(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Iso,
I'm also like that. Despite MIL is just staying a few blocks away, she doesn't help out much when DH is away. I used to be very angry but not anymore now, cos I tell myself, this is MY FAMILY, and if I don't take care of them, who will? I can't always rely on others to lend a helping hand so just have to grit my teeth and tong until DH comes back.

apparently not very good for our 'constitution' leh...esp for women. i also dunno why and etc. just dun eat lor - no need to piss the woman off. :p

Ester, congratulations!! At least you have made up ur mind, i am sure you can do it. It takes time to be good at it just like starting on a new job but gradually you will be able to do as well as reena and other sahms. Jia you!Will ur maid still be here to help you?

Re: constipation
Qingling.. paiseh cant help much.. gwen is a poo poo ger.. she used to poo 4-5 times a day.. now still shit 3 times a day.

Bkkgal.. the probiotics need not be taken for constipation right? can just take for health purpose?

Re: Delmonte

Lezy.. thats what my mum told me also.. my aunt they all sell fruits and we hardly buy delmonte home to eat..She also warn me everytime i preggie not to eat delmonte.. too cold for the body.

tt..There are actually other varieties that are better.. not liang.. i always buy "pang jiao" for gwen cause its small and sweet.. she likes it..usually it comes in abt8-10 in bunch.. Another option is 'ang ba jiao'.. i like it cause its not as marshy as "pang jiao" more suitable for adults..

Iso.. only 4 more months?? thats fast.. dun worry in between got christmas plus new year plus chinese new year... time will fly!!

Re: Ho chi Ming
Sian...I will be going HCM for the 2nd time this wed.. anyone got any recommendations on food, massage, shopping?
Previously i went when preggie with gwen and now history repeats again.. will not be going to any tourist attractions cause been there already.. Anything to buy other than handicrafts and paintings?

i made the horrible mistake of wearing pantyhose with a dress to work today. horrid static cling all day long. even rubbing moisturizer (from some websites) dun work.

got a wedding dinner tonight. dun tell me really have to go buy a slip later. i never wear slips one...sigh.

jeannie
thanks, i planning to stop work after good friday, making use of MC and leave, since bb can always arrive early. actually i just damn sian of work so i want to "leave" asap!!

HCMC, if u go with gwen again, u won't be able to go for massage? they have some pretty nice spas there, and q reasonably priced. got one with a french name which i always wanted to try but never had time.
shopping, i love to go to the Ben Tanh market at night to buy those Nike and Adidas shirts which are pretty good quality, only about S$5 for t-shirt, S$6.50 if got collar but last time i was also preggers with E, now dunno if the price has increased.

iso,

yeah! i agree. we hv the responsiblity towards our kids. frm the way i see my bb sitter tk care & teach Cayenne, i reali thanks her frm the bottom of my heart. cos it is not a must tat she teach my gal. but she reali mk an effort which i'm very grateful 2 her. though my maid tk care of Cayden nw, I cant expect her 2 teach my boy. my maid 2 young. so tis is one of the main factors 4 me 2 be a SAHM.

4 mths 2 go. very fast esp wif festive seasons approaching. jz a glimpse, u probably will drop by the forum 2 inform u deliver! haha...

reena,

i like ur words "Don't speak too soon, you never know"! last time i talk 2 fast. i kept telling pple i'm not gg 2 be a SAHM, will go crazy facing my kids man. but looks like i'm eating back my words. haha.. ;p

genice,

ya will keep the maid. tot of not having one. but hb say keep 2 help me. but am hoping 2 do so without one.

re : del monte bananas.

the fruit seller told me not suitable 4 kids. reason being the same 4 preggy women. 2 liang.

lezy
yikes!! i get that with certain material even if i'm not wearing panty hose! i read that you can try spraying hair spray on the inside of your dress.. but i think if got panty hose, q jiat lat, not easy to "fix"

iso.. do u know where the spas are located? i am going with hubby and colleagues.. gwen not going.
i need to pamper myself...

Ben Tahn mkt..i remember going there.. and we bought vietnamese coffee ..quite a cool place.. misture of food stalls, groceries and a lot of handicraft stuffs..

T-shirts? Haha.. i not a T-shirt person maybe my hubby .. cna get some addidas tops..

iso..i ended up googling about this stupid pantyhose static cling. It's cuz of dry climate (like office airconditioning) that's why moisturizers, spraying stuff helps.

i already put moisturizer..but i think only lasted for like....10 minutes. i can't be running to toilet to apply moisturizer mah!!!

