(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Pauline,

it's ok if RaeAnne eats abit. According 2 the seller tat i got the cream from, she say it is perfectly ok.

4 Cayenne, she got tis habit of sucking her thumb. so I often have 2 apply abit on her thumb cos got abit of red due 2 prolonged sucking. She suck while sleeping. She is ok so far.

And i apply on her face and if near her nose and mouth area, Cayenne will auto open her mouth like wan to taste the cream. it's got quite a nice smell IMO.

Thanks, Esty, I hope to use it for myself too cos I got eczema and gynae said don't use during 1st trimester but very itchy leh... :p

hello mummies!!

Second day at Tokyo, and the cherry blossoms are blooming nicely (pics at FB). Weather is not too cold, so very nice to walk ard. H was quite cooperative on the plane, but b4 that we had some saga where she vomited all her porridge b4 boarding the plane, and when she arrive she vomitted all her milk..sigh.. Total she vomitted 4 times already (2 more times on arriving, 1 milk(night) 1 porridge (dinner)), otherwise she's still a happy active kid.

Citidines is a nice apartment, no complaints, and near to Shinjuku park, so nice place to stay. Will be going Ueno Zoo tmr

apple,
ya, i knw what u mean. so i did quite a few trial n error. fish, i usu steam lightly as once u put it in the flask, the heat retained continues to cook it. Vege, also the same, n i usu don t use leafy greens when i pack it into the flask. will use brocolli, cauliflower, peas etc. So aftr 6 hrs, the food still tastes ok.

qingling,
oh dear, why did H throw up?? but good thing she's still active. Enjoy ur hols ya!!! hear more fm u later

Qingling : oops what happen to H? I am really scared of babies vomitting.

Leila: Oic thanks for the tip! Will try it out one day.

Pauline: I din know calendula had steroid content. No wonder its useful for eczema...

hello Leila,Esther,apple - H threw up when she was coughing (i think too hard)..her phelgm doesn't seem to get better..already seen 3 doc, even taking chinese medicine liao..dunno how. think come back to sg has to find another one..help

Qingling, RaeAnne has phlegmy cough and running nose too. In the year that I BF her, she never had that even when I caught a cold myself. See her wake up crying cos of the phlegm and mucus stuck in her nose, so poor thing.

She has 4 types of medicine to take now, hope she gets well soon.

Poor Heidi, sick overseas even more mafan. Plus the cold air may irritate her airway. When are you flying back from Japan?

qingling, pauline,
L too has lots of phelgm and is coughing away. Has a cold too and i notice it becomes worse when it rains or when there is cold wind. Jus started on chinese meds recently. I really hope he gets well soon too. I really wonder why such young kids have so much phelgm??
qingling, pls rem to wrap H in loads of warm clothes ya?? take care!

Kitsune,
I dun realli wanna scare you off. But the matter is just too personal. TMC confinement food is great, esp the soup. Thumb up.
So happened that during my last stay at TMC. I was at the end of one of the wing. I rang bells when I need assist, but none responded to it. In the end, most of the time I have to walk to the counter to request for things. and oso walk the way to see my bb at the nusery room as none of them wanna or have time to push Channet to me.
I must emphasize that this is only on me. COunt me luck. So far most of my friends there, none of them have such encounters.Perhaps there is a difference in treatment for 2-bedded and single bedded. That's why I opt for a change.

I also had bad experience with TMC and I'm staying in 1-bedded... sigh. The aircon in my room kept breaking down, sometimes u felt so cold, sometimes hot cos it's itermittent problem... the nurses refused to change room for me, instead they brought a huge fan in to blow at me.... can u imagine that? They also know we are not supposed to have the fan blowing at us during confinement... sigh.

Anyway, the next day, the deputy came round to check, asked for feedback, I told her abt the room condition and I managed to change my room immediately.... sigh.

However, I must admit the confinement food is very yummy... but nurses are not as good and attentive as those in Mt E where I delivered my first boy there.

qingling
E threw up v easily also when he was coughing - PD said that it's cos he has a sensitive gag reflex, i.e. cough a bit then throw up easily. once when PD was using that stick thing to look down his throat he puked a bit also, hee.

