(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

DSLR
actually i was skeptical abt the DSLR - so bulky, so heavy blah blah. But turns out to be quite a good investment. It's a very basic model Nikon D40, no frills, no additional flash or filter. We are quite motivated now to buy some accessories like lens now. Quite fun, I also had a go at trying it. Actually, some shots are mine, esp those with him carrying baby.

Hb got it 2nd hand for abt $500 for body and basic lens. he spent another $800 for another lens.

Btw, when we were in PErth, the Harvey Norman was selling brandnew Nikon D40 for $498. Very cheap! Our friend bought it and on top of that, she got the GST rebate 10% - in the end only $448. Dunno whether the Harvey Norman here will have promo or not..look out for it loh.

Kitsune
Good to hear that Raeanne is better. Poor baby girl *sayang*. You feeling better yourself? Rem to rest whenever you have a chance hor.

XY
LOL!

garfield
keke.. me mo here and there. will keep a lookout for good bargain.

bkkgal
wow, how come so cheap at perth. your friend influenced because of your DSLR ah?

garfield
yeah, the promotion extended again. shall go and get my DSLR. ;)

bkkgal
what lens did your hubby get? wow, $800 is a lot leh.

artemis,

i made payment for the shipping charges.

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 artemis
Amount S$9.72
Transaction Reference 2061570216

artemis
paid for the shipping, thanks.

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 Artemis SMH
Amount S$4.86
Transaction Reference 2061580951

XY
nicole wants to buy over my cereal, where can she pick up from you? thanks.

hi all...
went to the zoo last saturday...even though not hot at all, she wasn't very happy cuz no aircon.

2059521.jpg

gar, bkkgal, i'm feeling better, kept on applying the ulcer med regularly n it helps. Now they dun hurt except if i eat hot stuff n brush my teeth. Hopefully, raeanne's ulcers r also healing at the same rate as mine.

Gar, my poor aunt, the same one who went to hong kong, came to visit raeanne with me at ils place n witnessed the whole saga yesterday lor, so paiseh. Today, she help to cook dinner while my mum cooked lunch. She cook porridge cos easier for us with ulcers to eat. But fil still cook rice with dishes for dinner. Guess he has time to cook or he dun like to eat porridge bah. :p

stephie, which digital slr u getting? What promotion is it? How much?

bkk.
cam see yr pic?

gar,
re,m tute's gathering... since themn my hb is thinking of getting a digital slr..
now aiming for a D90...

ade!!!
me!! me like HK.

lezy , nice backdrop! is ruth amazed with those animals?

kitsune, glad 2 know that you and RaeAnne have recovered.

bkk i wanna see ur pic too!

stephie,
hope you manage to get your DSLR soon. thot you would have been convinced by lezy's photos looooooooooong ago to buy it liao leh =P

dor,
haha...org DSLR BP? maybe can get discount =)

lezy,
wow very nice shot! doesn't look like singapore

kitsune,
it is a stressful time for everyone when baby is sick. just close one eye and if need to close both eyes. once raeanne recovers everything will go back to normal, don't worry.

kitsune
me looking at canon 1000D. oh, promo is the same old stuff. 8gb card + eos camera bag + buy zoom lens at $59/$99 (UP: $599). RRP is $1099.

gar
me convinced long long time ago. jus that didn't executive my intention to buy. heehee :p

dor
wow, D90 is quite high end right? close to $2k? maybe next time if i master a low end DSLR then i consider. keke.

Gar,
u got lobang? i dun mind..hehehe
since tat day, he was talking me the good of digital SLR...

Stephie
no lah... out of budget... think only going for D60... but i like the ad.

RUth not the happiest person around. SHe only became happy on 2 occasions:

1. after her nap, we sat at this BREEZY hut for our lunch.

2. after the whole trip, we went into KFC to get a drink and to feed her afternoon snack. her face change TOTALLY the moment we open the doors and felt the AIRCON.

