(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield.. actually i can help to colect the donation stuffs. Are u sending to serene centre?? i stay quite near there

RE : Thermal Food Jar

Isetan having a crazy living sale from 7-16 Nov at Tampines and Katong. Endo Thermal food jar 1.5l is selling at S$29, 500ml at S$12 and 350ml at S$10. Just thought of letting you gals know though I'm not sure if it is as good as the Tiger one.

15th Nov
1. Stephie
2. joeey

29th Nov
1. cheryl
2. Stephie
3. Jass
4. Yen
5. tubao
6. apple79 (TBC confirmed again but most likely ok)
7)leila
8) jeannie (TBC, cause hubby say i have been going too much, i also tink so.. never miss 1!!)

qingling.. i will try to go k

15th Nov
1. Stephie
2. joeey

29th Nov
1. cheryl
2. Stephie
3. Jass
4. Yen
5. tubao
7)leila
8) jeannie (TBC, cause hubby say i have been going too much, i also tink so.. never miss 1!!)
9) sunny (TBC)

RE : Endo Thermal Magic Cooker

Same sale 1.8l at S$29 and 5l at S$59. I think I'll be getting the 5l one to cook soup for the adults at home. :p Save myself some electricity and gas.

Thanks Atermis for the info! Am looking for a thermal food jar as I don't have one! Anyone uses Endo brand before? Please advise?

Feb Babies Birthday bash
date:7 or 14 feb(pls indicate your preference)
amt to pay : $30 per family(includes catering, birthday cake, 1 goody bag for baby)

please indicate your interest
1)dor11(both dates ok)
2)Cheryl(both dates ok)
3)tongtong (both dates ok)
4)vine_gal (both dates ok)
5)Qingling (7th ok, cos 14th is Heidi's actual)
6) abcdisney (bth date ok but where is the place har? which part of singapore?)
7) apple79 (Prefer 7th)
8)happymum2b(both ok)
9)garfield9 (both ok)
10) Artemis (prefer 7 cause 14 is Valentine's Day :p By the way, can Danica join since her BD only in March?)
11) stephie (both ok)
12) Jeannie ( prefer 7th feb)
13)eliaw(tbc)
14)tubao
15)leila (both ok)

Amended my preference for the date.

Christmas Donation to Blessings in a Bag

Wah, i'm very impressed with our list of donors hehe! Thanks everyone!

Wishlist
1. Kids clothing/ Babies clothing (in good condition)
2. Educational books and toys (most needed!!!)
3. Story Books (for kids and teens)
4. Bandaids/First aid kits (this hasn't been donated at all)
5. Blankets

Suggestion on usage of $ donation
1. For physical item donation (used or new) - we focus on the clothes, toys, books, blankets
2. For $ donations, we pool to purchase first aid kits cos unlikely anyone will be donating these items in kind?

Collection of items
1. At play dates
(mummies going to Qing Ling and Tute play dates, can you indicate against your name if you will be able to bring the items then)?
2. Mass collection
(for mummies not going to play dates, maybe i can coordinate a meeting point on weekend in some shopping mall in town?)

Jeannie,
thanks for the offer to help! i may not be going to qing ling's playdate (TBC) so if i'm not there, perhaps you can help collect the items there? ya, will be sending to serene center =)

Please indicate if you are keen to donate:
1. Garfield (misc items + $)
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass (storybooks)
6. Vine_Gal (a + b)
7. Bkkgal
8. dor11
9. cheryl
10. xiaoyun (blankets)
11. Kitsune
12. Artemis (a + b) Need to go dig out my stash in the store. I'm the keep in case needed kind of person. Or in my HB's word kalang guni. :p
13. Qingling (stationery + $)
14. Bx
15. jeannie
16. tute (b)
17. Mira Tan(a+b)
18. isobellies (b - easier lah)
19. spoiltbratdazz
20. Tubao
21. Babyhope

Using tiger food jar to cook porridge

sorry, i think this topic came up previously. but i can't find the answer. can someone teach me the steps please? is it possible to make the porridge very nua?

thanks v much!

Hi Gar,

From what Sunny/Stephie told me, the porridge wont be very nua. More like Teochew style of porridge.

My method (learning from Sunny & Stephie) is

1) Soak rice 1st (at least 2 hrs)
2) Cook stock (up to ur preference)
3) Boil the rice into the stock for at least 15 to 20mins.
4) At the same time while boiling, I aso steam veggies (15mins).
5) Mash the veggies.
6) Add them into the rice/stock. Boil for another 5 mins.
7) Pour into the TIGER food jar.

Porridge in the food jar after 2 - 3 hrs (usually i cook early) will be more lumpy. So i will "chop/mash" the porridge again b4 feeding my gal.

Oh ya, sometimes, i find the porridge abit dry, i will add bits of hot water 2 mk it slightly watery.

Hi Garfield9,

Just need to boil the rice with the ingredients for about 15 minutes then transfer to the food jar and keep for 2 hours then can liao. But must put just right amount of water if not too watery or too dry plus the ingredients must cut fine/small pieces so as to be cooked evenly and well.

