(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Thanks ladies. I've been using J&J baby oil to remove my kids' makeup from sch concerts and I use a mild cleanser to wash away the oil. In that case, I'll just continue to use that

pauline,
oh no...you'll miss two gatherings! never mind, there is always next one. if there is a CNY gathering, i oso cannot attend liao.

re sunscreen, i am like you! have tons! ok noted your interest in the serum. i think for sure next BP we will bring that in!

reena,
i think any mild cleansing milk for adults can substitute as a makeup remover.

apple,
thanks for your payment!

Gar, ya lor. Sad, so long since i attended mass gathering. :p Hehe, no wonder I have so many dark spots on my skin. Using the SkII whitening source but I know if I never use sunscreen it's still back to square 1. :p

By the way, I've been sharing my ampoules with my hubby nearly every night. Finally my old stocks are moving.
Must try and use up more before I get the gold ampoules from Dor. ;P

venue for christmas...any ideas?

i'm thinking definitely indoors given the rainy season year end. and big open space so our little ones can run around. other than that, my brain is blank

Xiao yun,

You're PH.D? 失敬失敬。

I am Interested in sewing, but now hands full with driving & photography.
Maybe try it out mid next year.

My girl'd like to take off/put on clothes for doll. Thinking of sewing doll clothes. But I don't have high expections one, just for fun.

hi, bkkgal.
Postgraduate on Arts....wah.... wish your dream come true. kate's clothes are beautiful.

isobellies... reserved for you mickey liao... esther is one mickey + winnie

can you transfer $7.90 + $0.80 postage to the lady directly - posb savings 118-46756-6 and sms me at 81703429 .. i will let her know and sms me ur addy also... so she can send out for u??

Gar/Lezy,
Thanks! I was initially worried that I may be using something not too appropriate for young skins but since all says ok, then I can continue to use with ease. Not a makeup person so know nuts about makeup and remover :p

Iso,
If you don't mind working in NTUC lah cos majority are aunties and uncles. I'm thinking next time if I have too much time, I may consider working in NTUC too, not too stressful and to pass time.

Sharing a conversation I had with my son, 4yo.

DS2: Mummy, you are a good cooker.
Me: Huh? What is a good "cooker"?
DS2: You cook nice food for us, chicken rice, char siew, nice fish and yummy soup.
DS2: You are also a good homebaker.
Me: Why do you say that?
DS2: Because you bake nice bread, cakes, cookies, brownies and muffins for us.

I smiled and gave him a big kiss and hug. He is such a sweetie

Many-a-times, I received negative comments from family members/friends/acquaintances that I'm spending too much time in the kitchen. But from our above conversation, who dare say I'm wasting my time in the kitchen and neglecting my young children? I blogged about this and I hope I'll get lesser nasty comments from folks who don't know us well enough. The bond we have is something money can't buy.

That's real sweet of your ds, Reena!

When I bake, all I want is for my dd to just take a bite of the cookie and like it, I'm happy already. But she's very strange kid - doesn't like cookies.

And hey, I worked in NTUC before! Holiday job when I was like 14 yo. Very fun, good time stacking the shelves :p and all the aunties/uncles treated me very well.

Hi everyone, I am interested in joining the Xmas gathering since I will be back in Singapore soon. But a little shy since it will be my first time.

re: sunscreen
those that you don't like, use on your body loh.
at least won't be so heartpain than let it rot in the cabinet.
to maintain overal fairness, every part of the body need to be taken care of. - that's from some beauty program.

bkk,
i received the sample! thanks.

pauline,
ur hb very cute. willing to help you finish the ampoules.
my hb ah, it's like killing him if ask him to use my facial product. the only time he guai guai put on moisturiser is that time in france when his skin peeling due to dryness.

tubao,
i didn't say.

interested in photography. but i do not have good concept of framing the correct pictures.
furthermore, hate to drag a big camera along. unless get the PEN. anyone know the quality of picture for PEN? comparable to SLR?

clothes for dolly very easy one. just cut the shape out and sew by hand. anyway, no need to be very nice at this stage. just colorful will do. :D

reena,
as long as the kids are involved in process, i dun think it's a problem to spend too much time in kitchen.
it's a very good life skill to learn for them.
i very sad my cooking skill is lousy cos my parents never let us go in to kitchen last time.
now is struggling with cooking.

bkk,
funny gal. why doesn't like sweet stuff? :p

fairfield,
interesting! please join the gathering.
everyone will be pleased to see you.

Xiaoyun,
Do you have to work on Sats? or you wake up everyday at the same time?

