(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

pauline,
thanks! i'm thinking past my confinement month, i probably won't do full latch on, can sneak out some time to go to RN!

btw, just realized that your letter got posted on the forum re the doraemon lucky charms! blur me, didn't even realize no pig, and was blindly collecting haha...

XY,
I love the seaweed cracker! Are you doing anymore? Can I buy from you? =P

tong
u want to go check out the CCs at RP? i haven't gone to see but i don't mind going with you if you going to the RP ones? i've been to MMI near lau pa sat, can't remember the name of the buidling. but that was before i got preggers with #2, so probably won't put him in one at RP anymore..

Garfield/Esther/Iso,

Thanks.^_^

Tongtong,
PM you after I asked hubby. He did orders

Xiaoyun,
trial &error learn .
Hopefully I can spend bulk of my free time(>50%) on doing the related.

XY, wa, great job! So, I can visit your house during CNY to try the seaweed snacks or not ah? ;)

Esty, can check out Reena's blog. Her cakes are so nice.

Gar, yup, that's what I did. Sneaked out while CL is still around. Now very difficult to go out liao. Hiaz... Haha, you can still collect mah, since Ariel is Minnie mouse. Mine really no point liao cos no pig mah... :p

Iso, yea I’m exploring the CC here. So do you still wanna put ur son at CC? went to cherri heart lunch time but cant visit, cuz it's the kid's nap time.

tong
i might put him half day near my house, not near workplace, cos after #2 i 95% likely to NOT come back already, haha..
i was keen to visit LV last time, but that was during H1N1 so they said they were not accepting casual visitors, which i thought was good!

kitsune,

yes i visited reena's blog! tempted 2 mk the strawberry shortcake! haha... but tink tink oni la...

tong/iso,

i went 2 the cherie hearts few wks ago. not many kids there. i pop by ard 12plus (lunch), they allow me 2 go in. their infant care is so cute, wif the cots and baby stuff..

the classes (playgrp, N1, N2, K1 & K2) are all open concept which i tink it will be very noisy when the full classes of all start.

iso,

so high chance u gonna be the next SAHM then? keke...

Esther

the cecil street one?

well i'm due early june, so after maternity will be october already, then i dun plan to work for the rest of the year (only 2 months lah). after that see how

re: seaweed snack
garfield/pauline,
i am still trial and error to get the taste that i want.
this week will get another type of wanton skin.
also, i wanted seaweed with stronger taste. probably will go and get the 'tae ka noi' brand.
if it pass my standard, then will make more.

re: new year snack
pauline,
my office got promotion of the chiku cracker. 250 g for $10.80.
cheaper than BP. i am going to order 3 bottles, do you want me to help order? can collect from me when you are at your mum's place.

re: learning vision CC
my friend told me the kid has to be toilet trained before joining. not sure it's the same for all branches or not.

XY,
okie okie, i can be your guinea pig too!! =)

btw, can i pop by your place this weekend to pass you the love letters and the HA products?

will PM you on the foam / serum that you ordered.

garfield,
wish me good luck in getting the correct taste.

i will be at home this Sat morning till 2 pm.
Sunday not at home too. timing ok?
so paiseh need you to come my place while you are heavily pregnant.

Esty/Lezy
I've even forgotten that 15 Feb is CNY! That means no storebought cake for Kate too. Oh well, need to perfect the cupcakes then! I tried making some vanilla cupcakes with royal icing on weekend (a Nigella recipe), very easy, only thing is my decorating skills are very poor. But then again, lots of M&Ms, sprinkles and other stuff should be able to fake it with the kids right? keke.

XY
Yumz! Ta kae noi is my fav from thailand - so cheap there, so expensive here. hai...

Fairfield
Congrats! You are so lucky - no MS! Gar and I were aspiring to look as slim as you after birth when we met at polliwogs! :p

Tubao
Congrats on passing driving test! very good, first try can pass, mostly guys can do 1st try, women they somehow purposely find fault with you (my personal observation lah).

XY,
no lah it's ok, i am planning to go to ikea to take a look, so on the way. i will SMS you again to confirm.

Bkk dear,
that means also no school right?
which means no need any celebration in school also right? *evil laughter*

Gar
ah no, school celebration will be on the friday before - that one i'm doing own cupcakes. Every tod in her class of 6 are born in Jan/Feb/Mar and they celebrate in class. Dun wan her to feel left out that she's the only one without a cake.

