(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Mummies..when you got for gynae check ups, do you take leave or MC? For my no. 1, I never took any MC for check ups even though gynae will ask me if I need an MC. I took personal leave. This time round...hehehe..need to save leave for both kids leh.

Hello mummies!!

Tute.. nice pics for the butterfly farm trip. Wow.. it has been a long time since i alst saw arielle and leonard . They have grown so much. :D

Gar.. i luv arielle's cheeks.. so pinchable.. :p

Clover and Bluegine... 1st time i see Alex's pics and channet's too. I thot channet and amanda looks a bit alike.
Just like Gwen and heidi... everytime we go for LNT lesson.. this admin person always say they look like twins..

RE: fish oils
Bluginger, thanks for the info.. the one i have is 1000mg one.. so i think enough hor.

How come i was never given calcium tablets leh? So weird..

Sweetpea.. i see my gynae at night one... so dun need take mc.. but i think if i am u maybe i will take mc but also hard to say.. it depends on the 'culture' of ur company..and whther u wanna play safe or not.. Some employees i noe will try to minimise on taking of mc to 'safeguard' their position.. but it really depends on how u view it.

When i was teaching, taking mc during term time quite disruptive n normally teachers will try to take mc on days w less lessons.

genice,
nope. still reporting back to sch. 8-12. but becoz i'm involve in SEM so may have to report to sch all the way till end nov. sianz...

yup, planning on a trip to taiwan wif hb before we r tied down by #2. somemore getting connect plan $ at year end. keke... but hb very bz wif work so not sure whether can go onot.

Hi, Tute,

Nice photos!

---butterfly lodge visit,
Hehe.... I am very happy that I talked with every mummy yesterday, though one or two sentences only.

bx.. u are the criterion owner? Or u in SEM committee? I got my connect Plan Last dec!! :D Shiok! But i dunno where are all the $$ liao.. probably all gone down in US.

Taiwan is nice.. alot of food to eat.. good to go for a break.. so ashlynn not going?

U bring her hm after 12?

bkkgal, tks again for organising the tour. My boy's name is alexander. I only called him that when he's naughty, otherwise it's just alex.

genice, alex is tiny compared to the rest. He's just at 9.6kg.

genice,
sub-criterion ownwer bah... i muz do careful planning wif this $. lotsa thing i wanna do wif it. my delivery charges, investment, travel... haha... cfm not enuf wan.

nope, not bringing her coz she is still not ok with eating our food. may be hard to cook porridge or mee suah for her overseas.

nope, i still doing work so will only bring her home in the evenings. plus still suffering from MS so i dun think i can handle her alone at home. she very naughty these days. i can't keep up with her. too tired and lethargic.

tong,
my company is going to have some organisation change and benchmarking process next year.
so, will have lots of things to do. looking forward to the organisation change.

iso,
xmas is always an exciting month.

sweetpea,
i go in the evening. so never take mc.

jeannie
fish oils, why not ask your gynae? calcium i got only at later stage, plus iron pills also. maybe gynaes got different thinking?

sweetpea
last time i used to take MC, i think for the rest of this year i should just take MC hor, then save my leave to carry over to next year, heh.

diana
i went, but i only bought some avent teats to replace for E in a few months' time. it's like much smaller scale than the one in May, maybe because last time only once a year, now twice a year. i thought the baby monitors were q good tho, this one http://www.consumer.philips.com/c/avent-baby-health-monitoring/scd530_00/prd/gb/
was $150. Think UP is $249 or more?

we wanted to get some appliances, but now that we'll probably only be staying at our new place full time after my confinement (so like july), we might as well wait to buy.

i just had a 30min nap. LOL. want to nap another 30 hours. hahahaha...but i'm one kind la. last night slept late lah. duh.

sweetpea, how come u took leave ah? Is it company policy? I always took erm time-off. :p Just tell my boss i going gynae and he'll say ok. NOthing official :p. My gynae did ask if need MC i just said no - unless i'm unwell and needed more rest - which never happened.

