(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

good morning mummies,
it's a new week!
i start my week with full of guilt towards C. beat her palm last night cos she now likes to scratch us. Told her cannot, and to sayang instead. She sometimes listen, sometimes not. Last night, she totally ignore us and keep scratching our face. Everytime she do it, we beat her palm. Probably it's not painful enough, she thought it's fun and scratch more. Until 1 point, I totally angry and hold her hand tight and look at her sternly told her - "CANNOT". And beat her palm hard.
she was shocked and then cry till very pitifully. I've never seen her cry like that. My heart breaks and cry together with her.
After a few minutes, she stood up and hug me tight then stops crying.
Don't know she learns from her mistake. But my heart really pains when see her cry.

i've got mixed feeling today as just found out that my ex-bf and my best friend in secondary school got married last week. feel happy for them but feel very weird too.. :p

re: facial
tute/stephie,
it depends on the facialist. I've met a few that squeeze till very pain and got break out after that.
But there are 2 that is really good that it's not very painful during the extraction and no break out/swollen after that and my face stays clear for 1 week. Now I tried to request for them as much as possible.

sweetpea,
mine one also very far from home and office. it's cos i transfer from one branch to another in order to follow my favorite facialist. :p

piglettail,
i am still having bad breakouts, esp during ovulation and menses period. basically every 2 weeks loh. before the old one clears up, new ones come in again.

i suspect mine is very much related to hormone. now trying to take evening primrose oil to see if it helps.

snowbelle,
good to try out. Singapore will still welcome you whenever you want to come back.

bf must have determination one. if no milk, then keep pumping loh.
my friend also, every pump only yields like 10-20 mls for about 1 month. but she persists and partial bf for 1 year.

7 months pay exclude maternity right? it's a hard decision.
also think about the housing loan that you are serving, no more CPF contribution after you stop working in singapore.

tubao,
so good, you've got a good maid. congrates!!

Pauline/Xiao yun,
Thanks. Hehe... feel much relieved......

Pauline,
She learnt indonesian style cooking from her mother, who opened road side stall in indo. She learnt chinese cooking from Ah Ma of hong kong employer when she worked there for 6 years. Hehe..... I can 偷师 from her.

XY, know how you feel. Once I was so angry with RaeAnne for trying to pull the potty seat off the toilet bowl and we are rushing for school that I smacked her bottom hard. She had no diapers on then, so her bum had my palm print. :p After that, I tell myself to wake up earlier next time and be more patient. A toddler won't understand that we are late for school. She just woke up so understandably will be grouchy and not cooperative in the morning lor. Usually, when I lose my temper at her, I'll tell her Mummy is angry with you. Then my hubby will be peacemaker and tell her oh no, mummy is angry, quick sayang mummy and she'll do it. ;)

Tubao, oh i see, learnt cooking from Hong Kong, sure very good cook then. How much is her monthly salary since she has so many years of exp?

is me... tell u all a liitle secret, i tested positive last night le.... (2nd child). will be seeing my gynae tomorrow. hope everything is well. hope that is true, the kit should be reliable la hor?

Congrats! Linda.

Garfield,
My facial session is with Ma Guan (Chinese type of facial). They dun do any extraction. Only by massaging your face to improve blood circulation under your skin. Each session include facial massage, eyebrow trimming, neck and back massage and a mask. Duration: 1hr. Price: abt $60 ea.

Hi, Pauline,
$370 with 1 offday per month.

hehe... didn't research market price..
Sheila gave only her biodata; we interviewed 2nd day, then said ok.

piglettail,
you are being kind - at night dark dark cannot see clearly hehe

pauline,
ya, beyond beauty quite flexi in letting customers transfer the $$ value to convert their packages.

tubao,
congrats on finding a maid you like!

linda,
congrats! welcome to the #2 club =)

maids,
may i know what is the average monthly total cost of hiring a full time maid

thks mummies...

kind of worry now, my house key coming, haven do reno, so now pregnant cant monitor the reonation progress, lotsa things cannot be done.

Congrats! Linda.

Xiao Yun,
Last time tried bf for 1 month plus, always about 20 mls altogether from both sides... tried until gave up... dunno will I have the determination for no 2 or not when I still have to take care of no 1.

7 months include the maternity lah... My monthly housing installment only a bit and we can use the rental we get to top up too, I think...

