(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: rice
my mum feeds shawn rice for dinner everyday. he prefers rice to porridge. for porridge, must not be those watery type, else he won't eat. think he prefers food with more texture. likes to chew chew.

Hi moms!

thanks for your replies. seems like babies do like meat..maybe mine is trying to be semi/pseudo vegetarian. so far, her protein intake is mainly meat from stock, tofu and now thankfully egg since I intro-ed to her recently.

Starbliss, wow frog! must ask my mom to try. hehe, this type of adventurous food, the older gen is better at cooking it. hehe.

my answers:

1) Do your babies like to eat meat?
nope.

2) Have they tried chewing meat?
no. will spit out.

3) What is the most popular type of meat, chicken, fish, beef, pork, lamb?
fish, steamed fish. hates pork (is she jewish/muslim??? always makes me wonder. my mil love to give pork but she simply hates pork!!) have not tried lamb.

4) How do you cook your meats? in the porridge? as stock? or cook like casserole and puree? or just give as is?
chicken stock. pork stock (again pork stock dun like) or beef in pasta - this one she can eat and swallow but not chew.

5) Have u tried to give liver? How do you cook it?
have given her liver soup - boil liver and take the water to cook porridge/mee sua. so far ok, she can take the taste. dun dare to give liver meat yet cos she so anti-red meat. i think girls need to learn to eat liver (i myself dunno how to eat liver, so i feel very tired whenever period comes)

6) Does meat intake cause constipation?
i think it does leh...find that her poo irregular with meat intake..maybe system still immature, cannot take the protein.

Rice
My porridge battles are over at last! ever since I discovered that she prefer rice over porridge. She will have soup (without seasoning) and rice for dinner. I think some babies just go straight to rice, skipping porridge.

One more question, or rather one more practice. Mil told me yesterday that she want to give K a chicken bong to lick (??). I was like "huh?" she dun even like to eat meat, why must lick leh??

Is this some kind of chinese/canto family custom that I don't know about? what is the significance of licking a chicken drumstick???

*ignoramus mommy*

bkk
i heard rice is more difficult for them to digest...

frog leg
i use it for his soup stock everyday... half a frog everyday.. my grandma say will hv strong leg after tat.. well duno hw true it is but i started giving him frog leg since 8 mth when he started porridge...

bkkgal, mine oso hated meat initially. he ate mainly fish. dun stop trying.

mayb u can try puree the meat with porridge. for beef, i puree with carrot, tomato, a little cheese & dash of rosemary.

for frog, just steam with a little minced/pureed ginger & a dash of sesame oil.

bkkgal, my ger also refuse minced pork at first but because it was too coarse, have to get the mkt to grind/mince 3 times using the machine.. if i buy from ntuc still have to chop them till very mince..

stephie:
wow shawn can eat rice? tats gd. its not too dry for him? lol... mine oso hates watery porridge. maybe can try him out soon.

jeannie:
can try to mix the meat w corn flour to 'soften' the meat.

bkkgal:
wow... ur battles are over! maybe i should try that on matt too.

abcdisney:
ya... your boy can stand and walk v soon. wah.. my side here nv sell leh. anyidea where can i get frogs? btw, all the parts are edible wan huh.. hehhe nv handle frog before.

jass
i buy from sheng siong. i jus use the frog to boil the soup. Then take the frog out after boiling n use hand to tear the meat to very small for him. The bones cannot be eaten. Usu not a lot of meat. Smtimes i gv the meat fro jie jie to eat..

jass
usually my mum will with rice with soup. but i do give him plain rice. and he will happily 'chew' it. think babies chew with their gums :p

re. Kriston Food & Beverage
anyone tried their food before? any comments?

re. Desitin
anyone wants? i still got 3 tubes to let go, each at $10

hi hi...

long time nvr come here and realise all the babies are very smart now....can do signs, eat rice etc...

C is still on porridge but thick porridge not watery type. for meat we give pork or chick coz ppl in my house don't really like fish... he prefers pork though... and we will use hand blender to minced the meat and vegie... wonder if they can chew when they don't have molar teeth yet? We cook meat + vegie in soup based and mixed with porridge which my mom cooks separately and keep for 2-3 days worth of meal. We started putting a bit of seasoning (very light) since C is 10 mth old and I realise that's when C started eating well...

I concluded that C doesn't like milk and likes solid more, he nvr rejects any solids we feed him (so far) and eats quite a lot but still won't get to triple his birthweight by the time he's 1 yr old... :p Started C on multivitamins too, hopefully this will boost his appetite.

As for development, C can point to things now and understand "lights" (most fave thing is to point to lights), when we say lights he will point up to the ceiling :p

re:rice over porridge,
some babies do prefer rice like my niece who started eating rice when she was 10 months old but the rice is mushy2 type so not that dry. we haven't try giving rice to C coz he's still happily eating his porridge...

