(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

BX; me quite clueless too. read up but so cheem.

stephie : ya she got a shock and started crying when the cat sprung on her, so angry with the cat (sorry if this sounds silly) but on 2nd thoughts, its their instinct to protect themselves.

apple
if i were her, would be shocked too. quite true, the car probably thot A is going to harm it.

at least u read up, i've no interest at all. likely will fall asleep reading those cheem stuff. keke.

Financial education
how to educate ourselves better as SAHM to protect and grow family's wealth???? no answer yet....but if anyone interested, we can share news, articles, recommendations, info from internet...can start an email grp to share ideas.

Iso, u can manage ur hb's practice? hehe, or buy more practices to manage? i always wondered why dentists not going the way of GP chains. Is it more profitable? GPs are struggling that's why need to band together for lower operating costs, higher margins.

I'm too tired to start up business from scratch. Have tried alot of ideas here and overseas, sunk in $$ but v tough.

Cats/dogs
strays can be aggressive...be careful and clean the wounds properly, even if a little scratch as you never know if animal is rabid.

poor amanda, got a shock but hope that doesn't put her off animals!

Yesterday I asked Channet "What does cat said?"
Her reply : "Meow" "Meow"

Next I asked her again. "What does dog said?"
She hesitated and reply : "Dog" "Dog" "Dog"

My hubby and I just burst into laughters.

So many different topics going on now. Having a super bad sore throat now, no voice.. i think equally as worst as teaching. All my colleagues are laughing at how quiet the office is now.. cause i cant talk!!

Re: holidays
Bkkgal.. goodness me.. which are that countries you are talking about.. Erm.. i must be quite ignorant and i think my geography quite bad.. never hear of them :p

I guess after having kids, its always travel to family friendly places but i think if kate and ur 2nd baby gets older you can bring them to more adventurous stuffs.

Me and my hubby used to go scuba diving a lot when we were in our uni years and after graduation, we will go beach resorts every year for diving or snorkelling, indulge in cool beer and just resting at the beach. Even our my PILS went with us, G was conceived in 1 of the holidays.. haha.

We are looking forward to bringing G to beach reseorts when she gets older so that she can go snorkelling with us too. :D For now, we will still stick to 'convenient locations'.

Re: Cats and Dogs
Apple.. hope amanda doesnt have phobia of cats because of this. I seldom let G get very near cats cause they are pretty unpredictable.. even for dogs.. i will double check with owners that dogs are child friendly before i let her touch.. i very kia si one.

Re; Eating Outside food.
Crystal, Cheryl is vey easy to feed leh.. i tried to give G fish soup with rice but sometimes she doenst like it. She likes to eat our food but its not enough to be a meal for her.. so sometimes i get very 'confused' like whether she is full or not.. so still end up have to feed milk.. sigh.. so ma fan.. so cook porridge lor.

But to be honest, as kids get older, at least i dun get so stress even if i never prepare porrideg at least she can eat our stuffs or give her biscuits lor.. if nothing to back up.. than milk lor... hehe.. anything lah..

Bluegin.. that is funny..

Recently.. Gwen also very funny. She recognises cat, dog and duck very well. But now she is in the process of recognising pigs, sheep, horse, cow.. but i think she got super confused. Everytime i point to pig, i ask her what this is, she will make a sound "ngek ngek", point to cow, horse, sheep also "ngek ngek" and she looked so confident when saying that.. think she wanted to imitate the sound butdin manage to do it.. :p

Hi, Garfield

Hehe...didn't find Chinese song CDs in Popular; My hubby said that mine type can only be found at pasar malam.

But I spot one VCD 儿童卡拉OK。 It has three series.
I can't remember who bought E number 3 VCD which first song is 自己跌倒自己爬, second song is 世上只有妈妈好。
E liked it.

Btw, We bought 2 books with CDs, $10.57 each, last time in Popular. One title is 小蜜蜂; another is 两只老虎。 E listened CD from Hi-Fi, and flipped books for lyrics.
小蜜蜂 is E's most fav song books. She can flip for an hour, sing herself, or ask us sing.

