(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Gar,
$4 is for standard size cupcakes rite? Actually you don't need a standard size as the children won't be able to finish. Can order the mini cupcakes instead. And hor, those cupcakes with fondant are good to see but no good to eat as they are ultra sweet! Or, bake your own cupcakes, very easy. Do a simple buttercream/fresh cream frosting and throw in 1001s, the kids will love it! I steamed a chocolate cake for DD1's birthday and cover with chocolate ganache, sprinkled some colourful candies on top and it was a hit!

Iso,
Some CCCs discourage goodie bags and only allow cakes.

Pauline,
You can still blow candles if you are getting the cupcakes, just put 2 candles on 1 cake or 1 candle each on 2 cakes lor ;-)

Ordering cupcakes online,
Just a word of caution. It's best to order online if you have friends' recommendations. There are a lot of unethical sellers out there, they searched online for pics and post in their own blog claiming they can produce that. Read more here http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/2009/11/warning-to-all-sellers-and-consumers.html

Tute,
I think in order to support the fondant, the cake base cannot be to soft else the cake will collapse. So if you are looking for a soft and fluffy cake, should order those with fresh/buttercream or order a regular cake.

Esther,
Jia you! Besides what you've mentioned, don't forget sahms have no annual leave, off paid leave, medical leave etc... I was like you, don't like to cook but now no choice. DH brings back the bacon, I need to cook it right? And no need to waste money on cookbooks, just google and you can find lots of recipes FOC ;-)

Pauline,
I can fully understand on the defiant part! DD3 is in her terrible 2s now and DS2 in his fearless 5. Aiyo... these 2 add together = drives me up the wall daily.

Lezy,
Thanks for the tip. I've heard of this too and I never stir my soup. What I do is, I will always blanch the meat first, add the meat into another pot of boiling water and cook with other ingredients, bring to boil for a few mins and simmer for 2 hours.

I just cooked American Ginseng Tonic soup (hua qi shen) last night and the instruction was to add herbs into boiling water first, boil again then add meat, same as your mom's method. Now I know why.

Managed to sneak in here. Work is busy nowadays, can only pop in to be a slient reader.

When at home, I get so tired after work. Still gotta cook and run after my boy. Realised he is sleeping later and later..used to sleep by 10.00...these few weeks average is 11-11.30pm. Even 12am! So that leaves me very little time for housework, personal time and time with hubby.
Feel very guilty towards no. 2 coz not much of rest and nutrition as compared to no.1

For his birthday, we will celebrate together on 11 Feb (his birthday) and have reunion dinner on the same day. Will get a Swensen's ice-cream cake for the family, coz he loves ice-cream.

Sleeping: My boy also sleeps backside up and all curled up. Still like in foetal position, as if he's crawling.

Our Ikea toddler bed just got delivered today, but we realised it doesn't come with the planks!
Quite disappointing coz he can't sleep in it today. Need to purchase separetly..alamak..means its even more expensive than I had thought.

Any mummies using Ikea toddler beds? Where to get a bedsheet for its unconventional size?

garfield, since i'm ordering for myself too, i dont think i wanna lug so many tins from office back to home (batch 2 orders). got any other collection point since i can drive and collect, easier. sms me pls.

tong,

lucky ur mum is coming 2 help. u need a break!

lezy, reena,

thanks 4 the tips! i normally do wat reena do.

reena,

ya lor. hb is the one gg 2 support the whole family. so must cook in order 2 save... jz hope i can whip up a decent edible meal. keke...

Esther, hehe, yea cuz I told them I got fainting spell, they sort of freaked out cuz I had never experienced that before ma. My dad even proposed to bring shaun back to KL for a week or 2 so that I can recoup my energy. I’m so physically and mentally drained at work leh.. sigh. If this year’s increment is only 2 digit I will scream at my boss liao. But I must be prepared, cuz I heard that the increment sucks. So sian

Esty/Reena, I'm always scolding RaeAnne and the maid too. I am also scared Raelynn will pick up the bad vibes. Ya, everyday, think about cook what until I sian. :p

I need a break too but looks like got to cancel my hair appt this Sat cos we need to bring the two gals to PD. Sian.