I think whether need to take leave/mc/time-off is all up to company/boss policy. Of course i take time-off means i come back to work after appointment lor.

Or else i fix appointment at 'closing hours'. Meaning i leave at maybe 3pm to go gynae appointment then no need to come back lah.

Diana,
Wah used up everything? I had one colleague who was like in hospital almost throughout pregnancy cuz she cannot keep her food in/down. So most of the tmie in hospital put on drip. I was younger then and honestly quite put-off by pregnancy man!

xy,
it's a sum of money which moe pays out to teachers who have completed certain years of service. but of coz they dun one shot pay u the whole amt. they give payouts every few years. to retain teachers in the profession. otherwise, turnover rate for teaching is very high.

long time no chat...been so busy recently!!

bkk,
thanks for organizing. hb made last min decision to go on sat night and glad we did. arielle had a good time although i was sweating away like a pig heheh....

tute,
thanks for taking and posting the pics. all the "babies" are grown up already. I look back on our first play date at genice's house - what a big difference!

sorry, i don't have a blog. must ask hb how to share the pics we took.

genice,
hehe...a's cheeks like hamburger hor...

lezy,
so shiok! nap! where do you nap? i need one too....falling asleep at my desk...zzz...

wah.. sub criterion owner.. also very sianz.. i hate SEM.. think its so wayang..

Dun worry.. G also getting pout of control.. screams and wail at the slightest thing now..
The only consolation is she can understand more human language.. :p

I also want to travel!!! Wah.. investments.. u inspired by all the previous discussions har.

Xy.. connect plan is like a scheme to replace pension.. u get a lump sum of $ at the 4yr, 7yr and dunno which yr of service.. is to entice teachers to stay on..

XY.. btw, i think carrie looks a lot like u!!!

Iso.. yar maybe i shld go and ask him again.. btw.. ask u har.. who is gona take care of ur 2 kids if u move out to stay?

Now i am slowly moving in to stay with my in laws.. although i dun really like it because its too cramped.. but i also dunno what to do in future..

lezy
wah, zhai!!! how did you do that? my office is SUPER open plan - if i stretch out my right hand i can almost touch my colleague.

jeannie
i don't plan to stay in my job after ML, so for at least the rest of 2010 i can look after them. thinking of putting E into half day CC since i won't have the time to join playgroup with him, but think even if he does go, it might still be quite a bit to handle, so i might need a maid. my place is really small though, only 90sqm, so 3 adults + 2 kids i think is a bit of a squeeze :S

my current ILs place really no space too, the rooms are bursting at the seams already, and my ILs love to keep all kinds of boxes, the house is q messy! i think long term cannot stay with them unless we have another house somewhere to put our things! but it is SO convenient to stay with them.

can you keep your current place and still stay with ILs? although it doesn't make sense financially though, if u can rent out your own place.

Iso, Gar,
I eh, very buay paiseh lah. i just put on my earphones at my desk and slept sitting up. LOL. Well, it's open-concept too but at least nobody around. My place is worse. My level is the 'directors' level and all the bosses are walking around to go take lift/toilet etc. Heng not much ppl around today. hehehehe.

Iso, Gar,
I eh, very buay paiseh lah. i just put on my earphones at my desk and slept sitting up. LOL. Well, it's open-concept too but at least nobody around. My place is worse. My level is the 'directors' level and all the bosses are walking around to go take lift/toilet etc. Heng not much ppl around today. hehehehe.

bkkgal,
Thank you for organising the trip.
Hope the leg cramps weren't too painful for you. Avoid heavy dinner and too much walking can help.
Realized your hubby is using D200 camera and a 18-200mm DX len. Wow... I used to aim that len leh. But too ex. Next time must borrow from him.
Hehhehe.

garfield,
I was surprised to see you there ytd too.
Ya. Me too sweat like pig. I never stop perspiring through the day.
Some comment on the serum and the concealer. used the serum last night, it is not as thick as you describe and it stays through the night.
Concealer I put on this morning. True enough it stays on skin even after lunch. Very good. Will order from you next time after I finish my bb cream which I bought last friday.
A's cheeks like hamsburger. I realli cannnot resist pinching it if I were you. I was like resisting herself ytd.

