(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

H1N1 vaccine

Don't know how many of you planning to take but my workplace has been offering the vaccine to staff cos we travel alot. Just to share that so far I have had colleagues fall quite sick from taking it, e.g. if u currently have asthma, the vaccine could aggravate. MOH says there will be side effects ranging from mild to severe (which is like about everything possible!) and for children, clinical trials still ongoing. No mention of effects on pregnant women. So you make your own conclusion.

Good morning mummies!! Wah...i KO last night =P So tired....

Dor,
marine fish v nice! the colours are so brilliant! when i was young, my dad had 6 fish tanks....but v high maintenance and costly. eventually we gave up.

Lezy,
Hope Ruth gets better. I hate it when the babes get nasal problems...they cannot breathe so cry cry and aggravate the situation. Sigh...

XY,
No prob. Can pass to Dor if the stocks arrive in time. Dor is it ok?

bkk,
i asked my gynae re the vaccine n whether i should take. his reply - for preggie women, let others be the guinea pig. it's a new vaccine, so relatively untested.

bkk,
initially i thought more convenient if i can drive too and partly coz i can claim for monthly parking while hb can't so can save quite a bit coz parking in city is expensive... but then after 1 month of lessons i told my hb i'm perfectly fine with him in the driver seat... haha!

dor,
so nice to have a big fish tank at home! i like to have an aquarium but i don't like the cleaning part... hahaha... lazy bum :S

re: fish
difficult to maintain but fun to look at
my bro keep gold fish before. and he manage to breed some too.. that's very interesting.
now hb has a 4 ft fresh water tank at PIL place. everyweek must make some effort to change water.
C likes to look at the swimming fish too.. but she will say 'shit shit shit' instead of 'fish fish fish'. :p

re: TTT
bkk,
in this case, can mail out the sun care sample to me first? if i like it, can order soon.

thanks thanks.

gar, bkk
when is your BP until? I'm intersted in the facial foam, (esp since it's soap-free, YAY!!) but think i might as well try the sunscreens first and then see how i like those, since got 1 for 1 offer??

HI iso

BP until next wed. Yup, if you get the sunscreen ,can get FOC foam.

Blogging moms
have you ever encountered creepy pp posting comments on your blog? how do you block them? I have this creep from India saying that he fell in love with the cute children on my blog!!! EEEEEEEE. paedophile!! Help!

bkk,
but means the stuff only be available next Wed + 1Week?

ee... how to block? can only delete the post. but can't block him from reading your blog.

re: h1n1 vaccine
hb also say wait and see first. dun rush to be the guinea pig.

XY
LOL!! shit??

butterflies
some pretty gross stories hor?? haha. but maybe our kids will learn that that's life.
btw that day on mickey mouse clubhouse, they called the pupa/cocoon a chrysalis - the first time i heard that word i think. so not only kids learning from watching tv :p

bkk
the monitor that you have, is it DECT? the dect ones have much less interference, but for philips i find the old fashion one is "louder"! maybe they set it that way..

gar
as mentioned to leila, take them as soon as possible, when there are no problems, so that the first few experiences are always pleasant. you can also ask the dentist to give your toddler a rough look-over just to get used to getting their mouth checked, even if the dentist doesn't really get to see much.

leila
ok will let u know! actually if u need u shld have gone to the philips sale... i might go check out the novita humidifiers cos i realise that the philips one only 2litres, barely enough for 1 night.
let me ask for woodlands for u.

abusive parents
i think u guys heard about the guy who beat his daughter to death because she ate his ciggies? apparently a lot of people who saw the photos said that he really beat the sh** out of her. even the DPP who is a v tall and large lady cried when she saw the photos.
Some people are just not fit to be parents!!!!!!!

for me - the number one virtue is compassion. don't talk about honesty lah, integrity lah, perseverence lah, all that crap...if that person abuses or tortures ANY animal or creature - i think he/she ought to burn in ****

sorry, i feel v strongly for humans who can subject another living being (need not be human) to intense pain and suffering KNOWINGLY!!!!

