(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Dawn, I nearly wanted to buy a $200+ Tiger airport with double insulation ie. keep water hot for longer so that no need to reboil as often. I also have another one which can keep water temperature at 98 deg or 60 deg, good for making FM but I haven't use yet since still BF. Think that one use up even more electricity. My mum's house has a Tiger thermos flask, but after a while, not hot leh, can't make coffee, tea or milo. But maybe I'll try for 1 month and see how. :p

Purelyz, you are good, I can't tahan to see her cry for too long. If want to sleep train her using CIO, think I must be out of the house first. :p

Eastie Playdate @ Bx's (Simei)
Confirmed Date: 02 Nov Sun
Time: 12 - 4pm (Lunch)
1. Garfield (otah and famous old airport road rojak)
2. abcdisney
3. Jeannie (standby bumper mat)
4. Leila
5. cheryl
6. dor (bumper mat)
7. Tubao (Sushi)
8. jass (homemade apple crumble / kueh kueh)
9. Stephie (KIV depending on confirmed date)
10. kitsune (ok after 130pm)
11. Thankful (KIV)
12. xiaoyun (Konyaku jelly)
13. bkkgal (ah balling dessert? or donuts?)
14. kelly (fried bee hoon)

2. abcdisney
4. Leila
5. cheryl
6. dor (bumper mat)-donuts or muffin(choco & spices)
7. Tubao (Sushi)
11. Thankful (KIV)

Thanks for all the best wishes

Happy Birthday to you, Stephie... didn't know we shared the same birthday

Xiaoyun
are u doing babymallonline spree? can i tong bang u? not on bottles.. clothes n toys

food/veg
wat kind of green veg do u give to yr kids? i was told not to intro spinach till after 1 yr old due to oxalic acid. so far brocolli. What else har?

gd morning ladies

its a cold rainy morning again... arghh.. didnt wanna get out of the bed again this morning.

abc:
i give heng cai, spinach, cai sim, cabbage, broccoli. will intro lettuce next week if i can get it fr the ntuc

good morning mummies,
it's Friday!! long weekend ahead. hehe..

re: electricity bill
mine is electricity + water + gas. when we just move in (2 adults), it's about $60+ too. Then now got 1 more adult + 1 more infant. So, it's $120 now.
regarding the airpot, I am using that too. bought it after bb 1st month cos it's really inconvenient to heat up ebm using water from thermaflask.
it's about 70 kWh ~ $21 more in the bill. I didn't boil water using the airpot. Boil it using stove then transfer to airpot to keep it hot.

re: BPA free bottle
kitsune,
i am talking about the one at babymallonline.
9 oz bottle is about USD $1.60 only. cheap cheap nia.
heard that milk bottle cannot be used for too long. once got scratch, got to change as it might have the risk of BPA leach into the milk.
currently have 2 hand-me-down tollyjoy bottles, i am going to retire them after getting the babymallonline bottles.

tongtong,
it's saying BPA free there. not sure if that's true.
i am going to get 2 for ebm storage. all my medela bottles are only 5 oz. need 9 oz one for express in the morning using a single manual pump.

let me start the ball rolling:
=================================================================
babymallonline BPA free bottle, 9 oz - $1.99 x 0.80 = USD 1.60
Silicon teat
(1) xiaoyun (Pink - mommy)
(2) xiaoyun (Pink - daddy)

Latex teat

abc,
email me what you want to buy. can tompang your order.

<font color="ff0000">please respond by 27 Oct 2008 (Monday) 12 pm., would like to place order on Monday</font>

<font color="aa00aa">anyone wants to get anything from drugstore? i've got $4.90 credit to be used up by 31 Oct. This will be translated as $4.90 discount on total order. please email me your purchase list by 27 Oct 2008 12 pm too. Thanks.</font>

re: vegetable for bb
abc,
my PD recommended spinach when i went there @ 6 months.
the oxalic acid will be oxidized after cooking. make sure you don't cook it together with tofu as it might cause stones.
no need to wait till 12 months.

other vegetables PD recommended are brocolli, cauliflower, green beans.
i've not tried lettuce and cabbage yet.

re: baby finger food
can i check if you have already given finger food for baby? what are the finger food that you have given?
i've not try anything other than in puree form. not sure if i can give her and try.

xiaoyun
oh cannot cook with tofu har? ok..

chinese vs silken tofu
i've check but realise the chinese tofu has more sodium compared to silken tofu.

xioyun
i been adding green bean to porridge everyday. Saw an article is gd for preventing flu and cough.. havent try cauliflower though...

oxalic acid in spinach
Xiaoyun it seems raw spinach is better than cooked spinach... see below article:

Organic oxalic acid, defined as that which occurs in nature in its raw form, can actually be beneficial to the system. Once foods containing oxalic acid are cooked, according to the dean of juice therapy and author of Raw Vegetable Juices, Dr. Norman Walker, the oxalic acid becomes dead and irritating substance to the system. He feels that in its cooked form it binds irreversibly with the calcium and prevents calcium absorption. An excess of cooked oxalic acid may also form oxalic acid crystals in the kidney. In the live organic form of oxalic acid, Dr. Walker claims oxalic acid stones and calcium blockage do not occur because the organic oxalic acid can be metabolized appropriately. according to Dr. Walker, oxalic acid in its raw form is one of the important minerals needed to maintain tone and peristalsis of the bowel.
He also says no to worry about phytates in raw food. The body produces an enzyme called phytase that frees minerals from phytates. This does not work for cooked phytates because it has been denatured and the enzyme no longer fits it well enough to do its job.

