
tummy definitely bigger than last time.

re: supplements
sweetpea,
i not sure about the shelf life of echinacea. haven't get it yet. not sure how long can keep after opening.
but the colostrum i got last time expiry date is 3 year after.

C had running nose and minor cough before i got her the echinacea. luckily she recovered in 2 days time.

<font color="ff0000">anyone interested in the spree? so far only about 5 echinacea</font>

re: haircut
iso,
we brought her to neighborhood saloon, they not experienced. C's hair is slanted.
then we did it at home, easier cos can distract her with lots of things but more cleaning work needed.
we still DIY for her fringe.

re: food @ CC
qingling,
i also not sure how much she eat at CC.
but every evening she will eat a lot during dinner time. think she doesn't have enough in school.

i'm here !! *wave*

re:haircut
C also doesn't want to stand still, the last time i cut his hair at home, he cried when hair started to fall off. When i'm at the saloon i usually hold him or carry him and let the hairdresser cut his hair while he continues crying... difficult to coax coz already halfway so no choice... i do notice this time is less crying episode than previously so hoping that gradually he gets used to it :p

jass,
your haircut not bad leh... i saw in fb

jeannie,
onz for playdate! can we do after 1st week of march as i will be out on biz trip till 7th... pls

XY, yup that Bedok Res shop is better for the other FM brands. Friso, better to get from Sheng Siong if already at Bedok res. ;P

Post delivery weight
I still don't have the courage to weigh myself cos tummy is still there. But at least I managed to squeeze into a few of my baggy pre preggie bottoms. So at least got more wardrobe options now.

My friend from China is coming over for dinner tonight with her hubby and 15 mths old gal. Stressed stressed, I never entertained with home cooked food before. :p

xiaoyun
i DIY my girl's hair till now. keke. girl's hair easy to cut since only need to trim fringe regularly and trim length ocassionally. boy's hair more challenging. will send my girl for professional cut when she goes to pri 1 since can't keep long hair and better for her hair to be properly cut.

stephie,
Primary 1 cannot keep long hair? how come i see lots of kids keeping long hair?
is it because she's Nanyang Primary?

btw, sidetrack a bit. would like to check with you is it ok to perm the hair when they are in secondary/JC?
saw lots of secondary/JC student have very fancy hair style. wondering what's the hair code in Singapore.

pauline,
your claypot rice? thought it's well received by your hb and raeanne?

pauline, yea make your "na2 shou3 cai4". if not, make spaghetti and potato salad, easy and surely well received by the kid and parents hhee. unless they dont like western food

qingling
yah in that top esp in frontal shot i think i don't look much preggers! lol.

hair
i agree, i think boy's hair more difficult cos got to angle all around the head? girls can cut more straight just at the back? E's hair grows v fast, sometimes i trim the sides then short while later got to trim again. sianzzzzz.

Hi...

Re: eletric mixer/beater
Thanks for all your advices! yeah think i'll check out Philips and Moulinoux. my mum had a Kenwood when I was a little girl and it always gave a loud noise and metal burning smell when used, I was/am quite traumatized by that... so guess I'll skip that brand.

qingling
actually early june, this week will be 6 months liao, but so far haven't put on that much, maybe 4kg? and many pple comment that my tummy looks q small for 6 months.

i think it will be different after CNY though, i'm finding it hard to resist all the CNY goodies!! But last time also it was the last few months that i put on a lot, in the end put on 13kg..

XY
is the echinacea tasty? as in C like to take it? I don't mind trying!