really arr mummies... h1n1 vaccine not so good?? hmmmmm

wah ... mummies all boz women.. i am a lazy mommy.. but tot since i am in my late twenties liao... better start on sunscreen???

iso,
haha.. yaloh.
then on dining table, she will point at the steam fish and 'shit'.
to make fun of her, we asked: you want to eat shit?
she nodded. :p

re: abusive parents
iso, hai... the story is very sad loh

for the other case, i think the father loves the kids too much such that he wants to bring them together with him.

ida,
you so young ah.
late 20s and have 4 kids!! envy envy.

bkk
even more sad is that there are some people who are desperately TTC and can't have children!
but also this couple are ridiculous, leave 3 kids under 24 months at home by themselves.

i found out recently that it's illegal to leave any kid below 10 years old at home alone!

blog - OMG!! are you on blogger? did he say it once only or put his comments after lots of posts?? ew!!!!!

gar
in the states they treat animal abusers very seriously, because it could be they torture animals today, tomorrow it could be humans. i wish we had such an emphasis here.

XY
aiyoh, poor girl, hahaha..

iso,
ya ya....i follow this program called animal police in US. they go around arresting pple for animal abuse (and even neglect!) COOL

Re:Staying with in laws

Trying to sort out things now.

Actually the reason why i moved to my in law place was because my working hrs for my new job were pretty long so very hard to fetch G back and fro work. And we thot it might be better not to subject her to late night sleeping and early waking up if she goes home with us.So we shifted lor.. everything was ok as i need not be at hm for long hrs since i was out working. Its only recently when i was preggie and couldnt work because of my MS that i stayed at hm for a no. of days and thats when i realise i will go 'crazy' if i stay at hm the whole day with them.And i started to think abt a lot of things.I cant even imagine doing confinement for 1 month there.

I told my hubby already.. he was quite mad at me actually cause he feels that i cant manage at hm with 2 kids unless i get a maid. But getting a maid is also an issue cause my job doesnt give me stable income.
He feels that moving to his parents place was the best arrangement already but i told him i will really go crazy if i stay there. Yesterday , i told him that we will sleep at hm and we brought G back too.

We haven reach any conclusion yet but i told him i wanna be back as often. Actually i think my PIL must be thinking that i am weird. We have everything there and yet we still brought baby hm at 9 pm yester just to go home to sleep. Think they must have realised something wrong with me.

Sigh...

Re:Maid
Can i ask if we have a maid and bring her to in laws place.. what does maid do there? cause my MIL got her way of doing things and i am sure she will not want the maid to interfere.

Re: Abusive parents

Iso.. i was very angry with the father that killed the daughter because of the cigarettes.. but i seriously din expect what u have mentioned. I thot more of internal injuries.. i cant imagine how the sad ger would have looked.. Whats the verdict.. I hope that guy gets hanged.

ISo.. i was also very angry that he left a 2 yr old with a 1 yr old and 2 months old at hm.. ridiculous right!!

The AMK father also... he is posessive and selfish.. i read the papers that he probably strangled the brother while the sis watched and than suffocated her.. how can he kill the kids that he cradle from day 1??

bkk.. i feel like crying everytime i read all these reports too than when i see G , i will hug her and tell her : "u are such a lucky ger".. :p

Dor.. paiseh.. i noe serum with u.. these few days mental state not good.. paiseh.. will call u again k..

TTT.. no time to look thru.. will take a look later ..

bkk,
do you enable only blogger can leave comments? maybe you should move to other blog platform e.g.wordpress which allows postings using password like the one happymum2b/kelly maintains.

Iso
really? you mean illegal in spore? under which Act?

Blogger
Yeah on blogger butI don't allow just anyone to post comments. must be moderated by me. I'm concerned but it seems I can't do anything unless I bar the whole world from coming or insist that pp put ina password to read the blog. Looking for a widget or something other to track movements on the blog.

Animal cruelty
Animals are way down on our policy makers' totem pole. You see, we don't even have an NMP to represent the animal activists.

