(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

blueginger: oopz sorry :x never read your message carefully.

yah mine was GA so hubby was quite disappointed he couldnt come in the OT to "witness" the birth of his bb.

iso: i think it took me a couple of months before i can do normal things. even after a year i still can feel some pulling. the gynae said its normal wor...

at times N likes to sit on my tummy or lie down on it. i will tell my hubby, oh no, what if the incision "bicha" ??! my hubby nearly fainted... ;p

i really envy those mummies with no ms. when will mine stop ah....:x

iso,
so good. no MS! mine this time round worse than 1st pregnancy. although not the merlion whole day kind, but really uncomfortable throughout the whole day. worse when it reaches late afternoon/night time. vomitted twice this week already. my appetite also good. i think i also gained 1-2 kg so far.

pauline and tute,
although the delivery was fast and smooth, but i got post delivery complication cause i started bleeding profusely when i reached my ward. my whole sanitary pad was soaked minutes after i changed it. hb gotta rush down to the pharmancy to buy more pads. my PJ also soaked so gotta ask MIL to help me buy new ones. it was so heavy that i was almost wheeled to the OT to do D&C. i failed to bf my bb on the first day as i was too weak already. i now shiver as i recount that incident.

SWEETPEA.. yup.. she stopped taking preorders .. so thats y will update ya mummies 1st yeah.... got some probs

Pauline.. no wonder didnt see ur nick in the BP .. she has still some socks i can buiy for my boys.. her sizes quite big for the ones i bought before

wah mummies... seeing u all giving birth like that.. m i glad and thank god that i have quite easy births w/out epi....

btw for mummies who are expressing milk - i recommend the milkbags i have bought frm this bp seller even offline.. a roll of 20 bags at $6.00 .. if buy more than 10 rolls is at 5.50 .. since i have bought 20 rolls frm her - can get the price @ $5.50 per roll of 20pcs... i am self collecting frm her at outram.. anyone wants??

btw today my boy suddenly has rashed all on the upper right arm.. before i left work.. quickly cring him go poly scared was chicken pox... doc asked to monitor.... hauizzz

Ida, what is the brand of the milk bag? Does it have double zip lock and a base? How's your boy now? Rashes better? Anything you have at home for him to apply on the rashes?

tontong... have taken in.. but she said will not order first till her supplier probs settled.... so i will update u ya

Pauline.. the brand is in thai.. she claimed have double ziplock.. but then when i used.. the 2nd ziplock not for use... nevertheless.. it is excellent also... cheaper than lasinoh lor... u can lay flat to freeze or standing up.. really like lasinoh - and never leaked so far.. i have more than 100 already
.. the doc gave him calamine lotion to apply... dunno how come like that.. never had that in his 21 months of life leh

Ida, thanks. I still got about 40+ leftover lansinoh bags from no. 1. Prefer double ziplock cos sometime the fridge got other frozen food. If not enough, will explore the thai brand bags you are talking about. Hope your boy's rashes subside soon. Strange only appear on upper arim. Maybe investigate and see if he came into contact with any irritant eg. grass, sand, dirt etc.

wah bx...ur pain threshold so high ah! full dilation still like no problem like that!!!

i halfway there already yelling for epi liao - but still too late for it. but i still think if i so decide to go for no. 2 one of these days, i may still opt for natural without epi.

my gynae is quite pro natural..though he specialises in difficult pregnancies. cuz i asked him once why natural and why c-sec. he said shoudl go natural on all grounds, unless there are complications. c sec is always a 'last resort' if given his say - but of course, it's my call lah.

so well, cheapo and also gung-ho, choose natural lor. but also cuz i abit scared of any form of op lah. it's no wonder my results (in school) were never good enough to go triple science and then do medicine. I would have sucked at being a doctor - every damn thing also scared.

Ida,
I used to buy one box of 40p milkbags from a lady. double ziplog. the brand is BOOTS from thailand too. $10. you need the contact?
This is the cheapest I bought. Now I want to use Playtex wo ziplog for initial pumping.

Iso & bx,
I also din hv any MS for both pregnancy. But hv piggy legs. Mayb I excerised b4 getting pregnant.

