(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Haha... congrats Genice!

well well well, rem i told u all abt if girl resembles daddy, the next one will be boy. alot of pple tell me abt this "belief" so far it hold true 2 wat i hv witnessed. even 4 my own..

bx, i aso guess the same 4 u & qingling actually. ;P but dare not say out. hee...

qingling,

H is another darling!

i hope mine will be a darling as well if i send her 2 playgrp.

Qingling,
good to hear that H is adapting well to school! it's such a relief for us parents when that is the case.

genice,
no lah, my MIL creates the recipe but the actual baking / production is by her workers. although the ones that i get are made by her, but only because they are the trial recipes lor haha...

esther,
the theory not true for me leh. everyone says A is a splitting image of her daddy, but my #2 is a mei4 mei4

XY,

huh... resembles ah ma ah... then i dunno liao keke...

gar,

i never seen ur hb b4, but i tink A looks like u... tat y i aso tot ur next one is a gal.

oni one i tink not true is crystal's one. i find her gal resembles her alot. but hers turned out 2 be a boy. keke

anyway, jz 4 fun oni. keke...

Reena, actually in msia we all eat the arrowroot as a dish too!! Just stiry fry it with other veg, it makes a nice dish too. Eh it’s very easy to make one, just slice ( depending on whether you like thin or thick), and fry it, don’t put on high heat else will burn ur chiku. Then sprinkle with some salt, easy! Just that the slicing part is time consuming and the controlling of the fire la.

Sick: I wonder how can kids fall sick for so long? I mean Reena mentioned 3 weeks. Or are you referring to cough?

XY, do you think you caught a chill or just have sensitive nose/sinus?, so good leh making own beansprout pillow. You can make for ur #2 liao!

Iso/XY/Reena: eh I got sinus but I don’t have it during pregnancy wor, so strange. My sinus resumes after delivery, maybe too tired. SO I think when I’m strong my sinus wont come. But when I’m weak, I will have sinus attack.

esther
what about boys leh? my #1 looks a lot like daddy, but some people say it's a good mix of both, but i think more like daddy lah.. haha.

i definitely don't believe in those online predictors because i have a friend same age as me, who gave birth to a girl 3 days after me, whereas i have a boy.

gar
the baking class is a good idea!! i dun mind! so far the kids classes i've seen is for older kids though...

tongtong/iso/reena/xy: my sinus also worsen... my nose is perpetually blocked. sigh... my office's aircon is on the floor... blow all the dust up.

gar: yeah... baking class sounds good. but i think my boy would mess up. thou he loves to stir egg mixture for me. LOL

my friend just passed me 2 brand new desitin creamy expiring in May and July 2010 each to giveaway... i use very little now for C and still have more than half a tube so think can still last for few months... pls let me know if any of you want to have it otherwise i shall post in WTB/WTS thread by this weekend

Tute, I'm keen if it's free. My maid just finished using up 1 brand new tube of desitin in 6 weeks. She opened my only remaining tube last weekend. Faint! :p Not sure about collection though or can you post to me and I'll pay for postage? Thanks.

XY, 3 bottles of love letters will do. I forgot the no. of tins I ordered. Luckily, Gar has records.

tongtong
i think if i saw an arrowroot i wouldn't even know what it is, haha. must go check it out.

jass mei
are you also expecting??? have i missed something in the threads?? hee...
if not, have you tried some steroid spray like Flixonase? for me it was a real life saver. i know steriods are no good but i din use it often and it really improves the "quality" of life!!

btw, any mummies know if there is a 24 month check up for our tots?? or any jabs at 24 months?? i've totally lost track and the hospital book looks like he's done everything...

iso jie:
nope. hahahah i'm just having terrible sinus! btw, the arrow head looks like a white water chestnut with taller shoots. ntuc is selling it now

pauline,
sure you can have them... no intention to sell them off, just giving it away for free to whoever needs it
collection wise, am staying in sengkang, if it's not convenient for you to pick up then i can send it to you via mail but not sure postage how much... will let you know after i mail out can?