Tongtong, thanks, she's ok liao but part of the skin peeled off during recovery process lor. Poor gal.

tong,

if got fainting spells, reali dangerous. tat time i aso kena once. scare me. talking abt increment, i so long didnt hv liao. keke...

kitsune,

same same! the other day i was telling my hb & cousin tat i'm like having or doing a super bad example 2 Cayenne. & the whole hse is like full of my angry voice and screaming. keke... no good no good. so nw i CONTROL alot liao..

sian hor.. the cooking part. now my dad cooks still not as bad. once i got my own flat then i will hv 2 do cooking liao. but wkend i always crack my head 2 tink of wat 2 prepare 4 my little fussy eater.

iso,
yup. only the kids will attend the party.
impressive that they offer a one-stop service for us. :D

dor,
too bad. nvm.

re: vitamins
vit B complex is heaty for me too. must drink lots of water.
i've been taking multi-vit after giving birth last time. feel i m more energetic too.

reena,
when are you going to send DD3 to playgroup? decided which one already?

tong,
ur mum so good. when will she be here? after CNY?

Hi moms,

Long time no "talk".

Been busy with handing over my portfolio, preparing for big meeting end of this month, falling sick, getting K used to cc. Finally, gynae insisted on giving me MC to rest at home today, that's why can come in to read.

CC
After the initial enthusiastic 4 days, K came home on Tues and suddenly told us "dowan Teacher N, Teacher N no good, want Teacher M". (Teacher M is another teacher at JG class that she attended last year)This really stunned me and hubby. We didn't know that 2 y.os can be so specific. When we asked her why Teacher no good, she cannot say. Then the next day, when I approached the gate of the CC, she started bawling and crying. Today, again some more crying but not so bad. I suspect tomorrow will be another episode of crying. Sigh....the teachers said it's normal, maybe separation anxiety, maybe she sensed No. 2 coming, maybe that Teacher was the one who took her away from us so she associated that Teacher as the "bad person". Anyway, it's very tiring cos every morning I have problems getting her ready to go to school. And every night we gotta psycho her that Teacher N is good, Teacher N sayang her, Teacher M quit teaching, Teacher N and M are frens, Teacher M ask Teacher N to take care of her. All kinds of stories that we have to churn out for her! goodness. Then yday she told my MIL abt Teacher N's eyes. Teacher N is caucasian, she has blue eyes but she doesn't look fierce (at least to us lah). Anyway, hb said worst comes to worst, change cc loh. I'm like "huh? wat? crazy ah! u mean everytime she sees someone she dun like we change meh?" She will have to learn to cope with different pp, different situations. Dun care, we have to STICK this out.

Birthdays
I'm stressed. Still can't find a reasonably priced, delicious elmo cake. haiz. my last resort is ask my mom to bake cupcakes for K to bring to school.

Ikea toddler beds
Hi Sweetpea, K is sleeping on an ikea tod bed, the extendable type. I'm also looking for bed sheets. For now, I used her cot sheet for the centre piece and 2 other cot sheets for the 2 smaller mattresses which I placed at the end of the bed to protect the sides. I asked Ikea, they don't have special bedsheets for their beds (so UN-ikea!!) and they suggested I tailor the sheets with their sewing service. The cost is $30 (excluding cloth) and takes 2 weeks. I thot of checking at Aussino or just continue with current arrangement of using the cot sheets loh.

No. 2 @36 weeks liao...gynae said not likely to be early. sigh... hoping and praying that will be early, so tiring to walk, cannot sleep, some more every time cough or sneeze, will feel pain and leak. How embarrassing!!!

cupcakes
mong from mongstirs.com is my friend. i ordered cupcakes for alex's celebration with his play group last year. my theme was "everything sweet and nice" and everyone loves the cupcake. =) she's usually booked out early so hurry up if u wanna order from her!

bkkgal, how u find the ikea extendable bed? must i get specific mattress? i kind of like it coz less chance of my kungfu little one to roll off the bed. how abt u ask spotlight their charge on customised bedsheets?

esther, welcome to the league of SAHM-hood. i'm an underachieved SAHM. lol.

tong,
no prob. i'll sms you to coordinate collection. take care of yourself meanwhile!

bkk,
hang in there...gynae may be wrong hehe. my gynae was so confident that A wouldn't be early and well, he was wrong!

for elmo cake, actually polar cakes carries the sesame street series. pretty nice. you may want to check them out. those home based bakers will charge minimum 80 bucks for a customized cake.

clover,
ooohhh....mong is your friend? yeah heard a lot of good comments abt her cupcakes, but errm, $5 per cupcake is way beyond my budget unfortunately.

I think I'll leave pretty cakes for when Ruth gets older. No worries then what to get cuz they'll be full of preferences n suggestions that will blow your mind n budget!

