(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jass, crystal,
long time no see!

pauline,
oh no...blocked ducts again...remember it bugged you all the time when you BF RaeAnne - hope it's not as bad this time.

tong,
payment received with thanks! wanna arrange delivery with you - should i PM / email or SMS you?

qingling,
hope heidi recovers soon! you take care too, tiring to look after a sick lil one when preggie.

bkk,
you better already? i'm still sick after two weeks, and it has spread to A too =(

iso, crystal,

i visited cherie hearts @ Tanjong Pagar one. Very new & smell "fresh from oven". keke... u can still smell the renovation smell.

4 me i prefer those classrooms type as in got doors. cos 2 tings i considered are noise level & virus. i mean if open concept style, ALL kids r prone 2 virus? but of cos tat aso depends on the immunity of each child. got classroom aso prone 2 sickness la but 2 console myself, maybe fewer chances? ;p

crystal,

u will put ur gal in whole day CC? u not considering playgrp?

qingling,

no choice if u decide 2 put H into CC. not oni CC has virus, playgrp i tink aso hv, maybe chances lesser.

i tried putting Cayenne in CC for oni 2 hours for two days, on the 2nd day, she already start sneezing and then sick for 2 wks!

re :BD cakes/cupcakes

haha... yest got into discussion wif my cousin who bakes (not a pro though) & we got pretty excited abt the whole ting. haha...

nw tinking of doing a trial one a few times 1st. if successful, my cousin will bake 4 my C. keke...

re : chiku crackers

yes very nice! can non stop happily keep munching away. ;p

crystal,

ya, wanted 2 ask u on ur new maid. did u try the agency i recommend u?

Gar, u still sick? oh dear. quick quick nip it in the bud. i took piriton and cough syrup, no anti-biotics, 2 days' MC and drank gallons of barley water, literally gallons. I think u've been working too hard my dear. slow down already ok?

XY
after u perfect ur seaweed cracker, can i order from you? keke.

talking about CNY goodies - chiku crackers - i never tried before. really so good? then i must try

now i'm in pineapple tart craze - MIL experimenting with recipe, so i have four bottles sitting around, and i'm munching away!!

tong,
i dun have such neighbor leh. so can only buy from outside loh.

qingling,
you take care too. don't get the bug from H.
being pregnant, immunity level is low as well.

i have been sneezing every morning for a few days liao. not sure what's the cause.
C caught the sneezing bug from me. too bad i can't supply anymore antibody to her. so she has yet to recover.

garfield, take care! and speedy recover to A too.
oh yea, i need another 3 more, transfer to you later. so total 34 ok? yea sms me thanks.

Garfield, yea the chiku is nice, great snack cuz it’s a plant, but it’s deep fried though. I think it tastes better than tapioca. Yea pineapple tarts my favourite too!! Maybe next ur your il can sell love letter+ pineapple tarts liao haha.

XY, you not bf carrie liao?? Now since you are sneezing ur bm got the antibody to fight cold one . good to pass to her. Let carrie take lemon+honey will do.

bkk,
thanks, ya, cos i never really take MC lah. doc give, but i still go to work! maybe should just hibernate at home and sleep it off!! my mom says cannot drink too much barley water leh, cooling scared baby will be phelgmy, so i just drink water.

tong,
can no prob. SMS you later.

re pineapple tarts - same here. i can finish 10 tarts at one go. but i find selling pp tarts more challenging cos the taste is very subjective. IMHO, my MIL's pastry is perfected already (the very buttery, moist and crumbles in mouth type). but different pple prefer diff filling - some like sweet, some like not so sweet, some like slightly chewy, some like very moist type. so harder to satisfy all.

i pass you two of her variations this friday to try just for fun - give your comments / feedback

tong,
no more milk loh. it dropped fast due to the hormone change.
sometimes will let her suck for comfort when she's cranky.
i added colostrum in her milk. so far she didn't get any bugs from school. but from me instead. :p

garfield,
ya. pineapple tarts very subjective one.
the kind i like is not too sweet, with strong pineapple taste and the crust melt in the mouth one.
those i made is not to my pil's liking. hence, i stop making for them.

