(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Andrea
Went to a wedding reception that catered Kriston over the weekend. We felt the food quality was superior - they had kueh pie tee (yummy!), satay, nonya kueh - all very good.

I'll email you a time to collect. This weekend ok for you? Very tied up at work this month.

Iso
Sounds like E needs to bulk up with solids. After holiday, K's feed and sleep sched all screwed up, so she was waking up everynight, sometimes 2-3 times a night until I cannot tahan. I drastically reduced her milk feeds and even cut out 1 feed totally to "force" her to eat solids so that she can bulk up for the night. It worked! She was able to take alot of solids for dinner at 6pm, followed by 200 ml at 9pm before bed.

But sad to say, despite her eating more, she is still under 9kg. Dun think she can triple her birthweight. After 1 y.o., their weight will plateau.

ABC
your reasoning for #2 timing is interesting...on the contrary, do you think kids with younger siblings to fight for parents' attn could avert the terrible 2s?

I've seen some kids in terrible 2s and it's damn scary man!

hi iso,

sometimes, i will puree coriander, spring onion & ginger with few drops of sesame oil & add to porridge...smell n taste great!

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ladies,

Sorry for the intrusion, am keen to order the Balboa Baby Sling, if you are interested, pls PM me

The Balboa Baby Adjustable Sling - Developed, Tested &amp; Recomended by Dr.Sears &amp; Family. Pediatrician and best selling author.

The Adjustable Sling is so soft and comfortable, perfect for wearing your sling baby. Designed to grow, the Balboa Sling offers comfort and hands-free motion and promotes bonding. The unique contoured, padded strap evenly distributes your baby’s weight while maintaining a sleek appearance. Padded elastic trim ensures that your baby is safe, comfortable and held close to you. For added safety all Balboa Slings have a deep pocket design which allows parents to move freely without worry. Easy to fold and fit in your diaper bag or stroller, the One Size Sling compactly travels with you. Conveniently added, the pocket carries your belongings as you carry your most precious one.

Available in the following designs:

Geisha Trim
Geisha
Blossom Trim
Blossom
Striped Trim
Flowers
Leopard
Dotted Daisy Orange
Dotted Daisy Brown
Black
Brown

Check out the designs at tis site: http://www.balboababy.com/adjustable_patterns.htm

Price : $67 per sling
Retail Price: USD58
Postage &amp; Handling : $1.50 (normal local postage), for registered post add an additional $2.30.
Meetup possible @ seller's convenience : Raffles Place/Boon Lay/Kovan/Pasir Ris MRT station/West Plaza @ Pasir Ris St 72

**Pls note that tis is a pre-order and we are taking the orders now!**

Pls PM me if you have further enquiries

Many Thanks

re:mens
anyone still have not have yr mens?
i am one of those.

re:birthday bash
eliaw, ok ok.. i try to transfer if not i pay u on that day. veri mafan to transfer.

re: birthday bash
sorry that i got to withdraw from it. miss another chance to meet up with you gals and babies.

re: weight
my boy is about 10.2kg now. carrying him without carrier for more than 15 min is really tiring...

tongtong
when you pump, probably you can try to drink some hot drinks to stimulate the let down?
i am thinking to stop bf when my boy reaches 1 yo. but really bu she de to stop leh 'cos the supply is still good and my gal can even have 1 feed in the morning. think of stopping 'cos i am losing lots of weight and don't think it's good for my health.... still pondering....
what FM you gv to shaun?

dorothy
me! mens not yet back.

abc
IMO, i think there's no perfect age gap for the kids. it's all depending on individual's readiness. after terrible 2, there will be horrible 3. like one of my friends, her son who is 3 yo now, giving her hell time everyday. and she doesn't have #2 yet.

Talking abt triple the birth weight.. sigh... my Davier was born 3.77kg and till now, is only 8.6kg... slightly more than twice the birth weight... sigh. His gor gor (2&amp;1/2 years old) is only coming to 12kg only.. duno why my sons are so light when their daddy &amp; mummy are very heavy... me and hubby are big sized one...