Butterfly farm trip:
Channet realli enjoy it too. She even tell her grandparent. "No more butterflies" when we reached my parent's place that afternoon.

jeannie
you really going to move in with ILs permanently? or just this period of time? but i admit staying with ILs or own parents definitely is good especially with 2 little ones. at least there is always a helping hand. unlike me, really tough! but no choice, i chose this path.

iso
actually i would really love 90sqm homes. i think it fits 3A and 2C quite perfectly. the cleaning is much more a breeze then. my hb has a love for fishes so no choice had to get a place to house the 6ft and 4ft tanks. the mopping and sweeping for my home is a killer man! i realli prefer smaller and cosier home.

eh i grew up in a 3-room flat all my life. Used to find it small but now that i have a 5-room flat and have to clean it, i want a 3-room flat back :p

lezy,
so good. i can't fall asleep without a proper bed. recently just acquired the skill to sleep in the bus.
last time i fell asleep while expressing milk in the lactation room. :p

bx/genice,
wa.. connect plan, just like our long service award. but it's a bigger sum?
not bad sia..

garfield,
A's cheeks are really hamburger. my hb commented that too.
he thought C's cheek is 'baba' enough, and A win!!
:D

genice,
i look left, look right, look up, look down. still don't think C looks like me leh.
she's a photocopy version of my mil. :p
(sometimes i go market with my mil, ppl will mistaken me as her daughter though.)

bx/genice/iso,
stay with ILs?
means adults and kids stay in the same room?

bluegin,
bb cream. i was thinking to get one. never try before.
what brand did you get? from bp?

crystal,
how's ur maid's issue?

XY
wah, that's not staying with ILs, that's a dorm! LOL. we have our own room, E has his own room, ILs have one room.

gar
btw u said last time u checked cherie hearts it was $400+ right? now the new tanjong pagar one is $680 full day. wah piang.

crystal
wah! do you have to clean the fish tanks too??

lezy
just now during meeting i was DYING for a nap... zzzz

iso,
haha.. ok. means kids have their own room. so i don't need to feel guilty for not staying with ILs.
they have only 1 free room. :p

iso
NAH! is his precious, no one can touch them in fact so he did the washings etc himself.

xy
fetching #3 tomorrow. not v keen though. if this 3rd one dont work out, im giving up. anyway i had survived thru this few months. plus cheryl is a teeny weeny bit more sensible now, so much more easier. she can play on her own when im bathing daryl. or she can sit beside didi while im cooking or hang laundry. and daryl dont need to be carried that often now. the only struggle now is bedtime at night, cuz i nd to make both slp at the same time.

crystal
wah, that's good. last time i got a small 1ft one i sometimes also sian to wash. haha.
how u put 2 kids to nap at the same time ah?? or sleep same time at night?

XY
haha, it's a good "excuse"! but 1 rm would be really too small, unless u dun mind kids sleeping w u and u only stay there weekdays..

bluegin,
i really admire you! i wouldn't go out anymore if i was 38 weeks! probably stay home and lie down every day hehe....all the best for Thursday!

btw, thanks for sharing your feedback on the beauty products! really glad you like them =) like i was sharing - i threw away all my other sunscreens already. mummies who are keen to try some beauty products (anti-aging serums, mask, sunscreens) please PM me ok?

lezy,
hehe...actually i also sleep at my desk - plonk my nice cushy pillow on the table and sleep openly! but i preggie leh, nobody dare to kachow me...

xy,
i didn't realize how "ba" her cheeks are until I saw the photos!!! no wonder her father is worried she'll be overweight!

iso,
i think rental in town higher that's why the rates are higher too.

