(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tute,
need your address =) pls PM me!

wah, ok the class is definitely out for me. but i may pop by to kaypoh and find out more. unless hb wants to participate, otherwise also a bit tough

Sweetpea,

heh. same here lor.

but nowadays i keep trying to tell myself - that i actually love and am consoled to see her all active and with a love for discovery...just that certain things are just plain inconvenient to me.

Books write very easy ah - whatever we dun want them to touch, just put it out of reach/sight. But so many things in the house we also forbid but need to have around.....sigh.

gar,
just replied your mail...
and pm you as well coz sth wrong with my connection :p

lezy,
ya.. i do worry about C when i see her not as active as others.
worry that she's not adventurous enough, worry that she will be too easy to be contented.. etc.
aiyah. being a mother, we have so many things to worry about.

Thanks, Dor/Gar. Sorry for the confusion. :p

XY, hehe, I lazy lar, head office is at Serangoon or something. The sales head stays at Simei condo so she will usually pass the goods to me at my previous office or my home. :p

cheryl,
what happen to vernon?
see doc already?
btw, when vernon is sick, you take leave to take care of him? what's the childcare arrangement?

Sorry to hear so many tots falling ill. Is it the weather?

XY, yeah spent the weekend + Mon-Tues. Coming back tonight. Making use of my last free internet hour. hehe.

Stephie, the current deal is 2000HKD per night. 3 nights for 4000HKD, about S$260+ per night.

Btw, we observed that not many HongKongers bring their kids out to the city. Maybe cos so child unfriendly? My HK fren said cos they scared of germs in public places. When HKers get into the lift, nobody wants to press the lift buttons.

HK Disney - Free admission for under 3y.o. so wanna bring, better bring before 2011. hehe.

Tute, start "training" C to eat more solids. But like XY says, stay at motels or serviced aptments that allow cooking facilities. That way, you can travel and make sure his food needs are taken care of.

For us, we found that travelling immediately after the post-weaning period is the worst - everything also cannot eat - need to pack cereal, porridge etc. Best time is either when they are fully breast feeding (just whip out the boobs!) or fully into table food.

I just saw a family with 3 kids in the hotel - 1 nb, 1 tot, 1 seven year old. The mother damn zhai - brought the 2 older ones swimming and left the nb in the pram to sleep, while the father went for mtg. *clap hands*

XY: yah loh if they active, we worry, not active worry. they don;t eat, we worry, they eat too much, we also worry...endless worries.....

bkk: my fren is currently in HK with her 2 mth old (to accompany her hubby there for work), she also makes the same observation that HKers hardly brought kids/babies out and when pple they see them carrying their baby in the baby bjorn, machiam a bit like seeing alien.

Bkkgal, I think Hkers wear mask in the MTR too right? How does Disneyland know that our kid is below 3 yo? Show passport to verify? Is the family you mentioned angmo ?

So many tots sick. My boy also has not recovered from his runny nose since last Wed. Still stuffed up and runny. Even myself. Looks like its a tough bug.

Pauline - PD also prescribed Augmentin. We tell my boy that is "ice-cream" ahahah. So far he has not much probs with taking it.

Lezy..yah that what I tell myself also. I do wish he can be a lot more quiet at times..and the times he's quiet is when he's watching DVDs. But I dun like him to watch too much TV, yet sometimes just very tempted to place him in front of the black box for some peace and rest. Its a struggle.

Yah Xioyun,..being a mom I think I have a lot more white hair now with all the worries and thinking going on.

xiaoyun
think carlton hotel has got durian buffet too.

i like tupperware containers too. i've a water bottle (those with just a lid to cover the mug). won't leak at all. when i was young, bought so many different type of 'tupperware' and always leaked. the real tupperware is really good. containers are airtight too. agree, it's very ex. so far, those tupperwares i have are either gifts or redeemed using link points. keke :p

nowadays easier to buy cos sometimes can see pushcart selling tupperware. otherwise, lots of pple are now tupperware sellers.

sweatpea
for gynae visits, i go on Sats, so no need to take leave/time off too. only took mc once when gynae wanted me to go on a wed for check up when i was about to be due.

apple
ya, went on package tour for my Japan tour. i wanna go F&E but hubby not keen cos we got:

