(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

xiaoyun,

i know what u mean!!!my hormones also out of whack! n usu 2 wks before my menses. Asked my gynae recently n she advise me to go on pills to balance it out. Aftr considering, m unwilling to take cos wanna try for kid nxt yr but i will go see chinese doc to help. Haven't gone yet, nxt wk is my appt. If it works, i let u knw k?? but i do thk the chinese doc is not too bad cos' he was the one responsible for shrinking my fibroids when i didn't wanna go under the knife.

leila

which chinese doc did you go to? my cycle went haywire after delivery. used to be on the dot. now getting later and later..

mmr jabs
i brought my girl for it last month.. she had no reaction to it. i had checked with pd regarding autism. he said no such liunk.. i wanted to push it later too.. the clinic assistant told me got to jab before 2 years old too.. otherwise MOH will come after us.

So – it’s very subjective, some say yes some say no. there’s a lot of info you can read up and studies from the net.

Xiaoyun – how come you are opposite leh? not sure whether its due to hormone imbalance though.

Leila – I read somewhere that only measle is compulsory here in sg. MMR jab is recommended only. is that so? Yea I also dunno how late we can delay the booster?
I did read that there were lots of kids who contracted cancer due to vaccinations, but I dunno how true issit. There were too many studies and researches done , can read until siao. And what your PD said was what I read also, that the effects of vaccine will only be shown much later in the life. I think the bad effect will happen on those with weaker immune? I dunno, based on what I have read, it seems that there are more cons than pros for vaccination. Of course, I’m still struggling when come to deciding on vaccination on my own kid, hehe.

grace, i know there are many kids in singapore who have not had jabs before started schooling wor. MOH din go after them leh?

one scary fact for DPT vaccine is that the vaccines are ‘stabilized’ using formaldehyde - a known carcinogen. Each dose of DPT also contains mercury and aluminum - both toxic to humans.

anyway, the effect of vaccines could only show up later in life cuz the toxic stays in teh body for very long, and some of the live vaccines which stay in the body can become mutated over the years. that's why ppl caught cancer without knowing what's the cause ( other than pollution and stress) - it's all interelated la.

oh well, as i have said, information overloaded now liao.

I just checked the MOE website. Immunisation against diphtheria and measles is compulsory by law in Singapore. the others are not, like bcg,.. er dunno why?

Hi Leila! no time no "see". You went to see Prof Rauff huh? She's super, just love her.

H1N1 is here to stay. To me, life has to go on. I can't keep putting off things that I wanna do becos of it. Just go lah! singapore is also considered a H1N1 "exporting" ctry by now, i'm sure there are pp as afraid of coming here as we are of going to their ctry!

Tong, i dun mind taking them. but where do you stay?

XY, preggie again? maybe that's why imbalance? hehe.

leila,
you too? so i am not the only one?
mine is so serious until i got nausea feeling sometimes.

the cycle is yoyo a bit - +/- 1 week. not like last time on the dot zun zun one.

tong,
i don't know why is that so too. my friend said maybe because i am still nursing. she has got mood swing when she's nursing too.
during my pre-pregnancy and pregnancy days, my mood still very stable leh.
now pity ppl around me - esp. hb. :p

bkkgal,
not possible. menses come regularly and the flow is heavy.

Re MMR,
ya a lot of conflicting reports.

my family doctor probably gave us the most detailed answer. autism due to MMR occurs 1 out of 100,000.

parents can choose to take the three vaccinations separately in the following order of priority - Measles, Mumps then Rubella. it costs more to take separately, but the link to autism is only for the 3-in 1 MMR vaccine so the individuals are considered lower risk

Bkkgal – where do you stay or work? Me at raffles place/hubby at tampines/stay at khatib.

