(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

berry,
you get my vote for super mummy of the year =)

kitsune,
arielle also gets to roam freely in my house, it's not 100% childproof so still requires adult supervision at all times. if we need to do something, i will put her in the high chair and wheel it close to where i am (eg. kitchen) and talk to her as i am busy with my chores. alternatively i will put her in her play pen where she will either play by herself or stand and look at me. sometimes she will wail =P

bkk,
nice site! the pics are gorgeous

talking about cameras, prices for DSLRs are set to go up soon due to rising yen. so for mummies who are still considering to buy may want to act fast!

my hb wants to upgrade his camera liao...

sale- since the economy is supposed to hit rock-bottom this year, I guess this means more sales everywhere? I am still waiting for mega post-CNY sales, need to replenish lots!

garfield, Kelly gets MY vote hehe.

berry
side carrying is an idea! my hubby likes to cook and carry bb but i also feel like it's a bit dangerous and a bit hot. although he does enjoy it - he usually has a spatula that he holds on to, and sometimes will try and stab it at the pot!!
but our pikkolo can do side carry so i should ask him to do that instead.

gar
arielle can just sit there on the high chair? no complaints? i think E is too itchy backside, he just wants to be crawling, standing, sitting all the time, so easier to let him have some free reign.

berry,
you are so modest lah =)

re carrying baby, errm i think i need to go to the gym to build up some arm and shoulder muscles. can't carry her more than a few minutes hehe

iso,
no la, she won't sit still and does complain. usually tries to wriggle out of her seat belt and stand in her high chair. but i try to entertain her by acting clownish or giving her a favourite book to flip. usually need to keep changing the toys in front of her.

Pls vote for little Jazzel

http://www.huggies.com.sg/photo_contest/gallery.aspx?id=9781

garfield
re price of DSLR, that's what the sale person told me too. price will increase due to appreciating Yen. my hubby was sceptical though, he said of cos they will say so to make us buy. for me, i think makes sense if camera is made in japan.

your hubby upgrading so soon ah. must have learnt lots of tricks that the current DSLR is not sufficient for him liao. which model?

jeannie
did you attend the training by Canon. valid 4 mths from date of purchase. shd be able to learn some tips during the training.

stephie.. only valid for 4 months??? oops.. haven attend better sign up soon..bought the camera in nov.. u went already?? useful?

jeannie
yup, 4 mths only. haven't gone cos no time. i went for the compact digicam training few years back. not bad. did learn something new. just that after a while, without practice, i forget liao.

gong xi fa cai! how's everyone's cny?

we was back to SG on Wednesday and it was a 'memorable' one because shaun shit on the journey while we were trapped in the jam! LOL
so smelly lor inside the car haha. luckily i took second link, the jam not as terrible. but shaun is still stuck with the shit for >1 hour. after cleared custom we quickly went to a shpping mall to wash his butt. LOL

stephie,
my friend has lobang in the camera industry, he says the price increase is for real.

thinking only lah....most likely won't upgrade. we will probably use the money to do up baby's room instead. hb was looking at the D700. tooooo ex!!

bbkgal,
if you want to take train to KL with BB, you got to take first class, private cabin with bed. If not, i guess it will not be comfortable with bb. the journey (night) is about 8 hours. So it wouldnt be easy la. But if you were to go without bb, then i guess the normal seats with bed should be fine.

garfield
i see. so potential price increase is real. anyway, i've already bought mine. how much is a D700? $2-3k?

bkkgal
i've travelled in 'economy class' train before. but that was like more than 10 years ago. dunno if the trains have been upgraded. the condition is quite ok (imo) - both day and nite journey. of course if travel first class, lagi better.