Hi Esther,

Wah... You got so many steps. :p I don't bother to soak the rice. Just chop using my blender's chopping attachment. The ingredients I also chop using the same attachment.

I find the porridge very nuah leh.

kitsune
wah, they so super kiasu one?? but good that u insist, the scar can be pretty bad depending on individual leh, when i was young i was lucky enough to have PD to do my jabs (instead of school nurses) and you can hardly spot the scars at all, so i'm a bit "picky" about it, haha..

My Detailed Steps :p

1. Cook stock with chicken bones after removing fats for 45 minutes
2. Cook chicken drumstick for 15 minutes
3. Remove all meat from drumstick and chop up with rice and other ingredients
4. Boil with stock for 15 minutes
5. Put into food jar for 1 to 2 hours

Wah la... Nua nua porridge.

kitsune / iso jie:
i didnt know can choose wan leh. i tot nowadaes everywhere will do it on the bum. sucks. they nv ask too... they just say to bring bb for jab and off they go.

Hi jass1408,

You didn't get the coupon one that is S$89 for both? I thought you did leh. I was still wondering that day to buy a not but my HB said buy for baby no need the big one. Now he said quite good hor can save electricity and gas. MEN!!! ARGH!!! Now I have to pay extra S$9. :p

Hi jass1408,

:p I seldom cook for the adults at home that's why my HB complain say I pian xin. Only care about baby's food. That day I was cooking chicken soup for Danica (Annabel Karmel's receipe) and he said what's that nice smell? When I told him for Danica only he made a face at me. :D

playdate - tks tks all for your support!!

jeannie -..hehe..that's why i plan the playdate further apart u know...keke...29th Nov...still quite long..

The Endo cooker looks like a good buy hor..aiyo..jiat lat..am tempted..can cook curry chicken with it also?

Artemis,

Haha... Ya la, after i wrote my detailed steps, saw ur posting. Wa lau, I like very "gua chang" so detailed. Keke...

Cos some mummies mentioned 2 me b4 tat soak rice will cook faster mah... Plus i add brown rice so i wan the brown rice 2 be more softer.

Most veggies I cut, oni broccoli, i will use blender. if cut broccoli, very tiring, must chop fine. Hand tired leh. ;p

Heard steam better mah, so i follow suit lor. But i do realize steamed veggies very "xiang" esp, potato, sweet potato, even broccoli! Yummy!

I dunno ur meaning of "nua" and mine is the same anot leh. Mine is more lumpy. Keke...

Am tinking if i gg 2 Qingling's playdate, will bring the porridge. So kind hearted mummies, pls help me 2 c the porridge i cook hor. Wahaha...

Hi Esther,

Oh... Unless I forgot to put enough water for the stock then will be lumpy. Mine is really porridge. Erm... That time go jass1408's playdate I think ABCs' mummy saw mine.

Atermis,
so u boil and cook everything over the stove before putting them into the magic cooker? Or everything can be cook in the magic cooker?

Sorry very blur cos i seldom do the cooking and i am using slow cooker. Just chop everything and throw in. Very lazy mummy.

15th Nov
1. Stephie
2. joeey

29th Nov
1. cheryl
2. Stephie
3. Jass
4. Yen
5. tubao
7)leila
9) sunny (TBC)
10) Esther (TBC)

Hi apple79,

I cook seperately cause the container for the magic cooker is not non stick. My pot is. So if cook using that if not hardworking enough to stir and stir the bottom will be black black and well... I not the hardworking type. :p If not going out I use the magic cooker. If going out I use the food jar. So I have to cook separately anyway if I going out.

Artemis,

Oh, so tat mean my porridge 2 "dry". Hmm... Tis sat will add more water! Hee...

Oh yes, i tink i saw u feeding ur darling. I tot is cereal! very smooth!! keke...

Apple,

Last time i aso do the same as u. Very ez. Nw i super "boh eng". Keke...

artemis:
wah.. @ $89. but how come they charge me $100. i got the coupon leh... sob~
hahah ur hubby jealous huh. but quite easy if ur helper is doing the cooking ma, just dump the ingredients in can liao

jeannie:
come come for QL's playdate... u are the most onz wan... hahha come lah, matt will miss gwen wan wahahah~

qingling: curry chicken i dunno leh. but my aunt always use her magic cooker to cook soy chicken v nice coz the mieat w will be v soft. i nv trey before thou. coz my pot is only used for soup. hubby wanna soup every nite wan. haa~ so no chance to try out anything else.

wow.. all of u are very good cooks.. i super not interesting and even more lazy no slow cooker at home.. only my MIL cook porridge for her.

when i at home w her.. i only cook brown rice w si shen fen ( Eu yan sang) plus add in some puree. Jia lat.. must learn

Re: blender

Artemis.. which blender u using???

Gals.. what blender do u all recommend.. i noe a bit late to buy blender now.. but i want to introduce meat leh.. must blend har??

Oic thanks Atermis! I think I am too lazy to do all the steps you girls are doing.haha

Hmm my girl is actually eating quite lumpy porridge now and sticky kind, even though bo gey.Think okie leh...

