(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkk,
yes yes. page B6 of mypaper.
it's in chinese.
you can get the online copy.

i belive zaobao has it too. (pic is from zaobao)

Gar
Sounds like A remembers the fun times at childcare but only at the point of leaving u guys she feels a bit scared. I think she's doing great for 3-4 days already. Next week will probably need to warm up a bit but by Fri shud be no problem.

Tong
Yes he's a doc but not practising ever since he accompanied me on posting.

XY, thanks for the news alerts!

Xmas gathering
So how how? confirmed? I think if at Polliwogs, then no need to bring own toys right? Can just let the kids play. I'm super looking forward!

Raelynn's jaundice was 9.3 at 9am blood test, above 11 must stay for phototherapy. Decided to stay 1 more day so that she can have phototherapy here, then jaundice can come down faster. Hubby going back though cos MIL got wedding dinner tonight so can't look after RaeAnne.

Congrats! bkkgal, how come must log into youtube to view the video clip? ;P

Hi Pauline
How's RaeAnne with mei mei? Got sayang mei mei or not? Just saw RaeLynn's new photos on ur blog - her head shape v nice and round.

The youtube link so sorry is restricted to 25 viewers only. Bcos of copyright issues not allowed to openly share or MediaCorp will charge. I didn't realise it when i posted the link here. :p

bkk,
thanks...i hope so too! otherwise v stressful in the morning and it has to be a daily affair. hope she develops a friendly attachment to one of the teachers or kids soon =)

so cute, someone had a birthday party so she came home with a winnie the pooh book and some markers...OH NO...i can just see myself shopping for party packs at those ex-concourse party shops and packing goodie packs

pauline,
good to extend one more day. you can rest more too...btw has raeanne met raelynn yet?

gathering,
date how ah? equal number of participants...got to oh bay som hehe?

i'm sticking to 12th Dec cuz erm...19th going for the Staccato trial so dun wan so much things in a day.

(we try to take it easy during weekends...cuz somehow it ends up getting pretty busy without even planning for something!)

polliwog look like an interesting place to have the gathering.

Bkk,
Ya. I saw your hubby on news report last night. Very photogenic.

Pauline,
Congratulation. Hope Raelynn's jaundice is better today.

Join Christmas party,
12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
4. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
5. tute + hb + C
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. Lezy + hb + Ruth
8. Tongtong +hb + Shaun
9. tubao+hb+emma (afternoon)

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
4. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
5. bx + hb + A
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. fairfield + skylar
8. artemissoh + hb + Danica + maid
9. tubao+hb+Emma (afternoon)

Join Christmas party,
12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
5. tute + hb + C
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. Lezy + hb + Ruth
8. Tongtong +hb + Shaun
10. xy + hb + C

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
5. bx + hb + A
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. fairfield + skylar

bkkgal, gar, yup the 2 sisters have met . I was out visiting some Dec09 mummies then. But hubby said she smiled and said baby... I've passed Mei Mei's present to her - Hello Kitty bubble making machine. She likes it.
But hubby didn't prepare screwdriver so cannot put in the batteries so she can't play. What a pity. :p

Blueginger, thanks, I hope it's better too but will only know tom morning. Now, she's under phototherapy except BF time. Skin looking darker liao, not so fair anymore. Poor gal. :p

helloooo...

just managed to log on... so many issues at work these days

bkk,
so your hb is a doctor... it makes sense now... i was reading your blog a while back and ther eis a post where you said your hb questioning the pd... so i was thinking if he was in that line.. :p bt

gar,
hmm... i am now getting a glimpse on how it would be if i put C into childcare... even now, he will cry if he sees me leaving him... but if it were him going out with my maid, he'll be perfectly fine... strange...

re: xmas gathering,
i'm good with polliwogs... do we need to book first or going there impromptu?

pauline
just read your birth story! did u do epi for raeanne? it's really quite "shiok", i slept for like 3 hours before nurse had to wake me :p

hopefully she'll be better tomorrow, in the meantime, better rest more

mummies with #2 or going to have #2 (or #3!),
do you plan or did your hubby stay with you in the hospital? i was thinking that this time he should stay at home with E, but he says he wants to stay with me becuase anyway E can be looked after by MIL (which is true lah). also wondering how often E should visit me at hospital and whether it will be tough for him to leave, he might not want to go home after he sees me.

iso,
wah such forward planning!

haven't tot about it but now you've mentioned - i reckon hubby will stay with me and my mom/dad will camp over with A at my house. have not figured out how often to visit me...probably daily?

i have no no.2. Dun even have 1.1/1.5 yet.