garfield, hey why you waste ur MC?? should rest at home ma. you are right, different ppl like differnet kinds of pineapple tarts, some like to have milky pastry, some like fluffy, some like butter taste. very hard to please everyone's tastebud. loveletter easier hor!!! only 1 taste!! hhaa

XY,
hehe, ok since you pp tart fan, i also pass you my MIL one to try this sat. but for her not so sweet version, the filling is slightly on the chewy side. hope it's ok with you. but i think you will like the pastry.

please give comments / feedback

XY, u added whose colostrum? urs?

garfield, well, to me as long as it's pineapple tarts i like it, either milky or buttery taste, both ok for me:p

tong,
same same - i also eat all pp tarts. 4 variations at home and i eat all of them - even though i have my personal favourite version!

Tongtong, Gar, thanks. I was feeling very down last night. Complained to hubby and typical man, he just asked if I want to give up BF and give FM. :p

I'm pineapple tart fan too. Bought from 2 BPs so far. Like the first one I ordered from but she stopped BPs cos overwhelmed with baking. Luckily she said she still accepts orders from old customers. Hee.

Gar, did I miss out on your love letter BP? I remember I replied your email and said I wanted either 3 or 5 bottles and collect from Xy leh.

pauline,
don't give up!! no lah, me thinks hb see you always suffer blocked ducts and doesn't feel good about it. so ask you to stop lor. tell him that you wanna persevere and you want him to support you by showering more TLC instead of dissuading you hehe

oh, which BP did you buy the pp tarts from? there are so many i see until blur liao.

re love letters, no i didn't forget. you wanted 3 tins and i set aside for you liao =) can i deliver your order to XY this sat as well (she said ok to tong pang her previously)

tong,
can can, i just took more stocks from FIL last night just in case. so can accomodate your additional order. so you can go ahead to transfer. total is 34 tins.

pauline:
can view your blog leh. Hahaha saw your post and wanna share that matt loves ask where too. he will 自问自答 - where is daddy? there...

garfield: o dear, you are working too hard. better utilise the MC and rest at home. wish you speedy recovery wor. o ya, cannot drink too much barley, too cooling.

bkkgal: hello back! yeah... matt is well, talkative too... (i can hear him singing in the living room now). hows kate?

all the talk abt cny goodies, i'm drooling. i simply love pp tarts, can finish the entire box @ 1 time. sob~ just put on braces yesterday, i can only drink plain porridge w brovil. sigh... super regret putting it on at this point. on the other hand... maybe i can slim down. LOL

pauline: yeah, probably your hubby hates to see you being so troubled by the block duct issue. *hug* try your best to bf your #2 ba, but dont stress yourself ok.

fairfield
ya, #1 is also a boy. i'm a bit worried cos this #1 is a very active boy, some days can sleep only 15 mins during the day after that don't want to sleep! and #2 now is kicking me a lot every day (#1 last time was also like that), if i have 2 super active boys, oh no... haha.

XY
u just sneezing in morning or caught a cold?

Esther
oh i went to see that one also! ya q nice. nicer than the MMI i went to see at robinson road..

pineapple tarts
actually the filling from phoon huat is quite nice, usually my mum will use that because it's too troublesome to make. i love the open face tarts! drool...

iso jie: if you have 2 active boys... then you will be v slim from chasing them ard liao. or... they could tire each other out.

jeannie
wah i see you are on a shopping spree?? hahah.. my excuse is that got new house, so can buy more books, toys etc, haha!!

the chinese books look good! wonder how much more it is in the shops since it says sold at popular and kino and mph?

