(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

artemis:

sorry, forget abt transfering money to you till now.

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 Artemis
Amount S$3.66
Transaction Reference 2068144713

pls let me know if you have pass the toothpaste to your sis. so tat i can arrange w her. thanks

kelly, I am not surprised u can manage on your own. I've always known that you a v capable mummy. Jia you jia you!

kitsune, since u just started, try and keep the PT help first. Later on if u feel can do w/o then try it out. Cause it can be overwhelming for you to have to cope with bb AND all the housework on your own from day 1. Take it s-l-o-w and find yr own pace/routine, after a while when u are confident and feel that you can do more, then maybe start off having PT help alternate weeks, slowly adapt before doing away with it. I dont have a maid either (neither do have Inlaws/parents/outside help), but I have a PT cleaner who comes in aternate weeks.

Its not very easy, and wont be 100% smooth-sailing; there are very happy and easy days, and there are days when I just want to pull ALL my hair out and throw a mega tantrum myself lol. But at the end of it all, the pride and fulfillment from being able to care for my own kids and seeing how close they are to me wins everything else hands down. And knowing that many years later, these are the days you'll look back and cherish, the memories and stories are yours to keep.

(haha, v sappy hor, sorry. :p Not that FTWMs are not close to their kids, I personally know some FTWMs who are v v dedicated and involved, their kids are also v v close to them at the end of the day.

kitsune
you so prepared! that's good!! but i know what u mean abt feeling drained at the end of the day. sometimes i play with bb for a while then i wish he would sleep already, q bad but what to do.. heh.

kelly
wow, 3 kids!! really pei fu
i'm guessing that it's also easier when the kids are older? when they're babies they need sooo much attention, not sure how to handle when/if #2 comes along!

so SAHMs, if you don't have any live in helpers, means you always have to be home at night (i live with ILs, so sometimes when baby goes to sleep i still have time to do a few errands), or if you have to do some things, no one to just help out to watch? we'll be moving out of ILs place in 6-12 months time, so been wondering whether i should get a FT helper...

jass
yah finally shifting out..to tanjong pagar! heh. but my mum is now in clementi. but not sure if when we shift out if i will still work or be SAHM. if work also convenient, find a job nearby ;)

iso:
not helping ur hubby w his biz? can be a half-SAHM (put ethan in playgrp for half a day) & half working mum by helping hubby since its near by.

jass,
me around. just manage to find time to log in.

kitsune,
so envious of u. i will love to be a SAHM too. but can't afford to give up my job. jia you!!

Been reading using 3G cos at home, somehow the site is blocked. Called Starhub but they can't resolve the prob. No matter whether I use Mozilla or Safari, Mac or PC, the site is still blocked. Damn frus!

Kitsune,
Congrats on taking that step towards SAHM-dom! I'm sure you can cope very well. Raeanne will be so happy to have her mommy all to herself now
How abt starting a business from home? Can bring in some $$ and give u something to do aside from takin care of bb. I'm still thinking, thinking, thinking (of SAHM) but no action.

Berry's point that nobody ever regretted spending too little time at work is so true. Sometimes when K is asleep, I look at her in wonder, at how fast she's grown, how big she is now compared to that wee little babe of 10 mths ago and think, "Am I missing out on her growing years?"

hi, mummies. Thanks for all the advice.

bkkgal, my hubby already arrow me to do research or him and be his ghost writer for his next book liao. I did think of starting online biz related to babies but no good ideas leh. But no capital lar. Maybe relief teaching at nearby pri school? Bx and Jeannie can give more advice on that? :p

kitsune,
not sure how to go about applying for relief teaching. but i know some relief teachers very lucky, only need to babysit the class while others need to conduct lessons. it depends on the school's staffing needs...

kitsune.. like what blackbatz says.. u need to actually apply for relief teaching at the MOE website. After u have applied, u may want to go to a few primary schools near to your house or convenient for you and leave your name there so that they can contact u directly if they need help. That will usually be faster and also easier to get relief jobs..
Hope that helps.. when is ur last day?

Fairfield, i will be going to Connecticut.. where are u staying currently?

Thanks, blackbatz, bx. I was wondering if I can apply directly at school. Me only keen to try relief teaching at the primary school near to my home, shun bian 'recce' the schools for my gal. Kiasu mummy. Hee. ;)

Thanks Jeannie, our posts crossed. Will do that then.
Last day should be 9 Feb, don't want to serve extended notice although boss requested, chang tong bu ru duan tong. Hee.
Is it easier to find relief teaching assignments in the beginning of the year?

kitsune,
should be quite easy to get assignments bah. my sch actually got some ex students back to do relief teaching coz quite a number teachers on mc, no pay leave, study leave etc...

kitsune
wow, your hubby is a writer? so interesting! but relief teaching sounds like a good idea, maybe i should look around my area too, haha. i was q keen to explore polys but seems like no openings in my area (marketing), and not sure if they require those with teaching experience... otherwise i heard that it's pretty easy and fixed hours.

