(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: playgroup
tubao,
how do you know Emma is eager to go? she told you that?
if she likes it, why not send her there?
for me, i keep pestering my mum to send me to school when i saw my sisters and brothers attending school. felt so happy to attend the kindergarten at age 5/6. :p

re: children backpack
Pauline,
kids backpack so expensive ah. have you tried those stalls at wet market?
i think they will be cheaper - but of course won't look so nice.
i was thinking to get a plain one and decorate for her in the future.

talk about childhood, i love to collect eraser. always went to the store to beow the erasers too. save up the $ to buy those ABC erasers so that can arrange it to my name. :D

for me, i got excited to go school not because of the nice stationeries. it's all the friends that makes me love school.

re: child development
C's shorter than RaeAnne as of Sunday. So i think she's still 75 cm. Weight less than 9 kg.
tummy very round though.
petite gal loh.

re: long weekend
probably will stay at home to rest.
already planned to boil some soup, cook some dishes. Saturday morning will go market buy ingredients.
went out Sat & Sun for the past 2 weeks. i can see that C is very cranky nowadays. need to calm her down. :p

she threw the biggest tantrum last night when she can't get the thing she wants. so scary to see her like that. she's never been like that. don't know what happen to her.
we put her in the playpen and she just kept crying for nearly half an hour. see also heartpain.

jass,
rest well.

matt can now count 10 to 1? clever leh.
mine will look at the number on the lift when i count to her. and she has the satisfied look for each number when i count, i think she can recognise the word just that she doesn't want to say it out.
she's also in the 'golden mouth' category. :p

garfield,
yup. they are more and more picky about food.

bkk:
oh.. i'm having eczema. long time prob, usually i choose to ignore it. but lately i need to wake up every hour in the night as its really itchy. haha so now on mc can catch up on my zzz as the med makes me drowsy.

xiaoyun: thanks.

matthew is v talkative. most of the time we have no idea what he is rumbling about. haha yes, he loves to look @ the numbers in the lift. maybe that is how he pick up counting. but haha he stops @ 10 leh although we stay on the 17th level.

wow... it will be be r&r weekend for you. enjoy wor
talk about cooking. i havent done that in ages!

bkkgal,
i've got the rainbow vacuum. I don't believe that previously and got a normal vacuum cleaner when i just bought the house.
my hb keep complaining about the dust not cleaned thoroughly by the normal vacuum cleaner. after pondering for 3 years and we finally bought it before C is born.
now happily using it and it can clean the matteress as well.
i highly recommend it. my PIL is using that too.

the newest model can be used as air purifier too.

bkk,
PD says it's due to dust, but we don't know for sure since no diagnostic tests were done. we've done some moderate changes like changing our sheets to those anti-dust mite types, getting a steam cleaner that will kill dust mites, getting an air purifier etc.

i am researching whether there are any tests that can conclusively determine her allergy and to what. after that then decide what to do....friends have recommended some alternative therapies so also checking those out.

jass,
matthew so smart! can count already =)

Jass, wah matt counting back from 10 to 1! Intelligent kid! Tell u hor my shaun hasn’t even call me yet . :p dun understand ur doc say why falling sick late is not good? Find it weird too. matt is down with runny nose ah?

Garfield – is the yuguo TCM? What to see in change village?

Bkkgal- you have a cat at home? Think that is the cause for Kate’s allergy leh.

Re: food
Yea mine used to be a rubbish bin ( ie eats every home cooked food ), now he starts to be picky liao, except outside food with salt and msg.

xiao yun:
how much is the rainbow cleaner? 4-5 k right... more than 1 yr back, a woman come to my house to promote. refuse to leave even when i when i need to breastfeed matt. pissed me off. so end up didn't buy. i am quite interested to find out more but didn't like her pushy attitude.

tongtong:
not sure leh. think its become bb is not expose to the germs ba. not sure. but he did mention that matt has allergy, so will take him longer to recover from flu next time. he started w lots of phlegm and he cant cough out. then running nose. now slowly recovering... feeding medicine is so tough.. like torturing him. he is screaming the house down.