Xiaoyun, I don’t remember I having mood swing when I nursing leh. but if my hubby din help me enuff I will show black face. Considered mood swing or not? Keke

Garfield – yes conflicting reports, that’s why I read till siao :p i dont only read about the MMR, also about all other vaccinations - other than the linkage to autism ( which has low probability)

Just want to share - S also got the jabs at PD at early months ( I think I signed up 5 in 1 package) before I read about the effect of vaccinations. Now still studying, thus I haven’t brought him for his scheduled jab cuz I haven’t finished studying :p

I’m now not taking any positions yet – whether pro and cons, but I think inclined towards the anti-vac side cuz it seems there’s more bad than good. Vaccination doesn’t give 100% protection also. And the ingredients in formulating the vaccines are kindly toxic. I think there might be more studies which showed the linkage between illnesses/cancers /side effects with vacc. The effect will only show later part of life, it wont happen immediately now. We can see childhood cancer/childhood disease which have apparently no reasons for it. They are the unlucky ones because their immune system might be low, or destroyed by vac (vac is said to suppress immune system) so they caught illnesses.

Why some of the kids are so prone to getting sick? Cuz lower immune due to improper diet/bad environment being brought up/ genetic/ overly dosage of drugs/medicines/ vaccinations/ pollution/radiation.

Of course, there are too many more reasons. Just want to share with u a quick one here since the discussion was being brought up today.

grace,
for the chinese doc, i went to zhong hua yi yuan, changi branch. if u want the details, PM me k??

bkkgal,
ya, went to see our gynae for my long overdue pap smear :p then chit chat wid her on other stufffs too lor...did u send ur DD s pic to be placed on her walls as well??? i jus love look g at the pics there but wonder why she didn't put the pics of her daughters there leh....

I too thk life still has to go on as usual despite H1N1 and anyway, me n DS always get exposed to whatever my hubs brings back fm wherever since his biz travels has not lessen. Guess will just go with the flow and see when is our nxt chance for a holiday. I so so need one soon!!!

xy,
ya, my mood swings now also super jialat until my hubs is so very keen on me going on pills asap since he gets most of it fm me ...hehehe :p

Esther,

Xiaoyun,
I tried to make Yogurt last weekend, not successful..). It's not solid enough, and bit too sour.

Do you add honey/sugar to fresh milk at 1st step?
What temp is fresh milk at the beginning? I made it same temp as baby's milk.

Hi, Jeannie
Read your blog about prawn farm. Hehe....can call my family? if your brother join you at outing.....

congrats Esther!

yesterday i make some bread buns (with the yogurt recipe of XY)..hee..it was very tasty yesterday, but today the bread was a bit hard already. I microwave it and it was ok.

2710201.jpg

qingling, the bread looks good.
Hb tried to make bread yesterday but i gave him wrong instruction n the texture is more like "fa gao". Lol.

Hi Leila

I made a desktop calendar with dd's pics for our dear gynae. She's kept it aside cos it's already 2009. But I brt dd to see her the other day and she was pleased to see how a little NB has grown into this active toddler.

Boy vs girl toys
I'm very amazed to read that the boy toddlers in this forum have strong preferences for "male-oriented" toys like trains and trucks. Is it genetics, I wonder? I bought dd a few ikea trains and a masak masak tea set. She too seems to prefer playing tea time with her stuffed toys than pushing the train around. It's strange how she knows that a tea pot is to pour tea into the tea cup. She even serves us her tea and we have to pretend to sip it and pronounce it "nice"! the hubs had plans to build a train track for her but I think it's probably more for him than for dd, seeing that she clearly prefers "girl" toys.

bkkgal, haha, sounds like my hubby. He's a toy collector. And he has so many star wars, starship troopers, aliens spaceships, centurion and other action figures that he buys online. He even plays Nerf guns and basketball with my gal too. Too bad for hubby that no. 2 is also a gal, no one to inherit his toys and spaceships. I was starting to worry that both my gals will grow up to be tom boys. :p

Luckily, RaeAnne loves to play with masak masak cos she sees me cooking in the kitchen and I don't let her touch anything so she pretends to cook and eat with her own plastic utensils and pots too. ;)

good morning mummies,

here's another loaf of bread that i made:

Method: Speedy Sponge-Dough

Sponge-dough Ingredients:
100 g Water
1 cup Bread Flour
1 tsp Instant Yeast

(1) mix well and let it rest for 2 hours.