Re: frog

Sorry.. but the idea that i need to handle a frog.. sends shivers down my spine.. EEEE.... do i need to peel off the skin?? Erm.. its quite yucky. Sorry for being ignorant, the frog doesnt come as a whole right??

I am a meat lover but i still cnat bring myself to handle meat carcass with a full body ( head included)..

eliaw, yar.. we talking abt tumbe tots..

tute.. what multivitamins did u give C? At least C still like solids... i think it is fine that that he doesnt take much milk as long as nutrients are also coming in from other sources.

Re: Mushroom in porridge

can we add shitake mushrooms into porridge? I added last weekend when i cooked porrideg.. smells quite gd leh.. haha..

Is there anything we still need to avoid now.. super sian.. my poriddege always the same combination..

Mummies.. help to ans this qn k..

<font color="0000ff">Qn: What have i added/can be added into porridge?

Ans: So far, I have added only brocoli, cauliflower, green peas, spinach, carrot, sweet potato, potato, fish, minced pork, mushrooms,egg yolk. Any other things that i can try?? Frog's leg, liver?</font>

qingling, i haven weigh her for a long time.. will update tonigh.. but i think she should be close to 9kg.. i hope. She was borned 2.99 kg.. think should be able to triple birth wt.

G got a big tummy now..hehe.. all her FOX t-shirts from 6-12 months are super tight.. i have to retire them already.

bkkgal, to ans your questions:
) Do your babies like to eat meat?
- Mine is okie, I give some meat at almost every meal.

- er... a little, but more recreationally than to as a meal.

- For us it a good mix of beef, fish, pork, chicken.

4) How do you cook your meats? in the porridge? as stock? or cook like casserole and puree? or just give as is?
In porridge, in stock, and I always puree meat except if its fish cooked till v soft in porr.

Nope.

I dont think so since usually fiberous food does that? Unless you count iron in beef, but I doubt our babies eat quantities of beef big enough to cause that.

tong tong, my bb eats 'rice' whenever we have rice for dinner, but his 'rice' is blended into a puree (tog with other ingred of cos), so I guess its like porridge?! lol. I do give rice as it is just rarely more than a spoonful.

genice, I add enoki mushrooms to bb's food once in a while, ard 1/3 of a bunch (those small pre-packed packs).

To ans yr question:
Qn: What have i added/can be added into porridge?
- er... actually I've never really restricted much except for the usual salty/sugary/high allergy stuff. So actually he eats whatever WE eat for dinner except that I'll take his portion out before I season it to our own taste. I'll just puree it with my handheld blender till mash. So far its usual stuff like pasta, stews, chinese stir-frys dishes and steamed fish. Then for lunch or if I am not cooking our dinner, I'll whip up 'instant' stuff for bb, pre-cooked stock(frozen) + a veggie/legume + oats/rice, simmer till rice/oats cooked and just puree everything = 15min work.

Jeannie
no the frog has been peeled and head chopped off. The rest remains intact... u jus need to wash it clean and cook.

Andrae is 8.5kg.. very light!

qingling:
wah... so fast baby H is so heavy liao. i think mine is still 8+.. how to triple his birth weight in another 2 weeks?

jeannie:
i dun think i can manage a frog too. but think the seller can process and like erm.. peel of the skin for u wan rite.. ( i presume is like how we buy fish fr supermkt, the person will process it for us). heng i only have to show my maid how to do once and pray she can diy next time. will go sheng siong to check out this weekend. er... but looking @ the live frog there i'll feel quite er.

Ans: i added xiao bai cai, chinese spinach, spinach, brocoli, cauliflower, peas, sweet potato, potato, carrot, yam, sweet corn, pumpkin, butternut squash, french beans, fresh / dried scallop, celery, ikan bilis powder, tofu, lentils, flaxseed powder, tomato, brown / white button mushroom, egg, capsicum, pork, chicken, salmon, threadfin, cod, beef.

frankly i'm bored trying to mix and match these... lol. now i'm trying to intro seasoning, herbs and spices to entice Matt to eat.

recently i bought a baby and toddler cookbook. It shows some tonic supplement for baby and toddler and the reason for eating them.

For one simple one like using red bean, china pearl barley and brown rice, can be used for cough... and lungs

U may wish to get from popular book shop. I got it from the branch at lot 1. Both english and chinese version...

re: weight
Ashlynn is still as "slender" as before. only 8.5kg! recently looks skinny as she is rejecting her milk. dunno why she refuses to drink. anyone with the same problem?

bx:
me... except mine now ok w milk but reject solids.

joeey:
erm.. i read somewhere that can give after dunno how many months leh. but has to be cooked and fresh ones.

re: growth spurt

think shaun might be in growth spurt now. he will drink 160ml bm and 140ml FM in one go! that's his last feed before zz. but morning he drinks 200ml+ and afternoon 240ml.

i can still remember last time he couldnt even finish 150ml in every feed!

jeannie,
i ask from my pd and he gave pharmatton kiddi, i give 5ml every morning.