After decided to go there try out, now is whether to deliver there... the flight is too long, don't think my mom wanna go there but my mil don't mind... However, I scared of conflict and the confinement food she cooks don't really suitable... I worried more of the after delivery issues... I think my back problem will happen again and really worried that I may have depression this time... and I don't want to suddenly leave my mom so soon...

Hi Tubao
Glad you got a good maid
She's from Indon and ok to cook pork? that's great! wah, her salary higher than mine. better dun let mine know! but i plan to give her a salary raise end of the year lah. hehe.

Gar,besides salary which ranges from $280 to $370, there's a monthly maid levy of $170 for working moms (normal levy is $260). Food, utilities and other expenses to be borne by employer - I estimate these to be abt $200+ a month. In total, abt $650-740?

Linda, congrats!

ADvice to moms:
My wallet was picked yday evening at Suntec City. I was alone with my girl, handling a big pram and shopping bags, went to the toilet. As I was trying to open the door to leave the toilet, a friendly African woman helped me to open the door. I was quite pleasantly surprised that someone would help me. So, I went in front of the pram to pull it out while she held the door open. My diaper bag was unzipped and my wallet was inside. I only discovered my wallet was missing this morning when I was packing my bag to go to work. I suspect that it was the lady who took it. K even waved goodbye to her! feel so cheated.

Women with kids alone are vulnerable targets for crime. So, please be careful when you are alone with your l.o.s - look out for pp who may be too helpful and always take care of your belongings. Unforunately for me, the diaper bag is something I always do not zip because i need to take things in and out so frequently - bib, pampers, wet wipes, tissue, snacks etc etc - usually my handbag is zipped and tucked under my arm.

bkkgal, I lost my wallet at NTUC recently too at my nearby CC. I only left my bag unattended for short while when I was testing umbrella (was drizzling suddenly so needed to buy an umbrella). Went back and cancelled all my credit cards then 20 minutes later, a filipino maid called my HP and said she found my wallet at NTUC and to meet her downstairs at a nearby block. I don't know if she took it deliberately but changed her mind or she genuinely saw it then had to rush back to her employer's house. But since all the cash and cards including NRIC were intact, I gave her $5 as a reward.

Pauline, you are lucky to meet a good person who returned yr wallet. I think mine was stolen - the police classified as theft case already. I've cancelled all my cards...my only hope is that the person only went for the cash ($280) and return all my cards, NRIC, driver's license, ATMs, credit cards. SO far Suntec city security has no updates for me.

My hb also once left his hp at a 7-11 and a maid found it, called a friend of ours who called me to get the hp back.

Re: Baby development

Thanks mummies! Gar.. i hoped gwen is developing cognitively than.. haha.. but she doenst seem like leh.. nvm lah.. i think as long as she is happy and stop giving me all the terrible 2s nonsenses.. i am happy already.

Re: pickpocket
Recently saw in newspapers.. there are many professionla pickpockest in singapore and a lot are foreigners.. i must say they are pretty 'highly skilled'.. me an hubby were nearly pickpocked when we were at Austria for our backpack trip.. I think now we can no longer leave our bags at foodcourts/cafes/ restaurants.. assuming that it will be safe...

Bkkgal.. hope u can get back ur stuffs soon!! Btw ur hubby just like pauline are very lucky.. To be honest, a lot of maids usually keep for themselves esp those experienced maids.

Linda.. congratulations!!

bkk
wow, so sorry to hear! but thanks so much for sharing, think we should always be careful.

recently some of the other mummies also shared that at crowded places at ikea play area (their kids are older than ours, ours too short to go ikea play area! except maybe Ruth, cos she so tall, haha) must be careful cos they heard from another friend that their child almost got taken by a stranger at ikea. scary!!!

jeannie
i haven't been following thread much, but i know gwen is definitely good at posing for photos! lol :D

linda
congrats!!!! :D

bkkgal, genice, yup yup, I'm very lucky. Surprisingly, I was very cool about this incident compared to the other times when I lost my wallet. I was more concerned about rushing back home so that the maid can cook and RaeAnne can have her lunch. Luckily, the drizzle stopped.

Consoled myself that as long as RaeAnne is ok, take it as 破财消灾。After all, all the cards can be replaced including IC as long as I pay $. I was more upset when I lost my HP at Isetan Scotts last year cos all of RaeAnne's candid BB photos were gone. :p

bkkgal,

Sorry to hear that. Thanks for sharing.

Now we also bring a large bag without zip and button carrying her clothes/milk, when going out with E, usually for zoo& gardens.

