(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: others comment
i was recently quite unhappy with my friend's comment regarding C.
C is a quite kid with 'golden mouth' and i do agree that she's a bit slow in speech development. but i find she's on the right track and just it's her own character.
she can say 3 syllabus word e.g., no more bird. and can say quite a number of words but just for a short period of time. once she knows how to say it, she will stop saying it again.
my friend commented that i 'underdevelop' her as i seldom expose her to TV programes.
and he also told me her daughter can recite 'tang shi' at the age of 2 yrs +.
>.<

Iso,
piang....if E is "haywire", then Cayleb and Ruth are like...totally berserk lor! LOL! cayleb and ruth are perfect playmates - both equally erm 'violent'. LOL.

Tute,
i know what u mean. when a friend told me Ruth is spoilt, i was also very angry. Just because i told her i prefer not to bring RUth out to wedding dinners cuz she sleeps early and i wanna eat in peace too.

To me if i choose not to make her sleeping time all haywire (and thus causing her to go into meltdowns), it's my business, not yours. It's not like you would miss her anyway!

Tute,
Sometimes Ruth gets very carried away (though i hardly get to witness her with other children), we carry her aside and let her i dunno, scream/shout/cry it out herself. Sometimes i think they may be abit over-stimulated and overwhelmed by all the things we exposed them to. It may be too much for them to cope. Hell, even sometimes i feel abit claustrophobic by certain places.

i read that sometimes, there's nothing we can do but to give them some time out (from the cluttered place). Not in an angry way but to let them 'let out steam' in their way. Many times, they are unable to identify and express their feelings. Much less know how to deal with them.

Also read that you need to anticipate...dun wait until the child has already reached that point before addressing it. Cuz by the time that happens, the feelings can't be avoided and the outlet must be provided (either crying n screaming or demonstrated in other behaviours like pushing, biting etc).

So far i have quite abit of success in trying to anticipate her moods in certain settings. Eg 1 hour in church. We've managed to set-out activity and time. 5 mins to play with book A, 5 min on book B, 5 min go out and run abit, 5 min etc etc. And i observed that when i gave her the change of activity before she got bored (sounds SO SIMPLE BUT TOOK ME SO LONG TO GET IT DONE), i saved a lot of upsetting behaviour/feelings for both parent n child.

XY,
Your C is golden-mouth but know how to say. My Ruth knows everything, but doesn't verbalize. I still feel abit sian sometimes when people gimme that whole "what she still can't talk?!" look/tone.

But i'm also very happy when she suddenly says certain things without us expecting it. Like when i asked her to hold tight and she just blurted out "oh tat" and proceeded to tighten her grip around my mum (who was piggy-backing her).

I found that that was more important - that she understands what we say and well, i think she's taking her time to verbalize herself as she's quite shy and needs assurance.

We've observed that she expresses herself best when we're NOT prompting her, asking her etc. When we try to prompt her "What is that? etc" she keeps quiet cuz i think maybe abit of 'performance anxiety' having to pronounce the word in front of everyone.

SHY LAH!

and once she's said something, she won't keep repeating it. ha.

XY
that's q rude leh. obviously this guy only keen to compare. sometimes if i ask i will only nod or ask questions, i won't say "MY son can do blah blah blah." no wonder u unhappy.

lezy
haha. i think cos he visited my mum's home and of course E is less reserved at home than when outside.

agreed, as long as she can understand you it's good enough. my nephew (not the same one who pushes!) didn't speak or hardly spoke a word until he was past 2, now he's first boy in his class in pri 1!

i think sometimes pple say things without realising it. i mean, maybe somethings pple can keep to themselves right?? heh.

XY, don’t feel upset abt it la. My Shaun is not talking yet! He just calls me mama last 2 weeks! Just think that there’s kids who are slower than Carrie, then you will feel better liao, hehe.