Very depressing when I think of their weight.

My cousin is teaching baby sign language class in her home atHolland V. It's a small class of 5. There's 1 more place left. Anyone interested? It's $240 for 6 weeks.

Pauline/Jeannie
I'm interested in tumble tots trial! Can I join you? Where's tumble tots in Tampines? TM or Century is it?

re: weight
Gervaise is 12.3kg. today is his bday!

re;mens
sunny, sian right?

re:sign language
bkk, do u think it is still advisable to send our bbs there cos they are already 1?

re:tumble tots
its at tampines sport hall.
hmm, can i suggest another branch? me n cheryl went for the trial. boring... ended up the 2 of us were the ones to entertain our boys

re: tumble tots
Dor, u mean the Tampines branch no good? They don't have facilitators/trainers ah?

re: sign lang
my niece is about 15 months. The other babies also about 1.

tumble tots
I am also interested in the tumble tots trial if it's in the East.... do pm me if there is one cos I can't access the forum at work

re:tumble tots
they do. there are 4 bbs in the class including 2 of ours. but they dun seems to be able to move the class.
unlike kinkermusik, the class is big but yet the teacher can control the whole class.

re:sign lang
i see.. kekekeke....

dor
y sian? i m happy that it's not here yet. 'cos save $$ to buy pad. :p haha..
you are trying for #3?

emoments
don't worry about the weight. my gal is 3 now. her weight is abt 13kg only. i think as long as they are healthy and eating well, weight is secondary.

good morning mummies,
I am going crazy due to stress at work and lack of sleep.
My bm supply drop drastically, one day only yield about 400 ml + 2 latch session.
My gal is having ~ 180 ml x 4 per day + 2 latch session. Everyday short of 320 ml.
Now drawing from my frozen supply. Very soon i will have more space in my freezer to put ice cream liao. haha...
Will try to take in my liquid today hopefully can increase my supply back.
It seems C is drinking a lot yet she doesn't increase in her weight. I weighted 2 days ago and she's 7.7 kg!!! she's born at 3.05 kg.
Trying to increase her solid intake in the day now. Hopefully she doesn't require so much milk anymore..

As I am in the crazy and super stressed mode and listening to some songs at the same time, I am imagining my C singing this to me:

Song: Just for you by Larry Groce

<font color="0000ff">I picked the reddest apple from the tree.
It was the finest one that I could see.
I saved it all except a bite or two. Just for you.
I carried home the groceries from the store.
I wanted to be helpful with a chore.
I put them all away except a few. Just for you.
Someday I'll be grown up too.
And if I can I'll grow up just like you.
I ate up all my lunch just like you said
But I think there was a little too much bread.
And so I left the crust when I was through just for you.
Someday I'll be grown up too.
If I can I'll grow up just like you.
Just one more thing before I go to bed.
And everything I have to say is said.
There's something special that I want to do. Here is a kiss, just for you.</font>

<font color="ff0000">HAHA.....</font>

1) Do your babies like to eat meat?
- She doesn't show any preference. She will take anything that I feed her - plain cereal, fruit, porridge, vege/meat puree...

2) Have they tried chewing meat?
- I feed chicken/pork in puree form - with vegetable, no need to chew
- for fish, think she jus swallow it.

3) What is the most popular type of meat, chicken, fish, beef, pork, lamb?
- I give fish, chicken and pork.

4) How do you cook your meats? in the porridge? as stock? or cook like casserole and puree? or just give as is?
- Chicken/pork - puree with vegetables
- fish - steam and add into porridge

5) Have u tried to give liver? How do you cook it?
- never. i am not a fan of the 'spare parts', not so keen to give. do you think it's necessary?