*faint*

lezy.. can take off pantyhose first? before wedding than wear?Erm.. i dunno whther its a stupid qn.. cause i never own a pantyhose all my life..

ql, how about giving paul's or the greek yogurt? I gave alex these mixed with fruits or baby yoplait.

Reena, i have came to terms to being a sahm ONLY last week after i watched the oprah show of this lady who had severe burns after plane crash n was in a coma but chose to fight to stay alive to take care of her 4 kids. Every small task is ardous n painful to her but she's thankful to be taking care of them.. I cried after watching it... So gonna try harder for my son.

reena,
hmm... you're right... maybe i should not say too fast.. :p never know what will happen in future

re: SAHM,
actually i recently come across more SAHM... more friends quit their job to become SAHM and i made some friends with more SAHM... meeting them do give a different perspective...

esther,
good for you! i think you should stay positive, don't look back and just persevere

Free music trial @ Staccato, Horse City, 19 Dec, Saturday, 10am.
Anyone keen? They will start the trial class once we have 8 kids

1. gwen/genice
2. Shawn/Stephie
3. Ethan/isobellies
4. Channet/Bluegin

I cant make it on 19th ! But i can still help to register for you all. i'm going this saturday.

Genice, Stephie, Iso and Bluegin, the class is either 9.30 or 10.30. which one you all prefer?

Genice, Stephie, Iso and Bluegin, please provide the following details:

parent's name, toddler's name, age, contact number and email.

is 10.30am class ok?

tongtong
1030!
but only 4 of us they can still arrange for the class?

jeannie
hmm tomm i try to google for u to see if i can recall..

clover,
You talking about nienie right? I'm reading her blog now
She is one amazing mother and I must say after reading her blog, I've learnt to take things more relax as we don't know what lies ahead..

Delmonte bananas
If I'm not mistaken, those banana splits we eat outside are using delmonte bananas. I was warned by my mom not to eat that during preg. I used to love delmonte bananas!

Esther,
Jia you! Don't worry too much since you have a maid. If I can do it, so can you ;-)

reena,

thanks 4 ur encouragement.

but am really HOPING 1 day tat i can do without a maid. maid wif me 4 abt 5mths liao, seems like she is adapting 2 my family and surrounding quite well, frm the way i observe.

it's ME who cant adapt having a maid! i tink i need more time than her 2 adjust.. haha...

can i hv ur blog link 2 mine so tat i can read and get inspiration from u? hee...

gd morning mummies !

I remembered some time ago one (or some) mummies were discussing abt their trip to tokyo and you stayed in serviced apartment. may i know the name of the serviced apt ?

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Mummies,
Is this the latest Christmas Gathering List?

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
4. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
5. tute + hb + C
6. bx + hb + A (can only make it in the aft and eve)
7. vinegal + hb + julian
8. fairfield + skylar
9. Lezy + hb + Ruth

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. tongtong + hb + S
3. Bkk + hb + K
5. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
6. bx + hb + A
7. vinegal + hb + julian
8. fairfield + skylar
9. artemissoh + hb + Danica + maid
</font></font>

It seems that both dates are equally matched with my inclusion.

DAY:
So how to decide which day to have it on?

TIMING:
- I'm thinking about 4pm?
(Reason being some who wanna swim, sun not too hot. We can also order dinner buffet at the same time - more economical than hi-tea.
Also, i think most of the babies should be awake from their naps and all ready to go!)

VENUE:
- To minimize costs, can anyone book a condo function room? I'll try to see if I can ask my hubby's cousin. Anyone else can just give a holler?

FOOD:
- as suggested above, cater.

Games/Toys/Gift Exchange/Door Gift:
- I'll get a quote on toy rental and update you guys.
- I was thinking if a door gift would be more appropriate than gift exchange? A simple one would do? <font color="ff0000">BUT...i also thought the focus should be the gathering and playtime etc. At this stage, I think the tots dun really fancy presents yet - there will be a lot of gift-giving when they are older anyway. Thoughts??</font>.

Any other input???

12th Dec has more votes now. I cant make it on 19th.

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
5. tute + hb + C
6. bx + hb + A (can only make it in the aft and eve)
7. vinegal + hb + julian
8. fairfield + skylar
9. Lezy + hb + Ruth
10. Tongtong +hb + Shaun

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
4. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
5. bx + hb + A
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. fairfield + skylar
8. artemissoh + hb + Danica + maid

xmas gathering: lezy, i agree wiht ur timing 4pm. gift exchange wise, not so important, you are right la, gathering and let the kids have fun are more important.

actually my REAL reason for asking to abandon the gift exchange is...
- it's really hard to set a 'budget' (your "cheap" may be $20, which may be my "expensive")
- hard to buy something meaningful for the kiddos since diff kids like diff types of toys.
- may get duplicated toys (meaning eg RUth already has a particular doll and gets the same doll - WHAT do to with it?!)
- inappropriate toys (Boys getting dolls? etc)
- If we were to pre-draw, then mummies also have to go to the trouble to find out like..."eh, what toy your kid have already ah/would like to have?"
- mostly will be 1 family bring 1 gift. Then those with >1 cannot have >1 gift?
- Those with > 1 kid, if only the younger ones get, then sure red-eye one!!!

