(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

my boy has moving lump ( when pressed on it it can move) on his head, left and right. dunno whether it's due to fall cuz i realised about the lump last week. when i pressed on it he din cry so i assume it's not painful?

anyone has any info to share? i will bring him to doc soon.

Blueberry still on offer? I loves blueberries. Just miss the days in Canada picking blueberries by baskets.

Tongtong,
Better bring to see doc. The accident insurance cover the fees if you already bought one.

tongtong,
is the lump somewhere behind the ears? he shouldn't feel pain when you touch it...
my boy had that before too, PD said it's lymph nodes...
nonid to worry if it's moving... cos juz like adults, kids have lymph nodes and they move around the body

but if you're still very concerned, see a doc

xy, really peifu tt u can wake up so early.

Btw can u pls add me in your fb so that i can read yr bread recipes? I'll pm u my email. =)

pauline,
xin1 ku3 ni3 le.
hope you no more MS liao.

bluegin,
not sure still have offer. it's the season now. can get from everywhere.

tong,
last time C also have a small lump at the diaper area (don't know how it's called) when she's about 3 months old. PD said it's the lymph node too and probably it's due to the reaction to the vaccine. she ask us to monitor. if it persists then got to bring her there. after that it's gone.

Xiao Yun,
Erm... my boy also had that lump around his groin area... after a while lump subsided but left a scar

your C has a scar?

Hi, Xiao yun

Do you learn sewing from your mum ?

My friend always carry nice cloth bag(small, big, very small, very big one...) sewn by her mum; I envy her. My friend learnt this from her mum, she even made something for me.

Hehe..... when I was young, I envied my friends' mums' cooking & aesthetic taste on clothes&hairstyle. I was kept very short hair until Primary 5 ,when my mum didn't go to office very early in the morning.

But every other kid envy me; because every teacher/kid knew my mum since she was highest ranking woman government official at my city,(very small city). My mum always sat on stage as VIP when children performed at any celebration.

My mum cooked one dish very well---fry cabbage. Hehe..... I hope that my hubby and E can comment that I cook this dish/that ...well---hope min 8 dishes. (don't think that I got cooking talent----can cook lots of dish well).

tubao,
yup. i learnt a bit. only the sewing part. made my school uniform, school bag myself when i was in secondary school.
i don't have the patience to learn the drawing and cutting of cloth. my mum set a very high standard for it, end up i got to keep redo and redo, until i gave up. :p
at least i can do some simple sewing and mending the clothes now.

no worry. we will always be the first idol of our kid.

Pinkle/xy, I had those lumps behind my ears for years, but I don’t care about it cuz it’s not pain. My son’s one is behind his head below. Thanks for the info, I have also asked around today and gathered that it shouldn’t be harmful. I will go home and check again if it’s moving.. cuz static one should be more worrying.

XY, tubao, die lar, I can't cook. Sewing is worse, my home econs project always bring back and my mum help me to sew. :p Never mind, as long as my gal feels my love. Hee. ;)

Tongtong, I have small near my knee caps since young too. It moves when pressed. Should be some harmless water cyst bah.. I never bothered to find out cos no pain mah. ;P

Pauline,

Yah, definitely. You're sahm, can spend so much time WITH your gal; she will feel your love.

Now when I become mum, I pity instead of blame my mum; because she really need to squeeze time/sacrifice entertainment/sacrifice sleep time to bond with me/my brother.

Actually my mum can tie hair in lots of pattern, and do it very well. But she couldn't do it before my primary 5. She left before I woke up, came back after I slept.

Hehe.....enjoy being sahm......

tubao, good and bad lor, my gal sticks to my tummy and gals like super glue sometimes. I must learn to tie french braid, I never learnt how to do that for myself. But now I got 2 gals, all the more must learn. :p

Yup, I'm enjoying my 'break' from work for the time being, but I think I will go back to work when my gals are older cos I want to send them for piano lessons, bring them for holidays, send them to uni etc. All these cost $$$. :p

qingling,
Thanks for the compliments but my bakes are only good for personal consumption.

Wrt bread colour, it really depends on the ingredients used. If you use more eggs, the end result will be a yellowish bread. Like what XY suggested, you may substitute water with milk. However, do note that not all recipes can change like this. I tried one recipe and the end result is horrible.

tubao,
I prefer to bake in the day, with the kids around. I get them involved in preparation too, even dd3
I tried a few times to bake at night when all kids are sleeping but sometimes dd3 not too cooperative, will wake up for comfort nursing so it's very disruptive.