6) Does meat intake cause constipation?
- i don't think so. but my C has problem pooing ever since we started her on solid (except the time I feed her barley cereal).

re: siblings with close age gap
for my case, my elder son is still quite jealous of his younger sister. He will cry and protest if he sees me carrying my gal. Even when i am talking or playing with her, he will come and ka cheow us.. i guess he is feeling "insecure" thus trying to get my attention..

re: bb's weight
my gal weighed abt 8.9kg..

emoments, my 2 1/2 yr old boy also weighed abt the same as ur elder son.
was alittle concerned too but PD said is ok.
like wat sunny said, as long as they eat well, play well, we shouldn't worry too much..

genice,

Qn: What have i added/can be added into porridge?
rice, brown rice, millets, quinoa
lentils
ground flaxseed
soup stock + vegetable in it
fish

guilty to say i didn't spend too much effort in preparing porridge for her. only give her the basic thing. luckily that the soup stock my MIL prepared is very delicious, so the porridge tasted quite nice.

Wah! So many posts.... Very long never come here already. I have been very busy ever since Dec.

Valerie is already 10.6kg and chasing my No.1 weight already.

Artermis,
I will try to transfer to you by today. Sorry for the long delay.

Morning gers!!!

Re: Baby weight
G only 8.7 kg not 9 plus like i thot.. she abt 75-77 cm in height

Re: Preggie
Bx.. i dunno lah.. i saying mummies all very careful to avoid "kena" .. haha

So when is ashlynn gona have a company??

qingling.. rabbit also gd leh.. but i want a boy.. so dunno rabbit gd or not if boy but then i cant be sure i will get a boy next yr too.. Sigh. dilemma.

Re: Baby waking up
G has finally slept thru the night form 10 mnths onwards.. but these few nites.. dunno whats wrong with her.. she will wake up abt 3 plus and play!!!. She super wide awake, climb all over us and i have to make her lie down and pat her/not play with her and then she sleeps again.. anybody experience such thing??

re: solid intake

my gal does not seems to enjoy solid food. we tried feeding her porridge and after taking a few teaspoons, she will refuse to eat anymore and will throw out if we attempt to feed her further..
we stopped for a week and tried feeding her again but the same thing happen again..

any mummies hv the same problem as me and how do u handle it ?
i don't have this problem with my elder son and am at a loss now..

tute, thanks for your good advice!

qingling, i hope for a rabbit baby too! so must try to conceive next year haha

iso, my mum gave porridge quite early leh. someitmes 6pm. but around 8pm we got to give him cereal again. he is small eater but eat many times wor. cuz he cant finish one big meal in a time.
and 9+ we give last feed to zz . last night. shaun only drink 220. since he only drank 220, he woke up this morning at 7am crying for milk liao. usually he woke up happy and 8am one.
so what i gathered was, if he drinks enuff for the night, he can sleep from 9+ to 7+
s

sunny, i do drink hot drinks but still cant have let down leh. so usually morning i would not be able to empty my breast, but during lunch time pumping, i would be able to empty it. but volume becoming very pathetic liao.
if my ss during lunchtime drop till 50, i dunno wherhter i still want to continue bringing pump to office or not. my ss for lunch drops from 150 to now 100+ only.
your ss is really good!! i think my ss drops so drastically cuz shaun no longer latching. so i think latching very important lor.
ya i know bu she de, but since you got good ss then pls continue! erm, you mean your health deteriorating cuz of bf? cuz all the necessary nutrients are channeled to the bm ma. so you got to make sure you eat extra nutrition to make up for it.

for FM, i gave him similac before, now i gave him organic FM.

huh, got terrible 2 and horrible 3??!!

sunny you close shop already?

Xiaoyun, wah carrie drink so many times wor?!! shaun only drink 3 times per day. sometimes 4 times only. dont be so stressed ok!!
xy, you mentioned carrie got problem pooing, i guess might be too heaty? cuz brown rice is heaty ma. try to give more fruits and water?
we make sure shaun eats at least 1 to 2 types of fruits and lots of water everyday.So he poos everyday, sometimes 1 time, sometimes 2 times. at certain days he poos 3 times! this is when he had prunes or papaya la

happy: is the porridge too watery or too thick? maybe try to adjust the consistency? or intro other types of ingredients? put soup stock?