But for shopping center, we don't bring stroller, just a small bag with E's water only. If she's hungry, she takes our food at Cafe.

tubao, genice, iso, pauline, thanks..i just feel so stupid not to take care of my own things. but like pauline, i will be more affected if i lost my phone...memories cannot get back...money can always earn back.

So quiet again today? :p

bkkgal, hi-5! memories most important to mummies.
Anyway, my hubby say my small canvas tote bag is too small lar, that's why easy for things to fall out or for people to take things out of the bag. :p

pauline,
*wave* i'm here. busy buying stuff from BP haha...that's why no time to post.

ok let me start another topic - year end holiday plans? who is planning to go where?

Gar, wave back!
I feel sad when you asked about year end holiday plan leh. Was planning to go Taiwan this Dec but I got preggie and spoilt my own plans. With a toddler and a NB, don't know when I'll be able to go on holiday again. Duh...

BP shopping. I bought so much recently until every other day, hubby will open letterbox and say there's a present for me. So exciting. hehe, another gal I can still find things to buy. :p What are you buying now? Share leh?

pauline,
same here...tell me about it....supposed to go skiing at whistler in jan with friends. now also cannot go. my modified plan is to go somewhere nearby without arielle (for 2 nights) cos we want her to be able to sleep without us around...esp when #2 is born and both of us are at hospital.

BP shopping: buying eye masks, vacuum bags (those type that can compress clothes until flat flat type to save space), DVDs/VCDs for A, colouring/sticker books for A, Kumon books (actually i enjoy them more than A does!)

How about you? What have you been buying?

Review of "I'm a Big Sister"

I highlighted this book previously for 2nd time MTBs, and bought it myself. I am happy to report that this is A's favourite book now. At night, she wants us to read it to her at least 3 times. In the morning, she will climb down the bed, sit down quietly on the floor flipping through the pages of the book.

So highly recommended!!!!

Gar, haha, I bought so much. I bought vacuum bags from Mummycents (highly recommended!
), combi 'shoe' socks from a BP, Minnie training pants, hairclips, thermos vacuum flask, sippy bottle, 3 tier lunch jar, 2 sets of Carters 3 pieces sleeper suits ($10 each) waterproof cot protector, queen size mattress protector, stick on pads for car, nursing tops, nursing bra, nachos, customised taggie beansprout pillow case, mini taggie 'blanket', Parklon small bumper mat etc. This does not even include the sprees I joined for Motherlove BF products, kiddie chewable vitamin sweet, Medela freestyle pump, medela to avent bottle converter, natural eczema cream, calendula cream etc.

FAINT! Luckily, my hubby NEVER READS my posts on SMH. :p My only defence is that most of them are things I need to buy anyway and it's cheaper to buy from BPs/sprees then retail shops mah.

Wa, Big sister sounds good. Did you buy from bookdepository? I missed the discount code and it has expired. Now waiting for new code before I buy more books for RaeAnne.

pauline,
OMG...you win hands down!!!
haha...

Ok ok let me be honest and write down everything i bought:

1. vacuum bags also from mummycents (gd to hear they're good! haven't used yet)
2. Crystal Collagen Gold eye mask
3. 12 pieces of DVD/VCD
4. 2 sets of early days pyjamas for A
5. 1 Dora pencil case
6. 3 colouring / sticker books
7. 2 Kumon books
8. 4 Magnetic play books
9. Pelangi books (45 chinese books)

Btw, I'm also looking for nursing bras - which BP did you buy from?

Oh ya, which BP did you buy the colouring and sticker books for A from? I bought a few from Giant Tampines for RaeAnne but not much variety. :p Why are kumon books good? I'm still lost on this. :p

i got the colouring/sticker books from this BP - very cheap $1 per book only. but bp closed le http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3072454.html

you can email the BP organizer directly she is still selling.

i find the kumon books are very clear and structured. for eg. they are trying to teach red - they will show a picture of a red apple with a white(blank) space in the middle. then they show a red crayon next to it. So children can more easily relate that they are supposed to find a red crayon to fill up the space because the apple is red. then this is repeated for other colours.

Haha, Gar, the nursing bras I bought from Mamaland http://mamalandshop.blogspot.com/, there was a BP recently but closed liao. The bras are from Japan so good quality. I love the NT10 nursing top that I bought, it comes with free removable breast pads so no need to wear bra. Hee.

By the way, I was tempted to buy the magnetic play books too cos the BP organiser stays near Bedok Res, my mum's place. But in the end, I found out that either Acma books or book depository are cheaper for the titles so I didn't get it in the end. But if you buy from BP, you get them immediately since ready stock, no need to wait so also got advantage.

