(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Eliaw, I've been considering to do that too. But pay really low leh, even with the recent announcement of increment by NTUC childcare centres. Even with degree, pay is $2k and that's for a full day's work. I worked for 10 years liao, so will be a big pay cut. So I think and think, be relief teacher in primary school better. But I have a keen interest in early childhood development too, keen to know how their little minds work and apply to my gal. Take a break first then see how lar.

apple
actually we just use a normal backpack. think don't need to get a diaper backpack bah. we just place the diaper into a separate pouch. so far so good, no problem with looking for things.

berry
must be so fun for #1 to see her little brother "growing" up! what's the age gap? did you mention before that it's abt 3 years?

talking to bbs
i also read from Dr. Sears that (when they're older), you could give them alternatives, like "don't run inside the house, BUT you can run outside in the playground". otherwise everytime no no no, if it's me, i'll sure be sian also

eliaw
wow, congrats! it's a big change but a great decision! can i ask where you're doing the cert? i half-joked with hubby before that i should do the same, so can be with bb and the bbs to come
hope you'll share some interesting tips with us as you come across them

JWT
mummies!! ABN Amro credit cards is having an offer! I just saw it last night:
- 50% discount on Trial Class
- Receive a waiver on Family Membership fee upon sign up for classes (how much is that anyway??)
- $20 discount on deluxe bithday party.

Valid till 31 Dec!

Stephie,
yah i think so. Think diaper backpack would be quite ex. But I want to look for one big enuff to put all the things with comfortable straps to carry and yet look nice ahha (vain again).

Childcare teacher : actually I thought of that before as well (can put my girl in the same childcare while i work) but I can't take the pay cut.

Thinking of going polytechnic to teach (my fren 's fren who is a lecturer in polytechnic only teach 3 times a week) but I think not I am not qualified enuff.......

So I am still stuck in this job. Sometimes, the longer u stay, the harder it is to leave.

eliaw,
how exciting! your SIL is really very good with kids =)

can share your details of your diploma with me? i don't mind studying for self improvement (i don't have the aptitude to be a child care teacher...don't even have patience for my own kid hehe)

can sms me if you don't post often

re teaching style,

my approach is quite rojak cos i try to be positive most of the times, but also launch into the negative once in a while....especially when am too far away from bb to stop her from chucking something dangerous into her mouth. i will yell "NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO...." and then rush to her lor. no time to think about how to be positive in such circumstances.

i personally also explain to her why i say no. it's more to inculcate the habit of explaining why certain things are out of bounds.

just for the sake of discussion - you know how we encourage baby's sense of adventure etc right? at the same time when they are slightly older society demands situations where they are "blind followers" - eg. fire safety drill, in CCAs such as NCC or scouts, in the army. so how do we balance these conflicting objectives and teach them to be able to differentiate circumstances when they actually should not be asking "why" or "why not"?

imagine war in iraq, all the soldiers ask "why" when the army general says "charge"...die la =P

apple,
maybe can get a lesport sac backpack... quite spacious and yet look nice. Only downside is that ur hb prob won't want to carry it :p

kitsune,
thanks...he actually got better much faster than i expected ! he woke up after 3 hours nap after taking medication and he was already laughing and joking with us (though that made us loose a bit more sleep) and this morning he seems a lot better with no fever... so just gonna monitor him now.

gar,
i thought it's in a child's nature to be curious? there'll be a point in time when they will ask why all the time... for me it's the opposite, i tend to find asians follow blindly most of the time and do not question why certain things are being done in a particular way... so i hope that when my son grow up he will have a more curious nature but with common sense still

garfield, hmmmm, you brought up an interesting thought. I cant say much about kids beyond age 5 cause my DD is only 4.5 now. But what I see is that giving alot of info when the time/situation permits (which is at least 95% of the time?) does not mean that the child is unable to follow impt instructions when the time calls for it. In fact, you'll be raising a child who is doing the right things for the rit reason, and not out of blind obedience. Like even in a fire drill, the teachers will explain in detail the reason for carrying it out. I feel that the child would have to grow up in a rather extreme environment to question authority when fighting a war haha!

berry,
true true

iso,
never seen before...but OMG this mommy is so creative with food! thanks for sharing! making me feel a little inspired =)

*wave* how's everyone doing?
long time didn't come to this thread liao.

re: teaching style
basically, i have no style at all. i normally learn from the book and try to practise it. but, if the styles don't work on my kids, i will just adjust the methods accordingly loh. 'cos every kid is different. but the rule of thumb is that they need to be well behaved and do things morally right e.g. say thank you, excuse me, sorry when necessary. still trying hard to enforce this but my gal seems to be a stubborn one, seldom say sorry though it's her fault. haha...