---mummies who read Chinse.
I gained much inspirations from this bloe about how children become, and how to think about job.
http://www.wretch.cc/blog/bubutsai

I bought her latest book 在爱里相遇 in Popular; but coudn't find time to finish reading. So I read her blog.

wah i'm also totally clueless about investment... yesterday met my friend who recently became insurance agent, she was asking me all these questions, i felt like such a bimbo!!

bkk
yah i guess i can do marketing for hubby, although i would love to have my own biz! i always get inspired by seeing how well some others are doing, but i think must have passion and a good biz model. not easy!

hubby already has a practice manager, if i have to work so closely with him i think we will kill each other, wahahha :p actually his practice already has about 8 docs (some part time), and it's easier to run than just being 1 man show, but at the same time, sometimes not easy to find people of the same wavelength. i guess some GPs rather be on their own cos they can do things their own way - no need to report to management on P&L?

tubao
wow the site looks nice, and the photos look nice too! but paiseh, my chinese is really bad, it would be even worse if i don't have to speak to MIL in chinese! so i can only look-look at the site....

Genice
G is funny! hehe. one good thing abt bringing K to australia is, after 12 days of ctry living, she is very familiar with cows, sheep, horses, dogs, ducks, chickens now. hehe, everyday driving in Australia - most common animal you see? COW! "moo moo!" We went to a petting farm on Philip Island which she absolute LOVED. The baby animals were in a dry nursery (no smells! being preggy, i had a sensitive nose so i can't stand being in an enclosure with animal poop and all for long) This nursery is clean, no smells and the animals so cute. She spent some time there getting to know the lambs, calves, bunnies - small versions of animals she sees on the road. When she's older, will be fun to go for farmstay - can milk the cows, clean the poop! hehe, this mommy wants the dd to get down and dirty during holidays. When older, i will send her to build houses in 3rd world ctry.

I'm already thinking of next yr's holiday with K+2nd one...hehe, but must bring either ILs or helper cos 2adults to 2 kids ratio is impossible. REalised one thing - it is MUCH MUCH easier to travel when they are either:

1) Fully breastfed - easy peasy, just whip out the boobs and feed
2) fully on table food

Weaning period is the absolute worst time to travel cos have to cook, prepare food, angst over what to give them, angst over whether they get enuff food or not.

tubao
this lady is an SAHM? She's in spore? Her pics are nice, taken with skill. i'm like iso - chinese v bad one..paiseh...:p

Iso
GPs getting absorbed by chains. heartland GP v cham - hard to survive.

inspired by all of u who have been faithfully reading to ur kids. high time i get started. ashlynn doen't like to read. will try to get the usborne phonics books since there's so much talk about it. hopefully she will like it.

bkkgal, i'm interested in the email group. I feel rather insecure as a family of single income. I used to earn for my keeps but now i hv to depend on my hb who's not doing a good job with our finance so i feel v sore abt this topic. Haiz =(

ok i am a bit slow..pardon me.

diet - i did not have any special diet (i eat everything :p) before trying for the second one. But this preggy, i love to eat meat..hmm, so i cannot say whether or timing has a influence or not to get a boy..since i plan neither, i was also hoping for another gal since i am used to taking care of one, but of cos the elderly always like the 好。so it's lucky that the second one happens to be a boy (if the gynae is not wrong)

books - i am currently reading Megaskills For Babies, Toddlers, And Beyond: Building Your Child's Happiness And Success For Life

investment - i have not started to read up anythign on this, all along, was always initiated by my finance advisor to invest and in my portfolio, i only invested my CPF so far, and i think its bleeding already..sigh..i must say my financial advisor super bo chup. My husband recently invested in the Genting shares.

flashcards - now H can recognize and say some of the flashcards we show her, in particular her fav apple then dog, bear, pig, peas (don't ask me why she picked this up of all things),cow (she wun say cow but mooo...), cat (She will say meow instead of cat). i started her on words flashcard also..and i think she can read some, like when i show her clap (she will clap), and baby (she can say baby). I think i had not been so faithful to teach her, but its really amazing to see them pick up the knowledge

Re: investment

Just my 2 cents worth:

To be honest, i have never been into investment especially previously as a teacher cause i simply have no time to read up on all these. But prior to joining the financial industry, i have read up a bit and what i can say is that if you are really intending to do investment by yourself to gain profitable income ( even hoping to draw passive income), a lot of reading/ homework needs to be done, such as understanding the company information, their past performance, their future plans, looking at the dividends they distributed in the past few years and also the general market conditions. Yes, we can seize the chance and grab some good buys when the mkt crashes for eg during mar/apr period.. but its difficult to predict when it will crash, sometimes a lot of our investments were not done in the worst mkt times, ending up we have a lot of paper loss= locking up capital= no $ to invest in bad times.

