(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bluegin, the D90 really makes shooting such a breeze! lovely body. He bought all off the clubsnap forum. yeah, a photoshoot will be nice...

bkk,
yalor. One thing I dun like abt Singapore outdoor shoot is the heat. The moment I step outdoor, will be drenched with sweat. Somemore now I'm pregnant, cannot lay down or squat. Very tiring. So less output. This time as well. Only a few shoot.

D90 have the video clip function as well right?

xy, actually i think Carrie resembles your hubby more lei.

outing: when is our next one? cuz i missed the butterfly farm one , hehe

camera:

i'm super bo chup about cameras lah..cuz erm..i dunno...always resisted learning about the f and ISO and etc. i only know high ISO means more pixelated but work better in low light. something like that. (cuz he always yelling at me when i just grab the camera to take a pic and never change the settings - for me i just wanna capture the moment and that moment doesn' WAIT!!!)

My hubby using..erm..i had to go Flickr to check the photo properties cuz i always forget. hahahaha.

Body: Canon EOS 40D
Lens (mostly): Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM

He's in charged of the photographic society in school so he will change his lens on n off to try out stuff - but less and less nowadays lah. Maybe once in awhile he ki siao volunteer to shoot for friend wedding or what then will go borrow some kilat lens.

staying with parents/in-laws:

i love the convenience. I love my mum!

But i also have a lot of differences with her. For one she is overly meticulous and will drive both me and my hubby crazy. I also like the privacy of my own place, my own habits/rules etc.

My mum gives in to Ruth way too much and I guess that's the perogative of a grandparent. I tend to discipline Ruth more nowadays - knowing how she tends to push her way with the grandparents. I 'take advantage' that 'mummy's the greatest' and she'll never be angry at me for long....but i know she has a big ego lor.....if i scold her in public or what, i'm in for a major meltdown so have to really try DAMN hard to be patient and etc.

Sigh.

So in the end solution is to stay nearby but not together. My parents also like their own space and their own 'household/house rules'. I think they will die staying with us as well.

lezy,
actually I start off with Nikon F80 manual SLR, then go into D70.
If I start off with a DSLR will prefer Canon. EOS350D already very good body.

Butterfly farm:
How come no group photo uh?

bkk,
animal zoo? Where? When? The kids will love it.

XY, actually we only stay 10 mins drive away.. pretty near.. i ever thot of moving back hm to stay but think my hubby will 'kill' me lor cause we already go thru so much trouble to temp shift here.

but i think i will get depression if i do my confinement in this place..

But recently hubby very busy with work and school so cant bring up to him also.

bkkgal.. i do agree with you.. sometimes u have ur own system and u want things to be run in a certain way.. even though my in laws are nice .. but its just that i cant even go pass my own personal barrier, simple things like i want to have a study desk.. i also duno where to find the place..i want to bring G's Mega blocks here also no place to put.FAN!!

one of my firends also stayed with her in-laws cuz of convenience - and also save money cuz they migrated ultimately and didn't see need to buy a flat of their own. They stayed in a semi-d but there are like 3 families in it and look lioke a childcare centre each time i visited her.

She, her hubby and 2 girls stayed in a room that's really really small lor - after putting some wardrobe, a bed only have a small L-shape walking area of less than 1m in width. I really marvel her 忍 for about 3 years. i think i will die. heh.

bluegin,
i dunon what manual SLR he used last time. He ah...i gonna start again. buy so many camera until i forbid him to buy anymore cuz i feel he's not that hardcore anyway!

Before this Canon, he was using the Nikon D70 which he said got some problem liao so he passed to his cousin. SO generous ah? THen Ruth came along and gave him a reason to get a 'better camera'.