BX/Jeannie
just curious - how much is the going rate for relief teaching nowadays? I used to relief teach in JC before. Quite fun.

re: teaching
how much can a tutor earn in poly?
nowadays it seems hard to get into poly for teaching.
my friend with PhD and 1 year working experience get rejected for a lecturer post.

hi gal,

anything to get from drugstore.com?
Avent has this offer:
Spend $169 or more on any Philips item & receive $20 off your order!
Can get 9 sets of BPA free bottles. Each set turns out to be USD 16.80.

I've some credit to spend by end of this month, will apply the discount on your items too..

Mommies, I have a question on beauty:
Do you apply sunblock everyday? What strength SPF 30, 50, 60 do you use? Do you prefer the normal sunblock or those that combine moisturiser and foundation?

Kitsune
your hb is teo aik cher? I've seen his illustrations. Does he contribute to ST? impressive! he's obviously not a procrastinator like the rest of us. keke.

How nice to have a talent like your hb. Does he self publish?

bkkgal,
i used to apply sunblock everyday especially during pregnancy.
however, i am lazy to remove the sunblock using makeup remover.
end up i will always get pimple after applying sunblock.

now, too lazy and bo chap liao.. never apply anything.
freckles starts building up on my face..

bkkgal, yup. Really? Where did you see his illustrations? He contributes to Zaobao Zhoukan (sunday edition). Nope, he found a publisher to publish the books for him though I still think publicity could have been more aggressive. Hardly any media interviews except FM93.8 which hardly anyone listens. :p

XY,

I never used to bother with sunblock until pregnancy - the dark spots got darker and still remains!
after that also got lazier but you know, women after 30 really everything goes downhill - skin lose elasticity, weight loss is slower, lovehandles still there. WEll, at least with the face, the amt of effort required is less, so now make a conscious effort to apply everyday, even if we spend all day in the office but still there's UV rays.

bkk - oh no! dark spots on your face? or where? my SIL and her sis got spots all over her legs.. very big and obvious :S think it's hereditery since both she and her sis got it. but v big, worse than mosquito bites!

Iso, yup dark spots on face, light freckles before but now seems darker.

I oso noticed that it's harder to get rid of mosquitoe bite scars these days. Our regenerative cell growth has slowed! *sob*

bkkgal,
no bad. at least you make an effort for it.
i know it's bad but i just don't bother about it now..
i was quite 'hardworking' in applying sunblock and will stand in front of mirror applying eye cream, etc. now just don't bother.. where got time?

bkkgal,
i use a moisturizer and then layer with sunblock. reason for not using a 2in1 moisturizer that comes with sunblock is that at night, i dun need sunblock =P

errm...i make it a point to slather a lot of stuff on my face, body etc. as bkkgal says, past 30 a lot of things go downhill. so must maintain a bit.

i even continue to use firming oil since preggie days hehe =P

Isobellies, Bkkgal, haha yup in our blog lor but his cartoons have dwindled to zero since I gave birth. He's too busy and if he has any time, he's concentrating on the paid illustrations (books, posters etc). :p

bkkgal
recently very quiet. maybe busy with work. at least it's the case for me. sometimes don't even have time to check out forum at work. sob. hope will be better soon.

Kitsune,
If I'm not wrong, u can call up the schools and ask the admin executives about it. They usually keep a list of numbers.

Actually no problem getting relief assignments..always got teachers go on mc, urgent leave, on course, maternity leave, professional development leave, attachment, seminars etc...

the are some mummies who are professional relief teachers..sole do relief duties so that they have time for kids.

bkkgal, I use Fancl sunguard daily, which doubles as a sunscreen, moisturiser and makeup base! Its the best I've tried and stuck to it for more than 2 years liao. But similar to all other good sunscreens, its a must to use a MU remover when u wash yr face, cause its highly lasting and waterproof, will sure clog pores if not removed throughly.

kitsune
better than whiling his time away not bringing home the bacon ;)

mummies!!!
my little E has taken his first step! but small step only, then he'll get on his knees and crawl away. apparently he did it about twice earlier today, my BIL saw it both times and was trying to convince him to do it again lest we all think he's making things up :D

so exciting! K recently took 2 tiny steps towards me on Sunday and did not repeat it again. sigh. Nobody, except hb, witnessed it. Now everyone thinks it's a fluke.

shawn took his 1st step abt a couple of wks ago. Nw he can take abt 3 to 4 steps. He'll give the very satisfied look when he stands 4 v long unsupported or walk.

Been kinda busy with work and with the auditors coming in....

So exciting that our babies are learning to walk.
Only saw my girl stand unassisted for a few seconds before and she was shaking shaking shaking. so funny.

But on the other hand I also dread the day when she will be running all over the house. Even now, she can crawl to cupboard, pull herself up and open the drawer and throw the things out, really dunno what will happen when she can start walking around.........