tong,
i think the texture of the porridge is juz nice, nt too thick nor watery..
ok, maybe i will try to give her different ingredients each time to see what she likes or dislikes.
i have told my mum to try to feed her again today..

genice,
oh i see. interpreted wrongly. i dunno when will have no. 2 leh... like no time to "try". sigh... every night oso tired.

teaching mummies
last time we were talking about relief teaching.. is it the same process for JC?

tongtong
hmm maybe i should try giving him a bit more too.

bkk
signing: when, what time! and are our bbs too old?? i'm keen!

bkk/tongtong
do you guys give breakfast also? now i only give him 2 meals of solids, lunch and dinner.. cos he doesn't like to drink much milk so i try to give milk in between. now think already barely 500mls a day..

XY
so cute, got so many nursery rhymes i think i haven't even really listened to this song until u mentioned.haha..

Happy 1st BD 2 Gervaise!

Cayenne turned 1 yesterday in her Lunar BD. Hee...

So happy 2 c our little ones upgrade to becoming a toddler.

re : preggy.

Me joined the 2nd time preggy club liao.

Happy
Long time no c!! How's E&amp;E?

Dd also had the same prob with solid intake before. She liked milk so so much more than solids! But the mommies here told me to persist. In the end, I found she hated porridge. So i move her to rice and soup, alphabet pasta, kway tiao soup, mee sua and beetaimak. You can try and see? Maybe E just needs a change of taste and texture.

jeannie
these few nights, K also 3.30 am chun chun eyes open wide wide. Put paci, pat her also still wide awake. only after i shove some milk down then she guai guai go and sleep. think it's a growth spurt lah. maybe u try to give gwen milk?

iso
the class is on saturday afternoons at HV (her home). i ask her if bbs are too old. HV is too far for me, that's why i not going.

Iso
Yup yup, after milk (120ml) at 7.30am, i give brekkie about 9am. Usually it's her smallest meal of the day - just some cereal, or toast or pancake, depends on what we have, she will have the same.

re:preggie
Esther, congrats!!!! when due?

sunny, hahaha.. my own concern is what the flow. imag almost 2 yrs din come mens.

re:no3
i love to. but but.... too many but.... market not good

gervaise, happy birthday!!

iso, ya i gave breakfast fruit cereal 1 hour after his milk. so he is on 2 times porridge, 2 times cereal and 3 times milk.

re : preggy

Dor, me in my 4mths liao. due in july. gg 2 close shop after #2.

like u mentioned, market no gd, nw abit scare scare. wan 2 work (xtra income) but aso considering 2 be a SAHM. nw in a dilemna...

re:gervaise's bday
thank you! thank you! for the well wishes

re:preggie
2nd tri already! wa... know the gender?

happy:
me lor, matt still hates solid now. i dunno what to do, but think will try to wait it out ba. Erlene didnt like solids all along?

dor:
wah.. gervaise is a toddler liao!
happy birthday toddler gervaise

Esther:
wah... congrats congrats! hahahah how many mths liao?

iso:
Ethan doesnt want to drink more for last feed huh? for mine, i give dinner abt 6-7 then 210milk @ abt 9.30. will wake him up for breakfast @ abt 7.

esther,
Congrats !!!
so will cayenne be having a lil bro or sis ? :p

hi bkkgal,
thanks, my kiddos are doing well nw after falling sick during CNY..
E is now learning to stand with support..
Wow, K certainly has alot of variety with food.
thks for d advice, i will try to feed E with diff types of food other then porridge..

re : preggy

tong, jass, thanks!