Lezy, shaun is like Ruth, knows everything but doesn’t say. Eventhough he knows how to say “neh neh” for milk he doenst wanna say. He will point instead. And I must ask him many times then he is only willing to say. Think I got to work hard to encourage him to talk.

iso/xy/lezy,
thanks... somehow having another person said that it's understandable for me to get offended with that kind of remark is quite comforting... i thought i'm being overly sensitive... actually i think i don't take that kind of comment seriously but before that he also said that his wife describe C like a "wild kangaroo who hops around while other kids remains calm" accompanied by "your son is violent" remark just threw me off the roof... anyways... i try to take it positively and think how i can help Cayleb instead...

iso,
It's not jealousy i think... it's more like his way to get ppl's attention or to ask them to play together... and when he is overly excited he tends to run around wild not caring ppl/things around him... most of the cases though I notice is to get attention... he will run towards the person at a high speed (even to the grownups as well).

btw lezy is right... if E is haywire, can't imagine how your friend would descirbe C/Ruth.. hehehe... though Ruth is more gentle than C... but they both have same energy level.

lezy,
your point about anticipating is very good... i have not done this very well i think as i try to observe him from a distance but i guess i must stick close to him and anticipate his moves and stop him...

xy,
i tried the showing him to be gentle but it's very hard to get through to him... so i think it doesn't work for him? read around the internet that different kids may respond to different approach so i will try the firm and consistent way for now... i need to tell people at home to do the same thing as well..

Happened to saw this somewhere on the web

"How early a child starts talking is not a sign of intelligence. One true sign of intelligence is the size of his vocabulary at the age of 3."

tute
+hugz+
think at this age, I dun think they are "violent" but just that they are not aware of their strength when it comes to playing. for example, Gervaise is considered quite big size. When I sent him to children church on sun, I also very worried… cos sometimes, he can be veri enthu when it comes to playing. cos I witnessed b4 how he played with his sister(9years old) and how my gal "asking" me for help cos he veri violent…

rem the trial we had at positive tots, Gervaise tried to hold Amanda's hand by force. I think Amanda was scared of him.

maybe u might want to continue to monitor him… n also explained/reminded him when you see that, he is using force while playing with other kids.

hmm… seeking profession help, now maybe too early.
I understand how you feel cos imag my mum told me that Gervaise maybe deaf cos he ignored her when she tried to seek her attention while he was watching his fav Barney…
I was affected for a few days and really thinking about doing so… until Hubby reminded me that" hello! yr son everytime, in the car, will ask for barney cd and he "sings" along with it. how to be dear" P

re:speech
sigh… when it come to talking, he veri jialat… cant talk much tho can understand whatever we told him.. can addressed everyone except me!
Germaine(my gal) also started talking in full sentence when she was 4! before that was baby talking…. it was so bad that I wanted to send her for speech therapy… I was super affected when ppl commented on her development…. so now Gervaise is having this issue.. I just attributed to slow development or the genes.heeee

but I know its tough to ignore ppl's comment. but every child is unique.

---maids,
Hehe....2cents' ideas.
I normally waited , and gave advices to maid on weekends. Guess that she will be quite demoralized, if getting criticized every day, or on every mistake.

By weekend, I suggests around 3 points, and usually by then forget about the rest.

And don't know whether off day helps. Maid may appreciate that work can earn money, and caregiver may appreciate her help, after Maid is out for whole day.

---hitting kids and even adults
I thought about it, since E gave us quite shock on it. Now I am collecting my thoughts and will write it down at blog.

tute, lezy,
*hi five* count me in your group facing the same issues too!

re speech,
i've always believed that the kids are storing the words in their brains and one day, until the day they are ready to "open the tap" then they will amaze you with the amount of vocab they know!!

so keep the faith - continue speaking to them and reading to them. all the words build their understanding (as most of you already notice that the kids understand - which means that the linguistic ability is forming). one day the speech bit will kick in!

gathering at polliwogs
OK!! Looking forward to it!! Suggest early morning before it gets too crowded...don't think we can book the place right? probably too expensive.