The same thing happened to my hubby too, he has quite a bit of capital locked up and like stephie... we were also too busy enjoying ourselves during mar/apr period in US that we did not bother to check out the stock market * Missed the chance** but for those who are keen to make a quick one ( meaning you just wanna seize the chance to enter the mkt when its down, you might wanna hold on for now!)

I dunno how true this is but insider info says:
"We might
be in for another rough ride. It would be another potential crash coming
up, and I forsee that this could be bigger than the recent meltdown.

STI have been stagnant for the past 2 months, and trading have been
very flat. Reports keep suggesting the worse is over, but interest rates
are beginning to go up. And moreoever, if things are so good and nice,
where are our profitability of our economy so flat? GDP may be up, but
it's mainly due to the Government spending, which contributes to 5% of
our overall GDP in S'pore."

For those who are intending to put your $ somewhere for growth, you might want to bear the above in mind. But, in any case, no dealer, remisier,broker will guarantee returns from stocks and equities.. you want high returns= be prepared to take the high risks. You will get advice on what to invest but ultimately follow at your own risks.

A wiser decision will be to spread out your portfolio. Just wanna share a simplified model that me and my team are generally doing for our clients.

1) Doing proper Wealth Protection ( your insurance planning to protect ur dependants and ur net worth)
2) Start Wealth Creation ( Secure- zilch risk, Accumulate- low to med risk, Accelerate- high risk)
3) Think about Wealth Distribution ( via nominations, trusts, will).

Sorry for the long sharing, just wanna air my thots... if you are keen in maximising returns from investments,read and talk to more dealer, brokers,financial planners, understand what are the tools and steps that you can use to grow ur $ without sacrificing ur family's needs and protections.

bkkgal, agree totally, I'm hoping to take another holiday when I'm still TBF no. 2 and no. 1 is already on table food. Aiming for next June holidays, cos Raelynn will be 6 months by then and RaeAnne almost 2.5 yrs old. But I'm sure I'll face objections from my mum or ILs cos they'll think Raelynn is still too small to travel. :p

As for starting own biz, I've concluded that I can only do it if I'm selling baby related products and is online or blog based cos I got no time to handle rental/staffing/payroll etc. Wish I can start BP but no lobang on cheap goods. Waiting for Gar to start hers first. Hee.

Bx, I was thinking of ordering from this BP too after Iso mentioned it. I couldn't find the compilation titles on bookdepository. You are faster than me.

Genice, thanks for sharing.

Anyone has the 'My baby can read' series of DVDs. A friend said it was good so I'm tempted to get it but it's retailing at $99. Is it really good?

Pauline - i have the dvds. H is always very interested to watch the DVD, it flashes word, then show the 'live' picture of the word - like showing the word clap, it will then show a some one clapping. Initially i was quite on to show her, haha..now i slack already, only show till the 2nd dvd.

crystal,
the what's going on in there is good. i read the one for first three years.
it's interesting to view it from scientific angle. needs lots of concentration to read it as there are lots of scientific terms. :p

They are What You Feed Them: How Food Can Improve Your Child's Behaviour, Mood and Learning (Paperback)

can borrow the book from the libraries:
Bukit Merah Public Library
Bukit Panjang Public Library
Choa Chu Kang Public Library
Central Public Library
Jurong West Public Library
Toa Payoh Public Library
Yishun Public Library

re: financial investing
there's a free magazine for you every quarter if you put more than $10k (include unit trust and cash fund) with Fundsupermart.com
there are some discussion which is quite good.

stephie,
good leh. 100% gain.
my CPF all used up for my home loan. we hope to pay it off asap too.

pauline,
you bought capitaland ah. it appreciated quite a bit this week. you must be very happy now.

i wanted to buy but missed the price that i want.

for forex, i have no clue also. unit trust and shares already enough to keep me busy. :p

bx,
sometimes you will feel lucky that you don't know about it. especially when you see us bleeding. :p

re: side income as SAHM
doing business online is hard in singapore. good thing is that the overhead cost is low.
really need some skill in doing the promoting, marketing otherwise it's really hard to start.
organising bp is actually earning very little. but without organising it, not many ppl will purchase things online unlike in US, Taiwan, etc.

iso/bkk,
dentist has chain clinics too, right?
the QM.