My baby loves to point to things she wants near her. Someimes she will do the beckoning motion with her wrist to signal the object or person to be brought closer to her. This pic is used for her birthday party invite. My caption was " I am turning 1" hehe
2117036.jpg

thanks everyone for your tips. Gar, u reminded me, maybe i can put her in high chair in kitchen too. Berry, ya raeanne always climbing up n down, mil keep complaining these days. Hehe. My only problem about letting her roam all over is that my floor is not v clean unless i got time to mop everyday after becoming a sahm. :p

oh ya, gar, did u check about the hair removal package? Can transfer?

dorothy
gervaise's bday party is 31 Jan right? u collected the cake in advance or glad send the picture to you first? what's the weight of the cake?

hi stephie/tongtong,

thanks re: train. no lah, not bringing baby on train. just asking for a friend who's planning to travel there by train. i personally think bus is still the best.

tongtong,
we were driving north-south and K started crying until very cham like constipated, want to poo like that. so we had to speed ahead until we got to a rest stop. i get out of car and put her on the seat and encourage her to poo but nothing came out!! i think she really wanna poo but no potty, cannot come out. the rest stop got no changing table so i just change her in the car loh.

cake
damn stress now. still no idea what and where to get a cake. shucks.

nice cake btw dor. how's the taste? moist inside? i was told fondant cake can display outside very long no prob. my main consideration to get fondant - no fridge space! but i'm worried inside the cake not moist.

B'dae Bash List
Venue: JWT @ UE Square (Deluxe Party $710 less 5% for 20 kids)
- all kids get 1 free trial coupon
Date: 22 Feb 09 Sunday
Time: 10am ~ 12pm
Theme: Jungle Safari
Catering: Ecreative $230.00 (30 pax)
Cake: Ecreative 2.5kg $100.00
http://www.ecreative.com.sg/cakes_details.asp?PSID=1059
* Pls note that there are NO gift exchanges and NO party favours.

Additional Adults/Kids: Whoever wishes to add additional pax is welcomed to do so. However, the adult area is quite small, and might be quite crammed.
Total Adults: 49, Kids: 27
Mira, u can still join us. Maximum capacity will be 30.
For those who are bringing kids below 12, and if u do not want to participate in the activities, there will be no charges.

BX 2+1 $46.00
Vine_gal 2+1 $46.00
Apple79 2+1 $46.00
Leila 2+1 $46.00
Qingling 2+1 $46.00
Tubao 2+1 $46.00
Bkkgal 2+1 $46.00
Nicole 2+1 $46.00
Jeannie 2+1 $46.00
Kitsune 2+1 $46.00
Happymum 2+1 $46.00
Stephie 2+1 $46.00
Artemis 3+1 $54.00
Xiaoyun 2+1 $46.00
Eliaw 4+2 $92.00
Sunny 2+2
Garfield 2+1
Kelly 2+2
Berry 6+2
Dorothy 2+2
abcdisney 2+2
Payment by February 7th latest, as I will be going down to collect the invites and mailing them out. So mummies, pls pay up!

POSB Savings 046-24211-4

B'dae Bash List
Venue: JWT @ UE Square (Deluxe Party $710 less 5% for 20 kids, additional kid @14.50)
- all kids get 1 free trial coupon
Date: 22 Feb 09 Sunday
Time: 10am ~ 12pm
Theme: Jungle Safari
Catering: Ecreative $230.00 (40 pax)
Cake: Ecreative 2.5kg $100.00
http://www.ecreative.com.sg/cakes_details.asp?PSID=1059
* Pls note that there are NO gift exchanges and NO party favours.

Additional Adults/Kids: Whoever wishes to add additional pax is welcomed to do so. However, the adult area is quite small, and might be quite crammed.
Total Adults: 49, Kids: 27
Mira, u can still join us. Maximum capacity based on kids will be 30.
For those who are bringing kids below 12, and if u do not want to participate in the activities, there will be no charges.