Eliaw,
join us join us!! nowadays dun go to JWT gym anymore so don't get to see you and Carter regularly....thanks for popping by the BP - get the sunscreens - sure will come in handy and very nice texture!

re : violent behaviour

my nephew aso pushes other toddlers when in playgroup when he was 2yr plus. I boils it down to he probably dunno hw 2 control/use his strength. he aso at times pushes my Cayenne.

nw he is 3 1/2 yrs old, will sayang &amp; protect Cayenne nw. BUT when gets 2 excited or active, still will shove Cayenne aside la.. but i dun tink my nephew is violent leh.

re : speech development &amp; other comparisons

i hv gf who loves 2 compare her girl wif mine. In short, everyting she must "win" over me. Haha.. but i aso tell her each child is unique &amp; individual.

happened 2 talk 2 my other gf. she told me no point 2 compare who speak faster and who's slower cos ultimately, ur child and mine sure can speak by the age of 4 generally.

lezy,
same same. C stop calling daddy already.
even now lazy to say bird. will ah here ah there...
worst is, we can always guess accurately what she wants. she doesn't need to speak anything and get what she wants. :p
tried to force her to speak, in the end she make noise and become very impatient and keep nodding her head.

iso,
that friend of mine always like to tell us how clever his daughters are. and how fast they learn. etc.
he talked till like very admired his wife's effort in teaching.
ok lah. since he appreciates his wife so much, just let him be loh.

i was going to post something just now, but the forum wasn't working properly. now forgot. haha.

XY
i guess nice that he appreciate his wife's efforts also...

tute
wow, those are pretty harsh words. nevermind, not like spirited children are "worse" than other kids, they might even be more likely to become leaders!

underwater world
one of the mummies mentioned she went there recently? do they have covered car park? am on leave tmm so am wondering if we should go there if it rains.

hello mummies!

Dec month is finally here, xmas coming, so excited, always loves xmas, i am counting down to no travelling, but still got 2 trips to go for this month.

violent - H is relatively mild when in front of other kids, always just stand there or sit there, like at loss to join in the fun, she warms up super late (like when other kids are already tired from playing too long)..haha. i doubt she has displayed the violent side yet, the only exception is when she's eating her champagne grapes once, and i asked her to share with another kid, she got so upset that she rather spill all the grapes in her bowl then to share them..hmm..

talking - H also still not talking much, but seems that our toddlers are in the same phase, so nothing to worry
, at least they understand us better each day. I am sure they will talk and ask questions non-stop one day. H is good at calling mummy and papa for relief

XY,
try not understanding what C wants...i used to tell A - mummy doesn't know what you mean...you have to tell me what you want... you want milk? you want to sleep? or you want to play ball?

*evil mummy*

ignore your friend. some pple are just plain insensitive. they may not mean to hurt you, just too caught up with the achievements of their own kids and eager to share! i have a colleague like that too...whenever he tries to talk about his kids i just quickly switch topic hehe

---others' comments
E didn't escape from this.

One friend commented E 早熟。

A lady who we met at a party, talked with her hubby, " why Emma looks so mature, not like baby? I don't like it, I still prefer that my baby looks more like baby.

We just met for a few mins.

And E got numerous comments for crawling extremely slow.

For 早熟, I ignored it, but somehow felt sad about how people are insensitive.

For crawling, somehow E understood others' comments, and she tried hard to practice crawl. It looks funny, when on some days she crawled at home instead of walk, I knew it's daytime she get comments at playgrounds. I pretend not know it, but praise that she crawl it fast, faster than babies and me(I tried to crawl with her to encourage her), but maybe slower than papa.