Sigh.

jeannie
wah, dilemma!
can G sleep in the room first, then your MIL later sleep at 11pm?

staying with parents/ILs:
definitely has its advantages. discipline wise, i'm lucky because i spent 8 months with E after he was born, so even though i was living with ILs, i could do things more or less my way and learn the good things from them and not do the bad things i observed, haha. and i would often "run" to my mum's place too

bkk
agreed, i'm excited to have my own home, finally! What's The Animal Resort? so sad we missed out on the butterfly farm..

jeannie,
see how lor. if the purpose really to save money and etc, then u have to put up with everything?

i think i will never rent out my place cuz i dun like ppl living in my place and using my things for a prolonged period! I may just throw everything away and buy new stuff if that happens!

i'm paranoid ah.

bkk..
thanks for organizing the tour. Really fun and educational for us. RUth was KNOCKED OUT before lunch man..so poor thing. She slept in the car after we left - lucky we left before she collapsed.

SHe's been waking up like 6+/7am everyday and sometimes until 1/2pm also dun nap.

I think the sun really zapped her energy (as it did mine!!) and made her damn tired.

Genice
dun be fan - no good for baby ok? happy mommy = happy baby rem? Maybe after 1st trimester when you start to feel better and hb not so busy, you can consider other options e.g. get a domestic helper and ask ILs to drop in to check? or send kids to babysitter? or both kids to infant and childcare? or stay weekdays with them and move home weekends.

Animal Resort
It's not a zoo, it's like a petting farm. Located at Seletar Farmway 5. Some detail here from a site managed by moms:

http://mums-a-musing.com/?p=481#more-481

If you all interested, i dun mind organising but after HK trip lah. I have to get over yesterday's heat first.

Animal Resort
I'm interested! E loves animals.

Underwater World
anyone gone recently? Am thinking of bringing E, my friend went recently and said it's not bad. E loves fishes, so i think he'll enjoy.

lezy
i think if want to rent out i'd take all the good stuff, and leave only the things i don't mind that will get trashed. haha.

Animal Resort
I'm interested too! but i'm worried but MS is still lingering. let me see it i get better this week as i am into my 12th week.

animal resort, i'm interested. Aiming to get alex in touch with the nature more often.

tute, np. I wasn't who's who too. =)

lezy, good for u. My son was over tired n didnt sleep until 3pm. =(

hi genice,

i would love to stay in jumbo flat,but scared of the cleaning,jumbo flat has 5 rooms,cos is 3room+4 room flat,the living room is very big

animal resort,
me me ! i'm interested
always love outdoor activities with C... he just adores outdoor and hates malls.. :S

iso,
underwater world... hmm, last time we went C was only interested in the colorful fishes but they have lots of big and scary fishes which umm C wasn't too fond off.. heheh... so quite wasted when I went last time... but I went in Aug so maybe now he's more appreciative of such animals..

genice,
I think your place and your PIL's place is quite near if it's 10 min away... why did you decide to move in the first place? was it because you were not feeling well due to MS (recall you mention it once)...

re staying with parents,
i'm like lezy... enjoying the convenience but like lezy said, got differences but it's not too big that it makes me think I should send my parents back... in fact, i think they give in a lot for me so I'm just thankful... I still have my own family tradition e.g. celebrating Christmas (my parents doesn't celebrate) and we also celebrate my parent's big day... the one thing I really give up i think is eating out... my parents hates eating out so we eat at home 99% of the time :p so I compensate during lunches... hehehe..

gar,
cannot have no 2 yet... my plan is when my parents go back next year, I will send C to child care... then let them enjoy 1-2 years at home with my small nephew & niece (also around C's age) then I will pull them here again when I have no 2... hehehe... that's my "grand plan" but dunno if I'm sick of work then suddenly act on impulse lah hor.. :p so far not yet... let's see.. haha..

Hi, Clover

Nice to talk with you again, after so long. Hehe....I thought that I could meet you gals at postnatal yoga. But no, Rita told me no enough people for postnatal yoga.

Another 2 feb mums are Eliaw, Yen. They seldom posted now.

I don't know rest of March mums' nicknames, other than triplet one. How are they?