Lezy, me too, last time, heard from seniors that take biology got to cut up rats and a lot of memorizing to do. So decided not to take triple science at Sec 3. But then, even though hubby did triple science at O levels, he also ended up switch to humanities at A level. So, no doctor or bioengineers in my family. :p

Pauline : During my time, we cut rabbits........ everyone was screaming in the lab when our teacher pull rabbit by rabbit to pass to us..... Its quite scary ahhaha.

Apple, eeks, I'm born in the year of the rabbit. Can't imagine cutting one up. I've tried eating rabbit meat in France but it was a once off and I think they were reared for cooking purpose. :p

pauline.. no probs...yeah i m quite puzzled also why came out only at upper arms

blueginger,, i bought boots before - good also as my march mummy wanted to let go at cost price... i tot i mite nt need so many - frm 1 box - i let go another to another mummy.. she sold me @ $8 .. can give mer her contact.. cheaper and good also.. sms me at 81703429 can for the no?? thanks

Ida, agree with pauline , might be allergy to something. anyway it's ok dont worry, just treat it as a form of detox ya.

ida- yea i bot boots before too. it's good enough and i will still use this if i have 2nd bb.

bx/ iso
actually many people say that for #2, delivery would be even more fast and furious than #1. so bx, your 1st delivery is very fast liao, so maybe you need to be more prepare abit more for your #2.

dunno true anot also. but my #1 and #2 timings about the same lei.

Just wondering the pro and cons of ligation and vasectomy. Which one is better? Why many ppl choose ligation over vasectomy?

yah i heard subsequent children usually come out earlier... maybe we all must be more prepared. no time to hang around the house before going hospital! lol.

blueging
so cute, i never head piggy legs term before, i had to think for a short while before i figured out what it was! lol.

bx
yah i'm q lucky not to have MS, but first few weeks i did feel q nauseous, esp the way my hubby drives :p

diana
i LOL when i read about the "bichar" part.

tute
yah, was considering the ikea beds too, haven't really decided yet so thought of looking around to see other options.

Bx..me also have worse MS dis time round..and gets worse at about 5 pm. Still can't eat my dinner though I'm 16 weeks liao

Your post natal experience sounds very traumatic...

I think I puke 2 times a week on average.

Yap. That's the major difference. BUt y many choose ligation over vasectomy. It is because females are easier?
I know ligation is more expensive than vasectomy.

blueginger, yea that's sort of "unfair" , as if guys after vasectomy they coudlnt "enjoy"? while it doesnt make any difference to the female after ligation?

bx/sweetpea: my MS also got worst from mid afternoon onwards. morning till lunch will feel nausea but still manageable.

But come mid afternoon, like something stuck at throat. the face like swallow bittergourd. nite time confirm merlion....... so dinner i stare at the food, the food stare at me. forced to swallow, if not merlion nothing felt worst...

blueginger: it is recommended u put the bind. so u wont feel the pain when moving or worried of hitting against it or something.

my friend asked the doctor to put it once after the op.

i was too chicken. cos scared of the pain didnt dare to put. maybe that's why so painful when moving around.

From what I know, those who are going through C section for 2nd child or 3rd child, sometimes choose to do ligation since already need to cut anyway. But if natural delivery, no need to cut, then got to think through what is the best way of long term contraception. :p

and come noon time.... my eyes practically cannot open...a couple of times, i just knocked out on my working desk.... (lucky i was working from home...)

iso,
if you're looking for furnitures can also look at litte tikes furniture...t hey have beds but expensive! i also remember seeing kids beds in some furniture shop at furniture mall last time e.g. those bunk bed and car shaped bed... but still can't beat ikea's collection. for decorations, perhaps can look around Spotlight at Plaza Sing too. I saw them selling an Abby Kadabi bed and they have a lot of themed beddings/towels e.g. Thomas Train, Cars etc.
Why don't you get a normal bed and then by decorations... this way you can change deco as and when

btw, mummies expecting #2... I have some leftover pigeon breastpad (half a box roughly)... anybody wants? i can bring it during the butterfly trip this sunday if anyone is going or can also pass to you during lunch time... let me know ok

tute
i saw the little tikes recently, wah super ex man!! actually ikea is pretty reasonable hor. but i din know spotlight has similar things, i will go check it out, thanks!

diana
how u work from home when the little one is around? last time i was ok, but this time having more trouble getting to sleep. wonder if it's the hormones or the age, or both together, haha.

