(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Re: Hb

Xiaoun/bkkgal.. actually follower also not bad leh.. i agree w garfield that if he cant be a leader be a good follower.. hehe... just dun grumble if i want to go anywhere. But now with baby.. i dun shop on the weekends... if have to buy things.. super chop one.. just last sunday.. i only spend half hr and i got a pair of tights and a bra for dinner that night.. super chop chop shopping.. even my hubby was impressed..

xiaoyun.. *hi 5* gwen also cant sit.. she can only kneel!

aiyoh.. economy really that bad... when u starting ur 4 day workweek??

Jeannie, may not be bringing stroller cos heard it's not convenient, may just bring the Baby bjorn carrier, easier. I'm going with a lot of adults, think they'll be happy to carry her. haha. Yup, winter wear, long sleeves, long pants, long johns, sleep sack, very de kua chang though it's not supposed to be so cold. Kiasu lar. But no gloves cos MIL said she'll only pull it out. :p

XY, how you cook the egg yolk? My MIL tried steaming it but she doesn't like. :p

kitsune.. where u got all those long john and winter wear from?? long sleeves from mothercare har??

kitsune... my mil boil the egg...

jeannie,
hehe... don't worry about whether bb is lazy. you will appreciate their 'laziness' next time when they start to running around. haha...

the 4 day work week is just rumours. but so far, all the rumours are real.
not sure when will it start probably Jan/Feb?

kitsune,
i cooked hard boiled egg. then take out the egg yolk.

Re: Maid

hi all, want to check if anyone of u have tried to send thing back to Philipines.

My maid said she want to buy toys for her gal and send back to her hometown. Meant for Xmas.

Any cheap alternatives? think she is eyeing those Barbie dolls.

re: milestone
during the weekend, my boy pulled himself up via the box, and push the box around the house! gosh... i wonder if he will start walking before 1 yr b/day.
and he likes to pull himself up and use 1 hand to support himself. then grin at us and give us a proud look with screaming. haha...
nowadays, we are so busy in watching him to make sure that he's safe while exploring around.

kellie,

i sent stuff back to Philippines for my maid's family twice, using Singpost surface mail which is the cheapest but take 4-6 weeks to arrive.

the first time, i sent back a 7 kg carton of all my used clothings and it cost abt S$37.

few weeks ago, we sent back another carton (cant remember the weight) of new clothings/shoes for her kids, cost abt $20+..

but if u go by surface mail nw, it will not reach her on time for xmas..

jeannie
you are going to HK?
if you wanna bring stroller, bring a light weight one. HK is not really a stroller friendly place. there is no lift from the mtr station up to the ground level, so it's very inconvenient if you bring stroller around.
try to use sling or baby carrier if possible.
that time we brought #1 to HK when she's abt 13 mth old. we brought a macleren volo, light weight one. but still feel tiring to carry her including the stroller up to the ground after the mtr ride. but it's a saviour when we went to shopping places and disneyland. but when went to 'da yu shan', i sling her 'cos 200+ stairs and it's really tiring to carry her on hand to climb up.

Was on leave since last Friday. Kind of busy right now and cannot really read all the post. Just have a quick glance.

Read that a few babies are sick. Hope all babies get well soon!

Just brought my girl for development assessment on Friday. She is now 9.1kg and stand at 72.5cm. The nurse was like going to scold me when i told her she only drink milk twice a day sometimes. She say I have to let her drink at least 3 times a day... but sometimes my baby just sleep through and does not wake up for her third feed. I have to make a conscious effort to make noise to wake her up now.
Nurse also told me to start giving her egg yolk. Boil hard boil eggs and dig the egg yolk out and put a little bit initally to porridge and feed her to test for allergy. If ok, the increase the amount until its one whole egg yolk. Egg white to only start after 1 yr old.

Re; Amazon Spree

Thanks Garfield, do let me know the amount to pay you ya!

Re; Playdate
Tute, will pm u my number.

sunny.. thanks for the info!! appreciate it.. i also bought a maclaren volo so that i can bring it to HK.. think maebe i will not bring then.. like a bit troublesome..i will be bringing a carrier and sling

can i just check with u.. how does ur baby sleep when u all bring her out in HK since no stroller.. so just slingover the shoulder and sleep hor? So just take turns carry har??

i rmembered u mention u cook porridge?? i dun think i wanna bring so much things over.. normal eateries got sell plain porridge?

Gar
I transfered $2.37 to you liao. Thanks for organising the spree!

Amazon spree
if u haven't ordered and if orders haven't exceeded GST limit, can tompang one more title? :p K is warming up to the noses book, so I thot i should get one more Dr. Seuss title for her. (actually, this mommy likes reading the dr. seuss book! hee, excuses excuses!)

http://www.amazon.com/Foot-Book-Seusss-Opposites-Bright/dp/0679882804/ref=bxgy_cc_t_img_a

XY
I looked at the knee protector again, I think K's kar tui may not fit cos it looks rather small. I found an old pair of bblegs, will probably use it for now.

egg yolk
oic so that means 9 mths plus can take egg yolk but not whites. see lah, i told hb already can start egg yolk, he insist no no, start at 1.

bkkgal/garfield.. when do u all normally read to ur babies.. i cant fins a right time to read leh.. and when u all read.. is ur baby sitting o ur lab or facing u?? Gwen is more interested in eating then reading..