XY,
My mom can't bake too, only my eldest sister bakes (last time) and she has so many cook books! I was still a little girl when she does all those baking years back. I aspire to be like her when I grow up.

I can't sew, can't even sew a button well :p Look unsightly but at least the button won't drop off lah.

Blueberries
All my 3 kids love blueberries. Last time 1 punnet good for 2 kids, now not enough. Needs to give them 2 punnets. Carrefour had similar promo @ < $2 per punnet, but promo over leow. Usual price at NTUC is $2.90. I usually stock up when there's an offer, freeze and use for my bakes.

Cherries,
Was at Carrefour over the weekends and they were having offer for fresh cherries at $8.50 per kg! I bought 2 kg as my kids love cherries too

reena
cherries nowadays is so cheap. less than $10 per kg. saw the carrefour advert on cherries last week. but didn't go and buy.

re baking, i used to bake before i had my kids. now only bake once in a year, during CNY period. will ur dd3 mess up ur baking stuff?

pauline
i like to tie french plaits. used to tie for my band mates when i was in school. too bad my girl don't like to tie her hair. so i hardly have opportunity to use my skills.

Stephie, next time must learn from you. I'm very clumsy with my fingers. My mum never learnt cos she insisted I keep short hair until Pri 6 when I can wash and tie my hair myself. :p

pauline
sure, no prob. but me not that professional. i kept long hair since pri school and have interest in tying plaits. hence, picked up the skills thru trial and errors.

Do you brush your toddler's teeth? I've been brushing her teeth until one night, I was busy and DH helped out. Then he started shouting out for me, asking me why dd3 doesn't spit out the water. I told him I never let her gargle water, just action action brush teeth to build a good habit.

reena
yes i do brush my boy's teeth but not everyday (trying to make it a habit to do so everynite). just started letting him gargle water (cos he wanted - bring the cup to me and signal me to fill with water). somehow, he knows how to spit out the water. he must have learnt the 'skill' thru spitting of saliva (he sometimes do that for fun).

pauline,
a mum can be great at many ways, not limited to baking and sewing.

saw your post of the customised bag for R. feel so itchy to get those high tech sewing machine that can sew lots of things. i am sure it will turn out to be a gigantic white elephant at home. so, just dreaming about it only.. :D

tubao,
being the kid of VIP is not easy too right?

re: tie hair
i thought it's a skill will come naturally when one grows up.
end up i never master the skill at all as i have short hair during primary and secondary school years. now only know how to tie a pony tail.

reena,
what are the substitutions that you made and turns out horrible? please share share so that i can try to avoid.

age gap between you and your eldest sis a lot?

suddenly my gal rejects blueberry last night and this morning. don't know why. she bite it, gave a funny look then spit it up. i tried and they are all sweet leh.
lucky the 2 punnets finishing soon.

kids at her age can spit out water meh? what toothpaste your hb uses? hopefully it's not those that need to spit out kind.
btw, i also brush her teeth at night - be more precise, it's her brush herself. morning depends on her mood. mostly she's not patient enough to wait and want to drink milk already.

---Sewing

Remember that qingling has interest on that. Hehe....maybe check out any CC course on that.

Xiao yun,
Haha....I lived a easy life.....
My mum lost 10kg+ due to MS, when pregnant with me. I was super skinny baby when born, and always fell sick when young. So the 1st thing that she worries about me is my health. Until now, I always cheated her that I didn't do any OT.

----Playgroup &amp; childcare.
My girl seems very eager to go to school. She showed "when it's my turn? " look whenever seeing her playground friend go to/come back school.
I didn't want her to go to schoold early(before 3 year old). But....

So I maybe ask around my neighbour &amp; colleague's recommendations, and start to take a look at childcare.

Anyone will send kids to childcare soon?

XY, haha, you like it? I was talking to some Jan mummies and some say they'll never pay $43+ for a school bag for their kid. :p

Hehe, to me, rather spend on the kid than to spend on ourselves. More justifiable mah. Not as if the bag is expensive like some of the bags some women have.

