(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

wah. so many babies like falling sick....i think we must all be careful. as in..sometimes we go out and bring germs back and spread to baby we also dunno. I get quite paranoid at times....but well, i guess we can't psosibly live in a totally sanitized environment.

perhaps we have all gotten kinda slack now so maybe good to practice better hygiene and wash hands more? My mum always makes me wash hands, arms before picking up my girl after work. nowadays i try to keep myself as clean as possible. I even thinking of bringing extra change to work - after work change a shirt before carrying her (if i've been to many places during the day that is).

but then again, that's quite paranoid also right? heh.

artemis, my mum totally against those bibs..so i'll give it a miss. I saw in IKEA and pointed out to her..but she say too hot for SG weather. My girl eat now already whole head sweat. think use that she will melt.

hope all 'sick babies' get well soon! Won't be joining for playdate this sat cuz still got stuff at home to sort out.

ok.. stephie/ tong and jass.. i am still quite SANE.... so will not get a bag that cost me 4.5 K...more than my 1 month's salary...:p

jass... mnatt's fever quite high .. good that it recovered on its own.. his immune system not bad...

sweetpea.. hope ur babe is ok now...

anybody got yesterday's TODAY??? stephie.. u still have it???

re: changing jobs

seems that is on the mind of quite a no. of us here.. really sian of job hor...

jass.. wah.. how long does it take to watch 6 dvds at one go... i think not very gd for eyes.. u must controll a bit wor...

jass,
*high 5* cayleb is also another tv addict...but we only turn on tv when we need him to sit still e.g. put on clothes after bathing and during feeding time. but he only likes to watch those kids music videos or sesame street with lotsa songs in it. if it's purely conversational he will also ignore, so he will ignore if we turn on normal tv channel :p

cheryl,
umm...you didn't get it? umm...i think i don't have your number then coz the contact list you send long time back doesn't have your number heee... sorry ! can you pm me your number and i'll msg you ? :p

lezy,
re hygiene, i am also super paranoid. always wash hands after work and wash feet. nowadays for cayleb before he goes to bed we will wash his hands and feet coz he just crawl around the house a lot plus his habit to suck thumb for him to fall asleep so we've no choice but need to ensure his hands are always clean...

re:changing jobs,
i'm also toying the idea of changing job...so sian with my current environment. job desc doesn't fit with title and i don't see i'm gaining experience here. i'm just glad it's year end where most of the workload has come down and am looking forward to lotsa leaves coz i need to clear all my annual leave :p

lezy: actually not paranoid leh,i also agree with what your mum wor. if my bb in childcare, i will wash my hands/arms, and change clothes. if not i will wipe my bb again after i back home . when my bb at home, i always shower first before i carry him!

jeannie: yeah, your message at facebook was published in today paper/

apple: yea i read that orange is too acidic for baby. so will have rashes. but it's not likely that its allergic, just that it's acidic. so we wait till bb is 10 mths above or 12 mths give better.

tongtong:- ya i also read that orange not to give so early due the acids but my MIL din know.... anyway there are also babies who drank orange without any problem

jeannie: well.. after all the hard work u are ok to pamper yourself sometimes.... well motivate u to jia you ma

re: today
which page huh? i oso kaypoh wanna see...

re: tv addict
ya.. sometimes wan i wanna get things done and matt to stop crawling ard, i'll resort to playing many dvd for him i noe its no good.. but then... erm.. hehe~ buying time for myself.

re: hygience
yup, used to wash up and bathe before hugging matt when i reach home. but nowadays he squeals and crawls toward me when I'm @ the gates, demanding for attention, i gave in to carrying him when i step in. bad hor...

ooo...guess i'm not that hygienic after all...hahaha... ok last time i also shower, but these days i resort to just wash hands at the very least :p

2 hours to go...oh man, the hours seem to draaaggg now

Advice needed on sippy cup

Hi mummies, need advice on which sippy cup is good. I tried the Avent sippy spouts but arielle doesn't know how to drink from it.

I recall some mummies saying that Pigeon mag mag cup is good. Which type to buy ah?

gar,

can buy mag2 cup with the spout. it only comes with 3 types of umm, cover ? 1)teat, 2)spout and 3)straw.

but for me until now, c still dunno how to use it... he will just bite2 :p

Gar - i brought the mag mag cup with straw - but Heidi doesn't know how to drink from it yet and keep pushing away the cup...perhaps she think its a toy or watever..jus not interested..normally she drinks a lot of water from bottle.

Hmmm tute, think i got mentioned before, my girl also bite on the spout but change to straw, she can drink from it... so you may want to try if you bought the set.

re: spout
garfield,
my gal uses Pigeon Mag Mag.
there's water come out when you press it. but if really need to drink a lot of water, need to suck hard.
sometimes she will get choked when too much water come out.

now she prefers to use cup to drink. although still get choked most of the time. :p

Garfield, i think depends on individual. Just got to trial and error? Sprout is actually step 2 before straw which is step 3.