9 months development - i din know that there is one. Do we bring the bb there automatically or it should be stated by the PD?

jeannie - i plan to close order today one (i still thought it will be rather popular..haha)..but seems like nobody interest leh. I have already ard USD 27plus, need USD 28 to get free ground shipping for USD 55 and above.

xiaoyun,
oh dear...sorry to hear. times are really bad. my coy may be x-ing another round as well.

bkk,
glad that both K and you like the book =) if you like the nose book, then i think you will like "mr. brown can moo, can you" better than foot book. cos foot book is not as rhythmic. want to consider?

egg yolk,
my mum let bb try at 7mths plus. acc to KKH nurses - can take 1/4 to 1/2 egg yolk at their age.

jeannie,
we read to her throughout the day. cos her attention span is not v long, so we don't try to sit her down for long stretches. we read early in the mng when she just wakes up before breakfast. in the afternoon after lunch, and at night before sleeping. actually, we treat reading like playtime so we read to her anytime (actually when we're bored with playing her toys, we'll read to her hee hee)

errm. position wise - there is nothing fixed. sometimes on our laps, sometimes on the floor. sometimes she's playing in her pen. most of the times she's trying to grab the book and put it into her mouth, or play "flipping the pages".

jeannie
that time we brought the volo there. luckily, my bil was there with us. so, he shared the 'work load' in carrying the stroller, too. haha... my gal sometimes slept in the stroller, sometimes slept in the sling, depending on where we went. i think disneyland rented stroller as well. depending on how comfortable you are in renting the stroller, 'cos not sure how hygiene it is. :p

for plain porridge, i don't remember they sell plain porridge, it's always come with ingredients e.g. century eggs, mince meat, etc etc.

when are you going?

Hi mummies, thanks for your advice, i'll try to give room temperature milk/cereals now.

Hi xiaoyun, i've recieved your package yesterday. thank you. how much do i have to return you ? 2.55 +2.24 + cost of box = ?

I've started egg yolk too, it's easy to prepare. just boil the egg, then mix the yolk with porridge. (half an hour's work) feed about 2-3 times a week. start with half yolk first.

re: reading
when i read the book to ashlynn, she will be bz flipping the pages and snatching the book from me. when i flash cards to her, she also tries to snatch from me to eat. she is not interested at all. haiz... i lost the motivation to read and flash to her.

garfield.. o.. so just read anyime har.. but my in laws cant read english..
so i can only do on weekends and at night.. by that time.. she sleep liao.. haha...

btw.. i think i drop my order for the amazon deals.. think i will buy when i go next march.. so dun need to lug any books there.. Thanks for the recommendations though..

so ladies nite still on.. hehe.. i a bit lost on where are the free drinks.. now economy so bad.. better save.. i am a sucker for free drinks...

tong,
i very boring wan. my porridge is always a slice of threadfin, a small pc of pork, veg (such as potato, sweet potato, broccoli, pumpkin, going to give cauliflower, carrot, pea) cooked with veg stock.

planning to make some pork puree next.

Hi bx, maybe you can try to let her hold one of your books or cards so that her hands are busy and she can look/listen to you. I'm sure she's listening to you, she'll feel secure that you're just beside her too ...

my bb has been having loose stools ytd. abt 5 times. should i bring her to the doc? today she already pooed twice since morning. not sure if it's due to teething.

jeannie, bx,
actually, bbs don't really demonstrate "interest" or pay attention. and it doesn't matter v much also. so let them roam, bite or do whatever they want as you read. over time, they will develop favourites and for these set of books they will sit quietly on your lap as they read.

when arielle was younger, most of the time i'm reading to her backside haha....but now she has developed affinity to a few books so she will "pay attention" when we are reading those.

last but not least - try audiobooks that come with a hard copy book (not as preferred compared with mummy reading). play the CD and let bb play with the book that comes with it.

jeannie,
can your in laws read chinese? that's an important language too.

bx,
is ashlynn having watery stool? any changes in diet? can try giving diluted milk first? i brought cayleb to see doc also only given medicine to harden stool... i think monitor first..

gar.. my in laws think too early to read to them... they have chinese flashcards there.. it is at the same positon since the day i brought it there.. when she was abt 4 months?? :p

i dun wanna appear like a bad dil leh.. always ask them to read to baby.. i think very difficult to tell them cause they already helping to take care of her..

talk abt that.. my ger fell off from the massage chair yesterdae.. and hurt her forehead.. no ba lu ku plus blue black.. MIL left her on massage cahir and went to pick up some toys.. sigh..