1) 2 kids
2) 2 luggages
3) 2 strollers

to handle. thankfully there's lots of help from the tour mates - help push/carry stroller, help carry shawn, help carry luggage, etc.

tute
thanks for your words, encouraged me to continue taking my kids for hols though it's tough to handle 2 active kids.

my fren brought along travel cooker when she went hols with her gal. even asked me if i wanna borrow from her for my trips.

otherwise stay at those apartments where there's kitchnette.

bkkgal
if i use the current exchange rate of 5.58, works out to be about $239 per nite. given the perks you enjoy, seems quite worthwhile. only fear that i will be torn btw going out and staying in the hotel :p

stephie: two strollers! one stroller already struggling

tongtong : u order donsbread? How come their web never show their bread with fillings one?

apple
hehe..no choice else jie jie will snatch the stroller from di di.

btw, my kids were soooooo tired after they came back from the trip. we arrived home at 2am on Sun and they slept till 9am. then they took a nap (i thought so) at 5pm+ till next day (Mon) 9am. longest sleep ever.

goodbbb
for shawn, paid only the airfare (since considered as infant), for kids 2 years old and above, pay child rates which is about few hundreds $ less than adult's price (depending on destination).

stephie,
seems the durian buffet at carlton only available in July too.
not durian season, difficult to find durian.

anyway, last time who recommend good place for dim sum?

stephie,
you follow group tour? won't it be very tiring for the kids. how do you handle when they are cranky?
normally group tour will be out whole day (early in the morning till late nights), right?

xiaoyun
yup, group tour. usually reach hotel at 8pm, leave hotel at 8am. tiring that's why the kids were cranky loh. thus made my hubby (and i) 'mad'. partly our fault for their lack of sleep. cos i usu sleep late (be in at home or on holiday), busy packing luggage and getting ready their clothes for next day. so with the lights on, they don't want to sleep and wanted to play. somemore i like to go out jalan jalan after reaching the hotel. since my mum didn't go, we brought kids along and so they slept late :p

xiaoyun
if we are on the streeet, usually carry them when they are cranky, coax them, if still don't listen, put them on stroller and ignore them. if on the coach, a bit more tricky. hmm..can't recall what we did. most of the time for shawn is let him have milk and pat him to sleep. or talk/carry him.

Tour:
i prefer free-n-easy. Just that a lot of upfront planning before the trip to research transportation, places of interest (opening hours; admission charges etc), makan places, accom etc.

But once there, at least we're on our own schedule and can rest whenever we want to.

BUT...
one of my friends say with older kids, have tour group is also good cuz can make use of the group to enforce rules/timing etc.

But our kids so young, free n easy less stressful for me cuz Ruth can be quite insistent on what she wants - stay longer at a place etc.

And since we have been so indulgent with her and allowed her all these flexibility of time/movement to explore, i guess cannot restrict her all of a sudden.

When i went Melbourne in June, it was really relaxed - except for the long driving days which she fortunately slept mostly in the car - maybe cuz very cold. hehehe.

lezy
i like F&E too if we have more helping hands and the place is good for self drive. else carrying the barang barang can kill if ratio of adult to kid is 1:1.

we went f&e in perth 2 years ago with my gal and hubby's family. much much more relaxing then cos only 1 kid and had got many pair of hands to help.

Stephie,
8-8 is damn shiong for kids leh. But got 2 strollers, and got coach to rest in maybe quite good also? But how about their nap times?

I never thought of tour group cuz we cannot tahan hop-on-hop-off and see places of interest. heh. plus i like flexiility of going back to hotel/hostel/apartment anytime i want/ruth wants.

Apple, oh you know donsbread? Yea I think don is lousy in doing up his website leh. I couldn’t find the ones with fillings too. But I already know what fillings they have so I just ordered lor. are you interested? I’m ordering again this weekend, if you want u can tumpang my order then we meet up for the books and crayola. Eh the crayola, cant collect yet?