4mths liao.

dor, gender nt known yet. gg appt tis sat, hope can c, if not, will hv 2 wait till the detailed scan. keke...

happy,

thanks! still dunno leh. u r a mummy of 2, how do u cope wif 2 ah? me nw scare scare esp Cayenne oni 17mths when #2 arrives. &amp; i hv 2 handle both! cold feet man!

jass,
initially, erlene could finish like half a bowl of porridge. but after some time, she refused to eat after a few spoonful and will show u d puke action or really throw out if u continue to feed her..
haiz, she ate until so chiam so my mum stopped feeding her solids lor.. but we will try again and the same thing will happen..

how abt matt ? does he reject solids only nw or from the start ?

bx,

haha.. definitely it was well planned. jz did once in tat month and kena strike. hee...

me nt gettting any younger like most of u mummies here. keke...

dor,
happy happy BD to gervaise!!!!

esther,
Congrats Congrats!!!! when due ah?

food intake
my son's milk intake has really dropped drastically. He takes max 400 ml per day and that is when he is willing. Else he seem to prefer solids. But he seems to be on a "chewing strike" lately, doesn't like to chew his meats and spits them out!!! End up, i've got to puree his meats and mix into the porridge. I really wonder why though? teething, so gum feels raw????? Anyway, i find his breakfast intake is the highest. Abt 200ml FM, and aftr 2hrs, he has cereal mix wid 90 ml FM and half a fruit. In addition, he takes a slice of bread wid cream cheese. And aftr that, he needs to poo without fail.....

iso,
i jus realised our kids share the same BD. u delivered on "chu er" rite?

mummies who give kids beef,
can advise which part of the beef to buy? i am intending to give ds beef but don't knw what to buy.

re : porridge battles/rejection

so far cayenne doesnt hv tis pro, in fact she loves solid more than milk. i always hv 2 pray hard tat she can finish her milk (4oz oni)

maybe can try giving ur bbs different varieties. as in pasta, mee sua.

happy:
matt was ok initially, then started to reject milk but ok w solids. then abt 3 weeks back start to reject solids but ok w milk... weird leh. he is interested in wat i eat eg mee sua and pasta. but when i feed him a full portion, he refuse to eat liao. just hold the food in his mouth, want to play / watch tv. last time these were NO-No @ meal hours... now bo bian, just let him be. he can eat for 1-1.5 hours. used to finish up his fruit cereals really fast. now... any solids will have the same results, bland one, nicely flavoured ones, cereal, brown rice powder, porrdige... all the same. just hold in his mouth.

Dor, Sunny, me too. Lost a lot of weight too. 5 kg lesser than pre preggie weight. Thinking of going to see gynae to make sure nothing's wrong.

Genice, bkkgal, emoments, looks like review for Tampines tumble tots not so good. Still keen? I am but will probably organise next or following Sunday. This week too busy, still CNY and got friend's gathering.

RaeAnne is only 8.5kg too. She didn't triple her birthweight at 1 year old. :p

XY, try asking GP for domperidone to increase BM supply, it worked for me. Try giving more solids too. I realise RaeAnne takes too little solids and milk too. :p

esther,
juz b4 the birth of my #2, i got a helper so that she can help my mum out in taking care of my kiddos..
haha, our kids age gap r v close.. my elder son was 18 mths old when erlene was borned..
for me, the trickest part was my elder son is super sticky to me since i was 3 or 4 mths preggie with #2, always wanted to be carried and was v cranky during the whole of my pregnancy &amp; the 1st few months after i hv delivered.
He is still super duper sticky to me now.

how is cayenne reacting to u being preggie again ?

esther
wah!!! congrats!!! know boy or gal already?

happy
probably you can try other food other than porridge. vegie puree? fruit puree? cereal?

tongtong
my health is ok, just that everyone said i lost lots of weight... me now 45 kg only leh... my normal weight is about 50kg... no matter how much i eat, the weight never increases...

dor
happy b/day to gervaise. ermm... how to pronounce her name? haha...

re: #3
same as dor, want to have #3. but, i doubt i have time to gv to #3 and also $$$ is an issue...

jass,
at least matt will keep the food in his mouth, erlene will simply throw out (vomit) if we continue to feed.. den we hv to clean up the mess &amp; change her clothings..

1-1.5hr of feeding, tats pretty long sia..
really jialat when the kids dun wan to eat.

sunny,
we hv let erlene tried some puree before but she dun seems to like it too..
as for cereal, she also ate v little only..
maybe will let her try mee sua and see if she likes it..