(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: work
lezy,
yaya.. i know you +ve.

otherwise won't still work so hard yesterday.

yelling is pretty common in my environment. that's what the director always do. >.<

iso,
agree.

apple,
lousy leh, the interviewer.
imagine he will be your boss next time. eee...

re: milk powder
clover,
confirm $20?

crystal,
it's the marsiling branch. very small one. it seems pretty worth it for the promotion then.
should i wait go back malaysia get or buy from NTUC now leh?

dianA,
try the one that bkk and tubao using..

work:
i think it's funny cuz they sit one on the left, one of the right, barely 5m apart.

Yet must pick up phone and talk and argue. Everyone can hear somemore since it's open office.

Actually other than this 2, the rest of us generally get along very well one.

Lezy: last time i sit between two colleagues who always meet in the middle which is in front of me and quarrel. Terrible, whole office can hear. But since one of them left, no more shouting matches.

Xiaoyun: yah loh, no way am I gonna work under him. Besides, i think i pissed him off by correcting him on certain things hahaha

sigh. thing is, here, nobody leaves one....except for the post under one of them...they cannot find anybody to stay long enough cuz the mgr is one helluva hard to work with. last one left after 2-3 months.

lezy,
haha.. boliao. voice over phone sweeter is it? or they just want to avoid eye contact?
ur company welfare sure very good. otherwise why no ppl leave?
our turnover rate super high one. you see only ppl with 1-2 years experience, if not, will be > 5 yrs.
ppl leave after 2 years.

tong,
so very sure malaysia cheaper liao.
ok. i can stop searching for cheap milk powder here.

pray pray pray RM depreciates.. :D

some of these staff have been here for awhile and are paid pretty well. dun think they can get this type of 9-5 hours outside with the pay they are getting lor. no chance they will leave one. their pay scale was unmoderated in the earlier days so now can't possibly cut their pay.

benefit wise, quite ok la. i get to (if nobody else books before u!) go zoo/birdpark/sci centre/discovery centre/sentosa/wetwetwild free. got corporate rates for mobile plan and quite pro-family. we have breastfeeding room also. most bosses are pro-family.

We have yearly benefits that can be claimed for specs/contact lens/dental. got new born gift ($$), hospitalization visit claim (tonics up to certain $$$), childcare subsidy ($$), wedding gift ($$), house moving grant ($$).

but it's stat board...and well, u dun expect great bonuses and etc lah. generally it's good enough for me. after all after having kid(s), i think our focus in life changes a lot.

in any case, heh, career has never been that impt to me. it's just a means to earn some $$ to keep me going.

good morning!!!
TGIF!

tong,
now 2.43?
think few months ago it's 2.46 leh.
regretted didn't change last time.

lezy,
ur company welfare not good.
ours (private sector):
need to ballot for the pass. if you manage to get a pass to zoo/birdpark/discovery centre, can't ballot anymore in the next 3 months.
yes, we have corporate mobile plan also.

yearly benefits only for specs/dental - no contact lens.
new born gift is a cheapskate hamper, with a diaper bag (spoilt after 2 uses), 1 set of cutlery for kid, and a 3inch soft toy. :p 1 bouquet of flower for hospitallization (i think).
childcare subsidy for 1 learning vision of $50 monthly, no wedding gift, no house moving grant.
in good year, yearly target bonus is 1.45 month pay (exclude AWS) depends on company performance. so far never achieve that. at most 0.6 month only.

haha.. lousy company welfare.. no wonder ppl doesn't want to stay. :p

stat board not easy to go in leh. must be with good honors degree and on scholarship right?

clover,
thanks for offering.
i am going back end of this month. will get it myself.
the stock i have can still last for another 2-3 weeks.

crystal,
Marsiling MRT NTUC has the promotion pack NAN - 6 tins.
quickly go and grab!

Xiaoyun, oh 2.46 so high, I missed that! Now around that rate. The highest I changed was 2.44. Your company’s bonus is really low hor. Or is this common across the manufacturing industry?

Lezy, yea what is the criteria for going into stat board?

Diana/crystal,
Maid agency bkkgal and I used is froggies maid agency. Look for sheila.

agency fee is $398 excluding maid insurance+misc.

bkkgal,
Count me in animal resort outing.