BX 2+1 $46.00
Vine_gal 2+1 $46.00
Apple79 2+1 $46.00
Leila 2+1 $46.00
Qingling 2+1 $46.00
Tubao 2+1 $46.00
Bkkgal 2+1 $46.00
Nicole 2+1 $46.00
Jeannie 2+1 $46.00
Kitsune 2+1 $46.00
Happymum 2+1 $46.00
Stephie 2+1 $46.00
Artemis 3+1 $54.00
Xiaoyun 2+1 $46.00
Eliaw 4+2 $92.00
Sunny 2+2
Garfield 2+1
Kelly 2+2
Berry 6+2
Dorothy 2+2
abcdisney 2+2
Payment by February 7th latest, as I will be going down to collect the invites and mailing them out. So mummies, pls pay up! pls also remember to give me yr contact details, baby's names too.
POSB Savings 046-24211-4

on the day itself, i will prepare an attendance sheet, so at the end of the day, i'll calculate n if there are any changes to the attendance, i will refund accordingly. currently, it's $6.73 for adults and $28.40 for kids. however, it's still subjected to meet the minimum target.

nicole, jeannie, kitsune, stephie and xy, i don't have yr contact n address. pls pm or email me. thanks..

ok, now for my updates:

i've been super busy the past week.. i went to Bali for a short trip! just came back yesterday and today busy visiting..

Bali was good.. we booked a villa and there was a pool in the middle.. so 1st day when we were there, C had so much fun in the pool! then we went for dinner.. it started to pour and it flooded! C refused to sleep cos he knows he's out, and we ended up back in the villa at 11pm, past his bedtime.. once he reached the bed, he KO almost immediately!
next morning when we woke up, C started to have a runny nose and cough! OMG, sianz already because his daddy refuse to allow him to swim, or go to the beach.. C kept pointing to the pool and screams when he doesn't get to it. so in the end, we just let him dip his feet in and kick water.. he was happy as well..
but anyway, i didn't really care and still went to the beach even though my hubby was really super grumpy.. but it was really fun! laughing and walking on the sand, and playing with the waves!
really enjoyed this trip much betta than the other time when we went when C was 7 months.. so much to do and play now!

xy, here's my contribution to yr questions:

Q1) Does your toddler point at objects? (Between the ages of 9 and 12 months, most children start pointing at things that catch their attention such as dogs, and toys. It's a non-verbal way of trying to communicate with you and an important step in language development.)
A1) Yes, whenever he wants anything or spots anyhting, he will point and say 'there'

Q2) What does your toddler say? (At this age your toddler can join syllables together and is jabbering wordlike sounds. He can say "mama" and "dada," and maybe a couple of other words as well. Let the doctor know what your toddler understands. By now he should know and respond to his own name and other familiar words and show an interest in others' conversations; if he's not making any sounds or is making fewer than he was before, tell the doctor.)
A2) responds well. can call 'ma' and 'pa'. he tries to pronounce the last syllable of words that we use, eg. water, he will say 'ter'.

Q3) How are your toddler's social skills developing? (Most 1-year-olds enjoy playing games with others, including peekaboo and patty-cake. Your child will imitate everyday actions such as sweeping the floor or brushing his hair and will be exuberant and curious most of the time. He'll probably seek out interaction with familiar people, but will be anxious when separated from you or around strangers.)
A3) loves peek-a-boo and plays with anyone including strangers who will play with him.. plays peek-a-boo with himself in front of the mirror as well.. he will also imitate coughing sounds..

Q4) How are your toddler's fine motor skills developing? (Twelve-month-olds like to point at things and can use both hands together when they play with things. If your toddler isn't using both hands equally, tell the doctor.)
A4) so far not bad.. can do quite a lot of things already.. he picked up quite a few baby sign language and knows how to use them too.

btw, i saw the topic on the type of shoes to buy.. for a start, shooshoes are really the best shoes i feel.. it's a soft leather sole, which allows bb to walk easily like they are walking on their own feet.. those shoes with thicker soles are for advance walkers.. they will have difficulty walking in them when they just start walking.. crocs is tough too..

re:cake
iso/andrea/stephie/eliaw, thanks.
i paid $120. hmm.. dun know how heavy but managed to feed all my guests.
stephie, ya... my celebration is today....
so glad that party was over.

re:birthday bash
eliaw, sorry. din realised i have transfer. will update once done..

re:bali
sounds fun!!!!