Sweetstuff
dunno why..she only likes fruits..cakes, cookies etc dun like even tho I relaxed my rules already. Ice-cream, sweets still no no.

Fairfield
Come join us! We know you for so long but never seen you.

xy,
heheh... thanks for the reminder! i've already pack the pads with me.. :p

re xmas gathering,
onz! but can only make it at 12th as i'm flying home on the 18th...

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
4. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
5. tute + hb + C

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. tongtong + hb + S
3. Bkk + hb + K
4. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon

XY, haha, cos he's a thrifty person by nature mah. If I throw away the ampoules without using, even more wasted. Nowadays, I will use half the ampoule after my shower then remind him to finish using the other half for him to finish after his shower.

Much better than last time when I'm using it myself, I'll keep the leftover bottle in the fridge with cling wrap and forget all about it. :p

In our years together, he only went facial with me once hor and that was either our Valentine's Day or anniversary celebration when I complained that he never ever went for facial with me. ;P

Hehe, bkkgal/XY. I don't have a sweet tooth like Kate too. Don't know why leh, all along I don't fancy cookies, ice cream, desserts or cakes.

Maybe such things were hardly found in my house cos my mum doesn't take diary stuff. If I want a sinful snack, I'll be munching on potato chips, spicy tapioca chips, nachos or instant noodles. Never bread or biscuits or ice cream. :p

When we go to buffets on rare occasions, my hubby will be the one indulging on the desserts while I'll skip that and go for salads and mains.

clover
ok thanks!! i'm not really in a rush but good to know so i don't have to go call them

reena
how come pple say that leh? it's a blessing to have a mum who can cook, i feel bad for the kids who don't have such a luxury...
NTUC, are we talking about fairprice or as in the co., like income, etc?

bkk,
currently not working on weekends.
automatically wake up at 4-5 then start doing housework. i slept at 9+ anyway.

pauline,
for my hb, stubborn self overrule his thrifty self.

goodbb,
yes. it's olympus.
i read some review. it seems interface is complicated, not suitable for me then.

tong,
thanks the advise for bamboo salt.
my mum is in malaysia. dun know where can i get as we are not familiar with the organic shops around us.

HELP!
my fridge is too cold/dry. all vegetables turn soft just after a few days.
what can i do? already use scale 1 for temperature.

iso,
I also don't know why I get nasty remarks like this... I felt offended in fact but with my son's conversation, I'm reassured I'm doing the right thing for my family

Oops, I'm referring to NTUC Fairprice ie supermarket.

xy, try wrapping up yr leafy veg with newspaper? Hmm or soak some cotton with water n wrap ard the roots 1st? Like how oh's farm did it.

Am back from Japan. Trip was good though a bit more tiring than previous trips having to take care of two kids on our own. hubby kept complaining that time was wasted on them, we should not bring them with us, blah blah blah. he commented that we were like battle fighting with the kids everyday. haha..

This time round was more difficult cos there were only two of us around. having another adult around really helps. i tell myself just have to 'dong' for another few more years to have a less tiring holiday trips with the kids. leaving them out just to have a more relaxing trip is still a no no for me.

will catch up with all the posts that i missed.
briefly browse thru the thread and knew that the butterfly outing you all had was fun. there's christmas gathering in the pipe line too. yeah!

Clover/xy, I saw the salt baked for 3x kind selling at $15 here.

Stephie, guy is like that. Hopefully u will have a more relax trip next time

XY, I find that putting the vegetables in tupperware containers helped. About 2 weeks ago, I passed some Thai chilli padi to my mum, bought too much from NTUC. Last week, she told me hers all rotten liao. I checked mine which were put in an authentic tupperware container but still looks ok leh. Not sure if it's a coincidence though. Both me and my mum use Mitsubishi fridge though (3 door type). ;)

Sigh, RaeAnne is having a cough, started late last week but seems to be getting worse. Cough sounds a bit phelgmy too. Debating whether to bring her to see PD or TCM tomorrow. :p

Pauline, why not try tcm first??

Xy, agree with pauline. I keep mine in lock & lock n it stays fresh quite long. So I am a big fan of lock lock. U can wrap the vegf with cloth then keep in the container

morning ladies!

Its been a while, hope all are well..

Holidays with kids without external help
I am contemplating a trip too..but shudder at the thought of having to handle kid 24/7 without any help (only hb) in foreign land? as it is im totally exhuasted at the end of each weekend after having to care for kid. and this is when im in s'pore where im familiar with everything and can pass him to my IL for my meal breaks/toilet etc...

how do u gals do it?

hol alone...

i think it's do-able as long as both parties take equal ownership and help each other out. I guess also depends on your tot?