Thanks Blueginger. Actually they were lower abdominal cramps, not leg cramps. My hb bought most of his lenses 2nd hand. Recently upgraded to D90 which is his first first hand purchase, after selling his D40 for same price as he bought it. Very happy loh. Gg to HK this weekend, he told me HK alot of 2nd camera shops and HK$ low now, so he's gg on his lens spree!

iso
daryl naps 2-3x a day while cheryl naps once a day. daryl's 2nd nap usually coincides with cheryl's one. that's abt 2.30pm. when daryl naps, i will spend time with cheryl or do my chores while she plays on her own or sticks to me in the kitchen. so when the both of them nap tgt, im here!

how to put them to slp at the same time?
i nursed and pat daryl to sleep while cheryl lie on the other side of the bed drinking milk on her own. when daryl is soundly aslp, i put him back to his bed. then i will slp beside cheryl and sing her to slp. sometimes she just roll around me then fell aslp on her own. but there are hard times too like when daryl dont sleep even after i nursed him and just want me to carry him, and cheryl is super tired out and insists me to lie beside her and there i will b struggling! i cant carry daryl and lie at the same time with cheryl right! then both became super whiny! zzz

gar
im keen on anti aging serum and masks lei !!!

bkk,
actually hor...my hubs v tempted to upgrade after he saw UJ's new camera stuff. got good lobang in HK can email us? he may want to tong pang also hehe

crystal,
can can! i send you some samples and PM you the details

bkk - yesh HK a lot of camera gadgets and cheap! my fren's hubby is a HongKonger, so he knows such deals, and my hubby got his external flash for our D90 for only 200+, i think usually if buy in Sg is 600+ if bought in sg?

Iso, you mean you and your colleagues’ seats are very near to each other? Then they will know that you come to forum lor or surf net lor?

wah i also wan a list of those shops man...we didn't dare buy on our own last year cuz dunno if will kana con or not!

also issue of warranty. heh.

but his current cam body and lens is also from HK, bought through a friend whom my hub didn't think got that great a deal it seems. (i dunno about it since i dun dabble in such stuff).

as u all can see, my hub doesn't bring his DSLR out - he say too heavy. RUth also require quite a lot of chasing and carrying and i think hard for him to do so while lugging his cam.Unless special event, or else go casual outing always just use the point-n-shoot. heh.

thank you all for the compliments !
all credits goes to the hb
we love taking pics of the kids... because they grow up so fast...

clover,
oh so that was you ! haha... sorry i didn't dare to say hi first because not sure you were from feb mum thread... :p maybe we can catch up again next gathering

lezy,
i only have time to do the photo uploading during weekends so make sure i clear that one first otherwise the following week i sure forget one... heheh.. my memory is bad these days... i even forgot to bring bluegin the pads even after i put it beside my bag... haiz...

gar,
me too want to pinch arielle's cheeks... hahah... will reply to your mail hopefully later this week

xy,
you really do look like carrie, esp in that pic where you were holding carrie?

bkk,
kate's pronounciation is v good... ur hb asked her to greet cayleb and she said "hi cayleb" softly... even Cayleb refers to himself as "a-leb" heheh... :p

bluegin,
chanette is really tall! can see her towering over C when they shook hands... so cute lah the two of them...

bx/genice/iso,
i'm not staying with ILs but I am staying with my parents and I feel like i'm pampered coz my parents handles all my groceries and my mom does all the cooking (she loves to cook mind you so she cooks everyday)... it is also so much easier because i can stay in office longer and know that my son is still in good hands... i wish they can stay with me for a loonggg time but think at most they will only stay till next year.

crystal,
can HDB keep a 6ft tank?
thought there's some regulations?

it seems like you are doing perfectly fine without a maid.

iso,
the common room is super small to accomodate 2A+1C.
since we stay so near (walking distance), not going to stay together unless we both lose our job and got to rent out our house. :p

garfield,
A looks very 'kiat' instead of fat.

we are amazed how she play the swinging game with ur hb.

bkk/bx,
wa.. HK, taiwan.
i want!! next year bah..

bkk,
For me, I rather buy first-hand as I'll do a lot of research and make sure i really want the lens. Super Kiasi later the 2nd-hand lens have problem. LOst money and lost my effort. Hubby stop me from buying =P. I have extra sure wanna invest on a good flash and macro lens. Really good to take photo of kids.
Now my D70 also weird. Think of buying D90body too. Very nice, right? Where he bought his 2nd hand stuff from? Must find one day organise outing for photoshoot session.