Jass.. har... i c how.. hehe.. maybe can trick him to go all those farms on that day then go JW..

Wah.. everytime think of JW. think of all my super long trips to NTU.. faintzz..

apple:
for magic cooker, u soak rice grains in the pot tat comes w the magic cooker. after abt 30 min - 1 hour, boil w stock and other ingredients and put it ton stove to boil. once boil liao, let it simmer on slow fire.. then after 15 min just insert the whole pot into the magic cooker can liao. for me my 'other ingreidients are pre-cooked frozen puree, so i add in and boil again before serving.

i tried slow cooker once. it is too slow. coz mine is foc when i sign up for dunno wat so it doesnt have temp control or high and low. only got on and off. after 1.5 hours, the rice is not even cook. so i gave up on slow cooker. plus i find it use up a lot of electricity coz its a 'slow' cooker haa~

jeannie: I am from NTU too! I stay in Jurong and also took one hour to get to class! Hate the morning queue for bus 199!

Ya by the way i find cooking porridge with pumpkin and brocooli cum fish very nice leh!!

Hi Jass, ya it cook slowly but normally if i do cook, its early in the morning at 6 plus to 7. throw rice with ingredients in and think ard 9 plus to 10 plus everything is cooked already. so its like 2 to 3 hours....

jeannie:
u going what farms?

apple / jeannie:
matt oso hate wet porridge / cereal. if too wet must add cereal to thicken it.

jeannie:
intro meat not necessary need to blend lah. since u havent buy yet, think no need to invest now coz gwen will not need v fine food. if u cook the meat long enuff... its will be soft. so can just tear into small bits ba. but more tiring for u lah. hahahah coz i find that sometimes i use blender, the food will be too fine. esp when i wanna him to start to 'chew' his food, so wanna the texture to be more lumpy.

apple,

ur gal likes fish ah? mine doesnt like leh. Hw ah? hw 2 mk her eat? my bb sitter say whenever fish+veggies porridge, cayenne will mk the wanna puke face and turn head away.

hw u cook the porridge? prepare any stock?

Hi Garfield9,

No problem.

Hi Esther,

Yeah... Can try adding a bit more water.

Hi jass1408,

How come leh? Got coupon is S$89 only leh. That day I went still left a few sets but my HB said cannot buy. <sigh> Should have 先斩后奏. My helper only eat. Cannot cook. If cook also cannot take care of fire, don't know when to add more water, soup boil already don't know to remove cover. <faint> So cooking all done by me when I am in the mood. :p

Hi jeannie,

Eh... The Braun MR5550MCA that I did the BP on lor.

For meat, if you are good with knives can cut fine fine. Or ask the meat seller to mince for you lor. But if you buy from supermarket then bo bian unless they have a delicatessen counter.

Hi apple79,

Danica likes her stuff smooth smooth leh. I only recently intro more texture into her food. She is still getting used to it. :p Always give me a surprised look when the porridge is more lumpy then usual but have to if not she become lazy to chew.

apple... u stay Jurong still need 1 hr?? OMG.. yar the queue super long.. imagine i come from tampines.. suffer 2 hrs then can reach sch lor.. its totally disgusting.. going back hae to squueze with the office workers plus theres always a lot of foreign workers woring at TUAS.. that really pyscho me to dislike JW... sorrie stephie and QL.. no offence k.. blame the transport system.. :p

Jass.. i am talking abt FArm mart, Hay diaries.. Qian hu.. all those farms, quite near tengah airbase.. i used to go there b4 i was preggie.. so now thinking of bringing Gwen since she can respond when she sees animals now.. hehe.. wnna go together this weekend???

Re: Blender

artemis and Jass.. thanks for the inputs.. maybe i should not get it liao hor..

Artemis.. yar hor.. can get the stall holder to blend.. forgot.. okie.. shall do that 2 weeks later when i take care of her myself.

Re: fish

Ester.. could it be the fish that u use... normally gwen likes fish.. but there was once my MIL used salmon to cook porridge.. gwen boycotted the porridge lor.. cause salmon smell quite stong.. imagine porridge that has turned cold but salmon smell.. erm.. actually i also dun like.

Esther:- Maybe she don't like the "xin" wei? I dunno leh. my mil and mother method is throw everything in mtd so i just follow........
Maybe my baby "tam jiak" everything also want to eat.
What fish u use? I saw my MIL either use "Nor her" or the "ang go li"

I am wondering they can chew the food even with no teeth? using their gums?

jeannie/apple,

my bb sitter uses "ngor" fish leh. am tinking of tryin out myself tis wkend. wan 2 c her response myself.

apple, u say ur gal "tam jiak" ah. my gal aso leh, in my blog of cos i dun use tis word. i use "food lover" haha..

u gals mention u put everyting including fish 2 cook rite. maybe tis is the way. my bb sitter usually will put the fish when the porridge almost ready. so probably the fishy smell still very strong.. hmmm...

Hi Andrea,

That was during the Isetan private sale and yes, need coupon with Isetan card to buy. This time round if getting both only S$88. No need coupon some more.
I already bought the 1.8l at S$39 previously. Shucks. :p Sorry for being cheapo.