Stephie, did you spend lots of time taking care of the kids instead of enjoying yourself? I might be going to aus next autumn but I guess it’s alright to bring him along since he likes kai kai and got relatives to help look after him.

lezy
they don't have fixed nap times. they sleep as and when they like.

i'm those who don't like to go back to hotel after going out. feel that it's a waste of time :p only time hubby went back when we were in HK was to put our shopping bags while my mum, girl and me continue shopping.

i agree F&E can be very relaxing. however, i will make everyone tired if we go on F&E. since i'm the one who plan the itinerary, we usually go out quite early and reach hotel late :p

tongtong
50-50 i think. definitely not just about taking care of them during the trip, i still had my shopping, took pictures, rest & relax when they were sleeping. just that we shopped/explored a little less than the rest which i didn't mind at all. this is the tradeoff i'm willing to accept. i can always go back to the place for explore more in future.

for your case, since only 1 kid and have relatives to help out, sure no problem. actually, this is the first trip (after the previous trips we had) that we felt the challenge.

Stephie
I just used HKD5:S$1 to calculate, easier. But you are right, the rate abt 5.52 now. Very worth it! Becos I'm preggy and not keen to stay out too long, we tended to spend more time in the hotel. Go out after breakfast, have lunch, come back to rest and then dinner out again. Plus club floor always have tea, cocktails, night cap, sweets - food all day.

The family I saw angmo. Rarely see Asians travelling with 2 or more kids.

I only see more HK kids outside the city. In the suburb area, there are playgrounds, open spaces for them to run.

2 strollers! 2 luggages! my goodness. peifu! I think 2 luggages won't be enuff for me :p

Agree with Lezy, F&E is much easier for us, cos I can't imagine holding up a whole bus of people if K needs to go poo poo! hehe. Our trip to Melbourne this Sep was a breeze cos my ILs came along. Every night, MIL cook dinner, I just take care of K's bath, sleep, milk. She will help me feed her. Even sleep, they want to sleep with K which my hb happily agreed to! ratio of adults to kid 4:1 very good! hehe.

tongtong : Last time arcade got sell but i never eat before. My colleague say its nice. But their bread last 3 days only right and u buy so much at one go? What fillings they have? Crayola she is sending to me this Thursday liao.

bkkgal
wow, you enjoying life in HK. definitely worth the stay since you prefer to stay in the hotel more than going out.

ya, 2 luggages not enuf, i came back with 3 check in luggages, and 1 hand carry.

sama sama, my previous perth trip also a breeze since there are 8 adults to 3 kids (1 mine, 2 from my bro-in-law). so, ratio of adults to kids is an impt factor to consider when traveling on F&E.

my japn tour mates and guide help out here and there so eased us of some burden

bkk...that's if all the adults get along and can see eye-to-eye.

my hub didn't get along with my mum very well on the trip. sigh. think he will never want to go on tour with my parents again.

I think stephie's kids are very 'well-trained'. hehe. my ruth is princess lor. everyone adhere to her timing.

So far her nap times quite regular...usually after lunch have to sleep at least 1-2 hours. If outside and sleep in pram normally is shorter lor - but at least an hour for her to be rested.

Just last sunday after church we went great world city walk walk (that was about 10.30am) and by 11+ after her lunch (we fed her jap food at food court), she start to rub eyes and her eyelids like abit heavy liao.

I faster finish feeding her, give her water then carried her out and within 5 min she fell asleep. Then we put her in pram and let her sleep while we walk around. about 1.5hrs later she woke up. If at home and it's conducive, she can sleep for 2.5-3hours nowadays.

But that's also cuz she wakes up 6+am or 7+am nowadays!!!

actually i prefer running around too. before ruth, usually we tour is sibei piah one. from morning piah until night.

but since ruth came along, everything nice n easy liao lor. Cuz we both not very shopaholic type - so shopping doesn't quite cut it for us. We prefer outdoors, nature and see see culture. Dun mind abit of shopping too to just buy some souvenirs and etc..but i find that nowadays i dun really buy stuff for myself much - not that i dun like but i getting more n more fussy leh, hard to find things that appeal to me!

Think for Melbourne, we really enjoyed all the parks and playgrounds a lot...if only it wasn't so cold when we went. heh.

and i think with a kid, it's easier for adult to 'adjust' to kid's interest than vice versa. we thought of bringin gher to HK...but also dun find it very conducive and convenient. I wouldn't want to bring her to TST or Kowloon or Causeway Bay!!!