Good Morning mummies!

haha.. those gender prediction oni 4 fun la...

iso, ya i tink ur boy looks like his daddy.

qingling, keke... is it. i tot H looks more like her daddy leh... ;p

kitsune,

so "kua chang" ur maid! one tube in 6wks! maybe she use alot per diaper change. my maid initially aso same. & she used one milk bottle detergent in 1 mth time! *fainted*

i told her since then.. "mdm no $$ one, pls save." haha... ;p

Esty, ya lor, I fainted when she told me the cream no more. I think for RaeAnne, we finished it in 6 months lor. But then Raelynn has a bout of diaper rash that lasted about 1 week so that time I did ask her to apply thick thick lar. Sheesh. :p

Jass, my maid not very smart one lor. That day, I ask her to put a bit of dettol and sterilise RaeAnne's toys in a small pail of water. Guess how much she put it, 1 whole capful lor. She uses 1 capful for the full washing machine load but it didn't occur to her that for a small pail, cannot put so much dettol. If I ask her to cook, she cook everything at the same time. So, the dishes are cold by the time the rice is ready. Don't know whether people in Philippines eat cold food or what. Ok, enough of her, don't spoil my mood. :p

kitsune
wah i can't imagine what Raeanne must be feeling with SO much cream, lol!!

btw, u can put dettol with the wash?

jass
heh ok i go look out for it.. where is your new workplace btw??

xy,
Sinus can be triggered by hormonal changes during preg and post natal.

baking with todds,
Mine helps when she sees me taking out my whisk. She loves to use the whisk to stir

iso,
I was also on steriod spray then, but needs long term commitment. Luckily it subsided and quite mild so off spray now.

tongtong,
Yes, my niece was down with the usual cough/flu and probably attended school like 1 - 2 days a week. That's why she only attended school for 1 week that whole month. And it's a non-a/c CCC.

Re: books

Anyone want to order books? G's ccc just gave me a booklist yesterday. All books are from Scholastic Book club for Ages 6 and below. I am not sure what books are suitable for our tots age group cause the pics are too small and they only show cover to see but these are the few books that i think u all might be interested.But i am not sure whether they have many words in a page or just a few words. Note: All Books are paper back unless specified.

Please PM me orders if u are keen. Collection will be after 4 wks time (need abt 1 mth for books to come) at Tampines (sun) or Holland V.

Starting school
1. Clifford's 1st school day (32 pages) $4
2. dinosau starts School (32 pages) $5
3. barney: Let's go visit the doctor (24 pages) $5

Phonics
1. Dora the explorer Phonics Reading Programme Boxset 3 ( 12 books and 15 flash cards, progression of letter sounds)$16
2.Clifford Phonics fun ( 12 books)$14
3. Phonics tales Long Vowel Set ( 5 books with read-a loud storybooks that teaches key phonics skills with the focus on long vowels) $14

HandsOn
1. Little Kids...Cut ( Reinforces essential emergent reading and fine motor skills as your young learner snips and cuts through fun activities in this book of easy patterns and projects.) $4

Value deal
1. Who stole the cookies? ( Bright and colourful collages illustrate this popular rhyme abt missing cookies from the cookie jar. Find out who is the cookie theif! ) $3

I am not sure whther the books will be too cheem or not but i guess we can always introduce them a bit later if u find its beyond their ability. I thot the prices are quite competitive so just sharing some over here. Do PM me by today if u are interested and i will reply with my acct no.
. I will be placing orders tmr. Thanks.

genice,
The Clifford box sets are good! I bought a few series (for bigger children) from Scholastics when DD1 was in CCC. Her CCC has the same promo

Reena.. u mean the phonics set?

BTW, u have the recipe of the almond biscuit on ur website? It looks very nice and crispy and i hope its very simple to make.. :p

kitsune,

i agree! my maid aso dunno hw 2 "ja gar" the amount. i hv 2 teach her frm scratch. A to Z. boh bian if we need a maid lor. can be frustrating at times.

reena,

the almond crisps look yummy! where 2 buy the sliced almond?

u mixed the almonds into the whites and then jz deep fried?

esther
can buy sliced almond from shops like phoon huat (sells baking stuff), supermarket should have also just that may be more ex. based on the recipes i've seen before, it's baked, not deep fried.

stephie,

any1 here can recommend what brand of oven to bake cakes? good and not so ex?

is it the oven must be conventional oven then can bake cake?

esther,
i think it's the 'kang2 hu2' (skill) more important.

my ex-bf mum used to sell kueh lapis. very nice one cuz they nonya.

she used a cheapo 100-120 Cornell oven.....also can churn out more than a hundred kueh lapis during CNY and fruit cakes during christmas.

of course it's smaller than those built-in ovens but will still do the job if u can 'agar' (gauge) the temperature and if it's evenly spread out etc.

HTHs!

QL, wah.. ur H is very independent and very adaptable.. actually can see that when she was quite young. Remember at my hse ( 8 mths old) , she can just sit and play by herself and even when u walk away, she also very ok. Haha.. so good! Everyday, when G wakes up, she will whimper cause she noes she is going to school.. when i ask her u want to see Issac, Aloysius, Anya ( her friends), she cry even louder lor...And when i bring her to sch.. she will run pass the gate and refused to turn back.. :p But 5 mins after entering, she is ok esp when 1 of her teacher carries her.