bx.. i think u can monitor for 1 day.. if tmr still like that then bring her see doc.. its quite common to have loose stools ocassionally.. gwen still poos up to 3x a day.. and sometimes quite loose too.

gar,
ya i oso heard that. so i am not bringing her to the pd yet. monitor first...

jeannie,
my mil started the chinese flashcards very enthusiastically. the 1st day she told me she finish flashing all the cards. haha... i have to tell her no need to flash so many. baby cannot rbr. now i think she stopped coz ashlynn not interested anymore.

poor gwen... hope her ba lu ku go off soon.

jeannie,
oh no!! did she get a big fright!! massage chair quite high ya?

i know what you mean. my MIL same - also don't believe in reading so early. used to always suan my mom and i. bought all those chinese story books she also doesn't bother. so end up only my mom reads to A in english.

do what you can at night and weekends. if you enjoy reading to gwen, that helps =)

oh, yes and i forgot to add - invest in some cloth books cos those are very good for babies too (and can last their biting too) try www.babysoft.com.sg

bx, if ashlynn still active that means she is ok. Cos if bb is sick they will be very sian. Dilute the milk for her and apply diaper rash cream on her butt.

re reading
i also ask my MIL to read to bb, esp before 6 months since i read somewhere that it helps them linguistically. think she read once or twice then stop already, so next time if his chinese is bad then not my fault, haha. i will still read to him even if he's busy playing and not looking at the books, cos i think it's good that they hear it also.

gar, got any audio books for bbs in chinese??

qingling
my PD mentioned that she does 9 month reviews for first borns, so i went back to her.

XY
oh no, sounds bad.. what industry are you in? maybe take it as a chance to stay home more with bb? i know i will be more than happy to work less hours or days, even if it's less pay, to be at home with bb :p

bx,
yeap...agree with vine, if ashlynn still active means she is ok. cayleb's stool not watery anymore after giving diluted milk but also not as hard as it used to be... so i'm also still monitoring. only thing that concerns me is that he is rejecting his food, so not sure if they are related. the other thing is that i also give more liquid to ensure he has enough liquid in his body.

re:reading books,
umm...cayleb only sit still for some books, those colorful and lotsa pics...but for flashcards he would pay more attention, one of those things that can calm him down... i usually read to him before going to bed to calm him and want to train him to read before going to bed...

re: hb,
hmm... my hb still can't prepare milk now, think a bit pampered by me and my maid. so he will ask my maid to prepare and he will give at night... then he still can't give my son his cereal... honestly it takes a bit of skill and persuasion to feed cayleb so i don't blame him. but he still bathe him during the weekend and bbsit him...

re thinking ahead, yeah i think a lot of hb don't think ahead about going to classes etc. maybe bcoz their knowledge is also limited ? i think mummies will try to find more info, read more... be it from magazines, forums or internet.

Re: reading. I am quite lazy too. On and off when "xin xue lai zhao" i will pick up a book and place her on my lap and flip and read it thru quickly cos I find flipping faster and reading fast she will be more interested. If i read too slow, she will start to fidget.

Her favourite book now is a Shape Book. Sometimes she will just sit there flipping through or bite it. I just let her be.....

Am still trying to flash cards to her everyday. Last two days was packed with activities. so both mummy and baby have a break from the flash cards.

Re: husband
I think my husband is the odd one out. He researches on the class my girl can go and intiate on the flash cards thing (but i am the one executing them now
) and plan for the weekend.(I am a lousy planner cos I anything also ok) But making milk, changing diaper etc he does them on and off only.................

re: reading
jeannie, their attn span is really very short - K will give me 5 secs at most. Sitting in my lap to read? No way hosay! most of the time, i end up reading to myself. hahaha! or else i have to read to her as she crawls away or chews something else. hehehe. but i persist, hopefully can inculcate some interest in her. This girl is more interested in checking out how things work than looking at books.

o but i noticed that if i read animatedly with different voices to her, she will actually perk up and listen. can try that yar?

Bx, i think u very patient leh. flashcarding takes more effort than reading i feel. K can't even last 2 flashcards before she squirms away.

Apple
looks like the hbs cannot multitask type hor? good at one thing means one thing. we cannot ask for too much. at least if they take an interest in our bbs and what we do, we should be contented liao.

Save your can drink tabs for a good cause

The holiday season is coming. I'm sure everyone will consume many soft drinks. But don't throw away your soft drink tabs, keep them to donate for a good cause. I'm helping a friend collect canned drink tabs to send to Cambodia to make prosthetics limbs for handicapped persons. You may ask why not keep the whole can. Because having to smelt down the whole can requires more processes e.g. hv to take away the paint on the can whereas just using the tabs is easy and transportable too.

So as you celebrate the holidays, remember to keep your tabs for me ok? I can meet up to pick up from you or we meet at playdates.

qingling,
I've sent you a PM with my Birthday Direct orders. Are you using Borderlinx? Shipping is the cheapest there =)

jeannie,
quick quick go order the birthday direct stuff then we can enjoy free shippin =P