XY, my capitaland is still in the red lar so not happy. I bought at the height in 07 mah. And I didn't even know why they suspended trading. Gave me a fright when I saw all the BIG red numbers on my uob kayhian portfolio summary. :p

Thanks, I will love to borrow it.
by the way, this week cannot meet at playground liao cos my dad is hospitalised. His leg ulcer haven't recover so dr ask him to be hospitalised instead. :p

It's a venous ulcer cos his leg circulation no good. He started seeing National skin centre dr a few months ago and dr insisted on compression bandage even though the wound got bigger and bigger. Now need to be hospitalised for it. Not happy about the treatment and management but I don't want to say more or else I get more upset. :p

Re: your baby can read

I only showed the 1st vcd but G cant sit through the whole vcd.. she gets bored halfway.. she learnt something though.. "arms up" and we will tell her that whenever we bathe her.. to wash her armpit.. haha.. and of coz.. we extend to heads up, legs ups..

Pauline.. ur father diabetic?

Genice, no he's not but he was a hawker for many years. All the years of standing = varicose veins so his venous blood flow is no good, very easy to get venous ulcers. :p

Thanks, qingling for the feedback. I was quite put off by the price. :p Will borrow Xy's vcd to try first.

bx... yar hor.. they dun sell separate ones..Thanks for the link.. think i hold on first. She got a few books to read now.

Isobellies.. i missed ur post.. Haha.. u very funny say gwen can pose well..that is also plus point??:p

Bkkgal.. forgot to ask u how was ur trip to kids empire? K must have enjoyed herself so much in Australia.Wow.. building houses at 3rd world counties..i would also like to expose her to it too.. But.. that will be along time later.

pauline.. hawker must be tough.. stand a lot.. my aunts used to be hawkers too.. Hope ur father will get well soon.

Bkk - i read your blog - wow, K can manage 3 syllabus word already! so cute when she said yippee ya ya then papaya..haha

Pauline - hope your dad gets well soon!

qingling.. i also kpo went to see.. Kate is really very cute..

Just curious.. anyone of you ever attend Anthony Robbins seminars/course? Is it really very good?

Cats: certainly hope she will not have phobia. these days she never go and carry her cat soft toy liao but will still happily point to a cat picture and say "cat".

Genice : so expensive the course. But i guess its good for those in the sales line...

pauline,
for the "your baby can read" dvd, u muz be consistent when u show it to RaeAnne on a regular basis. there was a period of time ashlynn watched it frequently (when i'm on sch hols), i thought she learnt quite a bit. when i returned to sch, no time to show her and i know ILs will not be keen to show her, so i only play it on weekends during her mealtimes. this dec will start again.

bkk,
kate lynn is so smart!! her voice sounds so sweet.

xy,
from what u wrote, i gather that u muz have invest a lot!

jeannie
haha cos u say she slow in talking, so i guess she got other talents. haha!!

hey but your thoughts on investment, thanks for sharing! i'm really q blur when it comes to investment

XY
yah, Q&M is one, NTUC also got dental chain..

Genice,
Ya... This is her first time saying the wrong sound. She already know sheep, horse, duck, chick, rooster, etc. Many farm animals now we are teaching her dinosaurs.

Kitsune,
I showed "your baby can read" DVD since she was 4 months. Initially she only take 15mins, then it extend longer and longer. Now she is asking for them. SHe also finished all. Now she can pronounce "donkey", "crescent", etc accurately.

I personally find the dvd helpful. Just too bad it dun have mandarin version.
I remember there is a BP for YCBR. You can look for it.

Genice
Thanks for the advice. Yup, I subscribe to the theory that the recession is not over yet. It's like a tsunami - another wave is coming. In fact, the guy who predicted this current recession, Roubini, had warned of another round after Sep's "good news".

Highly recommend Aust as a kid-friendly hol destination
oh yeah, i must thank Lezy for recommending Philip Island cos I was thinking of skipping it entirely but it turned out to be the best part of our trip - the fairy penguins were really a highlight for Kate.

