(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi...

holiday
sighs...gone are the type of holiday where we can explore randomly and end off the night with drinks at pub and to sight see at whatever time we wake the next day.. :p

thanks for all your thoughts and tips, think i need to work up the courage to take the (holiday) trip. cos once already there, we can't possibily cut short the trip and take the next plane back just becos we can't handle kid?...must tahan until the end.

diana
LOL. am now having macaroni soup for lunch. *yums* last week i had sui-gao noodles and wanton too, after all that talking about wanton noodles

tongtong
ok i try!!

gar,
me signing up for 4 classes only till year end coz next year i'm signing up C to pat's schoolhouse bookclub... but that's in the morning so if C enjoys the positive thoughts may consider extending... but then my sat will be burnt away with classes in the morning and afternoon... heheh...

Thank you, everyone for your well wishes.
Both Shenon and me are fine. Was discharge on sat as the recovery is very good. But channet is down with high fever of 40.2 deg C with diarrhea over the weekend. So have to take care of her as well, as she only want Mummy to sleep with her. As a result, still very tired. Now, she is still not so gd, but under good care from at PIL's side. I cannot take care of her alone without my hubby. very tiring.
BTW have engorgement sometimes cannot even sleep and it is more painful than the c-sect wound. any idea how to relieve?

BTW, anyone have any link to choose name in cantonese dialect group in English pronunciation. For instance, Cantonese 琪 is spelled as Kei in english.

Clover,
Ya. Shenon is still not at her full-term yet. Cannot imagine what is her weight when reached full term Luckily. I was blurr blurr when I'm out of the OT. When my hb told me Shenon weighs 3.4kg. I was like wow. luckily I have a c-sect.

re xmas gathering,
onz! but can only make it at 17th as Shenon full month on 12th Dec.

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
4. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
5. tute + hb + C

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. tongtong + hb + S
3. Bkk + hb + K
5. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon

I better grab some sleep while shenon is sleeping.

bluegine, take care. Hope C recover soon. Pls post pix of yr darling when u can. I wun be surprised if she can turn her head within 1,2 wk.

tong, u very high standard to use cloth to wrap up yr veg. => btw, my pelangi books are in excellent conditions.

Storage of veg
I always try to finish my vege within 2,3days so never occur to me to use lock n lock to store it, but i think it's a great idea!

re xmas gathering,

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
5. tute + hb + C
6. bx + hb + A (can only make it in the aft and eve)

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. tongtong + hb + S
3. Bkk + hb + K
5. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
6. bx + hb + A

clover, eh, not high standard la, i just use normal cloth to wrap, if not the veg will turn soft in a week. i did that for the nanny because i prepare the veg for the nanny for 5 days. and i can only do marketing during weekend. so that's the only choice to preserve freshness lor.

Pauline,
My 2 younger ones were down w phlegmy cough too since late Oct. Brought to see doc twice, given antibiotics but still having cough. I've just switched to giving TCM soup based eg double-boil pear and apple soup. Seems to be working well.

blueginger,
You have delivered? Wow! Congrats and take care!

blueging
wow sounds shack. jia you!! if you think you're going mad, just come into forum, we'll help to keep you sane

reena
your tcm soup got any herbs?

Yes, I added chuan bei (bought the better grade ones) for the pear dessert, apple soup + dried figs + chinese almonds. Giving them on alternate days since last week.

actually i m tempting to help vernon oversea lols. just done his passport. hb suggest bring him to KL 1st lolx... planning to go next jan or feb

greetings from HK!

Langham Place is really really nice, very high-tech place, full of surprises, like an art hotel. Thanks for the recommendation! Btw, there's a 2 nights + 1 free night promo at the moment. I got the promo for club floor privileges, free internet access, breakfast included. Club Floor also comes with afternoon tea, cocktails, dessert and canapes through the day. No need to go out of the hotel at all man! Room has 90 degrees pano view, mini pantry with microwave oven(!), fridge, kettle, printer, DVD player, iPod player etc.

Weather is rainy, cloudy, cold. I was totally unprepared for it. Had to buy a pregg cardigan to keep warm.

HK for kids?
It's not stroller friendly. If you go shopping, forget the pram. Eating-wise, unless u go to established restaurants, I don't see high chairs at most places. We love to eat at hole-in-the-wall places, those cha chan teng, but no high chairs leh.

HK Disneyland - I think there's height restriction on all rides, so may not be "worth" it to go. (Lezy, I think Ruth no prob - she's so tall! the thing is whether she dares to sit the rides or not)

NOah's Ark - there's a life-sized Noah's Ark near the HK Disneyland where the story of Noah is told through huge life sized animal figurines. There's a restaurant and hotel inside the Ark inside. My HK fren says it's nice to spend a day there.