Ida
can start using sunscreen even in 20s. even for babies, we protect their skin from harmful UV rays right? adults shud too

suicides
i feel so so sad for the mother. i think i'll go crazy if my kids were taken away like that. they're so innocent!

jeannie
maybe maid can look after the kids while MIL do things her own way?

actually how much is maid levy these days ah? i also rather not have maid but i don't think i can look after 3 kids in the house. that includes hubby! heh.

Jeannie,
hang in there....when i first knew i conceiving #2 - wah, also 10,000 worries and concerns flooding my mind. kept crying dunno what to do with the childcare arrangements.

i think partly cos first tri always more xin1 ku3 for us with all the physical discomforts, and also hormonal changes. so i think mentally we need more support.

try not to worry too much, when you hit 2nd tri and feel better - then slowly try to work things out tog with hubby. when you are feeling physically and mentally - you will also be able to be more positive and find "creative" solutions to your situation

take care ya?

xiaoyun,
np! since we stay nearby

genice
*hugs* no problem...take your time... my own fear is i happily thought they are mine n used it

garfield, ya.. agreed that the marine fish are so so colourful.... Gervaise loves to say "fish, fish"

bkk
good question. i was told by my friend who's a PD who works with MCYS sometimes on child abuse cases. i tried to google it but came up with nothing, but did end up donating to the Children's Society
Will ask him when i get a chance.

gar
can share what are your childcare plans when #2 comes?

Iso.. i dunno abt maid levey.. think abt $400.. depens on which country the maid comes from i think..

Gar/Dor.. thanks..

gar.. yar probably the hormones.. i really hope so.. need to pick myself up from somewhere... I am much fortunate than a lot of pp already .. cant let myself sink deeper..

Re:Mummies with 2 or more kids ( impending 2 kids)
What are us plans har.. like iso.. i also very curious.

bkkgal.. wanted to tell u this.. i like the bracelet that kate was wearing for the butterfly lodge.. she looks like an hawaiian babe.. somemore got acessories lor.. hey so i pass u the tutu after ur hkg trip. U cna pick up from me anytime at HV ( luckily not far from ur place)

lezy.. hope ruth's get better and BTW, her sleeping position was SOLID.. she must be SUPER tired.. haha..

XY.. Shit Vs Fish??hehe.. quite diff leh.. but very funnny..

I am helping my hubby to do an assignment for his MBA.. so tough.. dunno how to write..what leadership and managerial stuffs.. sianzz...

iso: maid levy is $170 if we hv a child who is a s'pore citizen under 12yr old living with us or we hv a parent, parent-in-law, grandparent or grandparent-in-law who is a Singapore Citizen aged 65 years old or above, living with us at the same registered address as in the NRIC.

humidifier: the red floral print one also needs 5litre water wor! wow... everynite 5mitre ah ?

diana
wah, my hubby thought it was like $700+ for levy! cool, thanks.

humidifier
ya need abt 5L if it's on 50% humidity and full blast! but i put 50%, half blast, so can use for 2 nights. i think default is 60% humidity, but once i put 60% and full blast and after that feel like the room is a bit too humid! lol.

bkkgal, i think he's acting out of curiosity. *cross fingers*

u can check whether u can stop search engine robots from indexing yr blog. This way u can reduce traffic into yr blog. I'm not familiar wth blogger admin panel. Hth.

re: the case of the father/2 kids
they live just a stone's throw away. V sad to read abt such cases or child abuse cases. Haiz.

xy, sorry that carrie was a victim. I think alex is a buaya in making... Btw. I lol when i read abt the shit vs fish tale.

iso/genice,
no prob can share.

AM shift
1) my mom will arrive in the mng at 730am to take care of #2.
2) #1 will leave tog with us when we go to work, drop her off at mng CC
3) 8ish - MIL to come and help my mom

PM shift
1) my dad will go and fetch #1 and bring her back home
2) MIL goes off around lunch time 1pm
3) Dad stays on to help my mom

If either my MIL or my dad cannot cope - will get part time help to stand in.