RUth is the 24/7 type. Only redeeming factor is she sleeps early.

Lucky for me my hub is quite hands-on. I would like to give credit to my friend (in Norway who has 3 boys and no help and is FTWM) on her 2 most important words in parenthood - HUSBAND TRAINING. hehehehe.

I think in the 'earlier' days - say as soon as he was more comfy handling the kiddo, i 狠心 let him look after her even though sometime see how she's "mishandled" I feel heart pain - but i think my mum told me if i dun let him learn, then he'll never 'do it' lor. ANyway, no baby ever died from abit more crying. SOmetimes let her cry to wake him up, cry to get his attention. I think as days went by, he is more erm, attuned to her needs. I sound quite mean and manipulative ah, but i also quite tired and lazy sometimes (that's why i'm lezy!) so if hub dun help carry her and play with her, i think i will die.

SOme of you are really super lor, can cook, look after, play, clean, sew etc. We dun even cook much nowadays liao - cuz everytime i buy stuff and use half of it, the other half is always discarded cuz rotten before i can use it again!

I think if wanna go holiday w tot, dun need to dream about relaxing, nothing-to-do type of hol man. Unless your tot is very independent, and/or u willing to put him/her (or rather, he/she wilin to let u put her) at a childcare service or what...

Positive Tots
NIce to meet all of you there. As usual, Ruth is so fidgety - even more fidgety than last 2 weeks! Good workout for the mums right?

veggie...

hmm..i never tried using tupperware or Lock-n-lock. I"m BIG container fan (any type of container) but my hubby will shoot me irritated look and ask me "container again? How many u need?"

hehehe.

TRIP:
we were intending to do a short one to HK....but....mum just gave decree not to bring ruth to HK - saying that a few tots she know went and came back kept falling sick.

@#$%^&*()

Lezy: Thanks for organising. Me and my girl enjoy the class. The class is not bad actually but we have other regular class at the moment. Oh yes great workout! So much so that I have minor muscle aches.. haha lousy.

I think Ruth is okie, just more active. My girl is active too, sometimes if i do not hear any sounds from her, most of the time she is up to no good haha.

apple...amanda very cute lah. can say THANKS when Ruth pass her the goldfish cracker. haha. she jumps very well ah!

my ruth is like a monkey. i always ask her if she's a monkey or a girl!

Dor...i also never meet u before! So paiseh when i asked XY (who is that ah...) cuz i forgot the list of mummies coming.

morning ladies!!!

piglettail
it's definitely easier to bring help, but although it's exhausting at the end of the day it's also very fulfilling to go as a family unit?

kitsune, tongtong
when u keep the veggies you make sure it's dry? can use paper towel instead of cloth?

lezy
i'm assuming that HK also not the most child friendly place, unless u go disneyland?

LezY: She will do anything u instruct her if u give her food! Very tiam jiak! Yes, Amanda is always jumping around like a monkey too haha

Veggies : My mum always use newspapers to wrap before putting in the fridge.

tong,

hi 5! i use lock n lock! i got quite a number of them! even 4 bb milk powder.

I always put spinach in the container. and it stay very fresh!

xy,
i use newspaper to wrap leavy vegies and i always put in the vegie compartment. if you put vegie near the back wall of the fridge then the tendency will be that the leaves will turn watery (not rotten but more like flimsy and no longer fresh)... hardly use container for vegies unless it's cook food

lezy,
thanks for arranging the class ! me and C both enjoyed it a lot... not too straining for me coz C worked me up at home like that as well.. hahaha.. I love those type of classes, quite similar to the kindermusik class I attended last time so I sign up for another 4 classes... guess i'll be seeing you again next wk ! Btw, my hb commented how tall Ruth is...

xy/dor/cheryl/apple,
nice meeting everyone again! too bad didn't have time to chit chat coz i was late... haiz... btw, it was nice to see the kids play together yeah... haha... so cute!

Lezy, yea I love container too, dunno why. But my hubby never stop me from buying :p

Dor, HK-whole kampong go ?

Iso, when I keep the veggies, they are dry. I think you can try using paper towel, see whether the results are the same?

Esther, yea, I keep lots of shaun’s food stuff in lock & lock too hehe.

Lezy,
hahaha.... but i "know" u cos of yr flicker....n Ruth of course!

tong
ya, whole kampong....

tute, yes yes... a pity that the kids dun have much time for free play....