I hv tried cupcakes n can't quite appreciate paying so much for them cuz the taste seems to Not be the priority.

bedsheets
actually i just use a normal single bed sheet and then fold it to the size i want! cos i use an ikea cot but i find their material not as nice as some others that you can get with a nicer threadcount...

bkk
dun stress.. the cake/cupcakes is for her to bring to CC right? toddlers won't know if it's a $0.50 cupcake or $5 cupcake. heh!!

gar
maybe next time when you are actually at a party you can spend more on the cake/cupcake, otherwise if you just buy for the CC kids you also don't get to enjoy ;)

XY/esther
yah the vitamin B i dun take every day! and almost immediately can see the pee change colour.. scary, haha..

esther
he is quite clingy to me now, but i not SAHM at the moment.. only after ML and until he was 8 months+, since then i've been working.

sweetpea
ooh i thinking of the swensen's ice cream cake too! sounds yums!

garfield, i think there's big n small cupcakes? she is particular abt her standard n presentation, so no fluff one lah. oh i also ordered alex's manyue cupcakes from her too... maybe next time for a smaller celebration u can order from her. or join her cupcake deco class n deco yr own! =)

i may not be having a party for alex this year. thinking about all the prep work makes me tired already!

Morning mummies.

Clover, thanks 4 the welcome. Haha.. dun say underachieved SAHM. I tink most mummies r great!

re : 2nd BD celebration

Will oni be having a simple family affair. Wont be celebrating as Cayenne's fall on 2nd day of CNY. Tink most will be busy visiting ba..

Hi Clover,

I like the ikea extendable bed cos it has built-in guard rails. When K sleeps, she tends to move around the bed alot. She hasn't fallen off once. I think if you are going to use it fully extended then no need to get special mattress but if you gonna use short, then shud get the ikea mattress as it fits the bed nicely.

cakes
Yeah, you're right Iso - the kids only care abt the sprinkles or chocs on top of the cake! i'm just stressing myself unnecessarily.

bkk,
so fast 36 weeks!

for CC, my friend's kid encountered similar thing once too. reason is, the particular teacher didn't 'ask for permission' to pour water on her head when she's bathing..
ha.. anyway, hope K get over with this phase fast.
but then it's also advisable to observe more about the teacher N or do an unplanned visit to the CC. you won't know what happened when we are not around.
i also agree to stick to the same CC.

iso,
i only take vit B complex when i seriously lack of sleep.

cakes,
thanks for all your views! i'm now even more convinced to just do something simple for CC =)

clover,
hmm...yeah i think taking her cupcake decorating lessons sounds like a good idea! thanks!

lack of sleep,
i find taking chicken essence does help also. used to take during exam period, really can feel the difference

for NTUC members, may I know if I need to register linkpoints account?
i just applied for the membership few days ago. wonder if i can start earning link points at the merchants or got to wait till i got their Uplus card?

thanks XY!! will go take a look. the maternity clothes look v nice, but the one i like, don't think i can fit it says chest 36inches...i think i'm fatter than that =(

i'm in mega shopping mood....i just splurged about $100 on hair clips alone. my justification? have two gals so the "utilization" is double haha...

garfield,
what's your weight now?

$100 on hair clips. that's a lot. thought A doesn't like to wear?
C doesn't like to wear hair clips now only rubber bands. save money for us. 1 packet of rubber band $0.50 can last very long..
haha..

XY,
i almost 70kg liao *sob sob*....

err, ya it's a lot. and yes - A hardly wears them (once in a while she will let me wear for her, but that's not very frequent)

my hb asked if i was deprived of hair accessories when i was young...keke...he says i'm buying for myself and not for my gals.

but soooo cute how to resist - and since i have been a good girl and hardly bought anything for myself this entire pregnancy (only two bottoms and two tops, nothing else), this is my indulgence lor

maybe if #2 also doesn't like, one day i will organize a $1 per bow lelong sale

tong,
ya. can ask fairprice.
but nowadays i can hardly go buy things after work (working hour change). so can only wait till sunday or maybe even later to check it out.
:p was thinking maybe mummies here might have experience so i can no need to ask NTUC mah. - plainly lazy excuse loh. :p

btw, recently quite fedup with customer service officer with OCBC. wanted to purchase a government bond from them using my SRS account.
found from some forum that those officers mostly doesn't know much and don't bother to know as they don't earn commission from it.
tried my luck at the branch, and true enough, they are not helpful at all. can't give advise and just dump me with all kinds of forms and asked me to fill them up myself and send it off by mail.

garfield,
very fast can shed them off with the power of breastfeeding. dun cry dun cry.

yup. the clothes that she has mostly for < 70 kg - i think.

should indulge a bit too lah. you have been working so hard for the BPs and others.