This is planned scenario only....expecting there will be issues / changes required

bbk/gar: for the firmage masque & yeux - preggie mummy can use hor ? and also i hv super senstive skin too. everything is soap free. no prob ya ?the masque is hyrdating ?

re: shit vs fish
genice,
initially she said 'fi fi fi'. Then we teach her fish 'fi-sh'. End up she says 'sh-i'.
sometimes will wonder she has Dyslexia or wat.
but i am not worry right now. my niece last time say 'pocket' as 'kepok'. now 13 years old already, still quite good in study and likes to read too.

re: staying with IL
genice,
dun worry about the childcare arrangement right now.
just do watever that makes you feel better right now when you are going through hormonal change. I totally can understand how the noise level can affect ones mood.
9 pm bring G home to sleep is ok wat. at least you can make sure that she can sleep by 10 pm and can have a good night rest.
i normally bring C home around 830 ~ 9 too.

clover,
haha..

diana,
ya firmage range preggies can use. bkk and i are using it. if you have v sensitive skin, then use the mask once a week (instead of twice a week). the mask has gentle lifting effect so you will feel a very slight tightening when it dries.

XY,
fortunate - yes for bb....but as you can imagine - Mom + MIL = sure got conflict
guess who gets the stress of playing peacemaker?

XY
my E is mouse-dyslexic - he calls Mickey Mouse Kimmie!! always calls him Kimmie! Dunno why.

gar
wow, you really have the schedule worked out! it's a good start. will you have a maid or PT help also?

Genice
I can understand what you're gg through. After breaking news to my parents, I got less than enthuse reception I already knew I won't have all the help I needed. I was so stressed during that period - thinking of who can help us, shud we move or not, put K in cc or not, what if maid don't want to stay...Somemore hb was considering a job switch, even more stress for us. Luckily my ILs are very supportive. This is why I needed to move nearer to them. At least I stillhave 1 set of g/parents willing to help.

Iso
teach him Raikonen...hehe.

Clover
observe A whenever he does it. If he repeats, then firmly tell him that it hurts the person he's doing to. K used to pinch us but not hard. So we pinched her back and she stopped le. I also say "ouch!" VERY LOUD (exaggerate one) and say mama pain, sad, sayang mama. She will sayang me but not the father. The father she will whack harder, think it's fun.

iso,
i have had NUMEROUS discussions with my parents....this is the latest version (probably something like version 5 or 6 already). so that's why i qualify subject to changes!

at this point - only plans to have part time help come in 2x a week to do housework. but am prepared to convert that to a 5-day part time help arrangement. full time live-in domestic help is last resort.

Bkk,
i was so apprehensive of telling my parents....that i only broke that news at 4.5 months after my amnio....even then i chicken, got hb to tell my own parents instead

garfield,
think you have it very well planned! everything is subject to changes especially when it comes to kids and babies... but I think you're off to a good start
and I also think you are very lucky to have 2 sets of grandparents here... The only reason why I even consider going back to my country is because of the family support... Over here is 0 support unless i "import" them... heheh... :p

iso,
I think total expense for getting a maid is roughly $600/month for me... and I pay more levy i.e. $265 but I save by having home cook food almost everyday...

re:family size,
do you come from a big family or a small one?

I'm just wondering if this affect in your decision to have kids, >1 kid etc... For me, I came from a medium size family with 3 older siblings... Personally I think this has affect my decision on not to have many kids because I feel it's difficult to share my parents with so many siblings... (hehe... i'm selfish that way) so hence for me i think 2 kids would be ideal. This way I can divide my attention to my 2 kids sufficiently.

Another friend of mine whose an only child tells me that he wants more than one kid because he felt so lonely when he was a kid with no siblings...