Read quote from somewhere,
"EQ means how fast you can recover from emotional hurt, drained. ..".
So for insensitive comments, I tried to think, will I forget it faster?

hi xiaoyun

wow the thread is moving fast...

abt other's comment

i really cant bother... i always say "huh is it ? so what should i do ? " and they started blah blah but i just keep quiet

my eldest started talking full sentence when she was 3.. before that it baby talk ..i almost sent her to speech therapy..heard it not cheap...

she was very slow in speech.. most of her classmate can talk full sentence just before 3...

as my little one she also dont talk in sentences too ... one words syballus.. but she understand what i am talking abt.. she will say yes

dont worry abt yr child .. it true every child is unique...

even my 2 girls i never compare them .. how to compare ? my love for them are unique too ... u ask me do i love my eldest more than my little ? really i cant answer ... cos my love for them are unique and i believe i am equal to them

dor,
*hugz back* thanks... i will hold on looking for professional help first and try some method on my own first... had discuss this with hb, my helper and my mom so that everyone knows what to do... hopefully there are improvements...

re:speech,
i like garfield's analogy about opening the tap thing...
my take it's like crawling... some kids go through it and some just walk straightaway... at this age don't worry about it... continue to talk with the child...

C likes to talk but not that clear i.e. only pronounce the last syllable so really not easy to understand... worse, he'll get angry if we don't understand... imagine "charlie" and "emily", he pronounce both as "li" and gets angry if we don't get the right "li"! :S

Pauline,
Yalor.. asian bbs more prone to jaundice. In ang moh countries, it's not common, some don't even know what is jaundice.

Childbirth
I think my pain threshold is relatively high.

DD1 - No epidural but took pethidine. Took painkiller for afterbirth pain.

DS2 &amp; DD3 - No epidural but took Entonox (laughing gas). No painkiller for afterbirth pain.

XY,
I don't know about your thoughts but I personally won't introduce TV to them at such young age.

lezy,
Me too. I prefer not to disturb their sleeping schedule as I've learnt my lesson the hard way. For some family events that ended late, my siblings told me it's OK to miss a nap or to sleep late, just for that day. BUT it's not ok as the child gets really cranky at night and they are not the one taking care of the child.

Tute,
If you can anticipate his action, try to stop him before he starts to push. Take his hand and say "No pushing. I know you want to get through (or whatever reasons based on your observation) but it is not nice to push people like that. The other child may fall and hurt himself" (or something to that extend). Make sure he understands that it is his behaviour that you are unhappy with, and not HIM as an individual. Also, I find that communication is very important. My kids fight alot and DD3 will "kick" her siblings when she's angry. I will always ask her "What do you want?" or "Tell me who upset you?" etc... Not that she is speaking well but she will utter some words and I just show some empathy and she'll be alright after that. HTHs.

Speech,
I read somewhere (can't rem where though) that it is best not to prompt them eg what is this or that? They are like sponge, absorbing now. They will talk when it's time to talk. Just like DS2, he was still baby talking at 23 months but when he crossed the 2yo, he started to speak in complete sentence. Anyway, enjoy them now while they are still babbling cos once they grow up, you wish they will just shut up (eh.. ok, I'm just speaking for myself here :p).

Apple,
Oh really? Intelligence based on vocabulary at the age of 3? If you can rem where you saw this, pls let me know, I'm interested to read up more.

XY,
Yours is ah here ah there, mine is MA MA MA MA.. everyone everything also ma ma ma ma... Eg DS2 pushed her, she will come running to me in the kitchen crying ma ma ma ma... then I ask her what happened, she goes ma ma ma again, when I ask her who did it? She also goes ma ma ma.

Kids comparison
Just take it with a pinch of salt. When I only had DD1, I tend to get very offended with such comments and will defend. But after a while, I've learnt to just open both ears, 1 in 1 out. And when someone makes nasty remarks about my child in front of them, I will always explain to my child that it is not true or it doesn't matter what others say, I still love them no matter what. I don't want them to feel hurt over other unimportant pple's remarks.

Pauline,
Read in your blog you are pumping now. My advice is to keep the colostrum for Raelynn ie direct feed.