DVDs, are you getting any? the word world and little einsteins look interesting, but dunno if they are authentic DVDs??

jass mei
actually now got 2 boys (including hubby), and between both of them i don't get enough sleep!! sometimes hubby come home late and wake me up, on and off E will wake up in the middle of the night, i'm perpetually sleepy man!!

hopefully in a few years time they will have miracle treatment for dark circles.. haha.

iso,

probably ur #2 will be more guai than ur #1.. normally will hv different characters ba...

cayden kicks alot when in my tummy, reali alot. can see "tsumani waves" and at times, can feel him rolling all over. super active... BUT so far nw he 6mths old, he is generally an easy baby. hope he can maintain tis way!

but of cos i do hope cayden can get more active as he grows.. cos he boy mah. i prefer boys 2 be active.

esther
i dun mind them being active, i just want the kids to sleep more!! lol. i've already started telling #2 he must be guai and sleep a lot. hahaha..

Iso.. yar.. i have been doing a lot of online shopping for dvds and books for gwen and the brother
Can do some serious investments liao cause worth it with 2 kids..haha

I got the Wordworld and chickaboom dvds, will get the leapfrog set too ( should have got the leapfrog set earlier for G, hope not too late yet). Got some ladybird keywords readers too ( but i think i will go check out at borders also
, btw, i received ur coupon. thanks!)

For the chinese books.. maybe i will go check out at Popular 1st.

Hey, iso tmr i may go clementi to pick up some stuffs in evening can drop by ur place to pass u playmat. IF not, have to collect from me this sat else sunday i will be flying off for a trip, will only be back a week later.

XY... wah.. u certainly sound more free now.. Hehe. Actually after puting G in CCC, i also think got a lot free time in the afternoon, hehe.. i only leave her there btwn 9.30 to 4 pm.She seems to be comfortable there already.

QL, take care.. how is H coping there?

bkkgal.. wah .. 3cases.. thats quite a lot. ut its also true that H1N1 very common now, still i think u shld keep K away....somemore u r due anytime...gonna be tough if anyone falls sick. Is pats sch air con env?*touchwood* G has been ok for the past 2.5 weeks, not sure is it because of non-aircon env and the ventilation is very good over there, kids also get to go for walks 2x a day, so far the kids all seem quite ok. *touchwood

Gar, Jass, thanks. Actually he tries to help me massage but sometimes raeanne keeps him so busy at night so he can't do it for me consistently. I dun want to stop too but I heart pain the $ that I spend seeing LC. Raeanne is not even 2 months old n I saw LC 3 times Liao. Including today, I just booked the appt. Sigh.

Gar, u r right. I wanted to hear encouraging words n get some tlc from hubby lor. ;p

Gar, glad u didn't forget. Xy, can u help me pay first? I pay u back on Sunday. Too busy to do ft nowadays and the website so unstable. :p

Pauline,
sometimes i wish i had your "problem". Cuz it's only when u have sufficient supply that u get blocked ducts? I didn't have enough to BF Ruth 100% and stopped after 5+ months.

XY,
Looks like melakabest is using those frozen spring roll skin. I think still can bake but probably need to turn the crackers midway through baking. I'm going to try the crabstick cracker, looks so simple. Think I'll just use the MW to cook it.

tongtong,
The arrowroot cracker is indeed very nice. I didn't know that arrowroot can be eaten until my gf's mom made it a few years ago. Really yummy! You are really fortunate your mom knows how to make this.

Pauline,
My ex-collg went to see a lactation consultant for block ducts once and she was taught to use a big syringe (10ml), position the syringe on the nipple and pull. For me, I find it easier to tandem pump.

qingling,
When my niece started cc, she only attended school for 1 week and the balance 3 weeks sick, recuperating at home.

Esther,
Do show us your trial cupcakes

jass,
i've been contemplating on braces for long long long long time.
yet never take action. scare about the ulcers and the lifetime commitment - few years on braces and retainer rest of the life.
but nice to have straight teeth loh. i always envy ppl with straight teeth.

iso,
i sneeze from morning 4 am till noon.
not sure what's the reason.
if sensitive nose, C shouldn't be affected.
when i on air purifier last 2 nights, i dun sneeze till i wake up at 5:30 am.
if it's the air dusty, my hb should feel it before i do. he's the dust detector at home. weird weird.