Oops! I forgot the Pelangi books. One more item to the list. :p

pauline,
wah envy u. ur hb pays for ur purchases?

re: BPs
haven't been buying anything for the longest time. can't find any suitable stuff to buy.

check with u. if u r bring ur toddlers to a solemnisation lunch (buffet), will u bring along porridge or other home-cook food for ur little one or just let them eat from whatever available from the buffet line?

Hey, the colouring book BP is cheap. Some of the stuff will be great as party bag favours for RaeAnne's 2nd BD.
Eg. the stationery sets and note pads, only $0.60 each. Too bad, OOS for now. Her BD in Jan and I'll be busy with Raelynn so better organise whatever I can first. Hee. ;)

Bx, problem with BP and sprees is that I need to do fund transfer so everything paid for using my a/c lor. But whenever I hint to hubby that my POSB savings account is running low from buying stuff for my gal, he'll top up some $ lor. hee. So, in a way, we co pay though it's coming from my savings. :p

Bx, if it's a close friend, I'll check to see if there are any kiddie foods that she can eat eg. assorted sandwiches. But if not a close friend, I'll just bring home cooked food on my own to be safe. I don't want to deal with hungry cranky toddler at a wedding. Fried rice and fried macaroni are good foods to take out for weddings I think. Less messy than rice with dishes or porridge.

pauline,
the nursing bras look v nice!! how much discount did BP organizer give?

ya, i'm not a very savvy shopper =P don't always compare prices one haha...the BP organizer gave free courier delivery so i just bought more for convenience.

Bx,
hehe...we didn't bring A for solemnisation lunch (buffet) cos we know she cannot keep still and will create a scene. think you should bring some of her all-time favourite foods so that feeding will be a breeze.

Garfield- I nearly wanted to buy the Dora sticker and colouring book too haha but din go about ordering it.

Pauline: wanted to ask you. The Gogo bag right, is it heavy? Can RaeAnne carry it herself? I am looking for a bag for Amanda. She is going CC this Dec liao.

Something wrong with forum yday..couldn't view.

Pauline
You really bought alot! I'm not a savvy online shopper - often feel that I need to touch or see the things before buying. I went to Isetan and Taka to check out the Zoji lunch box before commiting to the BP :p

Gar
Thanks for Usborne recommendation. K loves it and always wants to read it now
I might check out bookdepository for "Big Sister" book.

Bx
I know I'll get frus if I spend the effort to pack food for her and she doesn't eat. So I take my chance with the buffet line. Usually, there's plain rice with veg, if not fried noodles or fried rice, she can eat either but of course, she will not be disciplined to finish her food.

Gar
u sure bring alot of toys/books out for A when you guys go out. We're opposite - dun bring anything at all! :p just use iPhone apps to entertain her. hehe. hope she doesn't become a mobile phone addict.

gar,
she doesn't have a fav food. she rather play then eat.

bkk,
ya, something worng with the forum today. once in awhile let her have a try of outside food also seems like a good idea. worse come to worse if she doesn't eat much then give her milk earlier.

same as u, we entertain her with iphone apps. hb has one and he is pressurising me to get one myself. i think he is finding his getting old from overusage.

Bx, can follow the recipe of little gastronomy (linked from my blog). RaeAnne loves the stir fried macaroni (good thing my helper can fry that on her own by now after a few rounds of training), she didn't like the Mac & cheese that was so tedious to prepare though. Sigh. Let her try out first before you prepare for the solemnisation?

Apple, haha, she tried carrying it a few times but it's still too big for her. So, she'll usually drag it by the handle instead. ;P You might as well try out the link that Gar posted, their bags are very cheap, only $7.50 but may be a bit small for CC cos you need to bring towel, diapers, extra set of clothes, FM, snacks etc right?

Gar, hehe, I also never bring RaeAnne to weddings yet. But birthday parties yes. Surprisingly, I still got to bring my own food cos most times, party foods are either deep fried, or salty or spicy. :p $1 off for each nursing bra or nursing top. Some bras came with free breast pad inserts but I think now must buy.

Iso, join us lar *evil laughter*. Gar and I have already shared what are the good buys on BP.