What's Anthony Robbins?

Kids empire
No, we didnt go cos K had a drippy nose that morning which turned out to be a full blown cough/cold that whole week. Lucky didn't go, or else may kena other kids.

Clover, let me think through how to organise this. I'll include u if can get a group gg.

Pauline
hope ur dad gets better soon.

Qingling/Bx, LOL! hahaha, the dada recorded it down as his phone ring tone. K was very tickled to hear her own voice playing! motivated to keep repeating papaya (one of her fav fruits). Yday night, she said "water", pause, "melon" but still not in 1 breath. she could only say "water" before but not melon.

Bluegin
Channet's enunciation is good - "crescent" is quite difficult. I think "s" sounds are pretty tough in general. Do you show dinosaur pictures to Channet?

TGIF!!!

bkkgal,
Yap. I happened to show her dinosaur when we passed by a coach that has a picture of dinosaur. So I borrow a dinosaur book from library to teach her now.

Genice,
so coincident. Me and hubby also divers. Been to many countries to dive. I also wanna train Channet to be a junior diver when she turns 12yo. Then we can dive together as a family.

Bkkgal, just realised that all this while, my blog is not linked to yours. Can give me the link so that I can hear Katelynn saying yippie ya ya too.

Gar, do you have a blog too?

My ex colleague checked for me and even if I transfer my dad from CDC to CGH (my dad will be under the care of vascular surgical team, not dermatology) and he will insist on no surgery (due to his old age) so we are stuck. Don't know whether to transfer him or not. I'm really not keen for him to stay in CDC, venous ulcer is not infectous. :p

bkkgal, thanks for sending me your blog link. I agree with the rest. Kate is so clever to be saying 3 syllabus words now.
RaeAnne, who's 1 month older, still can't say it. But we don't give her papaya often cos she poos twice a day on most days.

K has constipation prob rem? I basically plied her with papaya, watermelon, apples everyday

English style stew? i only know the one my mom does - potatoes, carrots, chicken + oyster sauce.

bkkgal, ya, I remember that, think the words that our gal learn really depends on what words they were exposed to. I'm sure Kate won't say 'boh' in hokkien like RaeAnne. ;)

I want to try the English style one this time, those with thick sauce served in some western restaurants. I've been frying shredded ginger and sesame oil, then brown the chicken, then add some water and a bit of oyster sauce to stew. That one is my hubby's favourite but I think it resembles confinement food so much so want to try the English stew type.

I saw on some recipes that need to fry some flour with oil to thicken the stew. But every recipe I saw online vary by a lot so I'm confused.

Clover, thanks, do you have the recipe? I have chicken stock, fresh parsley, and basil but no italian herbs. I had bay leaf but it expired during the 2 years that I didn't cook when preggie with RaeAnne and suffering from MS until she was around 1 years old. :p

Bought fresh chicken thigh, carrots, potatoes from NTUC in the morning. Is it really necessary to 'fry' the flour to make the stew thick? Sared it'll get very messy. :p

Tried cooking risoni with home made pasta sauce today. RaeAnne ate more than when she ate the cheese baked macaroni but not as much as when she ate fried rice and stir fried macaroni. Looks like she has oriental taste buds unless it's sweet treats like muffins, koko krunch, raisins, etc then there's no stopping her. :p

Calling all mummies! I’m selling a few brands of milk powder. EG. Similac 2, Isomil 2 Advance Soy , PediaSure, Similac Mum, Gain IQ Kid, Nan 1 and 2, Nan HA 1 and 2, Mamil Gold 1 and 2, S26, Promil, Progress and ENFA ALL KINDS. As I m working in a clinic, can get direct from supplier. PRICE SURE CHEAPER THAN NTUC!!! SMS 96838123, IF U R KEEN.

Bkkgal, clover, thanks for your inputs. Made chicken stew today. Recipe a bit 'char pa lang' cos I took from different sources. Luckily, RaeAnne loves it, especially when we pour the gravy over her rice. Recipe is on my blog if anyone is keen.

3093326.jpg

Thanks, clover. Luckily she likes this better than the cheese baked macaroni. That was a lot more tedious to prepare, but end up not appreciated. :p Today, she poured out the bowl of rice with ingredients and some soup at my mum's when she got 'tired' of eating. Beat her hands but she has no reaction at all. :p