(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Stephie
if you getting a Nikon, this website is good for learning tips:

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d40.htm

Point and shoot can get good pics too. With an SLR, out of 10 shots maybe only 1 is good. i toggle with the settings etc cos it's quite fun to see the effects. Except when the action is taking place too fast, then I cheat and use the "auto" function. By the time I change settings, action over liao.

I think hb got the AF-S 55-200mm lens. Not sure let me go home and check. He also got a flash from Mustafa ($169).

Lezy
initially i oso grumble abt the DSLR but now, looking at the pics...aiyah, memories so precious, once over cannot get back one lor. I really do appreciate the DSLR now.

Stephie, quick go and get for Shawn's birthday! mai tu liao.

Sorry it's nikon AF-S 18-200 mm.

Go and check out ClubSnap - a photography forum - lots of tips there, according to hb.

just one more pic of the mischievous monkey at home..

my hubby has come to the end of his almost 3-month long holiday! (he teaching in JC so was on hols since Nov - even though go back to school now n then).

I'm quite satisfied with him. At least he managed to clean up the house abit, and also look after ruth almost every morning so my mum can come pick ruth up abit later. Also, now that ruth is more mobile, i cannot leave her on the bed and go brush teeth n etc in the morning so it helps that he's around to look after her while I get ready for work.

HE's now very independent in looking after her. just the food preparation area he no chance to learn.

Very very satisfied. Husband training quite successful.

2062729.jpg

bkkgal
yeah, think me going to buy DSLR tomorrow. went to a few shops after work to check out the price. luckily managed to find one that's the cheapest and it's near my mum's place. almost wanted to buy just now. call hubby. then decided to go get tomorrow morning. i asked 2 shops which is better, canon or nikon. both say canon. one of them say nikon's accessories are more expensive. other than that, i didn't ask for the reasons. i think each has its pros and cons, no one is perfect. just go with our feel.

dorothy
*^5 back*. when you celebrating vaise's bday?

Gar.. ^hi 5!!
Arielle is so cute.. she actually pat on the chest to show that she's scared..haha.. what did u feed her?? :p

Re: DSLR
Stephie.. i just got a DSLR too..Bought it last dec.. b4 my hK trip..But i also not pro.. still haven figure out how to use it properly. Takes a lot of time to play ard w it. I bought Canon 450 D from one of the shops at H.V also...

But i think like what gar said.. i also.. set auto mode lor.. just shoot lor.. haha.. somehow the pics still look better than normal cam. but i still got problem adjusting shutter speed to capture fast action.And i think my skills really cannot make it.. so some pics still not clear

2063528.jpg

2063529.jpg

the last pic actually quite clear.. but dunno y after downsize becomes a bit blur..but i think canon's picture quality quite different from nikon..

bkkgals's pics.. colours are more vibrant.. canon seems a bit more subtle... or maybe cause the photographer quite lousy ( myself)

Really need to learn more.. else waste $$ on such good cam.

sharing one of my fav. pic ..

sorrie mummies if i post too many pics k.. Paiseh...just want to share my DSLR pics so that u all can make better decision and also.. haha.. let u all c Gwen.. :p

2063624.jpg

lezy
haha congrats on successful training ;)

jeannie
i got a 450D also! think it takes time to learn lah, some more there are sooooo many things to learn, and babies aren't the easiest subjects to shoot! most of my photos i think only 1-2 out of 10 i like, the rest all delete, haha. colours depends on lens and other settings, and also what you do with it on the computer (sometimes can be q amazing!) , but our kit lens is q good, i shoot a lot with that cos it's small and handy. jia you ok!

hi jeannie and isobellies,

how much u bought the 450D?is there a "lag time" when u take photo?cos my SE got a "lag time",by the time,the pic is taken,bb already turns her head away

Stephie,
celebrating on 31st jan... so must get the camera soon.. cos now my current digital camera really cannot make it when it comes to taking nice pic... my marine fish.

bkk,
yr photo veri veri nice n colourful...
Kate is so so so cute.... so nice to have gals....