HIHI

for Ruth she speaks in the D language.

dididududadidooo................

actually now that she's starting to verbalie abit more it's fun and funny. half the time dunno what she's saying but she's good at pointing at exactly what she wants and if she REALLY REALLY wants something (eg water or mickey mouse), she'll clasp her hands together and do a multiple gong xi gong xi to reperesent PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE. Dunno where she learn from though - we never taught her please in that way. Instead we always say PLEASE to her but she so far only muttered once or twice "PEESE!" and verybriefly one.

lezy
wah! u no need to sleep one ah?? i'm now awake cos can't get back to sleep. sigh!

celia
hey i saw you on one of the BPs from avielreign, i also joined one of her BPs. if she so busy then she should think twice about organising BP hor. guess we can only wait for now.

Iso,
I fel asleep putting ruth to bed. then cannot get back to sleep when i woke up at 11.45pm....so end up online lor.

POLLIWOGS:
I dun mind going at 10am (when they open).
Everyone ok with that?

reena,
thanks for the tip... i will keep that in mind... problem is that i'm only at home after office hours and weekends... i hope i can instill some discpline in him with the short time i spend with him...

lezy,
me ok... btw, how long are we planning to stay there? does that place serve lunch? (thinking if i should bring Cayleb's lunch)

Girls,
I may be able to meet at Polliwogs this Sat, since my appointment is at night. So excited to finally be able to meet everyone!
So 10 am?

garfield,
i know the technique but it's hard for me to put it in action. if i ask a series of question, she will shake her hand as No, and nod her head as Yes. :p

haha.. he's definitely too eager to share the achievements!! i frankly told him that 'You've got the illness of all parents have. :D'

tubao,
if that's her comment in between her and her hubby, just pretend that you never hear. i don't think she's purposely talk in front of you. just like we will never know what ppl will talk about us behind of back, right?
why compete about the speed of crawling?

reena,
me too. doesn't like to intro TV so young.
but lots of ppl believe TV educational programs are useful to 'develop' their child.
still, i let her watch BabyFirst when she requested it.

re: polliwogs
ON!
10 am.

tute,
i start feeling sian to prepare C's lunch after the trip from malaysia when we exposed her to lots of yummy food. she's now a picky eater.
on the other hand, i am guilty of feed her those salt/sugar laden food. in dilemma...

fairfield,
look forward seeing you too.

xy,
no choice leh... if give rice, C will eat very very little and he only wants it when he can self feed... he will only eat quite a bit when it's porridge... he's already not drinking milk so if i let him survive without food then i think he will be suffering from malnutirion...

reena,

since u r a SAHM, i'm sure ur DD3 is super close 2 u. but is she 2 the extent of being a koala 2 u? if u happen 2 go out or not in the same room wif her, will she keep calling mummy mummy, walking ard 2 look 4 u?

mine is like tat. hw 2 solve tis pro?

xiao yun,

unfortunately she talk this ,following introduction of each other between their family and my family.

I got quite shocked, luckily read baby hearts , and understand it's verbal aggression mostly from girls(women), which are even more hurtful than action aggression.

For crawling, I don't feel offended. Since it's more TECHNICAL.

When I am around, I will say " no lah, E crawl faster than yesterday". Most of time gossip person will then laugh .

If I am not around when words are said, and feel E gets affected back home, I will crawl together with E, to give her some support.

Hehe...I'd like to tell her by doing it together" if you'd like to work on it, mummy don't mind being with you while you spend extra efforts". Hehe...

anyway, I enjoy doing technical. Those TECHNICAL comments don't get my nerves at all.

tute,

ur C is drinking less milk 2? mine aso. of late, i jz intro her the pediasure 4 her bedtime milk feed, hopefully can help 2 fill her up wif the necessary nutrients..

every meal time &amp; milk feed is a challenge 4 me.. Cayenne seldom finishes up her milk. 4 meals, lagi worse. probably less than haf a bowl. i still using the MG3 formula scoop. (2 scoops for rice &amp; porridge)

hw 2 get her 2 EAT &amp; DRINK MORE??? Sigh...