Tubao, my gal is starting next Monday. Today tried to put her there for 2 hours, I sneaked out after half an hour and she screamed and cried for nearly half an hour. Aiyoh! Think she's getting smarter and separation anxiety is worse. Even my MIL went for her karaoke singing yesterday, she also cry. :p

pauline.. i think that is a very pretty bag.. hehe.. i think i will get it for gwen also.. but must make sure dun dirty too much so she can use 2 yrs,... then worth the $ already! :D

Thanks, Bx and Genice. Makes me feel better. I just received the bag yesterday too. So fast, to think I only ordered on Wed. 1 day turnaround time cos I told them it's urgent and my gal needs the bag for Monday. Today can use the new bag and put all her barang in liao.

tubao,

tian xia de ma ma dou shi yi yang de. i don't dare to let my mum know that i sleep little. otherwise will see her frowning for whole day. :p

not sending my kids to childcare soon. same as you, would like to send only after 3 yrs old.

pauline,
i like it because it's personalised. yet, $43 is very expensive leh.
i only spend less than $30 for my own bag. how can she spend more than i do? :p
however, i am that kind of 'penny wise pound foolish' ppl. very tempted to get those high tech sewing machine. haha.. found an excuse for me to buy that as i've been eyeing for that very long. maybe it's next year's resolution ba. :p

andrea,
yes. still continuing. planning to stop at 2. cutting down the pumping when she turns 18 months.
not actually 'tahan' for me. i am enjoying it.

especially the current H1N1 season, more reason for me to continue to built up her immunity.

Xiao yun.

I was 动摇 by seeing Emma eager to join her friends; may send her to 2 hr playgroup soon; if she likes it, send her to half day childcare.

XY, I went to check out the backpacks at kiddy palace today cos wanted to trade in avent bottles. The slightly better material backpacks (disney princess and minnie mouse) already costs $29.90 each but it's smaller than the one I got for her and it's not personalised.

Never mind lar, some things I'm willing to splurge. haha, I'm sure next time, I'll spend on her pencil case, stationery, etc when she goes to school cos I liked those stuff so much when I was young. Can everyday go school bookshop to 'beow' for new things. I feel that it's worthwhile to spend a bit more to make a child excited about going to school. ;P

But other things like clothes, shoes, I'm more ngeow cos she'll outgrow and got to throw away, no need to buy such good stuff. You saw the singlet she was wearing on Sunday, it's those 5 for $10 type from market lor. Slightly torn in fact. Haha. ;)

Preggie mummies, I've got an extra tube of Galenic/Elancyl stretch mark cream to let go at only $25, it's retailing at $30+. Anyone who is keen and able to collect at Tampines, please PM me.

ya, me too. always refresh, but no post.

pauline,
ur maid c'min today rite? how is she so far?

cheryl,
considered good size right? think ashlynn still slightly below 10 kg. sigh...

re: no topic
ok lemme start a topic? what r u all planning to do over the ND long weekend?

LOL i also surprised when everytime i see nothing happening.

WHen Ruth went for MMR 2 weeks back, she was 86cm, 11.6kg. Hubby weighed her at home 2 days back, he say 12kg liao. Both of us have aching backs and shoulders. BX, you should be happy Ashlynn small size - easier to carry!

Last weekend RUth went to Labrador Park for awhile. she was very happy at the open space and half-ran. Very cute to see her like that. She also played with another 26mth toddler boy. Both playing cars. THe boy didn't want to return her car in the end. Haha. Lucky so far, Ruth will usually return other ppls' toys - if she is not angry or what la...

hello...

i'm also a silent reader... come here occasionally but the past few weeks no time to post :p

development side, i think C is about 82cm and 10.3kg... he's drinking more milk now so probably that's the reason... but he's still considered a small eater and when he gets full he will throw up so must be careful not to overfeed him.

Am thinking what to do during the long weekend... any ideas?

lezy, C also love the great outdoor... he loves running here and there especially outside...

I feel that C is now so fun to play with and he's funny too... enjoyed everyday with him now... my only wish is for him to start drinking his milk from glass soon !! :p

Bx, good memory, yup, the agent brought her to my house at 8+pm, cannot come earlier cos RaeAnne at ILs place so got to wait for her to have dinner (feeding her is so tough these days) shower then come back home. For the first night, can't tell much yet but she tried very hard to engage RaeAnne and play with her. I also bought a box of kiddy animal biscuits and ask her to give to RaeAnne as a 'bribe'. RaeAnne did laugh when playing with her so I consider that a good thing.
Ask her to go and sleep first cos after settle all the paperwork, already 10+pm liao. :p Tomorrow then think about how to train her. First week, let her get used to things first. Next week onwards, I'll let her start the schedule.

Bx, haha, my national day weekend will be burnt training my maid. But think we'll go for a nice dinner with hubby on either Thurs or Friday to celebrate my birthday.