jeannie,
Gwen also veri veri pretty...i like her with hats!

goodbb
hmm can't rem price leh.
what's SE? so far shutter speed q fast, but of cos not as fast as the higher end models, like 50D.. but generally ok. so far i haven't been frustrated by lag time like the Olympus - so annoying!

re:dslr,
btw...if you are thinking of getting different lenses then canon might be a cheaper option in the long run coz with similar specs usually nikon lens will cost almost double compare to canon... (this is what my friend told me)

hi isobellies,

SE is sony ericission

hi tute,
canon is made in japan,the camera is more ex than nikon for dslr,u have any recommendations for canon

goodbb,
yeap the kit price for canon is slightly more expensive than nikon but if you want to buy additional lenses then canon has more range plus it's cheaper for similar spec.

this might be a good link to compare prices for nikon :
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=458315

and for canon :
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=184322&page=42

btw, what's your budget for dslr? and are u looking for entry level or slightly higher end? not much choices for dslr i think so can decide relatively easy...

I remembered some time back some of the mummies here were talking about IPL, can't remember if it's BX or BKK. I would like to know which saloon mummies patronise for the IPL? Thanks..

goodbb
yaaaa most of the phones have pretty slow cameras. the SEs i've tried are q laggy, iphone not so bad but still q laggy..

i bought canon cos when i first started lessons and my friend lent me his old canon, so from there i just continue with it. but if i had to choose between the 2 i think i also dunno which to choose. probably will choose which brand my friends have more, then can ask questions and share

vine,
yeap2... if you and may don't mind then pls pass to may...will be easier for me to collect... thanks a lot !!

iso,
ooo, you even took lessons for photography! for me honestly i just use point and shoot...too lazy to learn. so now pestering hb to go and learn and can take nicer picture..hehhe..

xiaoyun,
thanks for passing my loot to vine!

artemis,
your teething gel is still with me... let me know if you want to collect @ sk mrt but might not be able to meet early coz nowadays i work quite late

jeannie
wow, nice pics. guess we bought from the same store bah. after comparig 4 shops, that is the cheapest! friendly staff too. i bought the most entry level dslr canon 1000D. asked the person for opinion btw 450D and 1000D, difference is the size of lcd screen and megapixel. so say 1000D is better value for $. i just tried out this morning. also don't know how to use. when in auto mode, the flash will auto pop up leh. u know how to off the flash other than switching to no flash mode?

iso,
my pass 2 digicams are both canon. probably that's why i continue with canon bah. furthermore when i asked my fren (whose a photographer) about canon, he say its good. so i just buy (though nikon is cheaper).

dor
still have time to get and learn. not like me, only have 1 wk to figure out. i told my hubby probably ask his brother or cousin to use my camera to take pic during the party. they have used slr before, so should produce better results than me.

blackbatz, It was garfield. We trying to get her to org IPL bp heh

Fedup man StarHub block Smh I using my 3G to surf at home!

Bkkgal,
Thanks a zillion..will want to be a part of the IPL BP if there's any!! Suddenly very keen after seeing my friend..Her's is very expensive, from Strip..

FTWM -> SAHM

I tendered my resignation last Sat to spend more time with my gal and part time isn't an option under this new boss and I can't get along with her micro management style. The ironical thing is she gave me promotion letter (something I wanted very much last year) but I still handed the resignation letter to her. Thought I should be feeling so happy cos I've been wanting to quit for the last few months. But instead I feel lost. Keep wondering if I've made the right decision and if I'm cut out to be SAHM (with ILs support). Any mummies who made the decision to quit to be SAHM can share their thoughts and experiences?

kitsune,i support u!sahm may not be easy but def worth it. I wish I can but I still need to help support my family as well. Now u can witness all raeanne's milestones

kitsune,
i'm no expert..but my take on this is if you really have no better idea, then just treasure what you have in front of u.

if u hv the ability to be SAHM now, then just make the most out of it.