xy,
haha....all along i have a pretend dialogue with A when she was young, even before she can talk

me: baby are you hungry?
pause
me again: oh, you are hungry
pause
me again: do you want some milk?
A nods, give her milk
me again: is the milk good?
pause....A drinking milk happily
me again: it's good right? milk is yummy!!

now she can talk, at least this xiao mummy has somebody actually answering her with a mixture of words, gestures and sounds =)

comments by others
ya, i knw what u ladies mean, can u imagine, even my PT cleaner got comments on my son's development. think she's too "eng" liao, shd add on more to her wk load !!! so these days i also one ear in n one ear out. try my best not to let it affect my son's own grow'g agenda. Afterall, different kids grow differently n have different personalities. I feel i may be of help to him if i can really guide him to play up his strenghts n manage his weakness in future, no point comparing wid others.

tute, esther,
my son L too, don't seem to like food n milk these days. I do try to relax by reason g that he knws his body best n will eat when necessary but till now i am still 'kan chiong" over his food intake. n i do give him white n brown rice mix porridge so that he does not ask me for snacks in between meals since brown rice last longer.

i've wanna ask, what vitamins do u ladies feed ur kids? Of late, ds has been fall g ill v v frequently n m not sure what kinda vits wld be good to boost his immunity ??? now he's dwn wid cold n cough again

mummies who r keen to bring their kiddos for the shows, i picked up the schedule fm one of the threads.

Astro Boy Live Show
Liang Court
21-29 Nov (except Mon)
Tues-Fri: 2.30om &amp; 7.30pm
Sat &amp; Sun: 2pm, 5pm &amp; 7.30pm
*Meet &amp; Greet for first 30; $50 min. spending required.

CELEBRATE CHRISTMAS IN SINGAPORE
One Christmas One Hope
Various venues in Orchard Road area &amp; in front of Plaza Singapura
Nightly performances featuring mimes, plays, musicals &amp; a Floats Parade, starting from 7pm to 11pm
Check out this website for more information: CELEBRATE CHRISTMAS IN SINGAPORE

Festive Weekend Street Parade
Jurong Bird Park
21 Nov-13 Dec (Sat &amp; Sun ONLY)
11.30 am &amp; 1.45pm
Watch and groove along as the streets come alive with colourful floats, dancers, percussionists, &amp; stilt walkers in a vibrant Latino style!

Sesame Street LIVE Show
1pm, 4pm &amp; 7pm
Yew Tee Point, 20-22 Nov (Meet &amp; Greet only)
Compass Point, 24-29 Nov
Causeway Point, 1-6 Dec
Northpoint, 8-13 Dec
Centrepoint, 15-20 Dec
Meet-n-Greet for first 40, no purchase required.

Barbie "I Can Be" Live Show
Raffles City, Level 3
20 Nov-6 Dec (except Mon)
Tues-Thurs: 1pm &amp; 7pm
Fri-Sun: 1pm, 4pm &amp; 7pm

Barbie &amp; the Three Musketeers Meet &amp; Greet
Raffles City, Level 3
7-20 Dec
1pm, 4pm &amp; 7pm
Admission to first 50 children per session

Ele-fun time at the Zoo!
Singapore Zoo
5-27 Dec (Sat &amp; Sun ONLY)
- Meet &amp; Greet the Elephants
10am &amp; 2.15pm
- Royal Elephant Parade
10.30 am &amp; 2.45pm

Winx Club - The Fairy Mission
Marina Square
21 Nov-6 Dec (except Mon)
Tue-Thurs: 1pm &amp; 7pm
*Meet &amp; Greet for first 40; no min. spending required.

The Green Sheep play
Forum the Shopping Mall
21 Nov-6 Dec (except Tue), 1pm &amp; 5pm

Looney Tunes Musical Live!
Downtown East, Event Square
22 Nov-25 Dec (Weekends &amp; Public Holidays ONLY)
6-6.30 pm (extra show on 21 Nov at 12.30pm)
*Meet &amp; Greet for first 50; no min. spending required.