genice,
i always wanted to get chinese books for C too.
but can't find those that same standard as the books in english. very difficult to find good chinese books. C prefer flip flap books and drawing like real one.
most of the chinese books that i can find, the pictures are so unreal.
btw, i went back malaysia to get some educational DVD (in chinese like chinese new year, etc) and it's so dissapointing, the DVDs can't catch C's attention at all.

yes. i am very free on Monday. we send her there from 730 to 6. happier nowadays at least i can have some hobby now.
Manage to make a big bolster and 3 bolster cases for C. want to do bean sprout pillow for her too as her old one kena her urine. Busy picking up the bean sprout at home when free. :p

pauline,
how many tins do you want me to pay garfield for you? 3 or 5?

genice...

is Gwen gg 2 hv a little bro? hmm.. if so, i mk the correct guess! haha...

reena,

i do hope so my cupcakes or cake can be successful. keke...

CNY goodies,
I made kueh bangkit once but not very successful. Heard so much failures about this cookie. Not going to make it again this year.

I'm another die-hard fan of pineapple tarts. When I go visiting, I'll try the pineapple tarts first. Some pple like crispy crust but I prefer those melt in your mouth kind.

Pauline,
I think most men are alike. Even though I'm a mother of 3 and I breastfeed all my kids, hubby still asking me when I want to wean...

Iso,
My sis and friends also using the one from PH, it has to be the Red Man brand, $4.60 kind. Taste better too.

Naps/Sleep,
I don't know if there's any association but I don't sleep alot when I was preg. Now my 3 kids all don't like to nap/sleep.

XY,
Could your sneezing be sinus? I had that when I was preg with DD1 and it stayed on till I was preg with DS2. Then again when I was preg with DD3.

Esther,
Jia you! You can do it!

reena,
my mother say it's related lor - that i dun sleep much when i preggers....my girl now also sometimes very hard to sleep.

but ithink she's ok lah. only nap time sometimes very hard to get her to recognized that tired = sleep would solve the problem....instead of tired=tantrums=even more tired....

reena,
why pregnant will have sinus? so irritating! i dun have it last time round.

for sleep, i not sure if because i sleep a lot last time and end up C is a sleeping beauty.
that's why now i also try to sleep as much as possible so that #2 will be a sleeping beauty too.. :p

XY
i have allergic rhinitis, which is sensitive sinuses, and usually under control (or sometimes i will use steroid spray), but when i'm preggy both times, esp first trimester, i will sneeze A LOT. it's super annoying. gynae said it's probably cos all your blood vessels are dilated (not sure if that's the correct word?) so nose also becomes more sensitive. for this #2, the sensitivy is now only starting to wear off the last few weeks after 4 months.

reena
yah, red man is the PH inhouse brand or something right?
i'm a light sleeper and i don't fall asleep easily, so i thought maybe #1 is like me!

jeannie
haha ok let me know how the DVDs and chinese books go..

xy:
for me, its kinda of like a 冲动. suddenly feel like getting braces done. LOL well as xray is needed, so i thought as as well do it before i start planning for #2. i guess i have to wear the ugly braces for 1 year and after that retainer for a while ( a few months maybe). won't be a lifetime lah... wanna do too? yeah... i would like to have straight teeth coz i always get food stuck in the gaps in my teeth. sigh... hope its worth it.

reena:
yeah me too.. the type which melt in your mouth is soooo good. i hope i'll be able to eat soon.

xy, jeannie:
yeah, hard to fine good chinese books or dvd. just bought 1 chinese dvd from popular yesterday, it looks like some cheap production. sigh... pronunciation also abit weird. sigh... matt does not like story books. he only like those picture books which he can learn words.

pauline:
girl, if need to see LC bobian lor. how often do you have to pump? its fortunate to have such good supply. in future, i'll like to be more persistence in this ya.

jeannie:
any idea is the price of dvd in the bp you recommend earlier good? thinking of checking out borders a there is a 20% discount coupon for dvd till next week i think. but v troublesome leh. anyway anyone interested in the discount coupon? can email to you.

iso,
it makes sense to me now. hopefully it will subside soon.

jass,
my friends who did braces before were told by the dentist to wear retainer at night if not the teeth will go out of shape in the long run.
i dun have food trap problem due to crooked teeth. but can understand your annoyance as i trap food when i got my wisdom teeth last time. in the end, i pull 4 wisdom teeth out. haha.. 10 days MC in total. :p

the chinese DVD i got also like a cheap production although it claimed that it got some award from don't know where. pronunciation weird weird too.. not china, not malaysia. dun know from where..