Other Ingredients:
60 g Milk
1.5 tbsp Milk Powder
1.5 tbsp Sugar
0.5 tsp Salt
0.5 cup Bread Flour
0.5 cup All-purpose Flour
1 tbsp Whole-grain Rolled Oats

(2) Add in other ingredients and knead till dough is smooth

1.5 tbsp Olive Oil

(3) Add in Olive Oil and knead for another 5 minutes
(4) Restart the breadmachine, choose Raisin Bread - Light Crust

0.25 cup Raisin
0.25 cup Dried Cranberries
2 tbsp Blackcurrant Jam

(5) Add the above mentioned ingredient after Beep sound.

Esther,

congrates.

tubao,
i don't add sugar/honey at all. it inhibits the growth of the good bacteria.
also, the temperature is warmer than what the baby is taking. about 50-60 C.
i find that using fresh milk is less solid. as a result, i prefer to use milk powder.

qingling,
the bread bun looks good.
how do you shape/roll the bun? i have problem shaping/roll the dough. it always stick on my hand. need to put lots lots lots of flour?
you can try to freeze the breads that you are not consume the same day. it remains soft after you thaw it. no need to steam, toast or microwave.

Long time din post here, but i have been a loyal silent reader all this while... lol

Would like to share with all of u the pic of Esther's new boy Cayden..

2713947.jpg

qingling
Your bread looks good

Ester,

Blueberries are in season now and it's on offer at NTUC so my bakes now are mainly with these fruits.

Just to share my recent bake, cheese chiffon cake with blueberries
2717041.jpg

Blueberry and Cranberry loaf
2717042.jpg

Reena, WOW, the cheese chiffon cake looks good.
Too bad, I'm not a fan of cheese cake or any cakes for that matter. My hubby is the one with a sweet tooth instead. :p

morning mummies - i am now at T2 waiting for my plane to fly to JKT again..haha..

Esther - Cayden so adorable!
XY-my bread dough wasn't too stick, i use the bluesky recipe, share with u when i am back.
Reena-the cranberry loaf looks good, how come my bread never looks as cream color as yours, mine always brown brown texture...hmm....

Morning, Mummies!

Apple & happymum2b, thanks 4 helping me 2 inform & posting my bb's pic.

Thanks mummies 4 the wishes!

Finally sneaked in here 2 post while i expressing milk nw. Keke...

esther

reena
the blueberry cheese chiffon cake looks nice and yummy. will u be posting the recipe on your blog? last weekend giant having promo for blueberry. only $1.99 for 2 punnets. very sweet. should hv bought more cos my kids finished up very fast. ntuc selling the same brand at $2.45 when i saw yday.

Esther, Congratulation.
Still a long wait for me. Hahah. Now she is kidding my tummy.

Bread making:
The cheese chiffon cake and the bread looks so nice. Yummy

Stephie,
Yes, already updated my blog, you can find the recipe there.

Pauline/bluegin,
Thanks for your kind words.

qingling,
You say brown bread is the crust or the bread inside? I think it depends on recipe too.

I made this last night for dd1's bday today. Hope she'll like it.

2726846.jpg

reena - u r so talented, can open cake shop already!

the brown is the bread inside, i can never bake a loaf which the bread color is as white as yours.

Hi, Xiao yun

Carrie can take plain Yogurt? E likes sweet Yogurt neh....

---make bread.
Mummies made so nice cake/bread. I haven't bought bread machine yet.... hehe....will ask and read your recipes at Archives then.

Reena,
so nice cake....
Hmmm....when you bake, other than taking after 3 kids alone?