Looney Tunes Nite Parade
Downtown East, Event Square, The Alley &amp; E!hub
21 Nov-27 Dec (Weekends ONLY)
8-8.30pm

Pokemon Live!
Parway Parade
28 Nov-6 Dec (except Mon)
*Meet &amp; Greet; $30 min. spending (single receipt) required.

Care Bears Live!
Tue-Thurs: 1pm &amp; 7pm
Fri-Sun: 1pm, 5pm &amp; 7pm
Plaza Singapura, 1-6 Dec
Sembawang Shopping Centre, 8-13 Dec
IMM, 15-20 Dec
*Spend $30 to redeem a pass for Meet &amp; Greet OR Tea Party session.

Barney's World of Imagination
United Square
2-14 Dec (except Tues)
Mon-Fri: 2pm &amp; 7pm
Sat &amp; Sat: 2pm, 5pm &amp; 7pm
*Meet &amp; Greet; min. $30 required.

Hi-5 Musical
Takashimaya Square, B2
3-13 Dec*, 1pm, 4pm &amp; 7pm
*No shows on 6 Dec, 1pm &amp; 7 Dec

Mickey &amp; Friends Meet &amp; Greet
Vivocity
4-14 Dec (except 10 Dec)
2pm &amp; 3.30pm at Central Court, Level 1
6pm &amp; 7.30pm at Amphitheatre, Level 3
*Spend $100 to redeem a pass for Meet &amp; Greet session.

Hello Kitty's Christmas Wish
Millenia Walk, The Great Hall
4 &amp; 11 Dec :7.30pm
5, 6, 12 &amp; 13 Dec : 3pm &amp; 6pm

Spongebob Squarepants Live! Musical Show
Suntec, Tropics Atrium
5-13 Dec (except Mon)

Bob the Builder Live! Show
Jurong Point, JP1 Centrestage
5-13 Dec
Tue–Fr:, 1pm &amp; 7pm
Sat &amp; Sun: 1pm, 4pm &amp; 7pm

Christmas Rocks with Tom &amp; Jerry!
West Mall
11-20 Dec: 1pm &amp; 7pm
* Meet &amp; Greet; min. $50 spending required for one pass. 1 pass admits ONE child ONLY.

Narnia the Musical
Forum the Shopping Mall
12-20 Dec (except Tue), 1pm &amp; 5pm

Santa on Sleigh Meet &amp; Greet
Jurong Point, JP1 Centrestage
15-25 Dec (except Mon)
5pm &amp; 7pm

Chirstmas at Changi
Changi Airport
11 Nov- 4 Jan

- Big Musical Ball
Over 6 metres high, this revolving creation of wonder will play your favourite Christmas carols; Sweets and Gifts will be dispensed at the end of the musical performances from 7pm to 10pm on weekdays and from 12noon to 10pm on weekends.

*Terminal 3, Public Area, Departure Check-in Hall Level 2 (in front of Departure Immigration)
*Musical performance will be at half-hourly interval from 6am to 10pm every day – 6am, 6:30am, 7am, 7:30am, 8am, 8:30am, 9am, 9:30am, 10am, 10:30am, 11am, 11:30am, 12noon, 12:30pm, 1pm, 1:30pm, 2pm, 2:30pm, 3pm, 3:30pm, 4pm, 4:30pm, 5pm, 5:30pm, 6pm, 6:30pm, 7pm, 7:30pm, 8pm, 8:30pm, 9pm, 9:30pm and 10pm.

- Big Snow Fantasy
Kids will love spending hours bouncing and sliding at this delightful wonderland and experience the magic of snowfall.

*Terminal 3, Public Area, Departure Check-in Hall Level 2 (Check-in Row 11)
*12pm - 10pm

esther/leila,
In C's case, he will only take a lot of milk if we spoonfed so this is difficult to do outside coz it's rather messy and take quite a bit of effort so i usually give milk using straw and if i give using straw i think at most he only drink 50ml. Oh and using straw, he won't take formula.. he will only drink fresh milk or the bottled pediasure. These days if he doesn't want his milk, I mix a bit of milo... then it helps a bit...