Really....

My pics are mostly using canon 10D i think. I can never get the models right. WIth some special lens cost about 3k - bought in HK slightly cheaper but that price is almost 1 year back. Now should be abit lower.

More zoo pics @ Http://www.flickr.com/photos/lezy/sets

Go to the first set.

my turn to face feeding challenges

arielle has always loved her porridge and will easily eat 8 to 10 table spoons every meal.

recently, a strange phenomenon is occurring. she insists on being fed by hand...the moment she sees the spoon on the way to her mouth she will intercept it with her hand. take the contents on the spoon with my fingers and place it in her mouth, she's happy. so i can't feed porridge since it's impossible to pick up porridge with fingers. so i've resorted to rice, breads etc.

ok, if i'm malay or indian then no prob right? eat by hand is perfectly normal. but i'm chinese leh...don't want to continue feeding her by hand. it also restricts the type of food i can feed her.

anyone faced similar situation?

gar,
arielle so cute. feeding ashlynn is a chore. she can't sit still. i must prepare alot of new things for her to play with then i can feed her. so i will take my pencil case on one day, keys on the next day and so on. but she hasn't tried eating wif hands yet leh...

bx,
i think arielle is out to test our patience. i am sure she will catch me in a wrong mood one day and i will end up spanking her. my hb says she everyday pattern zhway zhway. hahaha....as you can see i am not very maternal and not very patient either.

i read from your blog about all the foods you bought to try for ashlynn. have you found a favourite food yet that makes it easier?

gar..i read somewhere...that sometimes you give her a spoon (clean empty plastic one...) and she'll happily hold it while u feed her.

try that.

ruth also sometimes hand all ove the place..sometimes will smack the spoon cuz she just swing her hand suddenly and WHAM! porridge/cereal ALL OVER THE PLACE!

sibei sian.......zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

kitsune...hope u, hub and raeanne get well soon. sounds damn jialat period and very trying for family relations! but take heart and consolation that your mum n auntie so nice

feeding - so far i have yet a problem with feeding cos Heidi loves eating so much (crossing fingers as babies are tend to be xiao qi)..she can sit there just eat porridge, when porridge finsh, sometimes she cry..alamak...

re:feeding
Gervaise likes to turn everywhere when feeding...
so must really aim if not.. the porridge will be evrywhere..
then he needs his toys to be within his reach if not he will scream...if within his reach, after every mouthful of porridge, he will "eat" or lick his toys.
to worse part is, after we successfully feed him the porridge, he will use his hand to dig them out of his mouth....

Gar
Is Arielle ready to self-feed? i oso read abt letting them play with a spoon. I've given her a plastic spoon to play play. My prob is a combination of all your problems it seems. Also swing arms around, and like Lezy says, wham! food everywhere. Must have toys to play, will put toy in mouth when eating. she still hates porridge. Prefers to eat our food, not her own.

Nowadays they are finding ways to express their will loudly. When she likes a particular food, she will shout "EHHHH!!!" very very LOUDLY. If she can't get the toy she wants, she will cry but luckily easily distracted, so we distract her with another.

Tongtong, pm me your email. I'll email you.
Stephie, yar lor we jio our friend to buy. hehe. hb almost wanted to buy and come back sell his D40 off. Lens are usually more ex than body kit.
Dor, wah D90 very highend wor. We will go and salivate at yours if you get it. hehe.

bkk,
hmm...doesn't seem like. we put the food on the tray and she refuses to touch it. we use our fingers to bring it to her mouth she wants it. we use spoon to bring it to her mouth she waves it aside. damn strange lor if you ask me.

sigh, gone are those days when she would sit quietly and open her mouth biiiiiig biiiiig to let us feed. her hands quietly by her side. i used to be able to feed her even without a bib cos really no need to aim and she would keep completely still. boo hoo hoo...i want those days back!!