RaeAnne is only 79cm and 10.5 kg and she's older than all the Feb babies. :p

pauline,
i forever have problem feeding ashlynn. sigh... think u will be a good "ma'am" to ur maid

re: ND weekend
should be the usual activities for me like bring her for LNT class, visit my mum and considering bringing ashlynn to east coast park to cycle. wanna go southern ridges but hb not interested. haha...

pauline, bx:
matt is a terror @ meal time too. i refuse to feed him anymore. left the job to my maid... i must applaud her for her patience thou. meal time is always an hour each.. with lots of food ending up everywhere but his tummy. sigh... messy kid. other than meal time, he is a wonder.

hahah its makes my day today when my boy suddenly started counting from 10 to 1. v funny.. when he is done he starts to look ard like looking for praises.

anyway he has been sick since last week. the 2nd time he falls sick since birth. and i thought we did a good job but preventing him from falling sick but dr says not really. since he is as sensitive as me and hubby ( we have sinus and other sensitive nose issue) it will take longer for him to recover and its not a good thing to fall sick so late. so weird.

tute:
can bring cayleb to the zoo, bird park, beaches... somewhere outdoor.

i'm grounded... sob~ coz dr asked me to stay @ home this weekend to make sure matt has recovered properly.

ya our thread gone silent for a while. glad to see everyone still around.

haven't weighed and measured arielle recently, so don't know her exact dimensions. think i'll do it tonight.

she's been having a lot of mucus and phlegm (not exactly sick). so i brought her to yuguo the chinese tui na palce and their diagnosis was same as PD - due to her allergy *sigh* poor gal probably has to live with it her whole life =(

so we decided to bring her for tui na regularly as it's supposed to help alleviate the conditions. seems to be moderately effective cos she doesn't sound like darth vadar when she sleeps now.

bx,
i also have big headaches when it comes to feeding home cooked food. A will gladly eat ANY table food that adults eat including hawker food though. i think she loves the salt and MSG haha....my mom tried the si4 shen2 fen3 and she reported that A's appetite for home cooked food improved. maybe you wanna give it a try. you can get it from most TCM shops i got mine from eu yan sang.

jass/bx,
i also have problem feeding C and mealtime is usually about an hour for lunch/dinner, half an hour for breakfast and milk time. C likes to keep food in his mouth and not swallow it, haiz... that's what makes it so long... I am thankful though that he doesn't spit out his food out but I get quite impatient too waiting for him to swallow the food plus the waiting time makes him bored so have to entertain him with toys etc.

re:ND Weekend,
probably will bring him outdoor, realised that there are quite a lot of parks/outdoor/beach places that I have not bring C to...
C hates going to the mall so nowadays I hardly bring him out shopping :p

ND long weekend,
no plans yet. the thought of it being crowded everywhere is very sian haha...maybe i'll go changi village. we went there last saturday and it was v peaceful and nice.

It's been v quiet lately. Guess everyone's busy.

Jass, what happened to you? I saw on FB you had rashes? What's the cause?

Pauline, be v strict with your new maid. Can relak later but in the first few weeks, it pays to be strict. I found this blog very useful, it's maintained by one of the SMH mommies - http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/ In fact, I borrowed her weekly and monthly "schedule" as a guide, along with a quarterly review of performance. Really helps for both maid and us to know where we stand, whether she's performing up to scratch, no emotions, just professional evaluation of her work (but of cos, not criticisms all the time lah, if she does a good job, you must praise her too).

Weekend plans
Lots! Kate has a party to attend, friends to meet up, preparing for our Melbourne trip. I went to this cafe called Scrumptious at Turf City last week. Half of the cafe space is devoted to a children's play area - slides, trampoline, books, toys, little tables and chairs. It was really fun for K cos she could go and play while we adults ate. The food is ok, a bit pricey for cafe but I think they need to "recoup" from the space used up for play area.

Gar
is A's allergy due to dust? I'm quite concerned abt this allergy issue too cos K has been having a running nose for a while and you can see the dark eyebags under her eyes - it's not lack of sleep; it's allergy-related. Hb told me his pediatrician frens said that if we don't solve the allergy issue, there may be developmental probs later in life e.g her bite may be uneven, life-long sinus probs and so on. for K, it's dust loh...so I really need to find a way to keep the house as dust-free as poss but it's hard with a cat around. Thinking of those Rainbow vaccuums - it's expensive but I've seen how it sucks up the dirt and dust.

re: feeding babies
At least ur bbs are eating, just that they are eating slowly. Mine will refuse to open his mouth for even the first bite, and just keep turning his head away. But then, certain foods, he will auto open his mouth and keep wanting more, even though I havent even let him tasted the first mouthful yet. Very strange!

garfield:
my boy is the same as your girl ya, has allgery prob.

tute:
my will keep the food in his mouth, spit out or just makes feeding v tough. i seriously do not have the patience to feed him. when we are outside, he has to change clothes after every feeding as he is really messy. sigh~