C's clips in cold storage now too. whenever i put them on, she will take it out and play with it. :p

yeh!
i am going Sentosa 3D2N end Mar. Budget constraint - can't go overseas, stay in Costa Sands Resort.
< $160 for 2 N stay. going to visit underwater world, see dolphin, etc.
last visit to sentosa probably 6 years ago.

anyone wants to go together? Free and Easy trip.

XY, Wah , RM in OCBC cant even help?! That’s ridiculous. Or perhaps not very popular instruments, u are good leh, know how to invest in bonds hehe.

tong,
i parked a little bit of $ in SRS to avoid income tax last time.
better to use it for some kind of investment rather than sitting to earn the pathetic interest from the bank.
hence decided to get the low risk government bond loh. who knows it's so troublesome.
and the OCBC CSO really disappointing loh. at most i use it to buy unit trust to save the trouble - but it's higher risk loh (as compared to bond).

yes. going with carrie. she will appreciate the underwater world and dolphine more. there should be more attractions coming up together with the IR.
too bad she's still not suitable for the universal studio yet.
you want to go? own time own target. but at least can meet up with someone during the 3D2N - not so bored.

Hi tute,

Not sure if you noticed but Polar has Thomas the Train cakes:
- http://www.polarpuffs-cakes.com/TF/TF_Cutout.htm
- http://www.polarpuffs-cakes.com/TF/TF.htm

Hi bkkgal,

Polar also has Elmo cakes:
- http://www.polarpuffs-cakes.com/SS/SS_Cutout.htm
- http://www.polarpuffs-cakes.com/SS/IMG/SS_SC.jpg
- http://www.polarpuffs-cakes.com/SB/SB_cutout.htm
- http://www.polarpuffs-cakes.com/SB/SB.htm

RE: Cakes

Now if only I can get small 1kg size Tigger &amp; Pooh cakes. If not I will have to settle for Barney ones. But Danica prefers Tigger &amp; Pooh then Barney. The Bengawan Solo ones are at least 1.5 kg. Her playgroup is like only 8 children and family wise only 10 people. :p

Oh well... Worse come to worse I will order an ordinary cake and import cake toppers from US.

reena,
yeap... the cake to support fondant must be thick and heavier than usual sponge cake. That's why i think i'll just have normal fresh cream now.

bkk,
can order elmo cake from polar. i think their cake is quite nice, light and fluffy.. even C likes them...

re 2nd bday,
still no preparation for me... think i'll just celebrate at sunday school coz his birthday falls on a sunday...

xy,
i wanted to open SRS account too but found out that for PR if i withdraw earlier than retirement age, apart from the 5% penalty I need to pay 20% tax as well so end up i will loose more money.

artemis,
thanks, yeap i know polar has thomas cakes... still deciding on getting them or getting cupcakes. easier to distribute cupcakes at church

on a separate note, i think C is having a period where he is rejecting his food/milk... these days he doesn't ask for his porridg... and if we give rice with something on it, he refused.. he only snacks but not a lot too.. he's also not taking up his milk well... haiz, yesterday i got sooo fed up coz my maid was ill so i took leave to let her rest and took care of C... by night time, super tired and emotionally drained. i just let him be... and i just realised that i think i can only handle 1 kid... i am really scared that i would not have the patience if i have another child who is a picky eater, milk hater and super active boy like C again...

XY,
i dun hv gd experience with OCBC actually. their officers like v inexperienced and bochup one.

re weight - ya hoping BF will help me lose it all...wanna indulge in myself but how to? nothing to buy leh cos i hope my size is only temporary. maybe after i bomb and lose weight then i'll go shopping lor.

bond - which one you eyeing? what are the coupon rates like now? completely lost track already

re sentosa - would love to join....see if i can manage bringing both gals out cos #2 would still be quite small then (approx 2 months).

tute,
oh good...you tried the polar cakes before...i tot they only do butter cream, but i must be wrong. their cakes come in fresh cream too right? i'm eyeing their sesame street or doraemon series.

thanks to mcdonald's...A is now crazy over xiao ding dang!! (aka Doraemon)

mummies, when is the best time to go zoo, and usually how long do you stay? do you take ur meals there?

Xy, not sure about the trip yet, got to cham siong with hubby first. how much per pax?

Artemis
Swensen's has pooh ice cream cakes, if you collect they have 1kg ones, for $45. If you want them to deliver i think it's min 1.5kg... HTHs

gar
when you really been good! i have already bought myself 3 pairs of designer maternity jeans from the states (they were on SUPER sale) as well as some other clothes. i figure (or my excuse is) i'll need fat clothes for a while... haha.

tongtong
there is a KFC there which is same prices as elsewhere, i haven't tried the other cafes. you can check showtimes on their website and decide which ones you want to go to?

bkk
yeah i think they might be more impressed with the actual photo on the cake! haha..