LOL... he also refuse to call me v oft lor. when he does, he will call me money... *fainted* how i wish i have lots of money. LOL.

tong,
ya yuguo is TCM. they do tui1 na2 for kids and so far the only medicines they give are little sachets to paste over the naval (don't have to eat one). so i like...haha...no need to struggle to feed medicine lor

changi v,
there's a park, and a beach. there's also a veeeeeeery long boardwalk along the coast. http://www.all-about-singapore.com/medi_page/site_web_st/common_page.asp?pg=13 i used to work near there, v peaceful place can almost forget one is in singapore. and it's not crowded like other beaches

Jass , wah I think matt will be very good in math n will be rich in future because he can say $$ and knows how to count! Hehe

Garfield, thanks! Think I will want to visit there too!

jass,
about 3-4k. agree that those salesperson are very pushy.
but they are good loh. they even service my pil's 12 year old set for free and offered a trade-in for a second hand model.
we bought a refurbished set cost us less than $900. good deal right? it's a used set, so got to check carefully the condition though.

xy: wow... refurbished set ya. not bad leh... how to ask for refurbish set? but then 900 for old set still v hard pain. i'm just scared that my maid will someone kill the machines. she is v prone to spoil things lah. i'm on my 3rd rice cooker liao.

Xiaoyun
where to get refurbished set? very heartpain to part with 3-4K leh...wanna ask you, is rainbow better or that other brand called delphin? the delphin pp came to demo for me once, i was impressed loh but the woman very pushy, also pissed me off, i didn't buy in the end.

tong,
yeah, i think it's the cat but i can't give it away leh...

Gar
i actually got a professional coy to clean the mattresses in the house, clean my sofa etc but still the dust is an issue loh. i think you can do a patch test for allergies. can check with hospitals. but if it's really dust (i.e. not caused by ingestion), then you need to solve the prob environmentally.

Jass
wow, ur eczema quite bad huh?
Matt gonna be an accountant! so smart!

garfield, hi. I also brought my ds to yuguo for tcm n tuina. I agree with u that tuina works. It will take more sessions for my son to get well coz his phlegm is quite deep in. Haiz.

U can try olive tree clinic at forum for allergy test. Some of my friends visit dr tan n find her good. However i guess the cost wont be cheap.

bkk,
i dunno leh...if it's dust, even if we keep the house clean, when they go to childcare or outside, won't they be exposed to dust as well? we can't keep them in a "sterile" environment all the time right?

clover,
thanks for the feedback that yuguo works =) i will be more hardworking and continue to bring her there. will call the olive tree clinic to find out also.

garfield, i'm going to bring him bk again tomorrow. =)

Ladies, my alex is feather wt. He went up to 9kg recently n i think his wt dropped below the line again. Imagine he can still wear 6-12m clothes. He's 16m 1 wk.

clover,
do you know how long it takes at yuguo before we can expect to start seeing positive results? do we have to continue bringing them even after they "recover" from the symptoms?

quite troublesome for my parents to bring A there, but they believe in TCM so v hardworking about it haha

jass/bkkgal,
i go back and find that salesperson's contact and ask him if he has anymore lobang for it.
if there is i let you know his number, ok?

i've got delphin demo before. the person's attitude changed totally once he know that we have one rainbow at home.
for the rainbow salesperson, he's a local, easier to communicate. :p

here's some comparison:
Parts: Delphin made in china. Rainbow made in USA.
Design: Delphin easier to clean. Rainbow has some corner need to pay attention to.
Price: Delphine seems slightly more expensive.

--Long weekend
Maybe cook some new dishes at home, bring gal to park.

--Collection at childhood
Last time I'd like to try out all my 姑姑's hairclips & hair bands, without her permission, whenever I went to my grandparents's house.

Xiao yun,
My MIL brought E to watch kids at Childcare &playgroup of neighbourhood. Once door open, E will dash in, and sit on the chair, don't want to leave.