But if it was me, i'd leave Ruth with the parents/ILs. Huby def accompany me.

lucky for me Ruth very close to my mum....so she'll be okay to come n go if spend enuf time with me.

hmm. dunno leh. haha. i haven't even decided if really want no. 2.

i think i abit scared cuz no epi and well, am still very very squeamish about birth experience - not that mine was extremely bad or complicated but i'm generally just scared of the entire delivery procedure...so def cannot be alone one.

gar
yah, i think i'm at like wk 14 only, lol! i like to plan some things but not as much as type A personalities lah. i prefer to have some idea rather than no plan at all!

lezy,
dun think so much. just whack!! some more your mom is doing a great job looking after Ruth.

haha...i say so easy right? but it was a bit like that for me. always reckoned one kid is ok, dun need two. allowed hb to "con" me and then next thing i know tummy big liao...

i don't think i would have deliberately tried to have a #2 cos, well, A is a VERY ACTIVE KID...so i probably would have preferred to wait till she's older and by then i would be almost 40 and by then i would feel i'm too old and by then....you get the drift

iso,
good good...i also like to have an idea...but nowadays too many things in my head it's just a great big mess!!

Pauline,
Did Raeanne has jaundice too when she was young? My 3 kids all jaundiced, I think it's the blood incompatability. Try to nurse her more so she can expel the bilirubin through her urine. DD3 was admitted to hospital for phototherapy on day 5 and it was torturous for me as I had to deliver breastmilk to her daily (I refuse to give her any formula). But do note that breastfed babies will take a longer time to clear their jaundice. Hope she can be discharged soon.

For memorial sake, we took a pic of her.
3334306.jpg

Iso,
When I delivered DS2, DD1 stayed with my sister (she was the caregiver then) and DD3, I had my MIL looked after the elder ones. Lucky thing is MIL stays nearby so when I had my contractions in the middle of the night, we called her and she came within 20 mins. We did explain to the kids earlier that if they don't see us when they wake up in the morning, it means I've gone to the hospital to deliver their little sister. My kids came daily to see their little sister, and they didn't fuss when it's time to go back. On my part, I just make sure I behave "normal" and not show anxiety, say goodbye and off they went, happily with a gift from their little sister.

Personally, I don't think I can manage the whole labour process on my own. I'm not that strong. I told hb already - if he misses the birth process (as in the whole process, not just the moment of birth), he can consider this marriage and family OVER. So yes, he is expected to be by my side as I suffer through this.

As for DD1, I suppose MIL will bring her to see us the next morning and look after her while we deal with #2 in the hospital.

iso
i also dont think i could handle the whole labour process on my own. for me, hb stayed with me in the hosp while C was taken care by my parents. (anyway she was staying at my mom's during that period of time when i hit 3rd tri onwards). they brought C to hosp daily to c me.

i nv prepare any gifts for C from her didi (SO STUPID OF ME!), that's why it took her awhile to accept her baby brother.

Seems like the maid-MIL saga is not over. Came home to MIL who had more to say. Haiz. I'm so fan2 by this cos I'm due in 2 months, dun wanna change a maid but surely we can't be paying someone to give us attitude right?

Iso, yup, this epi experience much better so I didn't have to push so hard. Imagine I can get down and walk and pee on the first day and poo on second day (sorry to be so graphic). For no. 1, on 4th day when I discharged, I still couldn't sit and was discharged with ice packs to bring down the swelling. :p

Reena, yup, RaeAnne had jaundice too. Both my gals same blood group as me and they are full term but still has jaundice. I asked gynae before I delivered and she said chinese babies are prone to jaundice. :p

Bkkgal, I thought you are quite happy with your fili maid from froggies. By the way, my agent told me fili maids are always more emotional and act up close to Xmas. :p

Pauline,

She's good at her work - can cook, clean and look after K. Generally, we had no problems for the last 2 years but her term is up soon and MIL thinks her attitude slacking, getting worse. Maybe she thinks she's indispensable cos I'm going to deliver soon and her term is up so she acting like that.

bkkgal, have a talk with yr maid? N tell her no matter wat she has to respect yr mil. Otherwise 1m to search for a maid, 1m to train her. Just my 2cts.