Outlet shopping - near the HK Disney/Noah's Ark area - huge mall with outlets, Mango, Addidas, Calbin Klein, Kate Spade, Nine West, Puma, Chickeeduck, etc etc.

piglettail
Imo, gg on holiday w 2adults n 1 kid shd b manageable.

Blueginger

Dor
Gd time to go HK given dat rate is low now. Thkg of gg next yr.

tute,
can share a bit more details of the class? like how much and if there is a syllabus? so the class is more for us to become better parents right?

bluegin,
take care!! jia you!! hope channet recovers soon

Hello Mummies

Congrats to Blueginer

Me and boy boy down with cold, sore throat and cough..sigh. Dunno why when my boy gets sick, he seems to be even more hyper than normal. Last Wed and Thurs, he slept at 12.30am and 1am. *faint* And then I fell sick in Friday.

Christmas gathering..I will really like to meet you mummies and babies. I haven't really joined a gathering before as my hubs busy studying during weekends and we have church on Sundays. I will try to make it for the Christmas gathering.

Btw, how's the animal resort gathering? Just to share also - we visited Kids Kampong as Pasir Ris. Quite fun to feed the Kois for $1, and the small animals like rabbits and ducks. Can also consider Kids Kampong -

http://www.prkidskampong.com/

sweetpea,
come come!! haven't met you before.

thanks for sharing the kids kampong. looks quite nice. btw, do we get to see/touch the small animals if we walk in on our own (or must join a group/organized tour)?

A loves rabbits!!

bkk,
wah...langham place sounds so luxurious!! take more pics to show us!!

unfortunately, EL is the "rough it out type" and 5 star hotels do nothing for him...he is thinking of a hiking trip with me after i deliver...haha...cos i jokingly said one day (cannot remember when) that i will join him for a triathalon after i close shop.

tongtong, did consider tcm but we lost the card of the tcm place we last brought her too. Anyway, saw Pd today and she said she got throat infection. Gave her cough syrup n a drowsy formula for running nose n sneezing. Think we'll give her the drowsy formula for the night so that she and us can sleep better. :p

iso, i just put into the box with no wrapping. But my tupperware box is meant for vegetables with 2 adjustable ventilation holes.

pauline, hopefully Raeanne gets well soon! and hopefully she will sleep thru the night without waking up to disturb u too! hehe

Thanks, tongtong. Just now while at ILs house, she felt a bit warm and she was still active and playing. Came home and took her temperature, it was 38.6 (using ear thermometer). PD already warned that she may develop fever so gave her paracetemol and the cold med as well before she slept. She just slept at 1025pm. Hope she will sleep well tonight. Don't know whether to let her go to PG tomorrow. :p

Iso, nice skirt. Too bad, I don't need any maternity clothes liao. :p

Pauline, r needs rest, better dun bring her to playgroup.

Dunno what's wrong with shaun yeaterday, woke up at 2am n cried for almost half an hour. Slept at 3+ oonly after I told reasoned with him that barney had gone to bed etc. Ai, teething again?

tongtong
barney gone to bed? lol
E woke up at 6am and didn't sleep again until 7am. zzzzzz

kitsune
haha no worries. must go check out the tupperware you're talking abt, sounds cool!

Iso, yalor, he said he wanna watch barney at 2.30am. so i got to tell him that everybody has zz including barney keke. Anway i think he is really teething because he kept putting his hand innto his mouth yesterday before bed., and wanted to bite me also.

re: vege storing
clover,
thanks for the advise.
i normally just store the vege in it's own packaging.
the vege that i got from oh's farm, leave turn dark green after 1 day. seems like going to rot. dun have the problem in my mil's fridge though.
do you think my fridge is too cold?

pauline,
you reminded me to tidy up my fridge! i've got lots of containers too.. should start categorize things i put it inside. :p

tong,
cloth? wet or dry?

re: bamboo salt
tong,
wa so ex ah. but it shouldn't be ex if we just use a little bit everyday.

re: +ve tots
lezy,
interesting to see how kids behave in the class. in general, i think all behaves very well.
but i finally 'ling3 jiao4' how active ruth is.
in fact i like the class, C too. just that i do not have the stamina to work through the class. ages never exercise already.. :p
but didn't sign up as i dun think i can commit every weekends there. [side story: hb complained about nothing to see in the shopping mall. worse still, he can't just wait outside the class, got to go out walk till very sian.]

apple,
amanda can say a lot already! if you put her and C together, ppl might think that she's at least 6 months older - in terms of size and language development.

dor,
i dun mind not to have free play there. pay $ already mah, should make full use of the instructor. :p

garfield,
the class is really not bad. but definitely not for preggy mum. if your hb willing to accompany A, then no problem.

pauline,
hope raeanne is better now.
hai.. me too, seems going to fall sick soon. body aching, throat feels funny.

bluegin,
channet is sick ah. very tough on you, 1 nb + 1 sick toddler. take care..

bkk,
not back from HK yet? i thought you only go there for weekend.