Hehe....we talk with my gal all the time, we asked whether she likes to go to school. She responds to us----gestures last time, words now.

let me start another discussion topic

girls vs boys development - any differences?

recently, A has been observing me, and now imitating me the following
1. brush hair
2. apply moisturizer...and...the funniest of all
3. she will take my bra and hold it to her chest!! laugh till i flip

i told my hubby lucky A is a girl, imagine it's a boy that does the bra thing??

so is it by nature just a girl thing to imitate these things? or will all kids imitate regardless of gender (which means if we have boys we must be more careful??)

garfield, i just started to go yuguo last wk only! i have seen it for myself that its more effective than GP's med. however our child's cough n phlegm will take longer time to get well, so have to be patient lor. the yishi there recommend going there once a mth for tuina to maintain the body.

girls vs boys development - any differences?

K also learnt how to put moisturiser on her face and when she sees me applying lip balm, she will purse her lips and indicate that she wants some too. When i put her on lips, she will press lips together and smile at me.

Bra - yup, she's also curious abt bras and did what A did - try to fit on her chest! hehe.

Nowadays when I ask her want to be pretty pretty or not, she will nod and allow us to put a clippie on her hair.

gar:
wow Arielene is so cute... she is learning v fast ya.

re: girl vs boys devt
my boy's 1st words: car, bus, choo choo... the xbox steering wheel @ home is now matt's toy instead of papa's toy. he likes to drive... will make sounds when he drives.
LOL. probably because we have introduce these words to him as he is a boy lah. but he is quite macho has he refuse to let us kiss him @ times and is not that lovely dovey compared to the baby girls.
hates it when we apply moisturizer @ times.
the funny part abt matt is that he is a paper tiger. he can talk and scream v loudly trying to play w my neighbor's dog when it is outside the gate. but when the doggies comes near the gate, he will run behind us and hide. when the dog leaves... he will come out of his hiding and start waving and shouting for dog dog.

re: tubao
hahahah you make me decide to do some cooking this evening. checking out recipes now.

xiaoyun: thanks.

C also mimic ppl putting on makeup. She has been observing my sil putting on make up for very long.
once you give her a bottle, she will tap tap on the palm, rub rub the hand, then pat pat on her cheeks. haha..

i was wondering if i should let her mimic me wash the dishes, mop the floor. soon she will be able to help out the housework.
i actually purposely fold the clothes in front of her so that she will learn. but she still doesn't learn maybe i don't do it everyday. :p

jass,
matt is smart !
C also like the lift button but i think it's due to the light that turns on when you press... whenever we go down he will run to the lift and press, luckily the button that he can reach is the one to go down :p

gar,
C also loves to imitate me or his dad, there's one day he saw me use eye cream and after that he took my eye cream (in tube form) and start putting on his eyes (with the cap close off course so nothing comes out) :p

I think no difference between boy and girl... C loves flowers - both saying it and the physical thing - (which my colleague keep teasing me about) but he also like cars (phew!)... in fact he likes anything with wheels...

haha, all our babies are just sooooooooo adorable right?

jass,
hehe, ya v sweet lah in the mng when i am preparing to go to work - brightens my day to see her imitating me

xy,
A has also "trained" herself to help us wipe table and keep the clothes. now when she sees a piece of cloth or tissue, she will auto clean the table. can clean up to 30 mins!!! and when i take down the dry clothes i will pass to her and she will take it to her room.

Me too. I also visit but no post. That explains why it was so quiet last week.

I just weigh dd3 yesterday, she's 8.2kg.

child feeding
Mine doesn't eat alot too but loves snacking. When she sees gor gor n jie jie eats, she wants to eat too. And always ask me to open my fridge as all our junks are kept inside.

Pauline,
I agree you must be strict with your maid. Give leeway now, it's difficult to revert to "tough" times. Cannot be too lax at the beginning, else you add more job, she prob can't manage.

Vacuum cleaner
I bought OSIM iEcology, cheaper than Rainbow but works the same way too.

Imitating
My loves to follow her gor gor n jie jie. When she's naked ie going to take shower, gor gor will always tickle her body. So now she sees gor gor naked, she will tickle him too. And duno why, she loves to pull his p*nis, mayb finds it interesting something dangling over there...