Gar.. gwen also doesnt like to self-feed.. i feed her pigeon biscuits,.. she will open her mouth.. i pass it to her.. she will play w it and start crushing it.. when i take her hand and move it near her mouth.. she will resist and get very angry w me..

Same as spoon.. she only want to play.. she soesnt want to feed herself..

talking about feeding, how chunky do you make your food? i try not to puree too much but bb seems to like food that don't need to chew too much. think he must be lazy!! heh.

gar, agreed, try letting her have her own spoon? i do that with E. i usu standby a few spoons in case it drops on the floor. maybe they see you holding a spoon and they want to be part of the action too. sometimes i can even eat while feeding him, and he will always put his spoon on my food, like wanting to help himself. q cute

bkk, E also prefering our food.. these days dun like to eat so much cereal already. headache..

cameras
recently we bought an olympus point and shoot, lots of fun at the pool, but outside the pool so far the photos q crap. maybe i need to learn how to use it better...

sorry photo so small
2061515.jpg

dor, hhaa so cute la vaise , digging out the food from mouth, will be vomit or not?

bx: read your pasta recipe, wanna ask hor, if we give pure tomato puree, will it be very sour?

jeannie,
*hi five* gwen sounds exactly like arielle! in fact, she pats her hand on her chest (scared?) when we put the food in front of her. food very scary meh?

iso, lezy
ok thanks. will try the spoon trick. desperate liao

good afternoon mummies,

it's about DSLR again..
agree that the photos are really nice.

re: feeding
after chatting with kitsune last week, found out that i feed my gal too little.
for cereal, i mixed milk with

1.5 tbsp brown rice cereal
1 tbsp oatmeal cereal
1.4 tsp flaxseed
50+20ml puree

or

50 ml barley puree
50+20 ml puree

for porridge, i cooked soup stock with

1 tbsp brown rice
1 tbsp rice
1 tsp millet
1 tsp quinoa
0.5 tsp barley
0.5 tsp lentil
small piece of fish

then my gal took about 2/3 of the porridge i made.

don't know if that's the reason that my gal sit guai guai for me to feed her for about 10 minutes. if more than that she will become impatient liao.
sometimes, if the cereal is too thick, she will give that kind of 'very hard to swallow' face or put finger into her mouth. then got to feed her water.
another thing is that she's very particular with the temperature of her food, when it turns cold, she won't want it anymore.

also, probably because i always feed her cereal mixed with lots of ingredient, she doesn't like the plain rice cereal with soup stock.

re: happybellies collection
andrea/nicole,
noted.
nicole, can't reply your email now.
collection at my place, ok? i'm staying at the east (near kaki bukit)

bkkgal,
just text me when you plan to come by, ok?

bx, jeannie,
how do you want to collect?
i will go to carrefour tomorrow (i think, sms me for arrangement, ok?)

Gar, Lezy, thanks, yup, now that she is better (she managed to latch on at 4+am last night, HURRAY!) and no need to feed medicine. My ILs esp FIL are more patient with her and amused by her antics liao.

Oh ya, Gar, RaeAnne does that too. She tries to grab the bowl or my spoon, puts her fingers into the bowl of porridge, play with texture etc. We tried to give her another spoon but she ends up putting that spoon into her mouth (so can't take in the porridge we are trying to feed her) or throwing the spoon away and make us pick up for her. Like that, we even more bo eng. So sometimes, what we do is, we fill up the spoon with some porridge, we hold the spoon but let her hold it as well then guide her to put the spoon into her mouth as if she is feeding herself. She usually opens her mouth big big when she thinks she's feeding herself. Maybe you can try? ;)

Stephie, oic, must go take a look, I not familiar with Canon though cos I'm a Nikon fan. Hee.