Iso, I've been following her blog for some time now, she is a super-duper xian2 qi1 liang2 mu3 sahm haha! If you see her other personal blog (she does provide the link in that wokkingmum blog), you'll see that she even sews her own bags and makes handmade presents to give to her friends! And if I am not wrong (I dont know her personally, only read her blog), she is a sahm to two kids w/o a maid! And the dishes she prepares are not simply throw-together type, mostly quite troublesome (to me!) and all v beautifully presented. I love following her blog just to see what she made for her family hehe.

But hor, I do think that she prob just really have the talent and is prob a naturally v efficient person? Cause I am naturally pretty disorganised, so will never be able to findtime to do so much, but I think some sahms can really do alot apart from caring for their kids. Naturally talented ones. :p

hello mummies,I haven't been logging in lately..was reading up on the archives. JWT I am keen too,but which outlet? birthday bash-I think its good idea to hold it in JWT,sounds fun. I finally more or less settle the birthday party,just now to finalize the caterer. Any recommendation?

if u all r keen on a party at JWT, i can arrange n c if i can bargain a 5% disc fr them. e party venue'll hv 2 b at UE Square. e gym trainers there r excellent

stella juz had her bday party at JWT n she enjoyed some moments when she sat on e swing n coming down some slides.

when is e date of e party huh?

btw, gotta settle our own catering. IMO, tis kinda party'll b more than having a party at a function hall. cos u'll b amazed tat ur kids'll enjoy cos the gym trainers r experienced 2 organise activities suitable for 1yrs old

berry, iso
i'm now inspired by tis wokking mum 2 prepare bento boxes 4 my boys. gabe has been refusing e food in school n has been asking 4 sandwiches or other food. i betta prepare something nutritious 4 him

Hi gers.. i want to take join in the JWT too.. !! Haven gone for the trial yet so can take this chance to go too!

RE:Birthday Cake
Can i just check with u all what is the budget that u are willing to spend for the 1st yr birthday cake. I'm sure some mummies have done some research and some very nice fondant cakes from aimummy and gals.. n others.. can cost abt 120-180 for 1.5 kg cake. i think a bit ex. but of coz.. u get realy nice designs.. how much are u all spending on the cakes?

BD bash- We would like to join in for sure. As for location, I am for JWT cause its def a fun place for the bb to play/roam very safely. Out of the gym parties I've attended at a handful of bb gyms(my gym, gogo, gymboree, fidgets etc), I like JWT's facilities/prog.

As for the cake, I think some parents who wanna join in may have budget constraints, so maybe no need to spend too much on cake since cake is symbolic and we'll all get our own cakes for our own bb's actual BD anyway? And need to settl catering too. Its only a mth away, need to confirm details soon if really gonna get this done.

Jeannie, I ordered mine from Bengawan solo in the end cos my theme is Pooh. 2kg for $90. Yah, initially I emailed aimummy but the price was so expensive, think $130 for a single tier cake. End up hubby say so exp, forget it. :p

my ger's party juz over, i have the following for sale
1.metallic rose-pink balloons 30pcs
2. pooh bear scene setter
3.happy birthday 'triangle' flag in yellow
4.mylar ballons 3pcs
email me at [email protected]

B'dae Bash List
Venue: UE Square
Date: 15 or 22 Feb 09 Sunday
Time: 10~12, 1.30~3.30, 5~7.
JWT Charges: $710 for 20 kids (less $100 if we book before 31 Jan 08, $685 Members)
$14.50 for additional kid
Catering (adults only) : Need a volunteer
Cake: Need a volunteer
B'dae Themes, choose from:

1. Beneath the sea *
2. flower power
3. Kids Boot Camp *
4. Wild West
5. Inter-galatic Warfare
6. Crazy relay party
7. pirates
8. jungle safari *
9. super heroes
10. Pretty in pink

* is unisex. Need a vote! pls vote for 1 only!