Apple, yea, the shop at archade closed down already so I called him for delivery. Yeah the bread are baked fresh without preservative, so can only keep for 3 days. Preferably keep in the fridge. I ordered 9 buns last week, Shaun ate 1 banana walnut on that day, I kept a few in fridge and the rest in freezer. I intend to finish the rest from the freezer these 2 days la.

sweetpea
aiyo your boy so cute, want to walk with eyes closed. on the bright side you have to be pretty confident to do something like that?? heh.

kitsune
the tupperware link u sent doesn't seem to be working, is it the system or maybe the link isn't "right"?

tute
our last 2 holidays with E we went to club med (they were having 1 for 1 plus free or almost nothing to pay for him) so all meals are buffet and easy to choose what to feed him! but then also he is not picky with food lah.

tongtong,
Yes, those pear dessert and apple soup really work! After 1 week of eating, I hear lesser cough and phlegm. Going to give one more course tomorrow and I think the cough should go away

Travelling with young toddlers,
HK is nice but I think not very suitable for young children. My vote is still ANZ. We brought DD1 to Perth when she was 2 and then to Melbourne when she was 4 and DD2 was 2, preg with DD3 then. Very relaxing trip since we self-drove and no jam-packed itinerary. Would love to go there again but with 3 in tow, it's tough. Probably next year but thinking of Asian countries instead as we've been going to Australia almost every year since 1997...

Bottle Tree Park,
Anyone been there? We went there once and the kids love it, big playground and even have "swan" ride.

Pauline,
Hope Raeanne is feeling better today.

Lezy,
It's good to have designated play area. My house, everywhere is playground :-( And they love to play catching or hide-and-seek, really driving me up the wall! But good thing she has 2 playmates at home, having said that, it's also a bad thing cos she picks up all the bad habits from them....

tute,
My mom cooks well but doesn't bake. My eldest sis can cook and bake very well. Both of them don't need to see recipe can whip out yummy food. Because of my age gap, I was often shoo-ed out of the kitchen when I was young, thus I grew up not knowing how to cook/bake. During school days, I was in technical stream and know nuts about sewing/cooking/baking. I only started to be more active in the kitchen 2 years ago. I'm still learning along the way but I'm glad my family is accommodative towards me
I wish, like what you say, they will appreciate me when they grow up

About your qn on food for toddlers while travelling, I think it boils down to how many kids you have :p When we only had dd1, I prepare cooked food and bring out, or we'll settle her meals before going out. But with more kids, my "rules" tend to relax... DD3 started eating out at 9 months :p I give mainly soupy stuff, easier to feed. Back home, she started eating table food then too so it's no problem for us when we eat out.

XY,
If the temp of your fridge is too cold, it can "kill" your veggies too.

Stephie,
Kudos to you for taking tour package with 2 toddlers. Usually for guided tours, you need to wake up early and end the day late. And with kids, the timing is always so unpredictable. Just like today, supposed to have teacher meet parent session at 4pm, when we about the leave the house, DD3 poo-ed and I need to clean her up. But she was running around the house playing with her gor gor and jie jie. Faint...

Lezy,
Like you, we prefer F&E tour, esp when travelling with young children. Own time own target, so much easier. Also, tour group not just visit places of interest, some will spend like 1 whole day in souvenior shops! Faint! When we travelled before having kids, we did lots of tracking/hiking but with kids, everything change. We can spend 1/2 day "rotting" at the beach hahaha!! DH always say our holiday with kids are so boring but I kinda enjoy it since it's so relaxing. When we travel we kids, I realise we spend a lot of time in supermarkets as I need to prepare meals (breakfast and dinner).

bkkgal,
I was out with my 3 kids at the airport on Sunday night to fetch DH. You are right not it's not a common sight to see locals/Asians with 2 or more kids as many pple were staring at us and looking out for my DH.

apple,
You can keep freshly bought bread in the freezer. Don't wait till you cannot finish then keep hor... keep on the day you bought it, the bread will still stay soft after several days.