Hi mummies, anyone interested to have swimmming classes at Simei area ? I called inspire baby and mum and the instructor doesnt mind starting a class on Sun mornings if there are 3 kids. So just need 2 more
Anyone intersted pm me ? The interestor is a lady names Lynda , very nice lady...thanks

Hello everyone!
long time no see.. been v busy n just came back from my trip on Tuesday.. x'mas round the corner.. no time no time..

hi pauline,
congrats!!

hi gar/bkk,
yr BP looks interesting.. n too many products to read! recommend something for me?

re: gathering
i luv to go.. but can only do 12 Dec.. i passed by Polliwogs before.. nice environment.. there're some sitting area for adults.. not sure if it's crowded.. anyway what time huh?

Join Christmas party,
12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
5. tute + hb + C
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. Lezy + hb + Ruth
8. Tongtong +hb + Shaun
10. eli + Carter

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
5. bx + hb + A
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. fairfield + skylar

we went cycling at East Coast yesterday and saw Polliwogs. It's where the Burger King is - which is after McD's area if you're coming from Fort Road/City.

was concentrate on our ride so didn't see much but looks interesting.

<font size="+1">Eh, if nobody's gonna make the call, I'm gonna be bold and say we'll fix on 12th?

Hi Celia,
Welcome! You are another night owl like me ;-) I realised the Feb moms here sleep very early and not very active at this late hour.

Hi, mummies

Help, help...Can I get some suggestions on buying christmas gifts online?

I plan to buy a scarf from coach, or burberry.

Shall I get SMH overseas spree? I didn't see burberry spree from SMH overseas spree.

Can we order it directly from coach website? I plan to buy it, then mail it to Australia.

Thankx!

kitsune
oh so your #1 was without any epi or drugs? actually just after the birth i was feeling quite good, thinking, wow this is easy! then the epi wore off and the pain set in, haha. but still q manageable, can do business by the 2nd day.

bkk, crystal
oh, birth process he must be there!! i just meant after that while staying in the hospital to recover, receiving guests, etc.

morning mummies..

wanted to get your opinion re aggressive behaviour.

I have always notice that C is an active child but recently the active behaviour translates to a more aggressive behaviour like pushing other kids or playing with them in an aggressive way (lezy has witnessed this). I think it's not because he intends to hurt them, but he just can't measure his own strength. He doesn't really hit or bite them, but he will push/shove the other kid when he is excited.

It only struck me today how bad it is, when one of my colleague told me that C is violent.. that's a very harsh word to use... and can't help but feel a bit offended as well (I know I shouldn't feel that, but just can't help it).. it also led me to think maybe i should get professional help... what do you think?

Btw, I've tried the following things :
- Removed him from situation when he push or acts violently towards another kid with a strong No
- Reasoned with him, I told him that when he push another child then the other child will feel hurt/pain... and that he/she will cry because of it..

Any other tips or anyone having a similar problem?

Thanks in advance !

tute
is there a context to the pushing? like, is he pushing the others so that he can get ahead to a teacher in a class? or is he playing with the other child then push them? could he be jealous or maybe not know how to relate to them?

my nephew is quite rough and although these days he pushes with his hands less, he will still use his body to "push" E away sometimes. but i think the dynamics there are q different cos nephew has always been jealous of E.

I can imagine you would feel offended! The other day my friend made a comment that E is "haywire" because he's v active. I was quite offended abt it for a few days!

tute,
read similar behavior in the book 'baby hearts'. it's like the kid still doesn't know what's the 'right' strength to use.
they recommend the use the method of showing the kid how to be gentle and keep reminding the kid to 'be gentle'.
e.g., when he walk towards someone to hug, remind him 'be gentle'.

that's roughly i remember. will go back and dig out the book and let you know.