Esther,
Like your words "辣妈“。 ^_^

me too! super no mood to work!! think next few weeks at work going to be a bit siong though.

i have been having lots of cravings this pregnancy, last one no cravings at all, only for cheekueh!

diana,
i can refer you my maid agency which i find to be quite good and honest. let me know if you need the contact.

xy,
have you started looking around then? this time around is a good time to start looking around because ppl are starting to budget for next year's headcount (at least in my place) i.e. starting to forecast roles and interview process but we usually don't bring in ppl until jan. My place is hiring but most are IT staff.

lezy,
in my place it's overly quiet... they usually just use email to communicate eventhough they just sit next to each other! i usually scold the guys who does that if i'm in that email loop... filling up my inbox with useless stuff ! :p

today i'm in pampering mood... taking half day in the afternoon to go for my haircut and prob go for mani/pedi... haha!

ours also if i book now cannot book for another 3 months - but if it is available (usually i will go weekday anyway to beat the weekend crowds!), we can stil book. Ours is online system of booking..but can also call the 'admin lady' in charged and ask her.

Our newborn gift is erm... $x,xxx. Marriage is $xxx.

I am not engineering and science grad...so not in the 'elite crop' here. Here also have normal engrg grads, not necessary scholars and honours grads only. I'm doing business plans (marketing grad) so not in the rat race with all the scholars. (no such thing as biz/acc scholars here cuz emphasis is in engineering - a lot of mech engrs)

My particular stat board must be sg citizen i think. I dunno if PR can or not also. Cannot remember leh. If coming for Corp positions, no need to have honours one. (pls..my results are erm.....not that good. haha)

I wanted to take half day too - cuz my mum has to go church today earlier. But my boss just gave me 2 million things to do. bah. But he still prepared to let me go and erm, postpone those things till Monday. Ugh.

erm. i'm curious. nowadays hire maid must pay agency fees? I thought can just hire like that one. THe last time i hire it's the maid that "pays" the agent...i never pay for the agent one. I only give him whatever that is payment in advance for the maid. Nothing Extra.

Anyway, i think i'm getting a maid too - but to stay at my mum's place. It's actually my erm...ex-maid who used to look after my granny. She finished her contract liao and now back in Indon. Coming back to SGP and dun mind working for us. Save everyone hassle &amp; $$$ plus i no need to worry about trust issues cuz she's very down-to-earth and trustworthy (and comfortablew ith my cats!
).

I just need to find out if i can apply for work permit for her and etc.

tute
so nice!!

work
mummies, esp for those who have #2, or currently SAHM, do you think next time you would prefer to have a daily job that is part time (less hours) or full time job but contract, like a few months?
i think part time is ideal for most mummies, but i think it's hard to find..

yah lor, i also totally no craving the last time... this time will have craving for this and that. was telling my hubby, he was lucky the last round! ;p hehe

tute: don't mind can give me the ctc of the maid agency too? will call and check out too.

*headache* have to go thru the whole procedure again...

dun tink want to stick to the present one.. very aggressive..

Xiaoyun…. Dun envy me lah.. now that I am in my late twenties.. feel so old compared to the newbies on my work floor

BKK gal… ah tot of too to use sunscreen.. but I very lazy.. but will try… any recommendations…??

Isobellies.. levy for employers that have kids under 12 yrs old will be $170 excluding her pay which comes up to abt $350 for an experienced maid and $320 for a fresh maid – maida with no off days 

Tute ….family size…. Hmmm my family a bit complicated.. hope mummies dun mind my sharing

Grandpa (dad size – arab family) has 4 wives…1st arab (arab must arab 1st… haiz) .. 2nd is a Javanese, 3rd is a chinese (my dad comes frm 3rd wife) and 4th one is a malay – have 33 children among the 4 wives in which many I do not know of as my parents divorced since I was 3.. so I only know that we are related if my arab family name is thers.. mine is Alkhatib  .. dad married 2 wives…. My mum was 1st… I have 2 elder bros.. dad married 2nd wife…. Have 7 boys… in total I have 10 siblings.. I m no 8 and the only girl…. So I m used to big families… and well.. mum used to favour bro more than me 

Xiaoyn.. so good u breastfeed till now.. initially my 2 girls.. didn’t breastfeed so much as cannot as I had inverted nipples.. my 3rd one feb baby 2008 – cannot latch on properly and I fully expressed.. lasted abt 9 months and ss dropped due to preggy again.. now mylast boy so fortunate… all the pumping must have made my nipples longer and he can latch direct.. and I pump as well.. freezer bursting with hundreds of packets + bottles of EBm.. hope to last till he weans off milk 