If you have thought it out and am quite clear you can't be SAHM, then just look for job.

if all else fails, just look at raeanne and know that everything will be fine.

don't worry too much.

hi mummies, havenn't log in in a while

re: feeding
yeah feeding matt is a struggle again. he is back to having strike. sigh... hates porridge all over again. feeding used to be breeze. now the battle session will last abt 45min - 1.5h!!??!! last time i can feed him without giving him any toys / let him watch tv. now these are essential.

hates his bib too.. will pull it off or just scream loudly. fussy eater huh. well.. i must admit my mum complain that i'm super fussy when i'm a baby too. refuse milk... they can take 2hours to feed me. *opps... feng shui lun lui zhuan*

tute:
i can finally use my mim sling. matt used to hate it. but now he is quite ok w it coz prob he associate it with going out. LOL

stephie:
hahah now tat u mention... i forget that our baby's birthday is so soon! ok... need to get something planned out.

lezy:
wow... u have trained your hubby well.. can teach me please?? hahaha~

jeannie:
wah... little gwen is so girly nowadays!! so sweet!

goddbb:
wah.. i like SE phone's camera leh. i find the photos quite sharp. can develop the pic even. i like.

kitsune:
wow! its gd that you have finally made a decision. try out the arrangement, see if you are suitable... its a new role... give yourself 6 months probation to see your you enjoy this then decide if you wan this to be a long term plan or you prefer to get back to work force.
dun worry ok.

raeanne can now see mummy more often and muumy can watch raeanne reaching all her milestones

tute
heh.. actually got a lot of online tutorials that can "teach" you how to use also, but good thing abt lessons is that you can ask the teacher questions and share with other students.

stephie
ooh the 1000D is so small and cute!

jass
i have the same bib problem also, so some days have to feed with no bib.. on hot days for dinner i let him eat without any shirt, and he can put his fingers in the food and mess up everything, then after that go and bathe. think he has fun, haha.

kitsune
jia you!! you could always try for a while and in the meantime look out to see if there are any other suitable jobs? i think when they are young like now it's good to stay home with them, but when they get older like 4 onwards, they are more independent and need us around less.

for me, i had the chance to take a retrenchment package after my maternity leave, so it was a no-brainer. can stay home and still got some pay also, heh. i really enjoyed it, even though it can be quite physically tiring at times. and sometimes i will have someone else watch him while i go for yoga or facial or something, so nice :D

kitsune,

can i ask u a personal qn. hope not too intruding.

since u decided to be a SAHM, ur hb will help u wif ur own fixed expenses like insurance, parents' monthly allowance?

Am tinking of becoming a SAHM when my 2nd 1 comes, but my fixed expenses are 2 high.

for mummies who have maids, do u all install camera? cannot whole house 1 is it? and do u let the maid know tat u installed the camera?

esther:
my mil comes over to supervise my maid. so no camera. erm... u are staying w ur dad rite? maybe he can help to supervise?

my dad works half day, so nobody @ home in the morning.

sometimes half day, any thing can jz happen.. or maybe i worry 2 much. but cant help leh

jass,
heheh...the mim sling is a lifesafer for me. love to use it even more than the bjorn and cayleb prefers that as well...only down thing is that it's a bit bulky to bring around...even my hb learn how to use it too (But he only do it at home heheh...)

iso,
yeah...lots of online tutorial but nowadays don't have time.

bkkgal,
i'm using starhub as well but can still access smh leh...

good afternoon mummies,

kitsune,
good that you finally made a decision to join the SAHM club.

now you don't need to depend on others to look after RaeAnne already.
if you are worrying about lost touch with the society, any chance to do some freelance work?

stephie,
how much you bought the camera? me kpohing.. :p
just dare to drool over ppl's camera.
how come my cameras are still working fine? no excuse to get a new one. :p

jeannie,
gwen has nice fringe. how to cut huh?
my C has her 'gong gong' fringe due to her unskillful mummy/a ma/a gong/wai po. :p

kitsune, welcome to the sahm club hee! You wont regret this period of time you spend with your kid, whether or not you decide to go back to work later. (We've heard of people who say stuff like "sigh, I wished I had spend more time with my kids when they were younger" but have never heard things like "I wished I didnt spend so much time with my kids when they were young, wished I had worked harder instead!") hehe. The best thing is that now you wont have to worry about how your bb wont be cared for the way you want. Can do everything your way! (haha, I sound like a control freak mummy! :p)