Reena, sigh, she was running fever of 39.5 just now. She fell asleep at 11pm after a lot of fussing but woke up coughing with a lot of phelgm in her mouth and she doesn't know how to spit it out. :p

This afternoon, FIL decided that Neurofen was too strong and only gave her half a dosage when her fever hit 39.2. I was there and wondering why 1.5 hours after Neurofen, her temp still high at 38.9 deg. When I found out the truth, he still keeps telling me, let her sleep and sweat it out, she'll be fine. Can never agree with them about feeding medicine. He'll either give med late or cut dosage on their own. They have phobia of medicine and think that western med is too strong. Don't let me to sponge her either cos said I'll wake her up. Duh...

Anyway, hubby is on childcare leave again tomorrow so we'll keep her at home. Her appetite is so poor anyway that it should not matter that I don't have any fresh produce at home to cook rice with dishes. :p

By the way, for the pear and apple soup, is it the prepacked type that you buy from Hock Hwa. I remember got nan xing, bei xing and need to add 1 pear. Boil the soup from 3 bowls into 1 bowl. How much can kiddos drink at one time? I cooked for myself to drink before but not for RaeAnne. Also, how soon after taking western med before they can take the pear soup? ;P

Iso, that's strange. I clicked on the url and it works leh. Anyway, I 'stole' the pix, maybe it'll be clearer now.

3258999.jpg

stephie,
wa.. really got to kudos to u! 2 strollers!
actually, after reading bkkgal's post, am thinking whether to go with the daytripper.but then the thought of having to sling gervaise most of the time, will die of shoulder pain.
now that we have not gone for the trip, hb already telling me that he forsee that we gg to have a hard time carrying gervaise in TST/kowloon... keeping my finger crossed
like you, i am someone who hates to come back to hotel after going out... i love to piang n chiong in my holiday... hb buay tahan me.... everytime got to remind me that we r suppose to relax

Taiwan
juz confirmed going to taiwan on 05 dec. without my girl. anyone got recommendation of what to buy there? i know clothing is out as they are selling winter clothes now.

re: tour
stephie,
12 hrs outside. wa..
my ILs planning to join tour group next CNY, we decided not to go and i don't think i have the capability to handle a cranky toddler outside. i think i will be cranky then.
opposite of you, i like tour that's OTOT. the only 2 tour groups i joined were the primary 6 and secondary school graduation trips.
for the previos trips, we spent 1 whole week in tokyo/taipei city. morning go out find breakfast, then visit some tourist attractions. after that some shoppings and klkk in the street. for the last 1-2 days, go back to the places we would like to visit one more time. :p

iso,
i love club med. been there once. it's a no-brain trip - no planning needed. just bring the clothes and enjoy!!
but expensive leh.

bx,
taiwan ah. get the titbits loh.
in fact, just go there and enjoy the bubble tea, chicken cutlet, fried mushrooms, etc. I nearly ate it everyday!
if really want to buy, maybe those sheet mask, e.g., My Beauty Diary. They are much cheaper than what's sold in Singapore.
shoes are not bad too.

reena,
i was thinking it's the arrangement of my things in the fridge caused it to be too cold.
must be something block the air ventilisation uniy and end up fridge thought that need to make it colder.
will rearrange my fridge this weekend.

pauline,
hope raeanne's fever is ok today.

reena: Thanks but i don;t have a toaster/microwave at home to defrost (sounds like I am in the primitive time)

Bottle tree: I stay near there. Weekends always a lot of families there with children catching fish etc. What is this *swan ride*?

Dorothy: siong.........cos gervaise quite big built

Bx: I think taiwan nothing much to buy leh, mainly to eat there (for me lah) Probably things like cosmetics that SG don't have.

Reena, yea the soup is good, hehe. what pear did you use? Oh yea, I stay opposite Bottle tree park!

Pauline, do you think R's fever is due to roseola? If yes, her fever will break on 3rd or 4th day and there will be rashes outbreak. Last time Shaun had Roseola, I din give medicine though. For clearing phlegm, got to use chuan bei mu or better ones like song bei. You can let Raeanne drink half bowl ba? Not sure how soon after taking western medicine though. If the western med doesn’t help her cough, then don’t give liao, try this soup.

Dor, wah you really pea and chiong hor! Shopping and eating right, especially in HK!! I’m sure your kids will enjoy Disneyland!!

Bx, my sis just came back from Taiwan. She enjoyed it a lot. And she said the shoes there are damn cheap. She bought quite a lot back!

XY, carrie is so guai, don’t think you cant handle eventhough she becomes cranky wor.