Re: Puzzles
Yesterday, the english teacher told me G can do puzzles very well and she can even tell her friends to turn the puzzles and fit into the correct shapes. Quite proud of her actually ( At least shows that the time i spent with her doing puzzles not wasted.)

Re: Maids
Pauline and Ester, i think maids are like that initially, they cant do very good Agaration.. hehe.. must tell them and tell them... i think my desitin at least use for 3-4 months also. Somemore desitin quite thick.. ur maid also very power.. haha.. that means everytime cant see Raelynn's butt cause all white colour. :p

pauline, dun need to use dettol. Use rice vinegar. It's natural bacteria killer n whitener. I asked my pt helper to clean A's toys n i used it to clean my sink.it's cheap n safe to go into mouth. =)

reena, the cny goodies look good. =)

genice, i'm interested in some books. Can i pm u by tonight?

Reena
yah the GP actually say the spray need to use for 1 year and then after that just use for maintenance! but for myself i just spray maybe once a month or something when i start to feel itchy. it's really my god-send miracle medicine, haha.

genice
wah, got booklist one?? means u have to buy the books and read to them as homework?
me want too! seems like a good deal! PMing you now

genice - i have the book list too from Pat's keke. FOr mummies who might want to tag with me if u want to collect from Jurong West, can PM me

jeannie: i wanna order books too. email you later k.

reena: your goodies looks so yummy! can share the recipe please?

esther: can check out the electronic stores, depending on size and function, oven can range from 100 to a few hundred. got mine for abt 200.

good afternoon all,
on MC today. cough and feel lethargic.
after sleep sleep sleep, much better liao.

went to CCC to settle the payment as i decided to continue putting her there.
paid 1 year's school fee for the 10% discount. turn out that the discount is 10% of 750 instead of 450 (after subsidy). it means the monthly payment is only $375 for me!! hehe.. so happy.

C is going for her first excursion trip. it's on weekday morning, and i think i have no choice but let her go right? if not, what will she be doing in the school while the rest of the friends go out play?

reena/bx,
i checked out the school bus from simei. it's roughly 210-220 (2-way). for your info only.

reena,
you try out the crabstick cracker and let me know which brand yields the tastiest product.

re: books
genice/qingling,
so fast got booklist. for their home study?

Genice/Qingling
I got the same booklist too
keke.

Reena
looks good! share recipe pls!

Jass
Kate is also talkative. Yakityyak alot.

Pauline/Esty
Yes, maids all like that. The more you buy, the more they use, like no need $$ lidat. My MIL complains all the time abt this. Buy 1 bag of chinese mushrooms, can finish in a week until I purposely said mushrooms alot of pesticides, dun eat too much, then she got scared and cut down. hahaha.

Groceries - I have to buy like every week - 10kg rice, she can use 8 kg in less than 4 weeks. But we ourselves are not big rice eaters, so I think all my rice goes to her.

Oh and yes, Filipinos eat their food COLD. I had probs with this when she first came. Have to teach and teach and educate that food must be served HOT, piping, bubbling HOT. After 7 months, then she gets it.

Desitin - 1 tube lasted me 1 yr! can't imagine your maid 1 tube in 6 weeks?? oh boy.

Mine also lah. Used alot of shower gel for K, keep telling me to buy buy buy. I have to tell her strictly to use just a bit cos it lathers well,dun need alot mah.

reena, xy:
LOL i also bought a pack of crabstick last night to make the snack.

xy:
wow.. thats a good discount

iso jie:
I'm @ buona vista now...

jeannie:
i pm-ed you.

But I have to add that one thing I am very thankful for is the fact that she does not use her HP at all during work. I saw my neighbour's maid all day long talking on the handphone. This is one rule that she has not flouted so far. So I guess, I just have to balance everything else with the good, the bad and the ugly.

Braces
I had braces when I was a teen too. Regretfully I did not wear the retainer after 2 yrs and teeth shifted. What a waste of my parents' time and money! Also thot that retainer could be discarded after 2 years. Sad

Sleeping
I oso wan a sleeping beauty! best if bb can be like Carrie (XY, I'm so envious of you!) sleep alot.

i'm only 1 cm dilated after today's check. good news is I put on less weight this pregnancy than the last.
bad news is, this bb gonna bigger than the last - seems that this one took all the good stuff from me!