abc/bx,
C's weight is also around there... last i weigh him is roughly 8.7kg though, up 300gr from before CNY... this is because ever since he took the multivit, he's been drinking milk at least 500ml a day plus he takes quite a lot of solids... hopefully it's not just a phase... :p

almost every vegie that we eat, pork, chick and beef but now mostly pork and chicken. want to try fish but since we don't eat a lot of fish still stalling :p

starbliss
wah! sounds yummy man! what else u put inside?

tute
what kind of multivits is it? i also thinking of giving, will ask PD at the 1 year evaluation

sleep
any mummies got ideas on how i can get my bb to sleep thru the night?? he still wants to drink milk at least once.. don't think i can increase day time intake already since he's always been the type to not take much milk. actually before i started work in oct he was sleeping thru pretty ok, but then started to wake more frequently. zzzzz

bkkgal
heres my contribution:
1) Do your babies like to eat meat?
- Everyday we feed her with ngoh hee or salmon fish. Fish considered meat right? =P

- I think got chew abit when eating her porridge.

- I give fish, at times chicken.

I cook them inside porridge

Haven try b4.

If the meat is not cut into small cubes, if they dont well, it might cause constipation?

tong tong
I do give Hillary some rice when she sees us eating our dinner and wanna "join" in.

re. weight
Hillary was 9.77kg when we brought her to the PD early this month. Guess she must be around 10kg now. Carrying her is like carrying a sack of rice~!

re. milk
She used to be able to drink 210ml each feed but recently after our return back to SG, her milk intake can drop to 120ml.. now max is 180ml

iso,
umm...doc gave me the syrup version of kiddi. dosage in the bottle says from 1-5 give 7.5ml so i guess that's why for C we are only giving 5ml. btw, must we bring baby for evaluation at 1 yr old? any other vaccination that we need to give... hmmm, time to do my homework :p

re:sleep,
can you try increasing his solid intake for dinner instead?

iso: got 1 year evaluation meh?

iso: I realised shaun started to sleep thru when he drinks a lot for his last feed. he started to sleep thru about 11mth plus. yesterday he only managed to finish 150ml at 9 pm ( his usual is near to 300ml) so he woke up and cry for milk at 5am+.

weight: i think H is also tall despite her weight, she's around 77cm now.

Feb mummies - besides those who r already pregnant, anyone trying?

any bfg mum on 100% express?

i am since last month cuz shaun weaned off liao. and sadly the volume is decreasing day to day. i wonder whether i should resume drinking papaya soup to incresae supply.

cuz i think if i continue in such way i will not have anymore bm a mth later.. even i'm pumping 3 times a day now.

but i just felt dishearten to stop.

tongtong,
i was fully on 100% express since C was 7 mth old... and had to pump 4 times to maintain supply, then slowly change to 3 times and by then have to supplement with FM. Now pumping 2x a day and very pathetic supply, sometimes not even enough for 1 feed.... think as long as you maintain pumping frequency and continue emptying your breast, volume should not decrease a lot ? for me, my problem now i tend to pump for only 15 min...so nvr really empty breast...

abc,
i find andrae looks bigger than ashlynn...

tong,
her solids intake is the same. she doen't seem to enjoy it more. could it be teething?

re: preggie
besides crystal, anyone strike again? hee...

tute:

i cant really empty cuz eventhough i squeezed really hard. so so it's lumpy all the time. i do not know why i just couldnt have the let down reflex when i pump. so ended up having lots of blocked ducts. sigh.

shaun drinking 3 times daily and i think my daily supply can only satisfy him 1.5 feed only. i duno whehter to continue torturing my b* cuz squeezed till out of shape liao :p now i think max per day left 400ml+ only.

Re: preggie
All feb mummies seems to be very careful.. haha

qingling when are you trying?? i think will only try at the end of the yr.. cause i wnat august baby..:p

ling.. sorry.. forgot to reply u abt swimming.. i dun think i can join u at least for now cannot cause i away mah.. anway how is swimming for andrae?? What does he learn.. i am super curious..

genice
aiyah r u gg back service? if u r then shld be july mah... then ML july, aug, sep, oct.... hahaha....

Preggie 2nd time
as a second time mom, i advise an age gap of 3. If age gap is 2-2.5 u hv to juggle with #1 terrible twos stage while dealing with newborn... if too big gap eg 4 and beyond, might have generation gap... thus 3-3.5 is a gd age gap i feel... jus my opinion.

tong,

IMHO...don't stress yourself over this... the reason why i reduce my pumping frequency coz i couldn't take time off from work and my mom said that C can still drink FM... so i finally gave in, that was when C hits 8.5mths... plus gotta remember FM must intro slowly, and Shaun may have preference? But i think decision is up to you... remember happy mummy = happy baby ?

tute, tongtong
er.. i thought got 12 month evaluation, i will call PD tomm and check :p
what time do you usu give dinner? E usu has dinner about 6pm, then usually will also have some milk about 9pm before sleeping, but can be 100-150. but somehow he can only "tong" until abt 4, 5 am...