Hi mummies, happy niu year !

My son is exactly one year old today and still very much a baby. He can't walk or babble words yet and hasn't tripled his birthweight. He's supposed to be 9.9kg but last week, he weighs only 9.6kg. I see most february babies here have upgraded to toddler stage - can take few steps, can babble words, and even use sign language ! wow !!

I know doctors would say there's no cause for concern but I think I still am.

I'm thinking of switching from Enfapro to GainIQ (instead of Enfagrow). The consultant from Abbot told me there's AA in GainIQ but not in Enfagrow.
I believe there's more fat contents in GainIQ as well... Still considering ...

Sending my son for pneumococal jab next friday at Kinderclinic. Wondering if I should let him take the HepA jab at 14th month. He has to take the compulsory MMR jab at 15th month though ...

Just worried that the more jabs he takes, the higher tendency for him to fall ill and the more difficult it is for him to gain weight ...

The consultant from Abbot did mention Gain iq uses vegetable oil whereas enfagrow uses another type of oil, no longer plant oil, can't remember what it is...

eliaw
sorry i cannot make it for the birthday bash as i had something on. Only found out last night that that sunday mornign is occupied. Too bad it is not in the afternoon. Very sorry.

dor
where do u get the cake from?

joeey - is it advisable to switch to another brand of formula just like that? my H is currently on enfapro A+ too..

Qingling,
you may want to mix the existing formula with the new one so that H gets used to the taste first. I tried unsuccessfully to switch K few times but in the end, still had to stick to Similac. Even tho I mix very little of new formula with old, she can somehow detect the difference and refuse.

eliaw
i rem v early on you said that C can already say his name, wow! i think he's definitely the earliest in speaking

what signs can he do? i had good intentions of teaching him early on but got lazy cos E never seemed to pay attention. hee. think i should at least put more effort into "milk" and "water"..
bali sounds so nice!!! my poor C is only going to bintan this weekend, his second trip overseas after desaru, so pathetic

Q1) Does your toddler point at objects? (Between the ages of 9 and 12 months, most children start pointing at things that catch their attention such as dogs, and toys. It's a non-verbal way of trying to communicate with you and an important step in language development.)
A1) Danica directly reaches out for the item with her hands, even if she is in danger of toppling over or out of our arms.

Q2) What does your toddler say? (At this age your toddler can join syllables together and is jabbering wordlike sounds. He can say "mama" and "dada," and maybe a couple of other words as well. Let the doctor know what your toddler understands. By now he should know and respond to his own name and other familiar words and show an interest in others' conversations; if he's not making any sounds or is making fewer than he was before, tell the doctor.)
A2) Danica still baby talks. Phrases like "ma ma, ba ba, ne ne, mum mum) When she is angry, she makes ter ter noises. :p HB said she short tempered like me.

Q3) How are your toddler's social skills developing? (Most 1-year-olds enjoy playing games with others, including peekaboo and patty-cake. Your child will imitate everyday actions such as sweeping the floor or brushing his hair and will be exuberant and curious most of the time. He'll probably seek out interaction with familiar people, but will be anxious when separated from you or around strangers.)
A3) Danica enjoys playing peek-a-boo and catch me games (she crawls away while we catch and tickle her). When she is in a bad mood or feeling anxious, she cannot be away from us. Otherwise, she can be occupied with touch and feel books or her teddy, Elmo or ducky blanket.

Q4) How are your toddler's fine motor skills developing? (Twelve-month-olds like to point at things and can use both hands together when they play with things. If your toddler isn't using both hands equally, tell the doctor.)
A4) Danica can hold things with both hands and feed herself teddy puffs from a suction bowl. When she feels like it, she can wave bye bye, gong xi gong xi, give you a kiss on the cheek, high five. I tried signing to her but so far she hasn't signed back.