Xiaoyun, Carrie ok so far? That's good, I was so worried cos RaeAnne played with her Brightlings toy. :p

hiya mummies,

trying to catch up with the posts... me starting new role in office and running double duty coz new person haven't come to replace me yet... so tiring week and today i'm down with cough and flu at home... yest coughing on and on like an old woman.. heheh..

kitsune,
i just read ur blog the previous night when the next day you say got HFMD. good to hear rae anne is getting better... hope the 3 of you have a speedy recovery !

gar,
feeding time... i think it's normal for babies not wanting to sit still. my sis with 2 boys told me it's normal when i told her about this. we resort to same solution, give toys, turn on tv and start feeding... good times can finish within half an hour and if cayleb is super cranky usually can go up to 1 hour or can't finish his meal...btw 9-10 tablespoon is a lot!

lezy,
saw your picture in your blog...very very nice picture! 3k lens wow... your hb do invest a lot for the camera hor...but the result is really good...

bkkgal,
love that pic of kate on the grass which you posted in your blog... really nice color... may i know what lens your husband bought ? am thinking of getting another lens for my dslr :p

re:carrier,
i'm still using the mim sling... think can tahan for about an hour... but if i walk while carrying baby then will be more tiring...

lezy,
since you have so many nice photos, have you considered doing up a photo journal? i'm toying with the idea...but not sure which company to go to. do you have any recommendations?

bkkgal
^5. i like those kind of shots too. and i think only DSLR can achieve such results. BX has got such photos for ashlynn. i commented to her before that those shots are very nice. see how, i may go get one this weekend so that can use for next sat (Shawn's bday celebration). :p

stephie,
me too! love that effect!

ya, bx has nice pics also. actually all DSLR photos are very nice.

aiyo like that don't think liao. such memories are priceless. just get it for shawn's first birthday. it's once in a life time.

garfield
har loh, i oso think so it's worth to get now just to capture shawn's 1st bday. once missed, cannot go back liao.
later i go recce after work.

tute/qingling
ya, time flies. hehe.. we celebrating his lunar birthday cos his actual date is 6th day of CNY. afraid cake shop won't be opened by then. so it's 2 weeks in advance loh.

those who have used DSLR before - it's idiot proof hoh? just point and shoot like we do using compact digicam? cos i don't think i have time to learn how to use the DSLR in a week. weekday simply no time. super buzy at work.

HI mummies , anyone experience after excercising then supply drop when pumping ? but somehow breast still feels heavy...

gar...lazy leh. photo journal tempting but me no time also. heh. i'm happy just seeing her pics at flickr when i'm at work. once in awhile we'll print out her pics and put around.

bkk...my hubby is crazy about the blurry background shots. he say need better lens to achieve that effect.

His lens not 3k lah. 3k is body + lens. but well, with the normal lens is already almost 2k i think. so the lens is about 1k? dunno la.

i know his flash is 600. i cow peh day n night...but actually, some of the pics turn out very nice with the attached flash.

sigh. photography is expensive hobby. bah. but i agree, the memories are priceless.

stephie
actually there is a pretty steep learning curve, more so than point and shoots, i feel.

i always say, you can get more (as in quantity) decent photos from a point and shoot as compared to an SLR (unless you know how to use the SLR v well), but the quality that you get from those few SLR shots, can be pretty amazing

xiaoyun,
wat time will u be at carrefour?

gar,
i think still porridge bah. i guess it's her nature. like to move ard too much to sit there guai guai to eat.

tong,
not sour leh. coz i add veg stock to it. in fact quite sweet. so i will dilute wif some water.

iso
oic. tks. hmm.. my freelance photographer told me that DSLR easy to use, can just point and shoot. maybe it's more for normal shooting, not those low lighting, fast movement or what not of funny situation.

stephie,
i use the DSLR like a normal digicam so i just point and shoot. if you set your settings to "auto", then it's quite idiot proof. i think the photos that i take are quite ok la.

if you are buying from a photo shop, ask the sales man to teach you.

stephie, gar,
oh ya actually that makes sense. i almost always use manual, or other settings so probably that's why i find it more difficult, haha..