Hi Isobellies,

Thanks! I think the pictures are better than the ones from Bengawan Solo.

Okay, so I will get a mini Barney cake for the playgroup kiddos and a Swensens ice cream one for the family.

tong,

re : zoo

we always go 2 zoo early in the morning ard 8plus reach. stayed probably till lunch time ard 12plus after meal there, either KFC or the Ah Meng Cafe, go home rest.

I would still prepare Cayenne's porridge &amp; milk.

tute,

i can understand on ur C's milk &amp; food reject. Cayenne has been like tis 4 dunno hw many mths liao.. milk has improved frm 120ml to 150ml. though sometimes cant finish. as 4 meal, i super duper disappointed and sad lor.. used 2 b so stressed up when meal times. now still do la but close both eyes liao. sometimes she oni take less than 5 scoops. &amp; same, she snacks. &amp; it is ALOT. sigh...

i wonder when tis phase will be over.... waiting...

XY,

re : Coasta Sands Resort

I've been there twice bringing Cayenne last yr. It was really fun esp daddy &amp; daughter in the pool njoying so much while i (was preggy then) happily took pictures of them. Hotel room not big deal but decent la. most important we njoyed.

am tinking of gg there again! but dunno when la... &amp; BTW, u got a great deal there! i tink mine was $200plus per nite! urs 2 nite, gd deal!

tute,
yup. SRS account got to keep till retirement.
i just keep it like savings for retirement loh. won't touch the $ till then. anyway, the amount i put is not a lot cos i forgot to contribute before the end of the year. :p

garfield,
yaloh. i last time also hate to buy clothes because i dun like my size that time too. postpone all shopping till i get the weight i like. hehe..

i am looking at the singapore government bond. it's a long term investment (17 years). coupon rate is 3.5% and equivalent to 3.18% p.a.

re: sentosa
garfield/tong,
feel free to join. I confirm going on 28-20 Mar. You just choose whatever place you like to stay, then we can meet at Sentosa for attractions visit/lunch/dinner.

garfield,
when #2 2 months, the trip for you should be the relax relax kind i think. must take into consideration of the milk and sleeping time.

tong,
stay at Costa Sands Resort, it's $160 for 2 nights per room. means each night is $80 ($40 per adult, free for kids).
attractions entrance fees are excluded.

esther,
it's the NTUC member price. 50% discount. that's why i join the NTUC member.

you want to go again end Mar?

gar,
yeap... i bought 2 cakes for C's 1st birthday last time.. gladcake for celebration at home and polar for celebration at church. my mom prefers polar cakes because it's light so if you're feeding the kids, they will probably prefer that. and yes they come in both butter and fresh cream, i always choose fresh cream.. heheh..

esther,
yeah i read your blog about C's food rejection.. so she's also not taking milk well? these days i mix his milk with milo if he's not taking well, tried mixing with horlicks last night... but he didn't drink it... not sure if he's too full or what.

hello mummies!
me can't wait for off work..since yesterday, dun feel too well, feeling very bloated and wana puke. (i tot the MS is over..hmm). Looking forward to next Mon to Wed cos i on leave..haha..got to accompany H to childcare, good time for a break.

somehow i feel this tummy is bigger compared to last round, i wonder if its because of the boy, i feel like 8 months pregnant even though i am only going 7 months..hmm..but i din eat so much leh..

XY,

yeah feel like leh. but must see got any promo anot. keke.. the 2nd time i went is promo rate but still not as gd deal as urs!

tute,

milk getting better frm 120ml to 150ml. i tink most toddlers here alreadi in their 210 or 240ml i suppose? the lowest my C drink sometimes is 30ml! out of 5 feeds, probably she oni finish 1 feed of 150ml COMPLETELY. the other 4 feeds range betw 30ml to 120ml.

i still didnt try the horlicks or milo. am delaying both. ;p

Cayenne eats alot of junk food (IMO) for her age. but i cant control leh. She eats alot of cakes (the london roll advertisement), crackers and of late those chocolates coated with colors! i dislike her eating all these so young but boh bian leh, bb sitter &amp; her neighbours' children all give her. *fainted*

as 4 meal, I GIVE UP. wat i can do now rather than stressing myself up is to prepare more nutritious soup 4 Cayenne lor. She loves soup. she can finish one big bowl of soup plus some ingredients frm the soup. i very happy liao. i dun dare 2 ask 4 more liao. AS LONG AS SHE EATS. ;p