15 Feb is family celebration - I think maybe I try a simple cake at home since cannot get storebought cake.

bkk,
ahhh...oic, wow so everyone celebrates on the same day, and the kiddies are going to get to eat errm 6 cakes each?

i'm gonna get mini cupcakes as per what reena and clover suggested. < $1 per cupcake, so within my budget. plus a 500g Polar cake for home. probably only need to spend about $50

what i meant was all the bdays are clustered within these few weeks of the year. almost every other week got a birthday in school. no, not mass celebration :p just wanted her to feel special too

oops...i misunderstood! yes, yes of course must not let her feel left out!

was thinking mass celebration and every kiddo brings a cake. wah, cannot finish call me along - will be glad to help with the cakes!!

xy,
Your seaweed cracker looks good! Can share recipe when you perfect it?

tute/xy,
I think my hotmail acct kena hacked, have already changed the password, so far so good (touch wood).

Hotels in Sentosa,
I still prefer The Sentosa Resort and Spa but very ex! Love their villas! I used to work there but only see no stay :p

2nd birthday,
When it comes to birthdays, I always headache what cake to prepare although it's just for our immediate family of 5... Need to get some ideas. Oh.. looks like alot of 15 Feb bbs here? Mine's a leap year baby

reena,
how about a kueh lapis cake for bday? ... esp a chocolate flavoured one? i have sudden craving for kueh lapis, probably due to CNY round the corner!

Reeena.. wow.. a leapyr baby. So ow u celebrate her birth?

Re: Book depository
Can anyone advise whether there will be other charges that we may not be aware of other than the cost of the books?

genice,pauline,tute, iso,bkkgal,
thanks!!
iso, my #1 also boy, same as u right?

xiaoyun,
wah, u so hardworking, still make ur own cny goodies!

hey there mummies, I haven't come in for ages. how have you guys been? i have been so busy at work... argh! finally managed to log in as I'm on mc today to put on my braces... ouch!

wow... congrats to all the mummies with # 2 and #3. how time flies!

xy: wah... your goodies looks so good! yummy!

leapyr baby - celebrate once every 4 yrs? save $$. keke.

anyone wants folic acid? my gynae gave me too many, i wanna give away. PM me.

Xy, what's chiku cracker? Sweet or savoury?

reena, no leh, nobody said anything about my blog. Any of the Mummies got problems accessing it?

Btw mummies, are your toddlers still watching those educational dvd? I think mine has outgrown Baby Einstein. any other dvd to recommend?

gar,
Cannot lah... I bake alot and my kids eat alot of eggs, almost daily leow. Anyway, I've not ventured into baking lapis yet :p

genice,
Last year we celebrated earlier, on a weekend. This year 28 Feb falls on Sun so I think I'll have a cake-cutting that day too.

xy,
What other cny cookies you baking? I'm planning to make pineapple tarts and green peas cookies. Both first attempt. But I can't find any green peas in NTUC, all mixed nuts :-(

Pauline,
I bookmarked your blog but everytime I clicked on it, it seem to take forever to load, and it never get loaded...

super sianz at work... feel very unmotivated suddenly..

anyways...

jass,
C watched different shows now... heheh... he still likes his sesame street, barney, thomas train and recently introduced him to backyardigans but he's not that into it. i found that video ezy has quite a big collection of children's dvd so i try to borrow one to see if he's interested and if not i will not buy.

re:cake,
tempted to try baking cupcakes... heheh... but don't think i can decorate nicely :p

genice,
bookdepository no other charges i think.

reena/gar,
kueh lapis takes a lot of effort/time to make right? coz you have to bake it slowly and keep adding the various layers...

Hi, bkkgal

hehe...I got U.S driving license and drove there for a few months on and off. So not consider 1st time learning.

got some girl friends who passed on 1st trial here, and they loved driving.

Reena.. saw u at pigpig's corner.. i stumbled there while looking for some recipes too.. very cute and colorful website with nice pics. Haven got time to look thru the recipes yet.

dunno if i have replied onot.

esther,
just a simple birthday celebration for A with a few close friends and our parents. will cater mini buffet for 20 pax.

genice,
will go for the hep B jab for #2 at the hospital.

reena,
will share if i find the correct taste.

btw, i got the info from here:
http://www.zuiyanhong.com/2008/02/seaweed-snack.html

I made pineapple tarts (the pillow type) before. From making the pineable fillings till the end. very tedious and tiring..

Last year made the crab stick cracker too. Shred the crab stick, let it dry. Then deep fry it. If get the correct crab stick, it tasted very good too.

Tampines 1 has Raffles Womens and Child Clinic. There's a PD there.

Pauline,
chiku is also called the 'ngaku'or Arrowhead.
it's savoury.

fairfield,
i do it for fun.
now C is at CC, i can do many things during my Monday offday.

jass,
thanks. it's still not the right taste yet.

jass,
I just started baking and now that I've learnt how to bake a chiffon cake base, I try not to buy cakes from outside.

tute,
Cupcakes are the easiest, just frost a simple swirl and sprinkle with colourful candies/m&amp;ms.