I must sell SGH again..since nobody goes there. heh.

I gave birth on a Friday and throughout my stay, it was 'weekend' workforce lor - meaning not so many people (both patients and nurses i guess).

Everything is good there. Nurses, midwives all very nice, friendly, helpful and attentive, with the right amount of sympathy, advice etc.

FOod is good (to me)...esp the dessert. but after being hungry for almost 12 hours...anything tastes good i think...heh.

My gynae came to check on me everyday i was there. He even say anything can sms him and he will come up immediately. I think he is so dedicated.

I stayed longer cuz Ruth needed to stay for observation - due to what i cannot remember - and it was more convenient for me to stay there than shuttle to n fro to feed her.

Jiaiat, i need to improve my memory skills.

Qingling, very excited for u eh. Hope Heidi gets well soon. SHe looks subdued in the zoo pics!! heh.

i stayed in TMC 1-bedded. i think the service is quite good. i had some complications after birth and i thought the nurses were very patient and attentive to my needs. checked on me regularly. update my gynae on my progress. also took good care of ashlynn i would say. and pushed her to me as soon as i requested. will go back there for my #2. moreover my gynae's clinic is there plus she stays nearby.

Thanks, everyone for your inputs on TMC.

Bx, for you to forego your civil servant's medical benefits and choose TMC, it must be good. Which gynae did you see? How much did you pay in all? My hubby until now still doesn't know how much he can claim for me. His clerk needs to find out for him. Men can be so bo chap about their medical benefits. Duh... :p

Pauline,
my hubby also never claim for me because as long as you are choosing a gynae, is considered as private and private patient has no subsidy.

I can only claim if i did not mind specify which gynae and paid the 'public rate'.

That's what i know...hope it helps.

Lezy, really? You mean civil servants dependents can only choose subsidised service if they want to claim. That's strange. Cos last time when RaeAnne was admitted to KK for jaundice, he did show his CSC card and it was accepted but I don't know in the end how much they deduct from his salary or from Medisave cos hubby doesn't keep track. Anyway, I used his card when I went to TPS last week and they accept. Will wait for him to check his salary slip this month or next month and see how much they deduct. :p

Yipy, welcome

Pauline/bx
what civil servant benefits are there for childbirth?

Qingling
hope H is better today? poor baby coughing away..

bkkgal, normally we can claim for specialist outpatient so can claim when seeing gynae at restructured hospitals. As for delivery, I'm not sure, should be hospitalisation benefits for spouse bah. Last time when I was at CGH, everything can claim, even LC bills. But MOE, I don't know. :p

pauline,
i dunno what medical benefits i have coz i din check it out. i heard that if i wanted to go to private hospital, wun have any subsidy. my gynae is dr joycelyn wong from ACJ Clinic. lemme go home to check out my total bill. can't remember le.

bkk,
ya, as mentioned in my reply to pauline, i dunno what benefits i'm entitled to... i think lezy already gave the answer. hee...

bx, so 'qiao', that's the gynae I want to see! I already booked appt but earliest is 23 April, got to wait so long so I see KK in the meantime. Is she really good?

Pauline/BX/Lezy
Yeah, that's what I thought too re: subsidised benefits. Non-pensionable officers have CPF and medisave and that is supposed to already cover our medical.

hi hi...

long time never log on !! i'm on leave this wk but still feel very busy... heheh... :p

pauline/bluegin,
congrats on the 2nd pregnancy !! hope you have a safe and smooth pregnancy all the way

pauline,
i was with joycelyn wong as well and i was very comfortable with her... stayed in TMC and very satisfied with service, only downside is that my rm got a "fake window" such that throughout my stay i didn't get to see any sunlight :p btw, if you're gg to see dr. wong, one tip is to make appt during weekday near lunch time. ask for the last appt before lunch time or first appt in the morning/after lunch... i think at most i waited is 1.5 hr unlike when i last time go to NUH, waiting time was ridicilously long even when i went to the private clinic and on weekday ! not bad from my pt of view

qingling,
Can't see your pics in facebook...somehow all blank :p

hello all!
Weather in Japan getting warmer, i can just go out in short sleeves (like walking in cool aircon), but still wrapping H like ba zhang..hehe..unfortunately she's still coughing n running nose but no more vomiting. Coming back in Sg on Sat