Hi, Crystal
You want to try maid agency bkkgal recommended? The agent seems know recommending maid , depending on customer's needs, though agency fee is a bit ex.

Hi, Lezy
hehe.... Your hubby sounds very much like mine.
DH doesn't like to go out eating with extended family(His family). Reason he quoted is that he prefers more couple time.

I told him butterfly lodge only late Sat night, when E fall asleep and he was watching soccer. ^_^.

He only wanted to bring compact camera at outings. The only time he is willing to bring EOS is when ILs borrowed our compact one. Hehe..... last a few weekends we brought EOS out, since SIL forgot to return compact camera. Then I feel so good taking nice pics from EOS, hehe..... now I am learning photography on my own.

Hehe......I asked him " Have you tried , anything you'd like to do, not yet?" He said" I am quite happy now, you support everything I'd like to do". So though I took initiative to do this & that , he tries to follow, most of time, instead of discouraging.

Even he discourages, such as he bans me quote any of his words at blog, sniff at me for any of my boast about any E's progress, I don't care. I said " then you delete my writing yourself ". ^_^

hehe......I thought that hubby like this is normal.......

bkk,
thks for organising the trip. It was really great fun!!! Btw, both my caterpillars r now hanging upside down, think they will pupate soon. Actually, i m pretty surprise they survived cos L was always ask g me to take them out for a closer look, touch them, watch them move n even wanna kiss them !!! *faint* Well, hopefully butterflies wld emerge.

tute,
great meeting u too! n v v nice pics. thk i will go bug my hubby n see if he wld buy a SLR too :p

gar,
got ur mail. will try to get back to u soonest k? n cldn't agree more, A is soooooo cute wid her "hamburger" looking cheeks.

jeannie,
u never thought of hiring a maid, then when #2 is delivered, bring maid n kids to mil place when necessary since they stay so close and therefore pretty convenient. Understand how it feels when there s so much space constrain...

iso,
underwater world is a great plc for kids esp if they r not squishmish abt touch g/feeding the stingray, pick up the starfish, attempt to touch the puffer fish etc etc. can't say that my son enjoyed it as much as the mummy did though....hahaha!

if u jus wanna see fishes, can also go to Qian Hu. lots of tropical fish, v v colourful n ummm...no entry fees.

btw, i wanna ask u, when do u thk i shd intro a denstist to L? n can u any recommend any in the northern part of s'pore.

Tubao
your hb very accomodating...If i tell mine abt outing last minute, i will get a "you mean you didn't think it was impt to let me know until now???" response. Now, I have to pencil in events into his diary so that it is blocked out. bah!!

Is Froggies fee expensive? I thot quite ok considering that I never get any probs and Sheila take monthly instalment payment. She's very good at assessing needs.

Leila
L is so cute!! wanna kiss the caterpillars! I kept thinking of the Eric Carle caterpillar boook yday. Do post pics of the butterflies when they emerge. So exciting! hope mine pupates soon too

Btw, K loves the probiotic! She said "good good" and thumbs up. So pls, can you be a dear and get me 3 boxes. I'll transfer the $$ to your acc.

bkk/qingling,
possible to share the shop in HK that sells DSR lens? thank you in advance

re:6th fish tank
xiaoyun, i dun think we need any license to have one at home. i have a 6 feet marine fish tank at home.

tute, nice pics!

genice, your serums are still with me.

hehe....different case..
Whenever I ask him whether to go or not, he will keep quiet. When I keep asking for answers, he says " you know I don't like to go, you just plan as you like, I follow".(He is anti-social one) So I just do as what he says----I plan as I like.

Some more, my friends came over on Sat night for dinner, robbed him of family time. So I felt that he feels even more reluctant to join another outing.

Sometimes, I asked him after outing whether he enjoyed, he always said yes. Don't know how true it is.
Hehe......I enjoyed.

Gar, agree with the rest. When I saw Arielle's photo, I ask hubby why our gal don't have such cute chubby cheeks.

bkkgal, wa, kate lynn can say caleb, clever gal.