As for porriddge, not sure how to measure... basically we keep his porridge in foogoo jar, and most of the time he can finish that... not in a flash but maybe after 30 min. When he sees us eating rice, he will ask for spoon and plate... so usually we'll give a bit of rice (ard 1tbsp) and he usually doesn't finish... he just liek to play with his food...

leila,
in the past i gave pharmatton kiddi, now i give appelin which was recommended by my other PD, this is mainly to boost his appetite. I also give this Organic Vit C which was recommended by my friend. He swears by it and according to him, his son hardly falls sick because he gives this once he falls sick.. so i just try lor... so far it helps i think, the whole house now down with flu and he hasn't got it (touch wood)... hopefully it's true lah... but the taste is very strong and it's liquid so we have to dilute it...

tute,
you can also try add Horlick into the milk.
that's what i had when i was young. guarantee nice. and i only take milk with horlick, my mum complained that i was an expensive kid. :D

tubao,
she's insensitive huh? maybe she thought that's a joke. :S
ignore ignore..

garfield,
i can imagine your pretend diaglogue.
i guess, i have a problem - my pause is too short. always talk to her sentences after sentences.
C said 'jilikulu... etc' in fast pace a few times. this impatient mummy talked too fast liao. haha..

leila,
i remember some ppl gave ChildLife's Colostrum also.
don't know the effect. will supplement her after she join playgroup next year.

leila,

ya, been telling myself 2 relax over Cayenne's food/milk intake. BUT sometimes difficult not 2 "worry" leh..

Cayenne very funny one, wont ask 4 milk like other toddlers. instead, i hv 2 ask her if she wan anot... mk tings worse, ask her she say wan, then prepared liao, run away!

Leila, give him natural whole fruit, grains and veg. If possible, go organic. If he doesn’t like fruit, make him fruit and veg juices, organic if possible too. If all these he doesn’t like, give him mineral supplements like the sea mineral, can drip into his water. Or give prune extract if he doesn’t eat prunes. Another alternative, give sambucol, it’s elderberry extract, can boost immune system too. I dont like giving vit in tablet forms, prefer more natural stuff.

Esther, Cayenne is so cute la!

XY, understand your worries abt giving outside food. Shaun also takes outside food every weekend when we dine outside, if i go organic outlet, he will take everything. if we go normal eateries, i will choose which item suitable for him.

tong,

whre 2 get tis sambucol &amp; sea mineral?

cute ah? u shd see a crazy me scolding her man... sigh...

xy,
horlicks!! gd idea
i will try that.. gotta keep changing his milk... he gets bored easily.. you know what, at times i just feel like breaking down when he is one of his bad mood and refuses his milk... i know i can't scold him so i just end up crying... dunno how long i will need to do this...

Long time no "see". So the Christmas gathering is set for this Saturday, 10 a.m. at Polliwogs? Sorry for being sua ku but where is it?

Mummies who breastfed,

Does your child still remember? Sometimes, when I change to go out and Danica is in the room (she is very impatient when it's time to go gei gei) and she sees me naked, she will come up to me and kiss my nipples. :p I'm not sure how to react? Should I discourage her or just ignore it? She only does it at home in my room. (Thank God)

Esther, got spree on sambucol, you can check it out. Sea mineral also got spree – in those drugstore or dunno what. But I got mine from one of the health store near serangoon if I’m not mistaken. Don’t scold her la, she doesn’t understand yet ma.

Tute, what does cayleb likes to eat? He sure eats something when he is hungry right

Artemis, it’s at East coast. As for bf, my son doesn’t do that, offer him the breast he also not interested liao :p

Hi to all mummies!

Remember to bring yr kids socks and adults sock when going to Polliwogs if not you have to buy from them. Also do bring snacks for your kids as they do not provide anything for suitable for our tods.