Bx, when we go out with RaeAnne on weekends, everything is chop chop so no time to shop. Most times, we either shop at the bread shop or NTUC. So I do online shopping lor. hee.

re:coloring/magnetic books,
isn't that a bit too complex for our toddlers now? can they enjoy it? i just bought a big drawing book and pencils for C coz he likes to scribble but he just scribble anyhow so i think no use getting him a coloring book for now... :p

re: #2,
i notice a trend... most of the mummies here who are preg with #2 has a baby girl for #1... heheh... my theory is because girls are less active than boys such that the parents are less traumatised by the experience... hahah... or maybe it's just a coincidence :p

re: year end holiday,
i'm finally going back home to jkt... i've to be v honest that we've not been v adventerous and have never go on hols ever since C was born. So this is gg to be my first trip but am bringing my maid along so that we can relax a bit :p

re:eek:nline shopping,
did quite a bit when i was on leave until my hb gave me the look, so erm... i stopped after coming back to work...

gar/bkk,
what is usborne books? are they good?

Bx, yes, I did. I brought it for a playdate to T3 with some Jan08 mums. My maid cooked so much so I brought extras for the other toddlers' breakfast. All of them tried some.
I put it into my 2 tier Tiger lunch jar, the other empty tier I filled with hot water to help it keep warm. But actually, fried macaroni tastes ok even when cold unlike porridge so it's fine.

Bx, your hubby even nicer. So romantic. I haven't gotten flowers for a long time. Let alone a Kate spade bag. My hubby doesn't know anything about bags nor BPs nor sprees. So, can't expect any surprises from him. If he does buy for a present for me, I am very very sure, it's something he picked up from Tampines Mall or Century sq when he walked past the shop. :p

Tute, I bought a big drawing block for RaeAnne from Giant too, only $0.99.

Duh, I don't know about having no. 2 cos we had princesses. What I know is I'm having no. 2 now simply because my biological clock is <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">TICKING AWAY LOUDLY</font></font>. So I cannot afford a bigger age gap. :p

apple,
the dora colouring book is quite nice. i just received it yesterday =) there are two pages of stickers in it too

bx,
Oic..never mind, then let her try the food at buffet.

bkk,
you're welcome =) glad that K likes the books! has she discovered the little yellow ducky hiding on each page? A has lots of fun pointing it out when we read the books to her. re technology....well the mummy not v hi-tech lor
that's why we lug so many toys/books out for her. i must admit that i have downloaded only a few iphone apps and none of them are games for babies/toddler hehe

pauline,
thanks for sharing =) i'm going to take a look later. the nursing bras look so lovely!!

iso,
join us join us!!

tute,
A may be a girl but she is as active as a boy haha...re colouring / magnetic books - i find them ok for this age with a bit of guidance from parents eg. for a particular spot on the book, i will shortlist maybe 3 magnets for A to choose from. she can get it right most of the time.

the usborne books i rec to bkkgal is the usborne phonics series. the stories are fairly short, rhymes well, and the illustrations are v cute!

pauline,
ok lar, i guess our hbs are nice in their own ways. I muz learn to be contented. one thing for sure, I will love to be a SAHM. but can't afford to be one. can only dream on.

going to explore the little gastronomy for more recipes later

oh, and u r not that old lah.

bkkgal, Gar, I don't even have a Iphone. Wish hubby will buy a new HP for me but can only dream on cos he's not a techie. :p

Gar, which usbourne book got ducky? Maybe I get that for RaeAnne too. She likes ducks and she has the Little Quack series of board books.
By the way, for the nursing bras, I bought NB31 and NB33. NB31's fit is better for me cos underbust is wide and cup size not so big. hee. Wanted to get NB7 but they are out of M size for the lighter colours and I don't want black cos most of my T shirts and nursing tops are white or pastel colours. :p

Bx, hehe, ya, my hubby is the steady and dependable type but yours seems more spontaneous and romantic. But my hubby very good at detecting my '脸色' cos I'm quite transparent so he knows when he upsets me and will try to make amends lar. ;) As for SAHM, I'm sure you can do it too. Actually I found out after I stopped working, there's nothing much to buy for myself cos I don't need new clothes, new shoes, new bags and I don't use make up. Only thing I still buy are skincare, facial/massage (my soft spot), magazines. When I shop, it's usually for RaeAnne or Raelynn.
Biggest thing I missed is travelling but with young kids, hard to travel anyway. :p

Thanks, I feel very old especially when I see young couples with pri school going children. Sigh. :p

Oh ya, Bx for the stir fried macaroni, if you think Ashlynn will have problem chewing on the elbow macaroni but cut it into two first before frying. But if too tedious, use ABC pasta or Risoni.