Saw gynae today. Baby gal is 2.6kg and engaged liao at 35w6d but zero dilation. I'm surprised cos didn't feel any big difference in the last 2 weeks. Dr Wong said see me in 2 weeks time unless you pop earlier. :p

Leila, i think my caterpillar can't make it already. This morning looks 1/2 dead. So sad
no butterflies to release.

Qian Hu sounds fun! can put on my list of nature places to explore.

Tute, lol. Our "grand plans" often gets derailed by boredom at work - like me and Iso! haha.

Iso, i'm entitled to 14 days MC and 30 days hospitalisation..something like that...last pregnancy, due to hypertension/gestational diabetes, gynae gave me 10 weeks hospitalisation leave. Bored like mad but i won't mind it again now that i have K to entertain at home. work is so unending....sigh..

leila
ok thanks for the feedback on underwater world, i forgot about qian hu also, been there years ago, good idea to go too!

as for dentist, E goes pretty "often" to visit, about 2-3 times a month, so much so that he thinks the chair is a slide, and will even lie back to let hubby just look into his mouth (but actually hard to see anything).

you could bring them along with you if you're going to see for your own cleaning (but i think need another person lah, hard to look after and have cleaning at the same time!), and the dentist can just have a quick look in their mouth, more for yi4 si4 so they get used to the whole environment.

only thing is if you're having cleaning they might be afraid of some of the noises (heck, even for adults it can be scary!). but whatever it is, the best is to start bringing when there isn't a problem yet, so that the first few encounters are all positive. if first visit need extraction or something, then might be a bit traumatic?

HTHs, think i'll post up some photos of E on the dentist chair on my blog later, hee.

my hubby's group has a clinic in serangoon central, is that convenient for you? if not let me know which area, i can ask around?

kitsune
jia you!! the last lap to go!! we'll be eagerly awaiting the good news, haha..

bkk
oh so can have hospitalisation leave but actually you're at home??

tute
thanks for feedback. looks like you really got a grand plan hor?? haha..

tubao
my hubby also once criticise what i write on my blog. then i said, it's mine, not yours! you want you go write your own. heh.

tongtong, ya she just fell asleep like that - we were also shocked lor.

BLOG:
my hubby doesn't really say anything so far - but that's cuz i also try not to blog about each and everything the way i used to lor - which is something i'm not quite accustomed to. I do wish to be able to talk openly and be myself but sometimes i will hold back certain comments/thoughts. Not the same as before. still trying to think of how i wanna 'change' it.

crystal,

u hv alredi change 2 maids? didnt read all posts. simply 2 many 2 catch up.

i tink u r quite capable having 2 do most hsework on ur own. I dun tink i hv the energy 2 do man. handling cayenne is enuff 2 drain me out. my maid tk care of my boy totally except bathing. she does most hsework.

re : staying wif ILs/own parents

my whole family is staying wif my dad. & indeed super cramped.

sometimes i get into conflicts wif my dad (lucky not ILs) & becos my WHOLE family is staying @ his place, so at times, i will swallow watever unhappines.

genice,

my family of 4 stayed in 1 room & it is really very cramped.

& if one cries, will affect the other. but most of the time is cayenne who cries & cayden will wake up. then gotta handle both. reali tired.

told hb tat as since we got 2 kids liao & we reali need a bigger space. we intend 2 get back 2 our own flat.

u can ask ur ILs 2 help in taking care of ur 2 kids and get a maid as well? i tink own space is still the best.

Esther, luckily you are staying with your dad n not your Ils, cuz if we are unhappy we can still pour out to our dads but not our Ils.

Wow surprised many moms here are not squemish about catepillars and butterflies. I like nature but not the creepy crawleys. No caterpillars for me. This morning a giant, fat cicada flew into my kitchen coz my light was so bright in the darkness at 6am. Yikes! think it was about the size of a box of clorets sweets?