XY,
haha..i bought a Kenko package for my hubby - chase him to go massage while i go class. Initially supposed to take turns going to class so he can 'benefit' from the instructor guidance as well - but he 'suffer' from the yoga play aspects. haha.

They dun encourage waiting outside because it will make the toddler more anxious or distracted if they know daddy/whoever is waiting outside. The 45 min is very intense and packed - i also get very tired after it but i think i still will carry on in hope of instiling discipline.

Maybe u can ask hb to bring a book to read at cafe or what. 45 min pass very fast one! Not say 4.5hours. hah.

Gar,
Not suitable for preggers..unless u very hiong type - can still carry and run aroudn with A! But if you hubs dun mind, then he can accompany A - but mostly mummies there so far. My hb went once only and 'decided it's not for him'. Lucky that he never stop me la.

I try to pass him some info from the class but I find it very stressful myself to have to keep 'passing on info'. Now just trying to build my patience with Ruth. Sometimes seem like i'm the one that needs the patience more!!!! Struggling with Ruth is no joke. Her 12.5kg will easily become a 15kg force with all the momentum she throws in.

XY, your C like very guai and compliant type leh. Ruth is always a challenge when it comes to sitting with me. At home she only sits with me when she wants me to read a book or do something for her. Or else she's just all over the place carrying a box, taking toys in n out, pushing her carts/trolleys/pram, taking shampoo bottles out of the drawer and in n out n in n out etc.

Now my home designated 3 play areas for her. So she can play from living room, to study, to spare room. Hopefully that can give her more room and space to explore and expend energy.

bkkgal
wow, langham place sounds real good yah. how much did you pay for your stay? if not too ex, maybe i should consider next time. so far i only stayed at marco polo prince hotel and miramar hotel before. like their rooms cos have two double beds.

height limit for tokyo disneyland is 102cm. not sure if it's the same for all other disneylands (forgot what's the one in US, think it's around 100cm+ also).

enjoy yourself!

Lezy, my boy is also a big handful. He can not sit still, got to watch him 100% or else he will risk falling or putting things in his mouth. A month back he can still guai guai sit down for a book or puzzle, no cannot. Its one toy to another to another. Or else meddle with switches, TV, DVD player, telephone, cupboards, doors, bags, whatever he can lay his hands on. Some more me now preggie..really test my patience. His favourite activity these 2 days - walking around with his EYES CLOSED.

Really need a lot of patience and stamina

Tongtong, ya, didn't bring RaeAnne to playgroup. Brought her to see PD again today cos last night fever 38.6, after med, this morning at 6+am, again 38.5. Luckily PD never charge consultation, gave us Augmentin (which she hates ) and another 2 bottles of fever med. $30.

Iso/XY, I'm a Tupperware fan. My hubby calls them my 'toy' collection. I joined the Tupperware membership not to sell them but to buy them at members' price. But I've joked with hubby that I don't mind selling tupperware next time. Haha. But I haven't bought since RaeAnne was born. Sigh. This is the fridgemate containers for vegetables. I have all 3 sizes. :p http://order.tupperware.com/coe/app/tup_show_item.show_item_detail?fv_item_category_code=18002&fv_item_number=P10056908000

Lezy/XY, didn't know the positive tots class is so active. Luckily I didn't go then cos I walk like an old woman now. Can't even get up from bed. :p

Dor, when can I collect my 2 boxes of gold serum from you? Think this week is the last week liao. Or can you pass to XY then I collect from her? Thanks.

XY, Lezy,
wah...how come must so siong one? i tot it's to improve our parenting skills? sounds more hiong than gym class
can share more?

and err...no lah i cannot even carry her while walking for too long. don't mention run around!!!

Pauline,
actually dor hasn't met up with me yet. Tell you what - i think i arrange to pass your stuff to you directly lah cos you so advanced liao difficult to move around. i SMS you to coordinate ok? if it's not too much trouble, can i also pass XY's stuff to you too?