Long weekend,
Alot of potlucks, fri botanic garden, sun my parents and mon gf's house gathering. Running out of ideas what to bring. A friend likes my choc banana cake in my blog so I'm bringing that. Here's sharing a pic of it.
2774452.jpg

reena,
haha...wanna sell your cakes? banana choc is my favourite!

btw, your DD3 doesn't look like she's 8+kg. she looks quite chubby and cute to me!

reena,
is iecology need to work on steam?
my friend bought it and she has so much trouble using it. now back to normal vacuum.

reena,
she doesn't look 8+ kg to me too.
as petite as my C. C also got a chubby face.

garfield,
long time didn't see A. do you have photo to share?

Actually was thinking been a while since I last saw the babies, maybe we should have another playdate - somewhere outdoor that they can play together? :p C is quite shy when there are a lot of ppl especially indoor (he's always quiet during sunday school) but he loves outdoor so interesting to see if he'll interact with the other kids outside

reena:
wow... the kids looks quite happily involved *thumbs up* and u are making me drool w your cake. LOL.
btw, how much is the osim vaccum? i'm thinking abt it too.

Good idea tute! How abt a playdate at Jacob Ballas Children's Garden? I like that place, so much for the kiddos to do
and there's a cafe outside where the adults can sit around and drink coffee!

How does the Osim iecology work? wAter-based too? My cousin had one but it didn't last (or is it the maid spoiled it?)..dunno..whereas I've had frens who told me rainbow is very hardy, lasted them for years.

gar,
u missing for so long! glad u r still ard...

jass,
wow! matt is a smart boy! the pd so weird. never heard abt it before leh. i thought dun fall sick better right?

re: feeding
comforting to find other children (cannot call them babies le) having the same feeding problems.

fairfield,
my gal also always turn her head for the 1st mouth. after we persuade her to take the 1st mouth, then it is easier to continue.

re: Delphine Vacuum Cleaner
total waste of $ for me. hb promise to vacuum the mattress, sofa etc... he only did it once or twice since we bought it when ashlynn suffered from eczema which may develop into asthma when she was a newborn. now only use it for vacuuming the floor when the pt cleaner comes.

ashlynn loves to get me to count the numbers on the lift too! and she will imitate actions like applying eye cream, brushing teeth, bathing etc... very funny to watch her to all these.

bkk/tute,
count me in if u r going to Jacob Ballas Children's Garden!

garfield,
My bakes are not for sale, not up to standard yet :p DD3 is indeed 8.2kg but she has chubby face like me :-(

xy,
Yes, iEcologi is a steam vacuum, but I think is smaller than Rainbow. I find it rather cumbersome, didn't use it for a long time.

Jacob Ballas,
I vaguely rem we can't bring food inside, anyone can confirm this? Going for a picnic this Friday and gf suggested going JB. Also, a few feedbacks fm friends are it's more suitable for bigger children.

jass,
Thanks! Yes, I like to get them involved in my cooking/baking so that next time they can help me. My 2 elder ones always help me to pluck ikan bilis head and body ;-) I can't rem the price of iEcologi but I think I paid around $1.2k then, that's about 4 years ago.

bkkgal,
I think rainbow is more heavy duty.

Hi Reena
I recall that JB has a sign that says no food/drinks in there. I think our kids will enjoy the place now, esp the water play and sandpit areas. There're other activities like the tree house which are more suitable for bigger kids.

the iecology is definitely cheaper than rainbow/delphin.

Bx
wanna rent me your delphin? hehe. i'm keen to try both delphin and rainbow before deciding.

Clover,
thanks will be patient in expecting result. Re a's condition I intend to bring her to an allergist to determine once and for all plus causes. When she was young, the PDs all said she had cow's milk allergy but I subsequently realized they are not trained to accurately assess these conditions one....

bkk,

i am still using it as a vacuum cleaner. i need it on either mon/tue as my pt cleaner come on these days. if u want, I can let u use it for a couple of days (wed - sun).

bkkgal, reena, haha, I scared her with my 52 house rules and work schedule. Asked agent to pass to her the day before she report to work. Yesterday night when she opened her luggage to show us what she has, I also took note of all her valuables. Wrote it down and told her that at any time, she SHOULD NOT have more $/valuables than what she brought her excluding her salary. If not, considered as theft. I believe in being 先小人,后君子. haha.