Lezy, what does ur hb use? Mine buys his lenses without warranty but he's ok with it, as long as he is satisfied with the condition and has a good deal on it. He's super siao on abt practising his skills...even going to attend a homestudio workshop. He signed me up for a photography class but I lasted only 2 lessons cos the outdoor lessons I really can't tahan the heat. Peng san!

iso.. jialat.. i am really living in a dorm siah.. thats why very sianz..

Crystal, XY, Iso.We intend to rent our house out cause ultimately will be staying with them.. now weekdays stay over at their place.. i already suffocating..
I noe its bad to say this.. actually over her i dun need to do HH chores, dun need to cook.. can sleeep till late.. and send G out out of the room if she wakes up earlier. But still , i only have a room, i hate to be confined. But if i go out of the room, i will get headache.. so many things outside.. most of the time they switch on tv, or radio pretty loud..sianz..that will force me back into the room.

And they each staying in 1 room, even if the next baby come the 4 of us will be in 1 room probably will send G to sleep with mil for the night which i dun like also cause she sleeps at 11pm after watching tv.. i want G to sleep earlier.

But if i stay at my own place.. also need help unless i can get a helper whom i cnat trust much to leave 2 kids with her.. dilemma..

I dun mind staying with them but i think we need a JUMBO flat..at least 4 bedrooms?? I dun even noe whether they can stay in 1 room together or not.But i need to wait at least 2 yrs b4 i can sell my flat.so meanwhile i am super vexed... i was just telling my hubby how?? We cant even have a study /play area for the kids cause there is no place to put the stuffs. When i c the hse.. i get very 'luan'.. arrggh..

tute
yah it's nice to know that you don't have to rush home or rush to pick them up from CC hor.

XY
haha...

crystal
thanks! it's one of the things i worry about every baby/toddler is different so i guess when the time comes i'll just have to find a way! i think i'm q concerned cos E used to hardly sleep at all, and i was always so exhausted!!

toot,
Yalor.

loogi. Need to pay busfare when taking bus. Dun know where she get the gene from? But I think nowadays kids are tall too.

bx/bkk,
Taiwan/HK.
I also want, but tied down my no. 2. Channet will be going back to Taiwan for this coming CNY her grandparents and without her parents. One big challenge I guess. still need to pay $150 for airport and fuel surcharge for SQ. Then must prepare her winter clothing.

lezy,
me too...i usually bring my point and shoot. so heavy the DSLR.

tute,
haha...tonight i go back and pinch on your behalf =) quickly have a #2 then maybe your parents will be persuaded to stay on?? =P

xy,
agree C looks like you!

genice,
i know how you feel...i also feel v pek chek when i see the house so messy. but no maid leh, no choice have to put up with it!

Staying with parents/ILs
Agree it's really super convenient but you sacrifice so much in terms of privacy, space and to me, a chance to grow and become a real family. This is my personal view...hope no one is offended...but I would like to establish my own rituals, habits and rules when it comes to raising my own family. For instance, certain festivals are impt to me and I want the kids e.g. to grow up with the family custom of always celebrating Christmas together, putting up our tree together, christmas morning presents, christmas dinner. If we stayed with ILs/parents, I would have to abide by their rules and idiosyncracies. Some of these rituals would be lost. As much as I would love their help, I think we need to have the space to grow as a family. (plus, if stay with them, I can't fight with hubby openly! hahahaha. Even now with a maid, we have to fight "quietly" otherwise the maid may "listen" and "report" to ILs.)