--> I can only think if really want gift exchange, all those attending have a "WISHLIST" for their kid within a set budget (eg $10/$15). Then we do a pre-draw and if u get Child X, you'll go buy that particular gift for him/her.

(But that still doesn't solve for families with more than 1 kid - not arrowing anyone ah...just trying to have a 'policy' that suits everyone

But that's really mafan too right?

also, i think dinner buffet will probably be around $10, toy rental perhaps another $10 depending on the quote (but i'll try to stick to a particular budget unless we have sponsors! LOL!)

For splitting of cost, my proposal:

FOOD: EQUAL SHARE BETWEEN No. Of "bigheads" aka ADULTS. (Maids included)

TOYS: EQUAL SHARE BETWEEN No. of "small heads" aka CHILDREN.(divided by the number of children attending)

What do you think?

lezy, ok to scrap the idea of gift exchange.
ok to equal share of toy rental.
as for food, i think there tend to be wastage and there are still lots of cleaning up to do after that? Maybe we just have some refreshment like fruits ( so that the kids can eat too) and drinks since it's 4pm. and after that we all settle our dinner ourselves. as i dont think we will gather for > 2 hours?

hi mummies - am tasked to look for a temp for myself while i am on maternity leave next year, thus if you have any friends interested for a temp job (starting Feb, end September (negotiable), please let me know
PM me for more details on my job scope - hee, i am a product engineer in btw,so hoping to have someone of relevance technical knowledge if possible

lezy,
toys rental can be quite ex if we rent big toys... i rented for C's bday party last time and it was $80 for 1 slide, 1 rocker, 1 activity table and 3 small toys...

if i can come, i don't mind bringing the slides + rocker as I have one at home, then we can just rent the smaller toys (those that can easily get lost one if we bring it ourselves)

took my name out from 12 dec as i juz cfm i got something on that day.

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
5. tute + hb + C
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. fairfield + skylar
8. Lezy + hb + Ruth
9. Tongtong +hb + Shaun

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
4. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
5. bx + hb + A
6. vinegal + hb + julian
7. fairfield + skylar
8. artemissoh + hb + Danica + maid

lezy,
can still borrow smaller toys but those without the small little balls or shapes etc... can borrow the laptop type etc... coz bigger toys will be more ex... but can try to get quotes from different toy rental. i usually rent from rent-that-toy

hmmm... so conclusion do we have it on 12th or 19th? if 12th it's just 1 wk away...

I was hoping for a place with abit of water feature. But Vivo is out cuz it's madhouse on weekends...much less a Christmassy December weekend.

Then it'll be more towards an informal gathering or sorts? I even thought of erm, Mcdonald's or KFC or u get the drift lah. hahahaha.

Actually if it's like 4-5pm, parks may be nice - but I'd suggest maybe :

Botanic - centrally located. nice grass.
West Coast - a lot of sandy playgrounds - but ruth hates sand. hahaha. but we're fine.
Labrador - it's quite nice and by the sea. But nothing much to keep them entertained.
Marina Square-Millenia Walk - the Level 2 walkway BETWEEN MS and MW - with entrance to KOUFU foodcourt (MW). I brought RUth there and got quite a big space. It's windy, shady and spacious. If we meet after 5pm, parking at MS is per entry i think. (Con..there is a playground that is THERE< but locked up as it belongs to the childcare centre. May drive the kids crazy to see playground they cannot go to)
Marina Barrage - also open space - but very isolated. Hard for ppl without car to get to. And the cafe is near dead. Need to travel out for 'basic needs'.

Activities:
We can try to plan some activities to get them happy. Some suggestions:

- Bubbles - all kids love bubbles
- Balls - i have 1 rubber ball, 1 half-deflated beach volleyball.

If we meet in such place, probably very short gathering. Any other suggestions?

tong! U NOT HELPING!!!! LOL!

i'm on half day leave today so erm...wil try to reply later lah.

meanwhile can we decide on the day and location? Any input/preference anybody?

dor , seems like Marina Square-Millenia Walk is the only indoor place.

Vote:
Marina Square-Millenia Walk - tongtong ( 5 pm is good! can pay parking per entry. )