There shouldn't be side effects of too much oxalates so long as the food is raw. It's the cooked you need to worry about and then, you could probably get kidney stones and osteoporosis.

good morning!!!!

re:birthday bash
mummies, r we still have it?
jan n mar thread already started their planning...

Xiaoyun
Another article. hmmm

the oxalic acid in vegetables is broken down in cooking and doesn't interfere with the absorption of calcium present in other foods, cheese for instance, that you might eat at the same time. Calcium is available from many other food sources - in addition to yogurt, cheese and milk (there's slightly more of the mineral in nonfat milk than in any other type), it is also found in a wide variety of fortified foods including orange juice, soy milk and cereals.

I certainly wouldn't avoid spinach or other leafy greens because of the oxalic acid effect. Spinach has a lot to offer nutritionally: it's an excellent source of folic acid, potassium and magnesium, as well as vitamin K, carotenes, vitamin C and lutein, important for healthy eyes.

can i get advice on where to find a good resource on nutrition value of various foods and what vitamins / minerals our babies need?

now i dont' really plan bb's menu. but i would like to plan it so that she gets a balanced diet.

Silicon teat
(3) stephie (Pink - mommy)
(4) stephie (Pink - daddy)
(5) stephie (Blue - mommy)
(6) stephie (Blue - daddy)

Latex teat

Morning gers...

Stephie and emoments.. sorry for the late reply.. but like what others says.. hehe facebook lor!! How.. got celebrate birthdays???

Purelyz.. welcome to the thread!!
Hey can share with me the HK places to shop for baby clothes and also my clothes??? haha... i going on 5th Dec.. after BX... pm us k..

You are welcome to join our playdates too.

Was super busy the past 1 week.. stayed till 9 plus at workplace last night... Hope things will get easier in the next few weeks.

Re: baby standing...

Finally G can start to stand.. but she still cant pull herself up... tried to grab hold of side of chair but she doesnt noe how to bend her knees.. so end up slide into the bottom of the chair.. :p need a supporting hand to help her.

Aiyah. talking abt her.. start to miss he liao.. wanna bite her!!

Re: Finger food

Xiaoyun.. i wanted to introduce finger food.. but i scared she addicted and then always bug me in future for food.. also i dun wnat her to have a bad habit of snacking.. so i dun think i will introduce so soon...

Re: babymallonline

Xiaoyun.. what is the link for bottles?

abc,
thanks for the link!

jeannie,
ooooohhhhh.......so exciting!! kodak moment ya?

finger food,
what are good / healthy finger snacks for bbs? arielle always fusses when we are eating cos she wants to eat too. and i can't be feeding her porridge all the time...

hi xiaoyun,

elecricity
can try using magic cooker to cook porridge,no need to use so much gas or electricity

Silicon teat
(3) stephie (Pink - mommy)
(4) stephie (Pink - daddy)
(5) stephie (Blue - mommy)
(6) stephie (Blue - daddy)
(7)goodbb (Blue - mommy)
(6)goodbb (Blue - daddy)

hi jeannie,

the link is http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/32_13/products_id/1410/osCsid/914423f9d69e5d4f03e529363d1eaab4

garfield
no la.. i only look for things i am interested to get. hahaha... my maid been using a towel (those nappy towel) to wrap ard him to walk everyday! Think at the rate he/she is going, i reckon she might hv backaches...Since he enjoys walking and dun wan ppl to hold i guess i would need this? hhahahaha

kitsune,

My mum joke that i've heart of stone. But i say also have limit la. Cannot cry for too long. My MIL very impress with how little time i need to get the bb sleeping. She will go... huh? so fast, sleep le?

bx, jeannie,

Ok, will PM u on the places tis wkend. Need to type in chinese. Haha...

abc mummy,

i DIY baby food into ice cubes. My freezer are packet and packet of baby foods.

I've let my 8.5 mths boy have try a list of diff food since he is 6 mths. Start off with puree form till now is just finely chopped.

Japanese sweet potatoes, sweet potatoes, potatoes, barely, pumpkin, onions, red pepper, broccoli, cauliflowers, spinach, carrots, chicken breast meat, fish, green peas, corn, apple, kiwi, pear, prune, papaya, grapes, avocado... i think i've list all?!

A very good website to share
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

those of u who gave ur bb yoplait yogurt, do u serve cold or let it settle to room temp 1st?

re: solids
how do we prepare french beans?

Hi BX

I would like to join the playdate.. I think i have been missing lots of playdates. But will confirm with you again

2. abcdisney
4. Leila
5. cheryl
6. dor (bumper mat)-donuts or muffin(choco &amp; spices)
7. Tubao (Sushi)
11. Thankful (KIV)
15. Vine_Gal (TBC)

purelyz, think u like me. I also leave bb to cry sometimes. Now, i think its much easier, at least dun have to pat him to sleep, jus put him in bed, lights off and sleep beside him, he will toss and turn and sleep. After a while, I put him in his own cot.

re: hotpot, I read somewhere that not good to drink water that is boil and reboil ( like those in airpot and electricity on for 24 hrs). So I boil and keep in hot flask and can keep warm over the night no problem. Still can make milk up to the next day. Maybe u all can consider.

xy, your bill not a lot liao. Mine is abt the amt too, only 2 adults and 1 infant, dun on aircon, not much tv except on weekends, no airpot. Only occassional weekend, in laws come over and on aircon for a nite a week. Dunno why bill so high. Sigh... money not enuff...

abc, u have so many lobang...

2. abcdisney
4. Leila
5. cheryl - OCK or puff
6. dor (bumper mat)-donuts or muffin(choco &amp; spices)
7. Tubao (Sushi)
11. Thankful (KIV)
15. Vine_Gal (TBC)