Well, in any case take it as a good opportunity to try this role out. If you feel that you are more suited to working life, can always change your mind later on. Then at least you would have known for 100% sure that you have made the right choice, better than always wondering if you took the right path. All the best!

kitsune
like wat others say, go ahead and be SAHM. you can always go back to workforce if you find yourself unsuitable to be SAHM. however, the reverse is not true.

xiaoyun
my compact digicam is still working fine leh. in fact i have 2, keke. my reason for buying a dslr is that baby's moments are too precious to miss, once gone cannot retrieve liao. so heck care, just buy. paid abt $968.

remember me? i MIA cos very busy wif many stuff...kids sick, personal stuff, work, festive seasons, etc

kitsune
a BIG welcome 2 e club. berry is absolutely rt...i havent heard anyone say "I wished I didnt spend so much time with my kids when they were young, wished I had worked harder instead!"

berry
how r u & ur kids? feeling betta?

i hv a referral promo for little neuro tree. anyone interested? pls PM me. so far i've shared wif dor n *i tik* dor shared wif cheryl, may & vine gal. e more e merrier

Qingling, Lezy, Jass, XY, Stephie, Berry, Kelly, Esther, Thanks for the encouragement.
Such a busy day at office, don't even have time to check forum. Reminds me of why I want to be SAHM, don't want to work so hard everyday, go back drained to play with my gal, just keep wanting to put her to bed. :p

Berry, Kelly, I don't have a maid, don't know if I can take care of her on my own. So, so far, don't dare to tell ILs that I'll take care of her alone at home yet. But I think some days, it'll be possible. At least ILs don't need to come and pick her up so early in the morning anymore. Maybe I'll send her later in the day if I need a break.

Esty, actually even when we got married, I told hubby I may not want to work after having children. So we make sure single person income enough for CPF contribution, paid up fully for the car, cancelled some insurance policies a few years ago, etc. Spoke to my mum that I won't be able to contribute much for the next few years. Will use my savings to pay for insurance and parents' allowance but after it dries up, may need his help. One thing good about my hubby is that he's thrifty, he may not earn a lot as a teacher but he's not possessive about $, if not I won't dare to make this step. :p

kitsune
i'm sure u can do it. mayb hire a part time helper 2 help u wif e chores. order tingkat if u cant settle ur lunch. i used 2 do these stuff when i only had my #1. u r right, can bring raeanne over 2 ur ILs when u wanna a break or do some errands. if not, try managing ur girl on ur own. u'll b amazed tat it aint so tough actually. bring her out 2 let her look see look see n u too can catch a breather. i used 2 bring my #1 out so much until i was rarely home.

anyway, i m without a helper now. so i'm managing e hsehold, 3kids n some work. very tiring but much happier...without a stranger in my hse

Kelly, I have a PT cleaner that comes weekly. Thinking whether I should cut down on frequency or cut out totally after I become SAHM to save $. But I don't know if I can find time to do housechores. Wow, 3 kids and no helper. Don't think I can ever do it. Hee. :p

kitsune
u'll still need ur PT cleaner...4 ur sanity cos doing hsehold chores is no fun. hahaha!

i m in fact getting 1-2 PT cleaners to come in 6x in a mth. 2x every wk1 & wk3, once every wk2 & wk4. right now, i juz finished hanging e clothes n going 2 clear up e sink which is 1/2 filled wif dishes/pots.

hello,
it's been a really long time since i last posted here, and now I only recognise a few "old" names like dorothy, cheryl, stephie and garfield..heheh
hope everyone is doing fine!

kitsune,
i'm sure u will enjoy being a SAHM. It is tiring, yet fun at the same time.

Jeannie,
u are going to the US? may i know which part? I am in the US too.