Ur kids drink all so much.. my boys still takes 120ml at one time and if he drinks pediasure (picky eater at times) to make 190ml.. he has to drink twice before finish… still use small bottles… same as my last bb.. hehehehe

Blueginger… congrats

Diana.. Raymond maid agency is good… wanna contacts… this lady reliable and will source one according to yr needs 

tute,
not yet start looking. still waiting to see what's the outcome of our retention scheme that we signed years ago. major reorg is coming. :p

lezy,
WA!!! 4 digit ah.
in fact, i would love to switch line. but how to? i got no related experience. and my post grad degree is engineering/science. switch line sure paycut one.
no choice but got to fight with those top scholars. i sure lose.

i told my friends about the opening at your place. they say encourage me to convert citizenship. but i still love my country leh (although i dun know what thing i love). :p

good if you already know the character of the maid. less 1 uncertainty.

iso,
part time is suitable for SAHM. cos they can work when kids in school and come back in time to take care of them when they are back.
mcdonald loh. :D

blueginger
CONGRATS!!!!
not sure if i have already said my congrats. preggers have trouble remembering a lot of things! LOL.

XY
you got post grad, u can't be working in mac's lah!! :D

anyway.. mummies.. who wanted the disney training pants.. cost $7.90 + $0.80 postage...

mickey left size 90
winnie left size 90
minnie left size 100

sms me at 81703429 if you want.. i let the lady know?

iso,
lol. when times are bad, anything also need to do liao.
in fact, i was thinking to get a sewing machine. sell customized bb stuffs le.
will anyone interested? :p

ida,
ur friend charged me $1 for postage instead of $0.80.

XY
actually i got postgrad in mktg. sometimes hor, i think it hasn't helped at all. not like i get paid more than other pple who don't have it! then also when times are bad, companies want to hire cheap, so too many qualifications also we lose out...

ida,

am interested. but i dun understand the sizes? can advise me? btw it is 3 piece or 4 piece type?

u all so hardworking...me too lazy to do post grad. couldn't bear studying again....hehehe..though school days were real fun!

iso,
means postgrad degree is a waste of effort when economy is bad. but probably when comes to promotion, it's an added advantage.

re: training pants
i've got the winnie 90.
it fits my gal who's still < 80 cm with pamper on - means a bit loose for her.
it's a 3-layer. to me, it's thin - a little thicker than her normal pants. that's it.
the design is cute lah. the quality not bad too.

XY,

u let C wear pampers on wif training pants? I tot shd wear without pampers?

hv u let C try without pampers? if yes, roughly hw long u change the training pants?

Bkk,

Diana,
sure.. Will pm you Her details

xy,
ic okay then... Sometimes looking for a job takes a while. Usually it's better that you do it before you feel like leaving the job immediately otherwise you will just gran hte first opp you come across :p but I hope things will get better in your curent place

tong,
they are hiring a lot leh... And doing batch recruitment too. Mainly in software development area. Can you let me know which area your hb specialise in and I'll keep a lookout... Probably can fins out fromthe grapevine too

iso: ideally i wld prefer PT job. more flexible and can spend more time with family/kids.

but then again, PT job income wld be quite minimal depending on working hours covered and may not hv the benefit from FT job.

so it boils down to if the family needs both full income or able to just survive on 1 income and the other flex income.

tute: oh its yr bday tdy ? HAPPY BIRTHDAY !!

It's raining cats and dogs. Great day to sleep in.

Part-time work/SAHM
I don't think I can be SAHM ever. I spent just 1 day at home yesterday trying to do some work. K needs so much attention! The only "down time" I have is during her nap 2 hrs but other than that, she will want to come and touch my laptop, sit on my lap which by the way is not as spacey as it used to be, ask me to walk walk, play with her. AARRGH. Contemplated gg to office just to get away from her and get some work done.

Really peifu the stay home moms, esp those with no domestic help some more, how do u ladies do it?

tute, yr bday today? Happy bday!

ida, i think the moral of the story is man shouldnt take more than 1 wife. =p

maclaren strollers recall
does anyone know anything about this news? In US there's recall, how abt in SG?

diana, you make me hungreeee!!! even tho' i just had lunch....

postgrad
omg, how to do with 1 kid and 1 on the way? Plus work? nice thot: do a postgrad in arts. Been looking at the sotheby's postgrad prog...my dream, maybe when the kids are grown up.