Thank you, kitsune, tongtong & diana for the quiry.
binder: I think better to wait after op then decide. I'm ok the last time leh.

As for the ligation and vasectomy just out of curiosity. Men always on the win-win side huh?

Toot,
Can I have the breastpad. Can pass to me this sunday as I'm going too.

Vasectomy - Think for guys, anything that alters their manhoodness is a no no!

Btw, Ligation is supposed to be permanent, but there is a certain percentage that it is not successful. I had an aunt who did ligation but she conceived a no. 3. Surprise surprise!
Think the tubes grew back.
Actually this type of thing can sue the doc or not?

iso: initially i closed the room to the room. the little one still ok. but after awhile she will come knocking on the door and shout for me... :-/

so nowadays i open the door.

my mum n helper will keep her entertain so she seldom come n kaciao me.. but if my mum not around, she will run in and mummy mummy mummy !!!
so my helper got to think of ways to keep her entertained... hahaha ;p

oh ya, talking abt that, nowadays i dun sleep well in the nite too.. keep waking up... every position also not right...

SweatPea,
I dun think so. Surgery usu dun guarntee 100% mah.
As long as they did the ligation for you. It is considered done. They will want you to sign an agreement before the surgery. Must read the T&Cs.

my company is undergo some shifting work.
My desk will be shifted to another area. Can I be ard?

iso,
haha... litte tikes is super expensive but i'm always tempted to get the ride ons just that my hb doesn't allow me... he said no space
so my plan is to rent first and see if C likes it... if he sees that his son enjoys it then would be more difficult for him to say no... heheheh... *evil grin*
anyway... spotlight only has the themed furniture/decorations... i only saw beddings, blankets, small chairs. for beds i only saw one... i only found out last week actually when scouting for haloween deco :p
ikea is reasonable if compare to others... so you don't get heartache if your kids spoils it haha !

bluegin,
sure will bring on sun... i better put reminder in my phone... i'm quite forgetful these days :p

good afternoon!!
re: job
iso,
include me for your biz!!
full time.

re: stove
tute,
the gas on glass looks neat. only sold in teka?
i was thinking if can get stove @ harvey norman as i will be getting a $500 long service award soon. (btw, harvey norman should have stove & hood right?)

bluegin,
gas tank one is cheaper than city gas especially city gas just increase the price.
but city gas is more convenient and no need to worry about no gas while cooking. furthermore, i don't need extra space to keep the tank. :p

bkk,
thanks for reminding the cookware part.
realise can't use induction for claypot which i love to use. so i shall stick to gas instead.

lezy,
my current one also ariston. probably old liao. dun like it leh.

re: electrical shop
there's one cheap one at bedok central. shop name 'bedok central' i think.

re: book
crystal,
you can try to read her blog to see if you like it:
http://www.wretch.cc/blog/bubutsai

re: training pants
genice,
failed to get the training pants from BP.
the organiser will refund the $ due to 'unforsee circumstances'

xiao yun.. yup correct.. but the mickey + minnie + pooh still have leh the trainig pants coz diff supplier

btw anyone still wants the multi vitamins sealed 30caps??

I slept till 12pm today!! Feel so shiok and guilty..
Dunno y.. i have been having insomia.. any preggie mummies feel this way?I woke up at 2am, 4 am and 7 am

Re: MS and loss of appetite
Woke up at 7 am to puke bile juice( the bitter thingy).. so sian.. i really wish all these can be over soon..

iso!! eny u.. no MS and gd appetite.. i cant eat well.. in fact i think i have lost weight since preggie (this is gd for me lah cause a lot of excess to lose)

I cant wait for this stage to be over soon.

Xiaoyun.. thanks k but i think i haven order the training pants.. i also very confused whther i have ordered or not.