Kuih lapis is a tedious cake, needs to literally sit in front of the oven. For now, I don't have the luxury to do this cake, maybe next time when the kids are older. I'll like to make a lapis with prunes

genice,
I just found out about pigpig's corner last week.

Pauline,
Strange, I click direct ok leh.. I removed and added your blog again, now it works.

xy,
For the seaweed snack, she uses popiah skin, I think it's those fresh popiah skin, but difficult to find.

I don't intend to cook the pineapple fillings, too much effort.

Crabstick cracker just shred and air dry? No need to coat with flour? You making again this year? If yes, pls share your pic, I can't visualise :p

Thanks for the PD info.

Are you making arrowroot cracker? My gf's mom will make that yearly and give me a bottle, very nice but alot of effort.

XY, oh yes, savoury crackers, I'm keen. Can COD?

Tongtong, thanks for checking.

Reena, that's good. Maybe the link was saved wrongly previously? ;P

Sigh, I got blocked duct for 4 days liao. Started when the air con techinicians came to install air con in the rooms and took the whole day. Baby was not with me and I had difficulty pumping cos no privacy except toilet. Sigh, really hate this part of BF. Why I always kenna blocked ducts?

hello mummies!
how are all of you? CNY is round the corner and our little ones birthday is also here!! still deciding how to celebrate C birthday because it falls directly on the first day of CNY. probably will do it earlier, but dunno shld i invite many people or just immediate family will do.

btw, will b sending C to cc after CNY. just keeping fingers crossed she will b able to adapt to cc again.

esther
i visited cherie hearts too. the branch at jalan mata ayer, oppo khatib camp. which one did you visited? it looks quite run-down to me. so now im considering cambridge, eagle breavers and pat's schoolhouse.

bkkgal
hope you are feeling alot better now!

bx
C also love barney to bits! we gotten her a barney plush which can sing the classic song for xmas, she now everyday every night must carry barney to sleep, to go out with us etc etc. actually it's gd because she dont have a habit of having a pillow, bolster etc, so with this braney, she might feel more secured. haha! so im also actually looking for a barney cake!

i want to intro dora to her lei but till now, no chance. some more cartoon network no dora shows at all.

how are you feeling now?

after CNY, will go on holiday trips with hb alrdy. finally! tied down in sg for 3yrs with no entertainment. time to unwind! so looking forward to that.

hello mummies! My 3rd day of leave cos accompanying h to childcare,but she fell sick today,no wonder they say childcare centres have a lot of virus,sigh.

Hi Crystal, how are you? haven't seen u here in a while
enjoying your 2 lil ones?

Hi Jass, you also MIA for so long! How's Matt? Big boy now I'm sure!

Qingling, K's school has 3 cases of H1N1 in the K2 class. We decided to keep her home today. Teacher said it's becoming a pu3 tong1 bing4 but still no point risking it since we still have grandparents to stand in and I'm in advance stages of pregnancy. Don't want to deal with a sick toddler. It's the height of the flu season now. Please take care of yourselves and your lil ones - lots of Vit C and water ok?

reena,
so it's a mistake that i used fresh wanton skin.
i already made a mistake to oven bake the first batch of it. it turns out 1 side cooked and the other side not cooked.
threw them away immediately.
follow the method my colleague gave blindly. only found the link i posted after my 1st batch failed.

the homemade pineapple filling is so much nicer. can taste the pineapple and it's not too sweet. but really lots lots of effort. i remembered i got cook over the stove for about 2hr + and keep stirring..

for crabstick cracker, you can find out more from this link:
http://www.melakabest.com/2009/01/11/chinese-new-year-snacks-fried-crab-stick/

another type of seaweed snack:
http://www.melakabest.com/2009/01/20/diy-seaweeds-cracker-for-chinese-new-year/

re: arrowhead chips
some info of the arrowhead chips:
http://wokkingmum.blogspot.com/2010/01/fried-arrowhead-chips.html

i am not making the arrowhead cracker. i dun have the talent to slice it thinly. better get the ready made one. :p

pauline,
COD no prob. I pay for you first. how many bottles do you want?

any mummies interested? but got to collect from my place. 250 g for $10.80

crystal,
where are you going for holiday?

Xy, so envy that you can have me time on Monday!! Eh, I got my chiku even cheaper wor, $8 only.

Reena, yea arrowroot cracker – the chiku, is very nice. I eat a lot every year :p my aunty used to make herself, very nice. But she has passed away
now my mum makes it together with her whole gang of aunty friend , they had a lot of fun!! Hehe

Pauline, aiyo, so must squeeze hard your boobs again.

Crystal, din hear from u long time leh. Are you still bz with ur spree? U got new maid liao>?

Qingling, take care! Speedy recover for heidi. But it’s normal to fall sick in cc, don’t worry.