1. eliaw 15/22, 2+1 pax, jungle safari
2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy
5. Berry
6. apple
7. qingling
8. jeannie
9. nicole
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune

kelly, today i went to JWT @ kallang. Sad to say, but i was rather disappointed with the class. maybe trainer lousy la..

re: childhood course
attended my first week of class.. my school is advent links - sauc. it's really fun! a good change.. but already have homework to do!

iso, don't worry i'll definitely share, just that maybe not much time to post online. in fact, i was thinking when our little ones turn 18 mths, we can organise a small group activity every fortnight but need to limit the numbers. will be guided by professional teachers.
need to share the costs of the materials.. n maybe pay a nominal fee for the teachers..

pay cut - haha.. ya, huge pay cut.. but teachers @ childcare centres get staff rates for their kids. so from there also offset costs for school. but after working out n offsetting, still lugi la..

2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy
5. Berry
6. apple
7. qingling
8. jeannie 22, 2+1 pax, jungle safari 2
9. nicole
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune

Re:birthday cake

kitsune, 2 kg for $90 snds ok
got quite a bit of cake to eat.. haha.. share with us the pics k.

cheryl.. vernon's birthday also over rite? share pics of cake k.

qingling.. wah.. 3 tiers cupcake..must be very nice!! Seems like a lot of pp doing cupcakes now... even my sch also got parents doing and selling.

eliaw.. wow..$250? i think mu hubby will kill me... where did u order from??? what theme is it?

Re: small grp activity at 18 months
eliaw.. count me in k.. now i noe who to look for if i need advice..my tK senior.. haha

btw, what did ur sil do?? i am also very curious

gd morning mommies,
wow, it's been 1 wk since i got to post. I have been sick, then relatives came dwn fm m'sia and now ds is sick
hope he recovers quick quick before CNY.

Thks mommies who have have gave me ideas on which
carrier to buy. Finally bought the egro one and tested it out at the zoo. Must say that it is a saviour cos' i was carry g ds ard for abt 4 hrs and it's really not tiring as compared to the bb bjorn one. 1hr plus already die g....

kitsune,
welcome to the SAHM club... m sure u wld be able to njoy it loads

eliaw,
wow!! career change!! C has certainly inspire u loads!!! Must admit, it's so great to knw what u do to the little one has an immediate impact on him/her. THey are like a blank computer, waiting for us to fill them up. :p
And do pls count me in for the small gp activit at 18 mths ya? it wld be great fun!!!! can't wait!!!

B'dae Bash List
JWT Charges: $710 for 20 kids (less $100 if we book before 31 Jan 08, $685 Members)

1. Beneath the sea *
2. flower power
3. Kids Boot Camp *
4. Wild West
5. Inter-galatic Warfare
6. Crazy relay party
7. pirates
8. jungle safari *
9. super heroes
10. Pretty in pink

2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy
5. Berry
6. apple
7. qingling
9. nicole
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune
13. leila 15/22, 2 pax, Beneath the sea

B'dae Bash List

1. Beneath the sea *
2. flower power
3. Kids Boot Camp *
4. Wild West
5. Inter-galatic Warfare
6. Crazy relay party
7. pirates
8. jungle safari *
9. super heroes
10. Pretty in pink

2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy
5. Berry(both days ok), 2+2 pax, 10-12pm preferred, any unisex theme.
6. apple
7. qingling
9. nicole
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune
13. leila 15/22, 2 pax, Beneath the sea

B'dae Bash List
Date: 22 Feb 09 Sunday
Time: 10am ~ 12pm
JWT Charges: $710 for 20 kids ($685 Members) less 5% citibank
Catering (adults only) : Pls suggest!
Cake: Pls suggest - Bengawan Solo?

1. Beneath the sea *
2. flower power
3. Kids Boot Camp *
4. Wild West
5. Inter-galatic Warfare
6. Crazy relay party
7. pirates
8. jungle safari *
9. super heroes
10. Pretty in pink

1. eliaw 2+1 pax, jungle safari
2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy
5. Berry 2+2 pax, any unisex theme.
6. apple
7. qingling
8. jeannie 2+1 pax, jungle safari 2
9. nicole
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune
13. leila 2 pax, Beneath the sea

** CHANGES **
UE Square only has 22/2 10am slot available! they're HOT! anyways, i have made the booking and going to pay the deposit of $100.. so mummies, don't last minute play me out hor.. as for the discount, $100 is only for Kallang branch. but forget about kallang for now! it's only 5% citibank discount. anyone has jwt member?