So i'm just wondering what is your ideal family size and why...

bkkgal
yalo! C also pinched her daddy real hard and does not sayang back lei. so funny but my hb sometimes really in pain. :p

garfield
so good! all your parents and ILs so ready to help.

iso
yup levy only $170 since we got little ones. plus the maid's salary usually ranging from $340 to $400. so each month is about max $600 exlcluding her necessities and expenses.

leila
you ordering from book depository? can i tompang 2books only? since you stay woodlands, i think it should be pretty convenient for me to self collect from you since im at yishun. let me know ok. thank in advance!

jeannie
hope you are feeling better now

hihi, everyone, trying to finish the 37 ep TVB DVD set that I bought last weekend before I pop so only checking forum on and off. :p

Already called and expedited cot delivery, will be coming tomorrow. Nagged hubby to clear his 'childcare' leave so he's taking leave tomorrow.

Jeannie, my FIL is very fussy about the way things are being done and he doesn't like my maid to step into his territory. Whereas my MIL is ok. So far, they don't mind if my maid washes the dishes, hand washes RaeAnne's clothes or help to clean windows grills etc. My mum on the other hand is glad to have an extra pair of hands to help. When we eat dinner at her place on Sundays. My maid will help to wash the dishes, help her tie up the old newspapers and to wash the kitchen floor.

bkkgal, gar, if I take the wrinkle serum (akan datang) and the oil free sunblock (can double up as moisturizer?). I don't like sticky/creamy texture. Are both these products light weight? what's the promotion now? What free gift for which pdt? Thanks.

seems like preggy wif #2 can be super stressed. i was. very very stressed over my Cayenne has 2 go CC, must get a maid, and hb job switch which requires him 80% flying! was super unhappy tat period, cried everyday.

jeannie,

relax k. take care.

tute,

my ideal size is family of 4! 2 kids are enuff. i tink i hv oni tis much (energy, love, attention etc) 2 split betw my 2 kids. Hee...

crystal,

i rem u were still working while preggy wif #2 rite. wat prompt u 2 mk the decision of becoming a SAHM?

Tute, I’m like you too, 0 support here and my supports are in KL.

Esther, saw that you super slim liao leh, must be really tired taking care of both kids hor! What a pity we cant chat longer just now. Ur hubby now still 80% flying?

hi tong!

nice miting u jz nw AFTER chatting so long in forum. keke...

ya 2 bad we cant chat long. maybe next time can hv lunch 2gether. since we r jz 1 station away. apple79 is @ TP area aso.

me slim ah... not reali leh. i did lose all the xtra frm Cayden. BUT cayenne's xtra 4kg still wif me.. haha...

ya very tiring taking care of 2 man! during my confinement, i didnt rest at all, sometimes i oni has 1 meal 4 the whole day. simply 2 tired 2 eat, no appetite...

nw back 2 office. i eat 3 full meals without fail!!! haha... ;p

esther
i was vv tired from working. i was quite stupid to change job after months i delivered #1 then i went into this stupid company. my ex-bosses were a real pain! they can tell me things like; "if im pregnant the nxt time, i def wont look like you" WTF! just because i stopped wearing make-up and heels.

since you all know im only 21, and i dont earn alot given my qualifications. so i decided to b a SAHM, spend more time with the kids which i had missed out quite alot when C was at my mom's place. now i can read and really spend alot of time with them. no doubts, sometimes i will feel so deprived of the outside world and the fun i had missed out. but i believed it's worth it eventually. only lucky thing is my hb works for my FIL, so income is very stable and good enough for the family's expenses and for me to spend.

why you can become so slim? im still the same lei, in fact i think im fatter! cuz i only ate once or twice each day and in the late night (cuz the kids finally slp) so i put on the extra pounds! ENVY!

bkkgal, been there, done that. For beating, he has to know it's painful n it's not nice feeling for himself n others. my boy also doesnt sayang his daddy n will do so for me. =D

today is a better day. =)

tute, i want 2-3kids leh. I have 1 younger bro n we r not tt close so i'm envious those with more siblings n who r closer.

crystal,

oh, ur ex bosses r so insensitive.

definitely it is worth it! nobody regrets being a SAHM!

high chance i will join u & kitsune next feb onwards. hee...

u eat in the late nite ah.. it is a BIG no no leh..

u still young, u sure can slim dwn eventually!