Re: Fish Oil
Anyone knows Pregnant can take normal OTC fish oil? I bought a few bottles from states the other time.. dunno whther i can take them or not.. how abt vit c?

re: birth story
me can't contribute to any exciting story.
induce as going to overdue and bb head very big liao. then took epi at 3-4 cm.
can't push bb out as no feeling at all. in the end, use vacuum and forcep. :p

re: kids tricks
i wish to teach C do somersaults. don't know how to go about it.
i believe she will like it.

re: book
tubao,
i almost finish reading the book liao!! can return u on sunday.
see you!!

re: Avent bottle
crystal,
BPA free avent bottle seems not very worth it to spree as local has it liao.
the shipping not cheap as it's bulky.
or ppl still doing spree for that? save a lot?

i use NUK wide neck teat for avent bottle. works fine. just that cannot anyhow shake it as NUK teat has another hole for ventilization.

re: robinsons expo sale
apple,
the brains blocks just like the mega blocks. but it has some small animals.
when i reach robinsons, it doesn't have the 95 pcs anymore. only left with 63 pcs.
in the end i didn't buy.

i bought the <font color="0000ff">NEOFLAM - ceramic coating non-stick fry pan</font>. 30% discount. 28 cm pan free lid, purchase > $60 free stainless steel knife.
there are quite a number of <font color="0000ff">cheap toys, magnetic drawing board ($5-$22.90), puzzle ($2)</font>.
also <font color="0000ff">crayons from Faber-Castell</font> (smart crayon) $2 for 12 pcs. They are non-toxic and eraserable.
promotion from <font color="0000ff">Crayola</font> too. some items 2 for $8.90/$12.90. limited choice for crayon though. mostly are washable markers.

ida,
the mickey, minnie and pooh how much har?
i lost the link of the BP liao.

genice,
ur body need lots of rest so that the small one can grow. don't feel guilty.
last time i kiasi and only take the neurogain (start from 2nd trimester). vitamin C still take as long as it's from reliable source.

XY, oh your gynae used both vacuum and forcep. Mine only used vacuum. Very quick and I could feel shaun sliding out from my womb. Quite syiok the feeling. Hehe

RE:Lego
I saw Carrefour selling Lego Creator Tub at 59.90, normal price 89.90. issit a good buy or i can get cheaper from spree?

pauline,
replied your pm.

re: space saver/vacuum bags
bought a $1.50 medium size bag from Value$ shop oppose to $5.90 from BP.
the thickness of the bag is comparable. just that it seems more brittle. i bought one, and will give an update 2 weeks later.

also, there's some similar bags selling at neighborhood shops. 2 medium size + manual extractor $9.90.

*just to share the lobangs*

XY, wa, really, that's good. Which shop you saw selling the bags and manual extractor? Near my mum's place?

By the way, I sent back 2 S and 1 M vaccuum bags to the BP organiser recently cos they re-inflated after 1 week. Think the orange valve is faulty for these 3 bags. But the BP organiser quite nice, she's sending me new bags to replace lar. But I got to lugi $1 postage to send the faulty bags back. :p

tong,
i basically feel nothing.. epi too strong even at the lowest dosage.

re: blocks
hb said lego is the more expensive. i've been to neighborhood shops got sell 100pcs ++ one at about < $25. haven't buy as i not sure if the coatings are safe.
initially wanted to get wood one, but also concern about the formardehydes.. so much things to worry. if get the LEGO one should be free of those worries. just that it's more expensive. :p

XY, i think i also trust Lego as it's "branded"? oops hehe. Plus now shaun doenst put everything in his mouth liao, so i'm thinking to get Lego. He likes to play leh when i brought him to Isetan to play at the lego playground, but the price is really EX. Anyway confirm i 'll buy for him cuz me, my sis and bro all grew up playing legos also keke.

tongtong/ xy
#1 also was vacuumed out. ya the sliding out feeling quite shiok. but the shape of the head not v nice. #2 all out naturally, head super nice! LOL

xy
i nvr really go compare the prices from spree and getting the bottles locally. i no time to go shopping nowadays so usually i joins sprees to buy my things. and still got people doing the sprees lei. anyway thanks alot!

blueginger
you think of contraceptive methods after #2? i actually vv gian to go insert mirena for 5yrs. but yet to do so.

pregnant mommies
hope your MS get over soon!

how's everyone?
anyone's toddler start talking already?
my boy is still communicating in his baby language with single words which adults can understand.
Everyday, 'fighting for toys' with sister repeats. haha... but, it's fun to see them playing together.

Congrats to MTBs. My 2 1st trimesters were really very bad... lost weight, no energy, giddiness etc etc... don't dare to have #3 when I think of my 1st trimesters which I had gone through.

re: lego
how about getting mega blocks? I find it slightly less expensive but serve the same purpose.