This morning, even though I set alarm for her to wake up at 6am today, she woke up at 5am and insisted on sweeping and mopping the floor even though I told her no need to do it yet. End up my huby can't use the common toilet and used our MBR toilet, causing me to be unable to sleep after RaeAnne fell asleep. Just now, she passed a 1 dollar coin to my hubby and said she found it at RaeAnne's room. Possible cos RaeAnne likes to open my wallet, take out 1 coin, play with it then get distracted and leave it lying somewhere.

Jass, Matt so clever, can count already.

Gar, RaeAnne only good at imitating housechores eg. mopping, sweeping. The only grooming that I do regularly is blow dry my hair and comb hair so she can imitate these only. She does try to be helpful though. Today MIL told me when FIL told her he needs to go toilet cos very urgent, need to 'shh shh'. She actually went to fetch potty for him. Haha. LOL.

reena,
then the iecology doesn't work the same way as rainbow. rainbow does not have steaming function.

heard that iecology is smaller. but the gliding mechanism for rainbow is easier to control. i just let it roll when i vacuum, no need much strength though it's heavy.
yes, rainbow is very lasting. my pil used the last rainbow for more than 12 years and just upgraded to another model last year.

i went to Jacob Ballas last week. Didn't explore too much, only the waterplay area and the playground. too many ppl on Sunday. End up not much interaction between the kids as there are too many distractions.
if adults having tea at the cafe outside, kids have nothing to play with, right?

Pauline, looks like your maid quite good leh!! But of course must be careful, and of course must give her enough food and rest and maybe buy things (like clothes etc) for her if she performs well. Maybe next time I got to hire a maid too. but still got lots of obstacle, let’s see how it goes.

Re: Outdoor playdate
Onz! I went botanical garden last week, it was nice! Can go some other parks too for our playdate

xy,
ya i think i haven't posted pic since she was 1 year old....don't have recent pic loaded on my laptop, will need to go home to access from home pc.

bx,
wave...ya still here as silent reader...no time + lazy to post hehe

pauline,
raeanne is a homely girl. i think it's good for kids to help out at home. re maid - good that they are on the ball, better than everything must instruct!

clover, tongtong, gar, too early to tell lar. Told her to clean the kitchen this morning and she rearranged all my stuff. Faint! Think sometimes she still don't understand instructions but don't know how to clarify so just do their own way. Also, this morning I found out that she cut RaeAnne's bread into cubes using the Pigeon kids friendly dish which costs close to $10. The dish now has a cut across the surface. So heart pain. :p Today, the agent needs to bring her to MOM so I can take a breather. Think I also need to adjust being a 'Ma-am', and doing close supervision. But I know there is no perfect maid so sometimes I got to close 1 eye and learnt to let go lor. Haha.

Clover, my house rules only for maids lar. Things like no stealing, no using of house phone to make international calls, no giving my house numbers to your friends/relatives etc...

hello mummies!
been MIA for a while, but had a good time (using google reader) catching up on your blogs, keep it up! hee

housework
E also likes to sweep when i'm sweeping, i can't sweep the floor when he's around! so i bought him a smaller broom from daiso. recently he "help" me wash dishes (i put him on a stool in front of me). a bit girly but i think it's good if he helps out at home, otherwise end up like his father and uncle, who don't lift a finger at all at home, wahhaha.

Iso, wa, so good that you are training Elliot now. I love 'hands-on' husbands. Can I reserve him for my RaeAnne or Raelynn? hehe. ;)

pauline,
ya not easy training a maid...i think i cannot cope with it.

iso,
ya another vote for hands-on husbands! my hubby is one....and when Arielle is dating I hope she looks for these qualities in her partner too hehe

RE: Healthy Times BP

Not sure if anyone is still interested. Finally got time to post. Maybe we can have a playdate to get the items?

mime_msexcel.gif
Healthy Times BP 10 August 2009
Healthy Times BP 20090810.xls (33.8 k)</td></tr></table></center>

RE: imitation

Danica is the queen of imitation. So much so that HB and I have to be very careful with our actions and words around her. That day I was remarking "You dodo" (to describe dumb from the dumb bird from Ice Age 2), she remark "DODO!" so loud. lol...