Pls give suggestions for cake & catering.. thanks!

leila, yrs is 2+1 or 1+1?

jeannie, my sil is a preschool teacher w etonhouse. i been to her school once. she's amazing. she engages her kids so well. i saw her during story telling, u can tell how good she is by the look on the childrens' faces!

etonhouse curriculum is project based. she mentioned that she don't mind to help me do small groups when C is older. when it's nearer, i'll give more info!

re: cake
i ordered from patissier. looks something like this but in a garden theme!
2091410.jpg

eliaw,
ok, if i put 1 adult and 1 child first? cos hubs mayb out of town.

wow, ur cake looks yummy!!!! each "ball" is a different flavour?

hi eliaw,

etonhouse school fees is very ex,heard evelyn tan also teaching there,her children there also?pls count me in for the small gp activity at 18 mths,ok?how much is the cake from patissier?

B'dae Bash List

1. Beneath the sea *
2. flower power
3. Kids Boot Camp *
4. Wild West
5. Inter-galatic Warfare
6. Crazy relay party
7. pirates
8. jungle safari *
9. super heroes
10. Pretty in pink

2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy
6. apple
7. qingling
9. nicole
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune
13. leila 1+1 pax, Beneath the sea
14. happymum 2+2 pax

Calling for mummies from previous b'dae bash list:
tongtong, vine_gal, Qingling, abcdisney, Artemis, stephie, tubao, tute

Hopefully we can firm up the attendance list by Wednesday 21/01

leila, i don't know if each ball has a different taste.. but i know their cakes are yummy.. so it had better be damn good! :p

goodbb, i know that it's $1200 for toddler class. yes, evelyn tan is teaching there, i not sure about her kids. i paid $250 for the cake..

1. 65usd more to close spree for https://www.babymallonline.com

2. Strollers BP still on

3. Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags(50 Bags) BP on

4. Desitin creamy 4oz and california calendular ready stock at bulk purchase price

Pls PM me for info, thanks

B'dae Bash List

1. Beneath the sea *
2. flower power
3. Kids Boot Camp *
4. Wild West
5. Inter-galatic Warfare
6. Crazy relay party
7. pirates
8. jungle safari *
9. super heroes
10. Pretty in pink

2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy
6. apple
7. qingling
9. nicole
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune
14. happymum 2+2 pax
15. Vine_Gal 2+1 pax Any unisex theme is fine

B'dae Bash List

1. Beneath the sea *
2. flower power
3. Kids Boot Camp *
4. Wild West
5. Inter-galatic Warfare
6. Crazy relay party
7. pirates
8. jungle safari *
9. super heroes
10. Pretty in pink

2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy
6. apple
7. qingling
9. nicole 2+1 pax, Beneath the sea
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune
14. happymum 2+2 pax

I just ordered from Gladcake 2 tier fondant-- $220 !

B'dae Bash List

1. Beneath the sea *
2. flower power
3. Kids Boot Camp *
4. Wild West
5. Inter-galatic Warfare
6. Crazy relay party
7. pirates
8. jungle safari *
9. super heroes
10. Pretty in pink

2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy 2 +2 pax, any unisez theme
6. apple
7. qingling
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune
14. happymum 2+2 pax

re:birthday cake
i ordered mine from glad. single tier. $140.
wanted a double tier one but hb said birthday not wedding...

Re: small grp activity at 18 months
eliaw, count me in!

B'dae Bash List

1. Beneath the sea *
2. flower power
3. Kids Boot Camp *
4. Wild West
5. Inter-galatic Warfare
6. Crazy relay party
7. pirates
8. jungle safari *
9. super heroes
10. Pretty in pink

2. Cheryl
3. Garfield
4. Dorothy 2 +2 pax, any unisez theme
6. apple
7. qingling
10. kelly
11. bkkgal
12. kitsune
14. happymum 2+2 pax
16. abcdisney 2+2 pax

Hi hvnt been here for a long long time. sch hols over and hence getting more bz. worse kena sec 1s again. sigh...

Garfield
very sry for d delay in refund.

Birthday bash
may I join in?

playgroup
eliaw, i'm interested too. actually I tot of doing a mini one during weekend. perhaps jus small scale such as music, art, story n at times outdoor . anyone interested ?

where is gladcake?