Animal resort..I live just 3 mins away! I've been there several times. Frankly on our own there is nothing much interesting there. But if you book a small group tour I think you can feed the animals and get pretty close up. There is a horse (there were 2, dunno what happened to the white one), a goat, peacocks, some free running roosters,hens ducks, geese, an old cassowary and other birds. You can feed the guinea pigs and rabbits. Beware of mozzies! The place is like a kampung (I like), but u will have to drive or taxi in.

http://singaporeplayground.blogspot.com/2009/03/animal-resort.html

jeannie, leila
that's q a good idea, to get a maid and ferry everyone to your ILs place? even though it's not as convenient all staying together, at least you have your sanity. haha.

Thanks, Iso. Haha, I still have so much unfinished business, uncollected BP and spree loot. Faint! Hope bb will delay for a few weeks and wait for Daddy's school holidays. :p

Genice, ya, I'll rather hire a maid and put at my ILs place or parents' place (provided they are agreeable) then to stay with Ils. I'll find it very stifling too cos of different living habits. :p

Hi tongtong, i leave this sat. Anything you want? I can help...got no agenda this trip, just eat, sleep, visit frens.

Sweetpea
oh cool! great review there.

Iso
yup, you can be given hospitalisation leave but recuperate at home.

bkk
that's great news!! i'm planning to take 1.5 months off before bb is born, so i was prepared to max the 14 days MC, annual leave, and even dun mind taking no pay leave. but if can take hospitalisation leave, that's great! i just checked my contract, got 60 days hopsitalisation. woohoo!! then i can save my annual leave to offset notice period after my ML

must ask gynae at next visit

re: outings
animal resort: i am interested too.
qian hu: do they provide guided tour? last time i went no tour, OTOT. not sure if they welcome a big group of ppl or not?
butterfly lodge: bluegin, we didn't formally sit down to take group photos.
everyone is too hot to think about taking group photo. lol.

my hb enjoyed the outings. he finds interesting to see all kids together and observe the development of other kids.

re: stay with parents
genice,
since so near, why need to stay together?
you can just go there during day time, and night time go home mah..
my IL place always on TV till 40. and sometimes mj till midnight. at home, the atmosphere already in sleeping mode around 9 pm. while at their side, the night is still young.
one of the reason i can't stay together with them.

furthermore, i can mess up my kitchen as much as i like. dun dare to do the same thing to my mil's kitchen. :p

re: fish tank
dor,
is it? marine fish tank very difficult to maintain leh.

fairfield,
how are you? any plan to come back?

iso: wow, the bb monitor quite stylo milo leh! and the price quite attractive!

i'm actually also looking for humidifier but dunno which brand to get.

lezy: yupz, i used up all my annual leave, MC & hospitalization leave throughout my last pregnancy.. and still got to take 1 month unpaid lv somemore... but 3/4 of the hospitalization leave i was resting at home, not in hospital.

i was damn bored then... imagine everyday just lie on the bed and do nothing...

but like bbkgal was saying, i wouldn't mind if i'm given the leave to rest now, at least hv the little one at home to entertain me ;p hehe

diana
i'm eyeing the new philips humidifier! but the staff at the philips carnival sale q useless, they actually told me it's not selling anymore, then when i said, no there's a new one, they said not selling yet. geez.

http://www.consumer.philips.com/c/avent-baby-health-monitoring/sch580_20/prd/gb/

i called philips showroom before who said the new one will be selling end of the year but not sure when.

i have a novita one but i find it q inconvenient, always drips water when you refill it. this philips one is a bit like the osim design, so thought if the price is reasonable i'd rather get philips.

Iso
what's this bb monitor you eyeing? I'm looking to get a good audio/visual one tho i haven't decided whether or not bb shud sleep with me or alone in her own room.

do u all knw wat is "kum jiet" (someting like eat very little) old folks refer to worms in the stomach.

do u hv any idea what is the correct word for it?