Last time at shopping center, I saw a mum bring 3 children eat out at pastamania. I kept staring them, observed them. It's so marvellous to take after 3 kids alone.

esther,
jia you. read your blog, happy for you that cayenne is so guai.

reena,
really effort in making those for your kids. i always wish that my mum can bake too.

qingling,
remember to post your recipe, ok?
to make the bread whiter, put more milk powder and replace water with milk loh.
the condensed milk recipe yields white (cream color) bread.

tubao,
she doesn't take the plain yogurt. i normally blend with fruit then give her.

you planning to get a bread machine too? i posted my recipe in FB notes (although it's still limited count). if you 赏脸 can get it from there.

stephie,
now the giant promotion for blueberry no more already. it's $3.95 for 2 punnets. i still bought it as MCP was selling the same one at $3.50.
yes. they are sweet - except some small small one.
C likes it a lot and self help from the bowl many times. she even reject her favorite apple in order to eat the blueberry.

xy, u r up so early to prepare to go to work! My ds rejects blueberry. He will turn his head away or keep shaking his head when i tried to feed him it. I find it so strange tt he will reject this fruit. However we discover that he likes spicy food. Lol. I love spicy food myself n he must have taken to the taste in my bm. Lol.

clover,
i leave home early - 630. Also need to wake C up to latch her - 15 minutes. no choice to get up early.
i think kids have their own preference. you might want to intro the blueberry to him next time. it's actually not a bad thing for him to like spicy food. he's in singapore, good to like spicy food.

Hi, Xiao yun

Hehe.... At last post for Reena, I had written "my mum doesn't cook well", but deleted it. Thinking that it is so unfair to her, she wake up earliest/sleep latest at my bigneighbourhood, to do household chores before/after busy&long working time.....

Yah, will check out your recipes at facebook. hehe....feel bad about myself----seldom able to share good knowledge....

xiaoyun
the giant promo of $3.95 for 2 over the weekend is slightly better than the previous $1.99 for 1. Wanted to buy but didn't have chance to go giant over the weekend. hope will have promo again ;)

tubao,
hehe... that's a fact that my mum doesn't bake.
next time C will also tell her friend that her mum doesn't cook well too.
i won't mind her saying that because it's true. i still have my other strenght mah.
just like my mum, she doesn't bake, but she sews well. all the clothes my siblings and i wore before 15 yrs old are all sewn by her.

stephie,
i think i misread your post. thought $1.99 for 2. :p

Just let my gal try blue berries today. She ate about half of what I gave her. Then when MIL continue giving, she spat out liao. :p

I'm not a good cook too but at least RaeAnne gives me face and eats the food I cook. Yesterday we went over to ILs place around noon time, FIL said she ate only a small portion of porridge but they have no choice but to give her milk. I brought over a bit of rice that I cooked for lunch (rice cooked with chicken/veg/mushroom stock and sliced mushroom, diced yam, chicken and lap cheong). Hubby gave her the rice and bits of chicken and she kept pointing and saying 'um' 'um' for more.

I told hubby I rather cook for RaeAnne, at least she's more appreciative of my cooking than you. :p

XY, didn't get your reply yesterday but end up I also forgot to bring the cot sheet. Next week, then see how.

Sky so dark, going to pour liao but I got appt at Rustic Nirvana for pre natal massage today. So sian... :p

pauline,
for blueberry, i gave her about 10 only. don't think her tummy can hold so many at one time.

i only cook for C. don't want to waste effort on hb who doesn't appreciate and give me funny face. :p told him liao, you either eat what i cook, or pay $ for outside food. :D
anyway, his $ is his $, my $ is my $. don't care.

you sms me? now i realise that i left my hp in another bag since yesterday till now.. :p
anyway, i wasn't at home last night. went my PIL place.
i will be at home next sunday evening. want to go playground?

hey, you seems having a real tai tai life leh. so good. you go over there for massage? tampines? be careful of the slippery floor if raining.

XY, I'm only going for the trial cos got promotion, only $48 and my lower back has been aching.
Yesterday night, also asked hubby to massage for me. Secondly, I've been wanting to get the Ox set of coins for my no. 2 from Singapore Mint and their shop is near Cuppage where rustic nirvana is so can kill 2 birds with 1 stone cos I hate travelling to town nowadays. :p

Next Sunday sounds good but my PT cleaner should be here so can't be very early. :p KIV timing first ya?