Gar, oic, didn't know. Thanks.
Ya, you can pass XY's stuff to me. No problem. Even if I popped, I will be able to pass XY's things to my Mum and she can pick up from my mum's place.

xy, my oh's farm veg stays fresh longer leh. Sounds to me yr fridge is not cold enough. Or do u hv more thnings in the fridge?

sweetpea, wah piang.. Walked with eyes closed! In a way, it's advance. I tot it's wat a young school boy will do. Lol

gar,
oops... too late, but i think lezy can give you a better idea of the classes... didn't asked about the syllabus as I am only signing for 4 classes. Yeap, quite taxing on the physical side esp... definitely not suitable for pregnant women, e.g. pulling your tot up, lying down on your back with legs curled up and then put your tot on your leg and pulling them up and down (not sure if you understand what i mean) but yeah some exercises along that line... Few reasons why I say I like the class : 1) Trainer explainins to us before we start on the next activity, what they are trying to teach the kids e.g. learning to share by pushing ball to different people, learning to be patient etc, 2) They do a lot of singing. I'm a big music person so I like to sing with C and hence part of the reason why we enjoy the class, 3) A mixture of activities from slow pace to fast pace which makes the whole session enjoyable. Honestly for C I was not keen to enroll him to any gym because he is already an active boy, so I prefer him to go for classes where the pace is slower so that he learns to be patient and focus. Classes like LNT however somehow bores him coz have to sit for a while. This class or kindermusik are the two classes which I find is suitable for him. 4) The physical activities are done together i.e. mum and tot do it together.

Overall thoroughly enjoyed it eventhough it was the first class... dunno if it was because C was well behave in the first class or it was because of the company... hopefully we will continue to enjoy the subsequent classes...

lezy,
Actually C is like Ruth at home! Outside he's more guai but at home he is just as active as Ruth but maybe because of new environment, he is still adjusting... Dunno how he will behave subsequent lessons... :p

bluegin,
take care... hopefully C will get well soon...

reena,
I love my mom because she is a great cook and she always cook a lot of things for me and my sisters so I am sure your kids will appreciate what you are doing now... ignore those ppl who says otherwise

p/s your DS is such a dear for saying that to you

bkk,
enjoy the rest of your holiday!

stephie,
really look up to you for being able to travel with your kids!

re:travelling,
question mummies... before your kids can eat rice, what food do you give when you travel? C eventhough now he is venturing to more solid food but still no no for rice and no no for chewing food in a big amount... so I am still waiting but meanwhile just thinking what I can give him while I travel... hence for now I'm only going holiday to my hometown where I can still cook his porridge/food... :S

lezy,
wa.. no wonder your hb happily obliged to go with you every week.
yes. C is very guai as long as she sleeps enough. nothing much to complain about her actually.

pauline,
now i know where to find help if i want to buy tupperware.
but tupperware very ex le.
really much better than lock and lock?
thanks for the help in the 'passing game' :p

clover,
my fridge is very empty one leh.
everytime i take things out, i can feel the coldness. i feel that it's more like it's too cold.
but i can't adjust it warmer, that's the warmest it can go liao.

Oh dear, the tots are falling sick again. I went home ytd to find Amanda with running nose..... sian.

XY: I find Carrie very guai. I find petite girls sweet and always look younger than their age.

Stephie: Japan trip u went with tour?

Lezy: Cannot tell Ruth is 12.5kg. But she is really towering over the other tots.

Xy, you mean the cloth to wrap the veg? Must be dry. Bamboo salt – yea, you consume tiny little bit everyday , so can use for very long.

tute: cereal and puree. or order porridge from eateries.

XY, the thing I don't like about LnL is that it's not truly liquid tight though it is airtight. Problem is the inner seal plastic strip which gets warped after some time. A few times, I brought soup in LnL boxes and the soup spilled into the plastic bag. But tupperware is much more exp lar. So I still have a lot of LnL for general purpose. ;P

Anyway, I also don't know how to order anymore tupperware cos the sales head (upstream?) has given up on me and stopped sending me catalogues. Sad.

xy, i agree with pauline. tupperware is the best brand as it has been in the mkt for ages. i got lots of tupperware at home too hehe.

pauline, why the sales head given up on u ?

tute,
you don't need to limit your travel to hometown if just for the food.
when travelling, you can stay in an apartment that allows you some cooking. Try citadines, available at hongkong, tokyo, shanghai, bangkok.

tong,
yes. the cloth to wrap veg. dry or wet?

tongtong, cos I haven't bought any tupperware from her since preggie with RaeAnne and until now, RaeAnne's almost 2 years old. So total 3 years I never buy anything from her lor. Tupperware catalogues she got to buy one mah. So she don't want to invest in me anymore. :p

oops! i can still help to pick up.... from the 2 preggies mum.... but got to be next week... cos hb working n i only going to bugis around next week

pauline,
i didn't know tupperware is airtight.
i only know that when i was young, i used tupperware water bottle, always leak one. then got to go and change the cover.
anyway, i seldom use container to store soup to bring out.

can you directly buy from the head office since you have already got a member id?