Hi Garfield9,

When I first introduced the magic cup to Danica, she also did not know how to suck out the water. I demostrated to her by making the sucking motion with my mouth and showing her by actually sucking from it. It made me realise that there was a very plastic taste and I rewashed and sterilise the spout. After a few days of chewing, she got the hang of it but refused to drink when she discovered it's plain water. So I mixed 1 part organic apple juice with 3 parts plain water and she drank happily. But her total intake of this fluid a day is only 150ml maximum. I have since introduced plain water again and she takes it when the weather is very hot in between meals. So I guess, it's a matter of teaching them. If you offer them too many choices, they will also be confused?

apple,
yeah...read about the straw thing, sunny also mention before. but then i try using normal straw and seems like c dun like it so now i stick to spoon fed during meal time and cup

xiao yun,
haha...yeah same my son also like to drink from cup, especially from adult's cup.

ya depends...thot i still using teats for ruth, she has tried straws (in hawker centre - tried to push her some soy bean milk :p)

she managed to drink...

but with the Avent Spout, need to suck very hard...even i feel it difficult to suck. she suck abit she give up liao.

waste money.

*wave*
finally really got time to sit down and type something here.

jass
wah, 6 DVD at one go? that's pretty long leh. I read that watching TV programme at young age is not good. babies will tend to have low concentration power when they grow older.

garfield
i try avent spout myself, need to use lots of strength to drink water. my gal used pigeon mag mag spout before. but the mag mag spout will get flatten easily during feed and make it difficult to drink milk.

my mil doesn't let my boy use avent spout for drinking milk 'cos she said my boy can't finish the milk using spout and suck in lots of air. so, he's still using variable flow teat to drink milk. For drinking water, my boy uses avent spout and pigeon mag mag straw.
after i can find a suitable straw bottle which can take in 220ml, i will stop letting him use teat to drink milk liao.

thanks.. girls.. i saw the msg already.. yup.. its from the facebook..surprised that it was posted..

stephie.. thks for wanting to help find today..i a bit sua ku.. dunno got online one.

RE: spout or straw..

i agree spout is super difficult to use.. i used the munchkin one.. try to drink from it too.. use a lot of effort.. no wonder our babes dun like it.

i bought a straw one (cheapo.. bought lucky baby.. 3.99 only.. cause i suspect she wun like it also).. true enuff she like heidi though that its a toy.. i trie dto demo sucking motion.. she also cant ... but the weird thing is she can drink from normal straw... i think the straw cups..the straws are like small plastic pipes.. i dun like the feel of it... feel weird drinking from it too..prefer those hard kind like we use in pri.. sch water bottles.. think that is easier to drink..

for avent and pigeon..the straw also plastic pipe like or hard plastic cannot bent kind..

Mag Mag spout
Initially, RaeAnne also just chewed and chewed on the spout but don't really know how to suck without choking but when she was nearing 10 months, she suddenly know how to suck and can drink quite a bit. When she's in a good mood, she'll even hold the mag mag cup herself. Tried the straw a few times, but she don't know how to suck, see her quite poor thing, thirsty but cannot get the water up so changed back to the spout. :p

hey gers... just to check.. there is a rubbe thingy ( a valve) at the bottom side of the spout.. i think that is to preent water from flowing.. when toppled.

did u all remove it when using spout cause i treid to remove.. but then she kena choke.. cause water just keep flowing lor... dun need to use sucking motion one.

cheryl..i used munchkin one leh

andrea.. sorrie.. think missed ur post..

i just break the rusks into small pieces.. and then add into cereal.. once you add water .. it will start to soften.. add more texture to the cereal.. i use any baby biscuits or rusks...

there was one time i bougght the bellamy's organice tooth pegs.. its so tasteless and hard.. so i went to grind till its smaller pieces then i add in.. dun wanna waste..

it will also be good to add hot water to soften harder biscuits befor u add in cereal.. hope that helps..

jeannie
don't mention. haha... i've been reading hardcopy of TODAY that i've forgotten there's online version. paiseh.

re: drinking from straw
i didn't buy any spout cup, etc. bought a straw sipper some time ago and i just let shawn use. surprisingly he knows how to suck when i first intro to him. but he usually get choke if he sucks too fast.

jeannie
thanks. i am using bellamy rusks no wonder i cant add to cereal.

btw my girl is rejecting cereals with vege now. only wants it plain or with fruits
just now i tried to cook marcaroni with chicken, broccoli, carrot and egg yolk, she dont like, threw away the whole bowl
(

Tute,

Can I join your playdate? It's ok if can't.

We had a wedding dinner to attend on that night, but I still want to join your playdate for a while---- just got approval from hubby:

tubao,
more than welcome to join the playdate! then finally get a chance to talk... heheh...

andrea,
maybe you'd like to try those tastier vegies e.g. pumpkin and probably don't mix so many vegies first? pumpkin is quite a safe bet as most babies love it... you may also want to try adding chese with vegie e.g. broc, cheese + potato...then it will be tastier :p nowadays, if i try cayleb's food and i feel it's yuckie, he would reject but if i feel it's nice then he will eat a lot too... but that's just my perception :p

tongtong
i just had my lunch not too long ago, how to eat another bowl of macaroni? keke...

tute
i tried to add in cheese as well, but she still rejects the vege. hope its only a phase!

abc,
tried calling amarex and they cannot locate my FP Grand Piano. everyone else seems to have received their toy already.

can you give me the details of the person that you ordered from? thanks.

Hi Garfield9,

By the way, you still interested to get stuff from drugstore? I was too busy this week to place order. This week audit!
So probably only can place order on Friday.

Gafield
This is the address. "Mel Hall" <[email protected]>,

Tubao
u staying in woodlands right? Garfield u going for tute's playdate? tubao can help me collect stuff from garfield then i collect from yr home? Thanks