Kitsune - since nobody recommends Glen-E, i shall do so..haha..food is fantastic, nurses are very helpful especially those senior ones very experience in BF. Ward is bigger (i think if i compare to TMC) for 1 bedder, carpark i feel is def easier compare to TMC. My gynae is Dr Chan Kong Heng, a very senior and experience gynae, naturally his charges i feel are quite steep, 1 consultation can easily be near $200.

tute - i tink earlier one FB had some problems? now shld be ok to view the pics.

Kitsune
i choose Mt A. I forgo my civil service privilege. In fact both my kids are born in Mt A. Nice food, nice nurse, superb delivery suite and most impt i love the LCs there. Given another choice i will still go back to Mt A.

Congrats to those pregnant again...:)

Hi, Qingling,

Saw your pics at facebook; but can't write comments---think my facebook' problem----I can't even add friend now.

Flowers at park look very nice...... Hehe....I like Heidi's sporty outfit. The jeans skirt with side pocket is very cute.

My niece also has vomitting problem from birth until now(2 years old). But she is quite healthy----only sick once, much taller and heavier than her peers.

Enjoy rest of Japan trip! Envy envy........

Qingling,

Saw your comments about Glen-E. Btw, are you in the same class with me and snowbelle at Mrs Wong's prenatal class?

pauline/blueginger
congrats on your pregnancy!

Re: civil servants
it's true that if you choose for a specific doctor, you'll not get the subsidised rate. however, i think can still claim from coy, just that you need to co-pay higher. think hospitals benefit for preggie women is good. only pay 10% of what you incurred. but for ministry/stat boards, doubt have such good benefits unless you are under the very old scheme (which is unlikely cos the mummies here are not that old).

qingling
enjoy the remaining of your japan trip! u are there for a week? btw, do you know other than this period, what are period is good to visit japan?

garfield
good to know that your trip was good. so watz on for your next holiday?

Saw Dr Loh today and saw the sac, only 7.6mm long but very happy to see it.
He said he wants to see me in 3 weeks time. Duh, so long, think he helping me to save $ bah but i want to see heartbeat earlier leh.

He's very funny, I asked him if he'll be on leave in Dec and he told me he will take off once A levels is over as his girl is taking her A levels. Heng, my EDD in early Dec and since I delivered early last time 38 weeks and 4 days, I'm likely to deliver early again this time so no need to worry. :p

My appt with Dr Wong is 1 week plus away. Will at least see her once then check out the package rates (hopefully by then hubby is clearer about his medical benefits) then can decide which gynae to follow.

Today went with hubby to pig out at Kuishin bo, Suntec to celebrate. Told him I must quickly eat before MS starts. Dr Loh said can eat sashimi, so I whack man! Gar, he said can do IPL or laser too, no risk to baby. Hee.

Thanks, Stephie. How do you know? You not in civil service right? Your hubby is?

pauline
yup, me in civil service. used to be in one of the healthcare group so knew about the benefits. now, my medical benefit v pathetic. see doc max can claim $10 only.

Stephie, so qiao, me too. My benefits were fantastic but hubby's not so good. He see GP also can claim $10 only. Somemore, each month can only claim once. Faint! :p

Pauline, thou I have had bad experience staying in TMC... I'll still go back there to deliver if I were to get preggie again.... cos of my gynea... and yes, she is Dr Joycelyn Wong... I like her and very comfortable with her... so I can forgo anything just to be delivered by her.

ABCs' mummy,
Which Gynae you see in Mt A?

Cheryl,
The weather is upsidedown these days.

Kitsune,
Great to hear that you are happy with your first visit to Dr Loh. I have make my appt with my gynae next sat for the regular annual check up. Hope he can give me a good news then.

Stephie -i think good time is during june (but Hokkaido) for lavender blooms i think, otherwise go during winter to Hokkaido.