XY
and unfortunately there isn't anything that we can take for it :S

jass mei
retainers must wear for as long as possible! the rest of your life if you can, but at night only lah (and of course, not the SAME retainers for the rest of your life, hahaha). otherwise your teeth might shift back, and all the $$ wasted.. i had braces when i was 12, and about 3 years ago i had to correct my teeth again cos they shifted. now i wear retainers when i sleep every night..

jass,
thanks! ya trying to sleep early - a lot of work to clear and loose ends to tie before i go on maternity. dun wan pple bugging me then!

tong,
thanks, will check later and SMS you re delivery.

pp tarts,
am convinced it's not an ideal product to sell! brought MIL's tarts to let colleagues try - the very same tart - one says too sweet, another says just nice, one says very buttery, another says not buttery enough, one says moist nice, one says chewy nice. haha...maybe that's why PILs specialise in love letters all these years, and MIL only does the pp tarts whenever she receives specific requests!

sleep,
wow if sleeping alot means my gal will be sleeping beauty - i better sleep more!!! shucks, have been keeping late nights, hope it's not too late =)

home made full month package,
my neighbour says she'll help me bake / make full month packages. she can do the red eggs, glutinous rice, ang ku kueh. so i only need to source for box, and other western pastries if i want to add on. hehe, quite excited about it!!

baking,
since so many of us like to bake, we should organize a group session and let the kiddos have some fun baking too! are there places where we can do that?

BRACES:
i did braces when i was young - 12 y o.

Did not wear retainers religiously. Teeth half shifted back liao.

Now regret. Wasted my parents' precious money and spent time but never persist. Actually it's also lack of information - i neve rknew had to wear for so long one...

Plus that time i do is under 'government subsidy'. very cheap only. sigh.

Genice-Congrats! H was doing well in school,i think she enjoys it. I could already leave her there by herself with the teachers on the first day. I think she got the virus probably from her daddy who is down with flu. hmm.but the daddy claims there's a little girl who seems to have running nose in class.hmm.
Xy-those snacks really look Yummy, now I am tempted to try making them. I have been putting my pandan chiffon cake on hold,was suppose to make it today when h goes school but she is sick.
Gar-how nice to have ur pils who can make loveletters and pp tarts. Yummy.

Bkk-i prob also got to let h stay at home for a day more or so,her fever still not going down,plus her dry cough getting worse. I boil the nanxin,beixin for her,also barley but she dun like to drink. Sigh.

Ester, yup, a little brother for Gwen. So what makes u guess is a boy?

BX and Ql, thanks!

Ql, so good that H can get used so fast. Can u share what pats do? The timetable for her halfday? How do u find the teachers?

Gar.. u very fortunate leh.. somemore ur fil is the one baking rite? thats rare..
envy.. A is gonna have a lot to eat. G likes to eat all these CNY cookies..

genice - this week is orientation week so nothing much (its just for them to get used to), basically, 830 breakfast,prob till 9? then i think they have some songs activities,then some playground (theirs indoor playground),then some snacks (biscuits),then freeplay,then 1130 lunch,12 they r off liao. 2nd day,instead of songs activities i think they have drawings,cos i see color pen marks on her hands..haha..i din stay throughout the 2 days.i just accompany her for the 1st hr or so and come back for her at around 11. teachers are quite friendly, we have 3 in class for a class of around 10 kids,but 2-3 kids are still crying after 3 weeks, so they need more attention. H can even take the school bus home without fuss, so proud of her. hehe